Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones
Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
22.1k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Our first custom headphones ever, the Massdrop x AKG K7XX have been an enduring community favorite since they first launched more than two years ago. Since then, they’ve received praise from Head-Fi, Super Best Audio Friends, Z Reviews, and more for offering a rare value in the world of open-back cans Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
320
check
65%
would recommend to a friend
search
PepoSob
5
Feb 13, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good...But
First - I've been using these headphones for over a year now ( with a Sound Blaster E5 ) and if i'm going to be honest Wowie. the headphones are really good if you like to manually tweak your own sound to your liking. in open environment games (hunting, sandbox, etc) where its just you and the game 10/10 and the open back shows and you get completely immersed. ( also lo-fi with a strong bass preset is a def try, but might be overpowering to some people) BIG fat But - here is where the but comes in. the only downfall of these headphones i can see for long term use is that the band that is supposed to support them and keep them in place is very cheap and after their worn they will start to droop and it's sad. these headphones i use for everything and 95% of the time i have to wear a hat to keep them from drooping down. an ez fix someone else found is using thick rubber bands and that's nice. but this just shouldn't be a problem. ( also i've been very lucky to never run into any soldering problems and only had a bad cable cause of long term use ) Hey - for the price $200 Leafs isn't that bad for audiophile headphones so everyone in this forum needs to stop complaining about the price >:( why buy them then complain about the price. these headphones and others like it aren't going to be cheap because they are investments and for people that love audio. not just another pair of headphones. when you buy into these don't assume its plug and play. GET A DAC / AMP

Gamers - now would i recommend these to pro gamers or people trying to go pro that's a no. why? cause not only are you spending $200 Stones on headphones but you will and i mean will need to GET A DAC / AMP and that'll run you another $100 - 300 Bones depending on your whale status. although i have been using these for competitive gameplay and it's been awesome i think most people would rather just get what these big pro gamer streamers have which are closed back plug and play. again i will state these are for people that love tinkering with their settings like i do. Final Thoughts - now if i remove the small cons of these headphones and if your bank is looking nice then... YES buy . are you kidding me only $200 Coins DUH. getting a good dac / amp with these and jamming out to your favorite tunes or even playing Minecraft with the boys you will get instantly immersed in your own world. 9/10 *ps - please please please don't just read this and think you will have the same experience as i have had with them and not think and buy. please do your research before buying ANY audiophile headphones. there is nothing worse than someone new getting into audiophile headphones and getting there entire experience getting ruined because they didn't do their research. “Question everything. Learn something. Answer nothing.” ― Euripides
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Feb 13, 2020
IronIWolf
0
Jan 24, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well Balanced Big Sound
Right amount of Bass with roll off at around 50Hz. Big soundstage, very open and immersive. Natural timbre. Except a slight peaky high end from 6Khz to 9Khz. Very pleasing midrange slightly recessed with a peak at 2Khz. With a EQ of 3dB in the Subbass and - 1.5dB in the treble Peaks and at 2Khz very good Sound and more involving and less into your face compared to HD 660S. Overall id say a mix between Philips X2 and HD660S
Jan 24, 2020
LoCzekk
1
Jan 23, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not bad but...
Quality of sound is really good but the quality of used materials isn't good, to cheap. I sold them after one week of using because they don't look solid.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jan 23, 2020
Ataemonus
10
Jan 20, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome
These headphones are very much to my liking, I had the entire range, minus the K701, but had the K702, Q701, K712, K612. I liked all of them. However, the only ones that tick all the boxes are the black K7XX, because they are black, sound awesome, and have the soft pads from the K702 Annie / K712. At the price I got them for, $150 USD with shipping included, they are a steal.
Jan 20, 2020
Y_Michael
4
Dec 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good headphones
I've been wanting to try these after having owned the k702s, which had a lot of what I wanted but weren't quite right for me. From reading reviews I've figured that these would be better for me, and they are! They're definitely more on the comfortable/easy listening side. They fit nicely on my head, they're light and don't clamp much. More comfortable than my X2s. They may be plastic, but at least that makes them light. They also look pretty good. In terms of pricing, at $200 I feel they're overpriced (considering the k702s go for a little over a $100), at $150 they're decent value for money. Only downside that I can see is the seemingly obvious design flaw with the elastic bands on the sides. When you feel the bands and look at them, they don't really seem to be made to last a lifetime. Also some worrying reports about the internal wiring that can 'break' and cause problems. I haven't used mine long enough to know if these things are actually going to be a problem, but it's good to know before pulling the trigger on the purchase. All in all I'd recommend them.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 26, 2019
Tiddl3ywinks
10
Nov 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worked great while they lasted
Headphones worked wonderful for a while but the right earcup stopped working. Got zero support on the issue and was told im out of luck.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Nov 5, 2019
OrangeShadow
120
Jan 9, 2020
bookmark_border
How long after purchase did this happen? Did Drop really not offer any solution?
Jan 9, 2020
PuriK
3
Jan 27, 2020
bookmark_border
mine also had this issue, but i will say.... Support helped me 100% send me a shipping label and allowed me to get a replacement and i shipped my headphones back. They had 3 options, (1.) Ship them in and get a FULL refund. (2.) ship them in and get a replacement free of charge. (3.) keep the headphones and receive a $20 a partial refund. I loved these headphones so much i just got a replacement pair! WOULD RECOMMEND!!!
Jan 27, 2020
Jawnyboy
3
Nov 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sounding headphone but needs some tweaks to make it more comfy
I purchased this headphone with the intention to play PC games in them but I ended up using them for pretty much everything! They sound phenomenal. The only reason I gave 4 stars is because of the head strap. It isn't strong enough. The headphones start sliding down the side of my head almost immediately and they basically rest on the tops of my ears. The pads are very comfy, and they are wide enough that my entire ear fits inside without touching anything. But unfortunately the earcup do slide down my head until the tops of my ears are helping hold the headphones up, turning what could be my most comfortable headphones into something I have to readjust every couple of minutes. If you have a wider head, these cans may fit perfectly for you. I had to knock a star for it though.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 4, 2019
Mayflower_Man
9
Dec 8, 2019
bookmark_border
I wish that more headphone models had multiple size options, or at least better adjustability for different head sizes (and different head / ear shapes). I definitely don't have your problem with these headphones, but, if anything, they are a tiny bit too snug for me (my head size is well above average).
Dec 8, 2019
OakParkMusicGuy
60
Dec 8, 2019
bookmark_border
yeah these are too loose for me but better with the rubber bands. I did just notice that the clear plastic bands are cracking from age and use.
Dec 8, 2019
H3artl3ss696
3
Oct 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I got these in their first release...they work perfectly still and haven’t had to worry about them at all. They’ve been around the world with me and I’ve never been disappointed with them!
(Edited)
Oct 28, 2019
Mr.Nosely
7
Oct 25, 2019
bookmark_border
Comment hidden
help
Azgg
1
Oct 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
mediocre build quality
Got 2 pairs back in 2015 and both have the same build quality (and problems), everything feels cheaply made besides the earpads and the leather headband. The elastic strings making the headband adjustable lost their elasticity after less than a year (ended up having to use superglue to keep a correct fit for my head...). I'll say the sound quality is great, if you can drive them.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Oct 13, 2019
Showing 17 of 407
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
407 OF 407 POSTS
Apr 5, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order