Audioengine HDP6 Speakers
Audioengine HDP6 Speakers
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
325 Sold
Product Description
Fusing old-school style with modern technology, the Audioengine HDP6 speakers pair well with stereo receivers, integrated amps, and tube amplifiers. Available here in a pair, each speaker features a 5.5-inch aramid fiber woofer and a 1-inch silk dome tweeter that work together to project a soundstage typically found in larger floorstanding speakers Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
19
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
fancypantalons
35
Sep 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Look, I'm not going to claim I'm any kind of audiophile, golden-eared aficionado. I just know what I like, and I like these speakers quite a lot! I bought this set to pair with an entry-level Yamaha receiver in a simply two-channel home theatre, gaming, and casual listening setup situated in the rather small livingroom in my home. A week or so in I can say, for this purpose, they've done an excellent job. For movies and television these are definitely an upgrade from my previous (very cheap) setup, particularly making dialogue shine, where I find these notably more crisp and clear. For music, well, all I can say is I like them. Good deep bass, and otherwise to my ears a clean, neutral sound. Reviewers seem to raise concerns about the high-end, but if there's an issue, I'm not discerning enough to notice. Maybe it's the tinnitus... As for aesthetics, I picked up the walnut set. The cabinets look fantastic--nice wood grain, rounded edges and corners, and overall an excellent attention to detail--and the silver branding accent looks great without being obnoxious. And for a small space, the compact design, here, is exactly what I needed. So five stars? Well, honestly, for my needs, I can't think of anything I'd change. The product came exactly as advertised, and does exactly what I'm looking for. Oh, and as a bonus, they shipped early, too!
(Edited)
Sep 21, 2019
nextSibling
18
Dec 20, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great value. Five stars, but not perfect.
Dig around online for reviews of these and you'll find the consensus is they sound great in the mids and top end, with good clarity but lacking a little power or punch in the bass. I'd agree. I'm not an ear-bleeding volume, thumping bass kind of guy, nor a hyper-critical audiophile authority, so not a problem. Have given these plenty of listening in an office-sized room with a Topping PA3 digital amp, a good-for-its-time, 20-year-old Yamaha Natural Sound stereo amp, and a new Emotiva BasX A-100. The Topping seemed to suffer the lacking bass issue the most. The Yamaha sounded the best I've ever heard it through these. But the A-100 was definitely the star performer. Loads of clarity, a wide, but not huge, stage. Live recordings especially, seem really engaging with these. Overall very satisfying. Started off fairly near-field, 4 or 5 ft away, nearly-desktop kind of setup. Good, but not great. Low volume up close with any speakers always tends to sound a little tinnier, anyhow, in my experience. Moved a bit further away (6-8 ft), and on stands, was a surprising improvement and a much fuller sound without much change in perceived volume. So I wouldn't recommend these as close-up desktop speakers. Overall, very happy. If you're a jazz/classical/folk/pop listener (me), I suspect you'd love them. Vocals, especially. If you're a metalhead or love pounding EDM, maybe not so much. Or get a sub-woofer. I got the cherry version. Not quite as red as the pictures on this page suggest. As a piece of furniture I like the look. They seem well-finished and understated but aren't the boring black rectangles that so many speakers seem to be these days. At this price, they're a real bargain, definitely 5 stars. At the original un-discounted MSRP ($500, I believe), just 4 stars.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 20, 2019
agram
3
Apr 14, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
EXTREMELY happy for the money
Wanted to revive my 300 LP collection, so I dusted off my Rega TT and went at it. I used a so-so Rotel receiver to power some ancient Audio Source mini bookshelves and it sounded "Tinny." So, I went on a quest to get better speakers...didn't want to spend much. Am I ever glad I went with these speakers, sight unheard. First thing, when I unboxed, I was impressed from the get go on packaging. Next was the weight of these little babies....nice solid build and the cherrywood finish is superb....as for sound....great midrange/vocals up front and natural. Top end is slightly, and I emphasize slightly bright....may be due to Rotel or my Denon 301mk3 cartridge going through a Schiit Mani phono preamp....needs to be sorted out. Since they are bookshelves, the bass is accurate, but rolls off in the lower frequencies (after all, they are bookshelves with a small woofer)....once I get a decent integrated amp and play with some other phono stages, I think I'll get the sound I want....then, maybe, someday, find a deal on a powered subwoofer to finish it all! For the price, I love these things....took a little while for them to break in, but do they "sing" and there's no fatigue.....now I remember why I love anologue/vinyl! YMMV, but these are a keeper, for a long time.......highly recommend
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 14, 2020
Studio151-LLC
6
Jun 16, 2020
bookmark_border
You might try a used Velodyne powered sub - fantastic. I have a Velodyne 8" sub paired with a pair of Focal Chorus bookshelf speakers coming from an Adcom pream/amp setup...really nice sub!
Jun 16, 2020
Toof
19
Nov 29, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Totally worth it.
Fantastic purchase. I was a bit iffy on them at first but once I got them up on some anti vibration speaker pads they sounded amazingly better. Seems like they were vibrating my desk and causing some pretty heavy distortion, so keep in that in mind if you are planning to use them in a computer setup. They look gorgeous. The pictures don't do them justice to see them in person. I know it's just a veneer, but it's a beautiful veneer. Very high quality finish.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 29, 2019
JamesCh
5
Feb 12, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have been into audiophile music for years and so when the need to fill my rec room with background music I wanted great sounding speakers without breaking the bank. When the HDP6 speaker came up on Drop I checked the online reviews but the reviews were mixed but since the the price was good I purchased them. Once they arrived I quickly mounted them on the wall and connected them to a 125W class D amp attached to a Cambridge Audio DacMagic. I put on some of my favorite songs from TIDAL and was pleasantly surprised. The sound was rich and bass was just right and after a few hours of breaking in the sound got even better. The cherry cabinet is very nice and matched my room well. Great value.
(Edited)
Feb 12, 2020
allage
48
May 14, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
good speaker probably not the best for the money.($250 USD)
the only reason i would get them is bc they are technically bigger. these are my first speakers, and it was a learning experience. these are really forgiving in terms of placement. they dont really boom or thump, but they have presence, imaging and placement. detail and dynamics are okay. bass is not any less anemic than most bookshelf speakers. i used a emotiva basX a100 and a khadas tone board. placed towards me, with first 2.5 ft from the wall then 5.5 ft and it helps but its minor, isolated from the desk with foam.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
May 14, 2020
allage
48
Jul 8, 2020
bookmark_border
i will say at the time i knew almost nothing about speakers. since then i have learned enough to know what i'm shopping for, and on top of that how much an amp and dac can make a difference in the sound. one thing i will say is that the hdp6 is improved by what amp i use. i went from what i used in my review to a hegel h90, and have significant bass definition, however i doubt someone would spend the money on this speaker with the intention of getting something like an h90 or better as an amp. in terms of dac combo, this seems to be really bad with non neutral dacs just from my experience. in terms of subwoofer i see many options but really no info on shopping for them, and placement seems to be conflicting in terms of information, i do know people come to a consensus with pairing of sub to certain speakers but thats not something i see often enough, and knowing how much the room matters i doubt if that info is really of any value as is. currently i have a klipsche 12 inch sub and it seems to have a very different bass sound to it which people have said is a result of many reasons like resonance in the driver material but it seems fair enough to use for now.
Jul 8, 2020
Redcap
9
Jul 9, 2020
bookmark_border
Sounds like you're well on your way to turning over enough rocks until you find the sound you're looking for. This is all part of the fun and frustration of this hobby. Upgrading the amp and bringing a DAC into the equation were reasonable decisions. As you alluded to, coaxing the optimal sound out of subwoofers (as well as speakers) can be dependent on many factors. Room acoustics, acoustic treatments, settings, placement, etc, can all impact the quality of sound from your system. The only things I would respectfully suggest is that whenever possible, audition equipment before buying. Certainly not a big deal for inexpensive speakers and headphones on Drop, but for the more costly toys that you may acquire in the future. And while other's opinions are often very useful when looking for equipment, let your ears have the deciding vote. Good luck in your quest.
Jul 9, 2020
Christianmaldo626
13
Apr 6, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great speakers for the price
Ordered these the last time they came up. I have this paired with my PS Audio Sprout and they sound great with lots of details, although not great for bass heavy music (not bad either, just not amazing). For the price this is definitely worth the buy if you're looking for a pair of passive bookshelf speakers.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 6, 2020
waximus
2
Feb 3, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing, especially for the price
Loved everything. I might be biased by reviewers: it does seem like these are great speakers but the sound isn't an amazing experience. I'm a beginner audiophile, and bought these to replace my Edifier R1850DB Active Bookshelf Speakers because I needed a bit more sound. What I got - a LOT more sound. Interesting to note, these are 4 ohm speakers. On a hunch, paired these with the Sony STRDH190 Stereo Receiver ($150, 2.0 ch, full 100 W per channel) which is supposed to support 6 ohm only, but all works great. Haven't tried an all-night max volume party yet, but that's not why I bought these. Not getting the full oomph for these (speakers are rated 150 W) of course, but at a total price of $400 for speakers + receiver, this was a steal. Also, I'm a square so I got these in black. Looks great with the grill off, but if I had more style I'd have gotten the walnut.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Feb 3, 2020
lok777
29
Aug 2, 2020
bookmark_border
you mean to say “speaker binding posts” instead of “rca holes” I believe. Speaker wire (Bare or banana)can not be connected to an RCA line input.
Aug 2, 2020
waximus
2
Aug 3, 2020
bookmark_border
@lok777 ah yes you're right, I got confused by the terminology, thanks!
Aug 3, 2020
johnnys_massdrop
4
Jan 17, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
At this price, it's a no brainer.
I now own four of these that are connected to two sonos amps, the front sonos amp is connected to the tv. An audioengine subwoofer is connected to the front amp. It works well considering I had the Sonos amps already. These speakers are great for my situation because later on I can move them to another room to connect to a different amp, or buy a more expensive receiver and larger floor speakers for front channels and repurpose the HDP6's as surround speakers. Or put them in my son's room. At this price it's an obviously great purchase as you can repurpose them later.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jan 17, 2020
tkyc
34
Jun 25, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have own many, many fine speakers but never bought from Audioengine. They always interested me with their powered speakers, so I jump at the chance to buy the HDP6 speakers. My system is much more modest than in the past ( receiver vs multi-thousand dollar set up) but these speakers were awesome. Way better than I could imagine. Real enjoyment from a very modestly priced system!
(Edited)
Jun 25, 2020
Showing 20 of 32
Recent Activity