Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones

Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
33.2K requests
·
18.2k Sold
·
Free Returns in USA
Product Description
Our first custom headphones ever, the Massdrop x AKG K7XX have been an enduring community favorite since they first launched more than two years ago. Since then, they’ve received praise from Head-Fi, Super Best Audio Friends, Z Reviews, and more for offering a rare value in the world of open-back cans Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
414
check
82%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
ReDnAx1991
0
Jun 21, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Bought in 2015, still going strong
Sound is still awesome and crisp. I use them on a daily basis for listening to music and playing online games.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
ekdouglas
4
Apr 16, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good for aucousic
Nice airy sound
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Hellreaver
574
Mar 26, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Piece of shit
Product failed within 6 months. Elastic wore out on the 'suspension' system and the earcups fall off every time I pick the headset up.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
BillyQuizboy
17
Feb 22, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good sound but terrible build quality
I bought these to be an upgrade to some AKG 240s I had owned for 9 years and were showing some wear. I'd definitely say they present a better sound stage than the 240s, the ear pads are nicer being velour instead of vinyl as well, but other than the the build quality is over all worse. about 10 months after owning my first pair I had an issue with sound cutting out - not from a bad cable connection or dropping them or anything I'm pretty careful I put my headphones on a headphone stand when not in use. I noticed there was also a thin piece of plastic that seems to do something with the headband adjustment that had broken but didn't seem to affect sound or anything, but it had already broken in under 1 year. So anyway, after contacting AKG's warranty department (which took nearly 3 months of turnaround) they sent me a refurbished set of headphones. These haven't had an issue with sound cutting out, but they are falling apart after 3 years now. The same piece of plastic on the band broken pretty quickly and the top of band has come unglued and kind of looks like crap now. I hope the real K712s have better build quality than these... Over all it's given me a more negative view of AKG's products after being pretty impressed by the K240s.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
SaladPants
1
Feb 4, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Lacks bass and treble. Good texture and detail in the mids, if not a bit overwhelming. Bad build quality.
(Edited)
Cackle
0
Dec 28, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sounding, needs a better headband
I've had these bad boys for about a year or two now and they sound amazing. Tho after a few hours they hurt my hears (I have weird shaped ears) also they slide off my head far too easily, the band doesn't keep them secure on my ears therefore leaving sound a lot
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
ToyForTheGods
24
Dec 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Buy these
Even owning many headphones I always come back to these. They are amazing and the only pair that rivals my Focal Elex. Simply amazing
check
Would recommend to a friend.
RyCan
133
Dec 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good set of gaming phones
These sat in a box for a while after I bought them because they weren't my favourite and I have many others. However, after watching a review where the reviewer raved about them as a gaming set I tried it and have been using them consistently since. I have a great wireless headset for online gaming, but the clamp is a bit tight and it is a bit heavy. These things are light as a feather and have just enough clamp to keep them on the head. The gigantic velour earpads also guarantee that your head will never get hot, no matter how long the gaming session is. Nice spacious sound and very good directionality make them good for an immersive single player game.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Malanimus
12
Nov 18, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good sound, sub-par build quality for the price
I picked these up when they first were available some years ago and was impressed by the sound quality for the price, but the build quality seemed dodgy. The plastic bands on the top, the elastic strings - they just didn't inspire confidence. However, they performed well for ~2 years of daily use until sound in the left earpiece started becoming intermittent and ultimately failing entirely. The solder joint in that driver had fatigued and failed. Some research online showed this was not an uncommon occurrence and you could repair it yourself if skilled with a solder iron - which I am not. I ultimately threw them away and picked up a pair of the Sennheiser HD6xx's, which are the same price and have held up better. I'd recommend them instead.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Mr_Robbe
0
Nov 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good
The first unit i received broke after 2 months, got a replacement instantly and the new one works like a charm.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 10 of 508
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
508 OF 508 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest