Acoustic Research AR-M20 Digital Audio Player

Acoustic Research AR-M20 Digital Audio Player

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1K requests
·
173 Sold
Product Description
The Acoustic Research AR-M20 combines the user-friendly interface of a smartphone with the features audiophiles want—all in a super light, slim package. This wireless-enabled music player can run the apps of popular streaming services, like Tidal and Spotify, and it also includes Bluetooth for connecting to external devices Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.0
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
23
check
60%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
kar3
2
Apr 4, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Hard to imagine a better value. Combined with the Massdrop IEMs the sound is outstanding. The form factor is small enough to easily slip into a pocket. Roughly the same size as an iPhone X. Perhaps not the absolute pinnacle of available DAPs but very, very good. Listed on AR's site for $699, bought for $199 on Massdrop. A superb deal.
madf78
6
Apr 18, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Lovely, sound is very good, ergonomic, bug sometimes, os can be improved but overall great for what it is.
pek1999
12
Apr 18, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sounds very good for the price, all the phones I've tried so far sound sweet.
chrisnobleplano
1
Oct 17, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome player, especially at the price points!
sergeib
1
Apr 6, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Be aware! I got my player with Android 4.3, which is means it outdated and I can't run Tindal as promised, because Tindal requires Android 5.0 and higher. I have no idea if it's possible to update the system and how to do that. So now this device is a piece of plastic to me. It isn't worth $200 at this point and I regret buying it in the first place and I'm very unhappy after waiting for a month for it to be dispatched. Also the player seems to be refurbished or something, because the screen wasn't covered with plastic film as usual . I noticed that there are more than 500 new requests for that player, I hope my honest review will help to save your money. I would like to know how I can update the system and also I am going to look into getting a refund.
search
search
search
search

sergeib
1
Apr 20, 2019
I tried but fialed
uptildawn53
45
May 14, 2019
kairn posted .. As for Tidal - you need to find a version which works on Android 4.3. I downloaded and installed Tidal v. 2.2.5 from .apk and it works fine.
(Edited)
ManicNick
35
Dec 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great DAP
Player with a very juicy sound, with all the wireless buns and a large duration of work.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Steve-Cast
58
Sep 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Superb Sound BUT…
Sound quality is amazing! Very powerful and detailed sound, with rich and well-defined bass, excellent mids presentation and crystal clear treble. Simply a beautiful and lush sound! The only reason why this is not 5 Stars is because of its software limitations and lack of support. The Android version is really outdated and won't play well with new Apps like Spotify, Deezer, etc. I would recommend looking somewhere else if these would be your source.  Now, if you're planning on using this with a Micro SD card and use Tidal from inside the AR Music Player PRO (included on the 1.6 update version) then this DAP is an EXCELLENT choice! 
check
Would recommend to a friend.
ibereka
14
Apr 24, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid performer for what it is primarily intended to
The product feels and sounds great. is it without a flows? not really though for the price it is surprisingly good. Despite being a little bit outdated in the DAC chip department, no complaint at all and in addition amp module is really solid supplying the player with enough clean power. I can not say a lot good things regarding its software solutions: both version of android and the music player itself. Very basic and with a lot of limitations to say the least. Anyway the major features of the player still suggests a strong value of the product that easily compensates its software shortcomings for the provided price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Vynz100
22
Apr 17, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A very good choice...
The sound is powerful (with Earsonic ES3 and Campfire Nova), the screen is beautiful... it's not supported now, but if you find the last update it's still a good choice!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Connor.R
9
Apr 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pass.
As a Tidal user, this thing is more trouble than it's worth. Errors are constant while streaming especially if you attempt to skip a portion of a track.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Showing 13 of 26