Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones

Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
31.2K requests
18.2k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Product Description
Our first custom headphones ever, the Massdrop x AKG K7XX have been an enduring community favorite since they first launched more than two years ago. Since then, they’ve received praise from Head-Fi, Super Best Audio Friends, Z Reviews, and more for offering a rare value in the world of open-back cans Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
402
check
84%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
sh06un
12
Jun 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice sounding headphones
I do like the sound of these headphones, and that they are open-back. What I don't like about these headphones is that they have very little clamping force (for a lack of a better term) holding them to your head. I find that these slip down a little bit after some amount of use. I couldn't say after how long for sure, but it would be within minutes of putting on/adjusting.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
frivolousclone
0
Jun 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound but a bit flimsy build
I've been using these daily for the last three years and they still cover my sound quality needs. They are a bit flimsy and some of the plastic parts are broken but that hasn't changed the quality feel of them. They are very comfortable even during 12 hour sittings.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
AndrewLarsen
2
May 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound, build quality is lacking
I bought my K7XX in 2017, for the first year everything was going good. Then somewhere in early 2018 both of the clear plastic straps snapped. This wasn't a total game braker yet. With the straps broken every once in awhile they would hang up and snap into place when putting the headphones on. Going into the start of 2021 a squeaking noise started to develop whenever the headphones moved while wearing them. That's where i drew the line and started looking for a new set of headphones. I still would recommend them. But if you want headphones that a rugged and will last a long time, I would look at other headphones. For $200 I would have liked them to last a lot longer than about 3 years.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Traaaaan
8
Apr 27, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound but build quality could have been better
My k7xx was purchased from massdrop back in Xmas 2015. To this day I am still using them on my pc. They are not tanky. The internal wires are super thin. I may have knocked them about 3 feet off my desk into carpeted floor but it still jarred a connection loose. I did have to resolder a connection in the right earcup twice. The 2nd time I used better solder and I should be rock solid now. The little plastic guide tab has all but broken on one side and is cracked af on the other. I definitely recommend an amp to get better sound at lower volume. I use an Evga nu audio card. Highly recommend for gaming. These are open back so people are going to hear what you're hearing. Replacement pads are readily available but the original ones are the best.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
shakasquid
0
Apr 2, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound quality, quality of exterior is going down
Starting to feel a bit more flimsy and a broken headpeice part but still wonderful
Milkw
39
Mar 12, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I like the flat sound.
Sound stage is nice. Airy for me. Not so bass heavy. Im not into that. Its very comfy to wear long term
check
Would recommend to a friend.
edahl
67
Feb 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good sound, questionable build quality.
This is a good headset let down by its build quality. The headband is connected to the frame by pieces of plastic that over time get brittle and break. Luckily, Drop's customer service is pretty good and it was covered by warranty. I want to recommend them for their sound and excellent stage, but the build is enough of an issue to where I can't unless they're comfortable modding a more durable solution themselves. This is very possible, but not for everyone.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Cansel
3
Feb 4, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Along with everyone else, these are great headphones for the price
I've had these as my priomary for years. The one thing that is wearing are the little bands that put tension on the piece of material going over your head, they are totally shot. It doesn't effect the comfort however. The ear pads are still great and the sound is excellent.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
NotanAudioguy69
2
Jan 16, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Happy
not an audio guy, but they are nice.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
laekh
3
Jan 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound: Amazing; Build: Good enough
These are my best headphones, so I've got nothing to compare them to. I could only compare them to my old Bose AE2W, but that's really no competition, the AKG just sound so much better in every category. I'm a student and hobby music producer and for me the K7XX are both good reference and listening Headphones. Sound Signature: The K7XX sound open, wide and ambient. They lean very slightly towards a darker sound signature, without loosing any of high freq detail (check the frequency response graph).
  • Bass is just the right volume for me and very detailed, but rather smooth then sharp.
  • Mids are just right; exceptional Instrument separation and very clear and realistic to my ear.
  • Highs are just right for me as well, I don't like to much treble since it's puts strain on my ears, but these don't do this. They're clear and detailed without being to forward or sharp.
Listening to the K7XX is generally really enjoyable and not fatiguing. I guess there's more detailed/precise headphones then the K7XX but I'm not sure if any more Detail would make listening more enjoyable to me rather than just freaking me out. The K7XX seem to be just the right amount of everything. 3k gap and observations: Looking at the frequency response graph you can see there's a gap at 3,5k. When I first discovered this I was a little upset, so I downloaded Sonarworks Reference 4 and made the headphones flat. Well, they sounded flat then, who would have thought. Point is, I really like the sound signature of the K7XX. There's nothing that has to be corrected in my opinion. And the 3,5k gap has kind of a natural sound to it, it feels like the music is given a room to play in, while when flattened the headphones sound really dry and loose that ambient vibe that I like. Build: So the only negative thing I have to say is the build quality really. It's not terrible, but you can clearly see that they are cheaper produced than the more expensive version - which is a plus if you're broke like I am. Everything is a little bit wobbly and I just hope they'll last for many more years. I own them for a more than a year now btw and there hasn't been any problems with them. Thanks for reading, ask me anything little edit: when I unpacked them they applied to much pressure to my (rather big) head. I spread them for one night and they were perfectly comfortable afterwards one more tip: Sound source matters, I can really hear how my shitty smartphone drivers effect the audio I'm listening to.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 10 of 496
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
496 OF 496 POSTS
Jun 21, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest