Jeronimo gave you $10 to spend on your first purchase on Drop! Sign Up to learn more.
Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones
Massdrop x AKG K7XX Audiophile Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
18.2k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Our first custom headphones ever, the Massdrop x AKG K7XX have been an enduring community favorite since they first launched more than two years ago. Since then, they’ve received praise from Head-Fi, Super Best Audio Friends, Z Reviews, and more for offering a rare value in the world of open-back cans Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
392
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Z.Smith
0
Nov 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Gaming headphones
These are by far the most comfortable headphones I have used. They have good sound and great soundstage. My only complaint is that I wish it had a little more clamping force to keep the earpads more centered around my ear but that might just be because they are a little large for my head.
nahct
0
Nov 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great soundstage, very comfortable!
These are lightweight and very comfortable for extended listening sessions. The circumaural earpads are large enough that your ears do not touch. The plastic construction is generally good, but the earcups will develop some creaking at the swivel joints. Silicone lubricant and gently exercising the swivel joint will help alleviate the creaks. I like the detachable 3m long cable with single entry on left earcup.. The soundstage is immense with warmth in the bass and midrange. I removed the tuning filter as recommended by others. Decent sound but not as smooth overall as HD6XX.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Blushbeard
0
Nov 9, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome multitasker
I mainly use these headphones for gaming and the soundstage is great, I love them. Can hear footsteps very well. I also use them for music sometimes and they’re also pretty good for that but a little flat for me as far as music goes.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
yashagarwal
1
Oct 28, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great choice
This headphone has a lot going for it. If you have a solid amp (tubes preferably), it's hard to beat for the price. One of the best dynamic drivers in the budget. The only better option for me would be a used k712 that sells for around the same price
search
search

MindlessPCMR
1
Oct 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid choice
A year and a half in now, zero complaints. a solid step above anything else I've used in the past. I use them for gaming and music.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
LittoBud
1
Oct 24, 2020
will these ever come back on sale?
oxygenplug
11
Oct 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've had these for over two years now and they're still going strong with daily use. Currently driving them with my Focusrite Clarett 2Pre audio interface. Absolutely fantastic headphones. The soundstage on these is pretty insane and I am a big fan of the relatively flat response. I'm able to use them for every day tasks like listening to music and watching YouTube while also using them occasionally for silent recording and mixing. Sonarworks also has these as one of the supported headphones for the Headphone Edition of Reference 4. So if you do a lot of mixing, know that you can definitely use these as your dedicated mixing source if you just invest a little in the Reference 4 software.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
zabkaatlarge
12
Oct 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good Movie Headphones
I mostly use these headphones for movie watching, but for other uses I feel like the 58x or the 6xx is a better headphone
check
Would recommend to a friend.
spronk
153
Oct 15, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty good, but not as good as the 6XX
These are a pretty good set of cans, but I think value-wise they are bested by the Sennheiser pair (58XJ and 6XX), and the Hifiman HE-4XX. Comfort: These are comfortable headphones. They don't have the K701/702/Q701 bumps in the headband that for many get very uncomfortable, they are reasonably lightweight, and the pads are reasonably comfortable. They do have a bit of a tendency to move around the head somewhat, especially due to the large circular pads, but overall they are quite comfortable even for long sessions. Quality & durability: These appear to be well built headphones. The quality of the plastics and metal pieces is good, the cable is good. I have no issues with build at all. Durability-wise appears to be the same. Sound Quality: These are clear, reasonably detailed headphones with a strong midrange and reasonably strong bass. They are definitely an evolutionary step over the K701 and perhaps 702, and are somewhat similar to the Q701. They are reasonably neutral sounded. The soundstage of this headphone is a real standout point - it's very wide and encompassing, and the imaging is very good. The overall tonality and frequency response is not as neutral and realistic as say, the Sennheiser HD600/650/6XX, and the midrange can feel a little bit "shouty" as a result, but at the same time it can provide a bit of interesting colour - it's certainly not offensive. There is a bit of grain to these cans, but not a huge amount. Need an amp? Ideally yes, but not strictly necessary. These will drive to loud levels from a mobile device, but not super loud. Conclusions: A pretty decent set of headphones that's a little less neutral than the better value HD58X or 6XX, but has its own interesting flavour, and excellent soundstage.
yang4d
23
Oct 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The one that started it all
My first headphone above the $100 mark, which lead me to move on buy multiple headphones. Still a classic and will use it now and then.
Devax
0
Oct 9, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic
I love these headphones. They are super comfortable and sound phenomenal.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 11 of 484
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
484 OF 484 POSTS
Dec 3, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest