Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
7HZ Timeless IEM
$204
$220

7HZ Timeless IEM

bookmark_border
$204
$220
Cable Termination:
823 Sold
·
Ready to Ship
Members who purchase earn
204
Drop Rewards
Frequently bought together:
add
BLON BL-03 IEM
add
IKKO OH10 IEM
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
60
check
98%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
v0oz2uwgss2s
32
Apr 20, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
If I had to own only one pair, the Timeless would probably be my choice.
Background: retired military (combat arms), mild, bilateral but asymmetrical hearing loss, mostly affecting 500 Hz in one ear and 4k Hz in the other. That said, I grew up in the 1990's Seattle suburbs, and music has been the foundation of my entire life. I am reviewing/comparing/contrasting the 7HZ Timeless and the Mangird Tea. I am also currently testing the Moondrop KXXX, but they require a 100 hr break-in period, and I am not there yet.  Equipment used for each were: Topping 70S/THX AAA 789 (with and without a cheap tube preamp) iFi Audio Zen DAC/iFi Audio Zen Amp Audioquest Dragonfly Cobalt and Red Qobuz with minimum CD-quality audio 7HZ Timeless: Lightweight, wearing the Timeless is comfortable even for long periods, and the shape of the shell fits perfectly in my ears. It has the right amount of insertion. Isolation is ok, not as good as the Mangird Tea, but it gets the job done, and comfortable levels of music drown out background noise completely (although I did have not tested them in loud environments, such as a plane). The cable is high-quality, the termination on the IEM side is MMCX, and I bought the SE 3.5mm TRS version for compatibility with my Dragonflys without adapters. The cable is light and thin, and moving with them did not cause any problems. The IEM side of the cable also has a laminated memory wire with good memory retention which sits comfortably at the back of the ears, and I prefer this cable over the braided and thicker Mangird Teas. The cable is easy to put in and out of the case and tangling was never a problem. The lows are thick and full-bodied, with the sub-bass rumble clearly felt and mid-bass textured and punchy, but not overwhelming. The attack is fast and clean while being very solid and distinct. The Timeless is V-shaped, though the midrange is not as recessed as other V-shaped tunings I have heard, allowing the instruments and vocals to shine in detail. Both male and female vocals are articulate, clear, and transparent. Vocal layering is clear and distinct. Instruments also sound very natural and accurate, textures are distinguishable with an airy and crisp treble. Neither harsh nor fatiguing, I can and do easily listen to these for hours, sometimes into a power nap. Staging is wide and deep for the price, impressively for an IEM. Imaging is above average. If I had to own only one pair of these three, the Timeless would probably be my choice considering the value for the dollar (priced in the middle of the three). Mangird Tea: The Tea is beautiful-looking, and lightweight like plastic but has much more rigidity in the body of the housing. The resin has also been seeded with gold foil that seems to float. They just look fantastic. The cable on the other hand doesn’t match the aesthetic, though it is a quality cable. The braided cable is thicker than the one on the Timeless and sometimes does not want to sit well behind my ears. The cable is probably worthy of an upgrade. Overall build quality is superb and the finish and design of the Tea are impressive. Mangird has chosen to use two-pin connectors. The ergonomics are on point and the outer housing conforms well with the shape of my ear. These have a deeper insertion than the Timeless, but nothing like a pair of Etymotics. They just sit a bit deeper in the ear and thus are fantastic at isolation - the best of the three - and offer a significant reduction in ambient noise, so these would be perfect for use in noisy environments. The sound is also the best of the three - these earphones sound amazing. Fun and energetic with lots of detail and plenty of bass, though not as V-shaped as the Timeless. While I prefer the Timeless for heavier music, I prefer the Teas for lighter music and movie watching. With the Tea, I expected it to be good but I did not expect what I actually heard. The tuning is natural, smooth, and balanced, with some warmth and thickness to the presentation. These are most expressive when listening to stringed instruments and vocals. Clear, detailed, and tuned to create plenty of space and separation. The highs are well extended and crisp, the mids are forward, and the lows are naturally produced. This balance makes this earphone versatile, hence my choice for movies over the Timeless. In summary, they look great, the build quality is excellent and the sound is balanced, detailed, and clear. While I would choose the Timeless if I only could own one, these are not going back, and I enjoy switching between the two.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
adams.brian.502
25
Nov 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing for the price!
I have been very pleased so far. Don't judge these right out of the box, all planars have a substantial break-in period. Having said that, they sound pretty darn good immediately. They can be a little too strong in the bass at times, especially with sustained notes. Drums are awesome, though. The treble can be strident too, but that will change as it breaks in. Midrange is very detailed and expressive. The tips included will greatly change some aspects of the sound, more than I've ever heard with another iem, but that can make it easier to find the right sound for you. Because the tips do affect the sound so much, I would definitely encourage trying out different aftermarket tips. For the money, you might be hard-pressed to find a more comfortable and versatile iem. Buy it while they are still offered here!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
WordsandMusic
203
Nov 23, 2021
So far, definitely enjoying. No question these are good; now I have to decide if they are great. Second new pair of IEMs since early October, so I have to find time to experience both ... and maybe decide which to keep.
adams.brian.502
25
Nov 23, 2021
WordsandMusicDouble the fun! Would be interested to hear your impressions of both. I have some CP145 Spinfits coming in for my pair, thinking that might be a winner. Please get back to me with your thoughts!
ChrisInMilwaukee
7
Nov 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice sounding IEM. A little soft, but I enjoy the bass bump.
This is my first IEM and I thought it was good execution. When I put them in my ears for the first time, I was quite disappointed. It was hollow and not at all what I expected based on a couple of reviews I watched. But then I realized they weren't sealing well. I'd heard that a good ear seal was required for IEMs, so I went about trying a few different types that came with them. That's when it all changed. Absolutely for the better. After installing a larger set of ear tips (looks to be the largest in the set), the bass really dropped in as I'd hoped. I didn't know what to expect with these since I've never owned a set of IEMs. Apple's earbuds certainly don't count! Note that I've only been listening to headphones "seriously" for about a year, so consider me new to the headphone game. The only other headphones I have are Sennheiser HD6XX, PC38X, and Hifiman HE560v4. So I went in presuming they would have a similar sound. But they don't. They're probably closer in style musically to the Hifiman units which are also planar. A little soft in the middle, but with good clarity on the higher end of things. Maybe a bit more sibilant compared to the HE560, but similar style. Definitely not as detailed and forward in the upper mids like the Sennheisers. But definitely better on the low end. Holly Cole Trio is my go-to artist when testing certain kinds of audio qualities. "I Can See Clearly" definitely missed a few things I really liked with the dynamic drivers of the Senns. But I had a similar experience with the HE560s. So it must be a planar quality. I'll be trying plenty of other musical styles to see how they compare to my over-ear sets. I did notice that imaging and spaciousness doesn't appear to be an IEM quality that one would get with an over-ear headphone. But I do appreciate the isolation from the outside world that these provide compared to my open-back headphones. These Timeless IEMs are very comfortable. Apple earbuds bother me after a while, and I have an in-ear set of ISOtunes that I use when I'm in the shop or mowing the grass. Those are absolute ear killers. The Timelss ear seals are super soft and feel absolutely lovely for extended periods. I haven't yet put them under earmuffs while using power tools or mowing the grass, so not sure if they'll be uncomfortable with extra external pressure. But they're certainly nice on their own. So definitely a favorable experience for my first IEM!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
denlim777
0
Mar 19, 2022
is this ideal for Classical and Jazz music?
ChrisInMilwaukee
7
Mar 19, 2022
denlim777I found them nice for both. Really brings out the detail of stringed instruments especially.
Shahoff
48
Nov 27, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good IEMs for even twice as much money but...
First impression was that midrange and treble are brilliant , but to loud as mid-bass and lover bass just did not exists. Another users did report opposite status. Initially I was very disappointed. But I decided to burned-in Timelesses for 50+ hours and OMG mid-bass and lower bass are back. Still not earthquake style as reported by some other users , but very pronounced and tight. I am pro musician but this IEMs do have relatively flat response , not V shape as for me. Trebles and mids are very detailed , but not to much. Box is heavy CNCed aluminium and cost probably 30$ alone :) Cable is very good in terms of sound and if you decide to replace it it have to be relatively expensive one to get better sound. The only reason why I changed cable to soft threaded one is slight microphonic but annoying effect on stock one.
search




check
Would recommend to a friend.
phut
9
Sep 10, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fun & Interesting, but hurt my ear.
I love me some planar magnetic control and response. I have some Monolith over- and in- ear planar 'phones but they are open-backed. I was looking forward to these being an office-friendly example for my planar fix, and initially was smitten. Sound is as expected, easy to drive through the 3.5mm on my phone or with a 2.5mm balanced cable from my DAC/Amp at home. Seem well made, great little case and nice things to hold and examine. However! After about 45min there is an edge on the left bud (due to the quite severe edges on the round design) which touches part of my left ear and causes pain/discomfort. Right ear is absolutely fine, fit and comfort is otherwise great. So a word of warning; the nice round design and machined metal body makes for a hard edge if part of the earbud puts pressure on part of your ear. I don't have particularly small or large ears, if anything they might be slightly erring on the larger side (i'm a big @#$%er with a big head, and comparatively small ears), and the discomfort to my left ear makes these unusable for me unfortuately. Woudl recommend if they have big ears or are able to test them out first. King Charles III - boy have I got some IEMs for you!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
MinisterOfEtc
12
Jan 15, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Had my first "bottleneck removed" experience
I had my first "good IEMs reveal bad sources" experience last week, while I was A/B testing a set of CIEMs I reshelled vs. my Timeless. The CIEMs had just arrived from their reshell, and I was swapping between the Timeless and those, listening to favorite songs back-to-back to compare the characteristics of each. Rush's "Limelight" came up in the playlist, and it was the Timeless' turn to go first. After listening to the song hundreds of times over 40+ years, I was able to hear the separation in delay/reverb effects applied to Geddy Lee's vocal track on the song, and hear both his voice and the processed effects as separate "instruments" in the final mix. Switched back to the CIEM, and the auditory effect was still there, but I would never have noticed it in the first place without the Timeless. So, for $200, you're getting accuracy that outperforms a $700 custom with 4 BAs.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
WordsandMusic
203
Feb 4, 2022
MinisterOfEtcWell then, let's put aside the alienation and get on with the fascination, the real relation ... to great music.
Skrounst
22
Dec 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Effortless music
There is something about an audio device that produces great sound with what feels like EASE. It's hard to explain, but when I play music (I listen rather loudly) I can almost feel most of my other IEMs struggling to keep up with how I push them. The Timeless just shrugs and says "That's it?". Like I said it's hard to put into words what I mean, but having headroom to push the driver harder than reasonable listening levels give the Timeless a feeling of effortlessness when listening at my normal volume. Its smooth, detailed, and tuned by people who listen to music.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
BruceC
49
Dec 2, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Quite nice for the price
I have several other planar magnetic IEMs and these are the best so far. They are fairly efficient, have the typical smooth and fast PM sound and a nice overall balance. A tad heavy on the base and surprisingly a little light on the highs with vocals being a bit in the background (or maybe it's just the bass overshadowing the rest?) but smooth and nice overall. UPDATE: 2/28/22 After listening to these for a while now they have broken in completely and sound better than ever. They are still a bit heavy or loose in the base but the mids and highs seem to have equalized out and the overall sound is noticeably better now with hundreds of hours on them. My best match for them is my Cayin N3 Pro using the balanced output, just about perfect. Interestingly they don't seem to match up quite as well with my FiiO M11 Plus on the balanced output. Not sure if the highs are less pronounced or just the FiiO just has a smoother sound. I have tried swapping the cables which makes a small difference but I still find myself wanting to tweak up the high end a few db on the FiiO to get the right sound to my ears. I think the Cayin may just sound a tad brighter. The Cayin has AK4493EQ DACs and a slightly stronger amp section. The FiiO has AK4497EQ DACs and THX AAA-78 AMPs so of course the two are going to sound different...
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
sam_j
10
Jan 26, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Depending on personal fit, these can be excellent IEMs
The fit of the Timeless has a large impact on the way that you experience them. 7hertz includes nearly 12 different tip combinations so finding a fit isn’t too much of a hassle. I don’t find the fit to be 100% perfect yet but I may try some foam tips in the future (not included). The metal case that’s included is nice looking but I find it somewhat cumbersome to use as a case for storage; it’s a bit difficult to fit the cable into the case neatly. I use the standard 3.5mm cable and haven’t used the balanced option. Once you’re dialed, the sound is like what others say - effortless. I use these 95% of the time in an office setting straight out of an iPhone 13 Pro with an Apple dongle. If noise isolation is a concern, these do a very nice job of blocking out vocals and noises like air conditioners as well as traffic noise. I’ve worn them when walking in a busy city area and felt too isolated at times. Bass is well-represented without being boomy and has that planar speed you’re looking for. Sub bass is there but it’s not fighting with the other frequencies - it does its job well. Midrange responds well to EQing but out of the box these sound natural to me. Treble isn’t as sparkly as I was originally anticipating but it’s definitely not dark either. I don’t find these to be “analytical” like my Beyer DT880 250 ohm headphones are, they’re much less fatiguing when worn for hours and have more enjoyable bass response. That being said they’re not bloomy and flavored like my Meze 99 Classics - the Timeless handles everything I want to play through it and just shrugs it off. Bonus: these take to my Schiit Vali stack nicely when I’m at home. bottom line: for $220, I haven’t had any desire to find other IEMs for my use case. If you like to have lots of different IEMs or think you might - give these a shot and play with EQing them.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
denlim777
0
Mar 17, 2022
sam_jis this good for classical and jazz music? thank u.
yuruki
16
Jan 17, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Included aluminum case is the worst part of the product. It's very industrial and appears unfinished with sharp edges. It will keep the contents safe, though, and won't look bad on your table or shelf. The cable is good. Flexible, good looking and well made. The IEMs themselves are likewise handsome and feel nice. Included eartips cover a decent range of shapes and sizes. I was able to find a very comfortable fit with white cylindrical tips in medium size. Your choice will probably differ from mine. Unadjusted sound signature is too V-shaped for me. It still sounds coherent, effortless and clean, which I'd like to attribute to having a single planar driver without crossovers and stuff complicating the matter. Frequency range is very broad. The driver scales effortlessly with EQ. Driving the Timeless with Qudelix-5K and Crinacle's EQ preset produces such a balanced, immediate and detailed sound that I'm having hard time believing it could get much better for IEMs at any price range. The sound stage is not large, but the details and imaging (with EQ) are on such a high level that it feels natural to observe the music from up close.
(Edited)
Showing 19 of 86
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order