Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones (EU)
Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones (EU)
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3 Sold
Product Description
Our first custom headphones ever, the Massdrop x AKG K7XX have been an enduring community favorite since they first launched more than two years ago. Since then, they’ve received praise from Head-Fi, Super Best Audio Friends, Z Reviews, and more for offering a rare value in the world of open-back cans ... Read More
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
289 Reviews
Here's what our community has to say
search
Richierit
0
May 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
great sound stage, good for referencing. Made of plastic, the materials feels cheap.
May 18, 2019
CheeseMcScringle
3
Jun 11, 2019
bookmark_border
Mine have lasted through 4 years 0f heavy use.
Jun 11, 2019
HotRoderX
726
May 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Honestly I would compare them to the HD6xx's having had a chance to try both. The AKG's are not as refined as the HD6xx's but they still offer a pretty nice sound signature. Bass is not in your face thudding but is still there. The vocals are really nice and the Treble isn't to spiky. I would kinda compare them to a whisky. There a nice smoothness to them thought there not as refined as my Amiron Homes. The Amiron's are more like a nice wine smooth and refined. I still easily recommend the AKG's. The sound stage on the AKG's is insanely wide.
May 16, 2019
CheeseMcScringle
3
Jun 11, 2019
bookmark_border
You've obviously never had good whiskey.
Jun 11, 2019
Starcounter
1
May 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've had these headphones for about two years now and they've been my daily-drivers for at home PC listening. I have one major gripe: build quality. The reason they've lasted through several drops onto hard carpet is because they're light. They are essentially entirely plastic, and I'd say its a noticably less premium feeling plastic than AKG's other offerings. They have broken in one particularly annoying way: the elastic bands have all but given out their tension. The headphones, without treatment, would sit on the tops of my ears due to the loss of elasticity. Again, this is normal use over the course of ~1-1.5 years when they gave out noticeably. Now I have rubberbands wrapped around the earcups to hold the headphones together. Pretty disappointed they haven't lasted as robustly as I'd hoped, but they sound great, have a fantastic sound stage, and are extremely comfortable when working properly. A good bet for you if they are not going to be your daily-driver headphones, or you listen occasionally with them.
May 8, 2019
zenith94
3
May 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I absolutely love these headphones. I’ve got a pair of HD650’s and the HD6XX. With a good enough amp, the Sennheiser’s win, in my opinion. However, the K7XX sounds fantastic to. And due to their 62 ohm impedance, you can use them with lower powered equipment. I have the Sennheiser GSX1000 for PC gaming. Yes, virtual surround sound is usually garbage. The GSX sounds fantastic, but doesn’t have a high powered output. The K7XX pairs wonderfully with these. Even though they’re semi-open, the soundstage sounds great. The K7XX and the GSX1000 makes for a wonderful virtual surround sound experience. And for on the go use, they work great with the AudioQuest Dragonfly Red DAC. Lastly, they are super comfortable. I forget I’m wearing them. Buy these, you won’t regret it.
May 8, 2019
captainmo
0
May 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best headphone for fps gaming
May 3, 2019
PuriK
1
Apr 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I absolutely recommend this headphone. It’s comfy, well built, and sounds excellent with all sorts of music. At $200 it has very little competition.
Apr 24, 2019
CheeseMcScringle
3
Apr 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are the best headphones I've ever encountered, for the price. I absolutely adore them. They're durable, comfortable, and the sound quality is quite a bit better than I expected. I've had mine for 3 years. They still sound as good as they did brand new.
Apr 23, 2019
Euroae
0
Apr 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Exactly 30 days after purchase, the audio from one side no longer works. -Edit- After reading online that this is a fairly common issue with the wires inside getting disconnected somehow. I found instructions on how to fix it and was able to get the audio working again. While I'm not happy that they did stop working so easily, I gotta give them props for at least not making it impossible to open up like other products. It was surprisingly easily to open and reattach the wire. I added an extra star due to that.
(Edited)
Apr 20, 2019
maartin
3
Apr 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
there are good, but my previous cans is sennheiser HD 650 and to me personally they just sound richer, warmer and better, maybe this is a personal preference thing, I gave them a good chance but i eventually returned to my 650's, I'm guessing they're great to have in case i have visitors over who might want to borrow them. edit: i just noticed people attacking people and assuming they weren't using headphone amps and that that could be the cause, i am using cambridge dac which feeds into a nad amplifier.
(Edited)
Apr 15, 2019
Peggisan
3
Apr 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worked for about 1 year before the right side completely stopped working. Quick google search showed that it seemed to be a common problem. Good while it lasted but I expected a 200 pair to last longer than that.
Apr 14, 2019
Showing 12 of 355
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
355 OF 355 POSTS
Jun 16, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity