Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones
Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
289
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
21.3k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Product Description
Our first custom headphones ever, the Massdrop x AKG K7XX have been an enduring community favorite since they first launched more than two years ago. Since then, they’ve received praise from Head-Fi, Super Best Audio Friends, Z Reviews, and more for offering a rare value in the world of open-back cans ... Read More
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
289 Reviews
Here's what our community has to say
search
Richierit
0
May 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
great sound stage, good for referencing. Made of plastic, the materials feels cheap.
May 18, 2019
HotRoderX
726
May 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Honestly I would compare them to the HD6xx's having had a chance to try both. The AKG's are not as refined as the HD6xx's but they still offer a pretty nice sound signature. Bass is not in your face thudding but is still there. The vocals are really nice and the Treble isn't to spiky. I would kinda compare them to a whisky. There a nice smoothness to them thought there not as refined as my Amiron Homes. The Amiron's are more like a nice wine smooth and refined. I still easily recommend the AKG's. The sound stage on the AKG's is insanely wide.
May 16, 2019
Starcounter
1
May 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've had these headphones for about two years now and they've been my daily-drivers for at home PC listening. I have one major gripe: build quality. The reason they've lasted through several drops onto hard carpet is because they're light. They are essentially entirely plastic, and I'd say its a noticably less premium feeling plastic than AKG's other offerings. They have broken in one particularly annoying way: the elastic bands have all but given out their tension. The headphones, without treatment, would sit on the tops of my ears due to the loss of elasticity. Again, this is normal use over the course of ~1-1.5 years when they gave out noticeably. Now I have rubberbands wrapped around the earcups to hold the headphones together. Pretty disappointed they haven't lasted as robustly as I'd hoped, but they sound great, have a fantastic sound stage, and are extremely comfortable when working properly. A good bet for you if they are not going to be your daily-driver headphones, or you listen occasionally with them.
May 8, 2019
zenith94
3
May 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I absolutely love these headphones. I’ve got a pair of HD650’s and the HD6XX. With a good enough amp, the Sennheiser’s win, in my opinion. However, the K7XX sounds fantastic to. And due to their 62 ohm impedance, you can use them with lower powered equipment. I have the Sennheiser GSX1000 for PC gaming. Yes, virtual surround sound is usually garbage. The GSX sounds fantastic, but doesn’t have a high powered output. The K7XX pairs wonderfully with these. Even though they’re semi-open, the soundstage sounds great. The K7XX and the GSX1000 makes for a wonderful virtual surround sound experience. And for on the go use, they work great with the AudioQuest Dragonfly Red DAC. Lastly, they are super comfortable. I forget I’m wearing them. Buy these, you won’t regret it.
May 8, 2019
captainmo
0
May 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best headphone for fps gaming
May 3, 2019
PuriK
1
Apr 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I absolutely recommend this headphone. It’s comfy, well built, and sounds excellent with all sorts of music. At $200 it has very little competition.
Apr 24, 2019
CheeseMcScringle
0
Apr 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are the best headphones I've ever encountered, for the price. I absolutely adore them. They're durable, comfortable, and the sound quality is quite a bit better than I expected. I've had mine for 3 years. They still sound as good as they did brand new.
Apr 23, 2019
Euroae
0
Apr 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Exactly 30 days after purchase, the audio from one side no longer works. -Edit- After reading online that this is a fairly common issue with the wires inside getting disconnected somehow. I found instructions on how to fix it and was able to get the audio working again. While I'm not happy that they did stop working so easily, I gotta give them props for at least not making it impossible to open up like other products. It was surprisingly easily to open and reattach the wire. I added an extra star due to that.
(Edited)
Apr 20, 2019
maartin
3
Apr 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
there are good, but my previous cans is sennheiser HD 650 and to me personally they just sound richer, warmer and better, maybe this is a personal preference thing, I gave them a good chance but i eventually returned to my 650's, I'm guessing they're great to have in case i have visitors over who might want to borrow them. edit: i just noticed people attacking people and assuming they weren't using headphone amps and that that could be the cause, i am using cambridge dac which feeds into a nad amplifier.
(Edited)
Apr 15, 2019
Peggisan
3
Apr 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worked for about 1 year before the right side completely stopped working. Quick google search showed that it seemed to be a common problem. Good while it lasted but I expected a 200 pair to last longer than that.
Apr 14, 2019
koncan5
4
Apr 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Loving the headphones so far. My only qualm is the huge cable. It'd be nice to have some sort of bungee device that dispenses cable when you need it. As it stands, the cable is always sitting at my feet getting tangled in my chair legs.
Apr 13, 2019
HeyQuitThat
1
Apr 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm comparing these with my "Old Faithful" HD595s. PROS: Lightweight and fairly comfortable Wide-open soundstage Beautiful detail Great value CONS: Don't bother unless you have a headphone amp. Seriously. Bass is thin but will come out with some EQ. These are great for classical but a little weak for rock and metal. I don't find them quite as comfortable as the Sennheisers, but they're fine. (This might not be totally fair - my HD595s have had 15 years to mold themselves to my head.) At the price, these are an excellent value.
(Edited)
Apr 12, 2019
dr.leachman
0
Apr 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent headphones for my 5 1/2 year old daughter. Fits me and her, she loves them and I can slightly hear what she is listening too. Suprior quality and comfort.
Apr 12, 2019
daropezrk
0
Apr 11, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very Gooooooooooooood! I am perfectly satisfied K7XX
Apr 11, 2019
dynamitedino
23
Mar 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
WORTH IT. I would like a higher end model if I could go back in time, but these are good for studio use.
Mar 22, 2019
Valvrave
12
Mar 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
it lasted as long as it could before one side of the headphones can't be heard no more :(
Mar 8, 2019
guruaudio001
1
Mar 14, 2019
bookmark_border
Many people complain on that, seEms like massdrop made headphones are shit
Mar 14, 2019
siahboy
13
Feb 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely love them!! Very transparent, wide sounds stage. My main mixing headphones!
Feb 25, 2019
Grampus
15
Feb 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The phones are very neutral or flat across the sound spectrum. They are uncomfortable. I have ordered replacement ear pads hoping for a better fit. I have the 220 phones and find very little difference between the phones. The 220 are a better buy. These are not a good value.
Feb 21, 2019
Red_Leader
2
Apr 4, 2019
bookmark_border
It's hard to beat the 220's for value.
Apr 4, 2019
Snake_Doc17
2
Feb 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
**FAIR REVIEW FOR THOSE WHO ARE CONSIDERING PURCHASING** FYI -- I'm writing this in simple terms and not using audiophile catch words that many use. K7XX has some strong things going for it, but also some downsides that need to be understood. Please recognize that many people feel strongly about their preferred headphones and do not like any negative comments. Experience with multiple sets of headphones should be required before putting in a comprehensive review. I have borrowed the formatting that other reviewers have used for comparison purposes! Review is based off listening with no amp, SMSL AD18 and THX AAC 789. Review is based off other similar price range headphones. Bass - 5/10 The bass feels underwhelming on this headphone. It doesn't mesh with the music very well. The very low end is good, but as the bass approaches the midrange it seems vacant. The best way I can explain it is that on certain songs it feels detached from the music. It is EXCELLENT for gaming however, and if using for that purpose, this is definitely good for that. Mids - 7/10 Mids are good in the upper mid, average everywhere else. Nothing exciting or bad, just solid. Treble - 8/10 Unlike other reviewers I like the treble on this set of cans and it can be a bit bright, but I've not found it to be overwhelming. If you like your highs and clear treble this is a good headphone for you in this price range. Soundstage - 9/10 The soundstage is very good for headphones. I agree with other reviewers that it's slightly forward heavy, but I've not been unhappy with that. The soundstage again is EXCELLENT for gaming and this headphone shines in games with open areas and quality sound development. Build – 8/10 The build materials will be a turn off when you first get them. It feels like cheap plastic, but the weight is very light and after prolonged use the have held up very well. Despite the initial reaction, I would not be concerned with the build at all. Comfort – 9/10 The K7XX is extremely comfortable and can be worn for long periods of time. I found the pads a bit stiff at first, but very soft to the touch. It's a memory foam that is firm and as I've worn them more, they have conformed to my head and went from very comfortable to insanely comfortable. It's one of only a few headphones I've worn in my life that when I take them off I feel like they belong on my head and it takes a little bit before I get used to not having them on again. Value - 7.5/10 for Music 9/10 for Gaming The truth is that if you want a fantastic gaming headphone that beats the hell out of Astro and all the other "gaming" headphones out there, this is the best headphone in the price range for gaming bar none. For music, there are cheaper headphones that do music better in my opinion. I do not think anyone buying this will be disappointed unless they are comparing to the 4-5 sets out there which are a better value. If you are considering this versus the HD6XX, buy the 6XX or the HE4XX for music and AKG K7XX if you want a gaming headphone. For those who value real life...I use the AKG K7XX for gaming and the 6XX for music. I also have kept TakStar Pro 82's which are a fantastic budget option. I also have a pair of Studio CB-1 and Bose QC35 (for airplanes/travel). Every other headphone I've tried over the years has been sold. Hope this helps someone out!
Feb 12, 2019
AudioJet
128
Feb 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'll make this nice and short. The main reason I picked these up was because I wear headphones nearly all day at work. Not for enjoyment but for production work. I get terrible headaches from clamp pressure and along the top of my head. I use the Sennheiser HD300 and as much as I think they sound incredible and are generally comfortable, after a few hours the discomfort can be too much. Hence the reason for picking up the 7xx. I need something more comfortable. The 7xx has much less clamp pressure (if you move around a lot they may have too little) and the top sling band is much softer on the top of my head. Sound is good too but that's not why I picked these. Watched an action flick with them which sounded great - almost like listening to speakers and not headphones. Music is great as long as you don't listen to the kids music with bass forward styles. Overall I'm very pleased. I'd you want the details this is the place to get it. https://www.head-fi.org/showcase/akg-k7xx.20409/reviews?page=2

(Edited)
Feb 7, 2019
chris68790
4
Feb 6, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Increadible headphones, awesome for positional audio, movies and watching reviews on youtube, the sound stage is crazy big I would totally order another pair just for the hell of it.
Feb 6, 2019
davadr
1
Jan 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
They sound great, but with only gentle stationary use after about 30 listening sessions in total, the left can does not work anymore. Tried a perfectly working cable from a similar model with no luck, so definitely not the cable issue.
Jan 19, 2019
chris68790
4
Feb 6, 2019
bookmark_border
You got a lemon but the headphones are crazy good for only 200 bucks, it has to suck to get a lemon:/
Feb 6, 2019
CheeseMcScringle
0
Apr 23, 2019
bookmark_border
Yeah, man, I've carried them loose in a backback with a computer and books for a year and a half now, and I've owned them and used them less heavily for 3 years now. They still work like a charm. Sorry you got a lemon, dude. =/
(Edited)
Apr 23, 2019
BroManDudeGuyPhD
1
Jan 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
LOVE these headphones. So comfy and sound great
Jan 9, 2019
Sveigyr
5
Dec 25, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good headphones, the best i have ever bought.
Dec 25, 2018
LJ94
1
Dec 20, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fucking amazing. Legit. Just make sure you have an amp to power these babies. You will not regret this buy w.e purpose you're using them for
Dec 20, 2018
Hddzg
33
Dec 19, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound stage is wide and clear, good directional sounds, I am not a bass head, but i still feel like the bass could be improved
(Edited)
Dec 19, 2018
LarryT
26
Mar 9, 2019
bookmark_border
If you’re a bass head, then why recommend the Sennheiser HD6XX? I have a pair of ten year old 650’s and a pair of recent HD58X from Massdrop. Both are great headphones, but even properly amped (I used an Asgard 2) they aren’t bass heavy. They’re sufficient, but that’s the extent of it WRT to bass. Unless you’re referring to another kind of 6XX, I think most people are in consensus about this (as much as our type can ever be).
Mar 9, 2019
Lociinthesky
17
Mar 15, 2019
bookmark_border
He said that he is not a bass head.
Mar 15, 2019
Showing 46 of 351
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
351 OF 351 POSTS
May 25, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest