shopping_cart
Audio-Technica AD900X Headphones

Audio-Technica AD900X Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
463 requests
·
372 Sold
Product Description
Designed to satisfy the most discerning music lovers, the Audio-Technica AD900X is a great choice for those who like the spacious quality of open-back headphones and the comfort necessary for long listening sessions. The 53-millimeter dynamic drivers were specifically designed for this model, with rare-earth magnets and the company’s copper-clad aluminum-wire (CCAW) voice-coil technology for superior audio reproduction and an extremely wide frequency response Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
14
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Czajos09
0
Sep 6, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Questionable before purchase and loved after purchase
To be honest I was a little bit hestiant about that headphones because I never had open-back headphones but to my great surprise they are great. Music is very balanced and is very rich in sound. They are very light and comfortable to the point I almost forgot that they are on my head :) Even headband is much better for me than standard ones.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
BigBallBag
100
Oct 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fab headphones, stupid headband
As the title says, great for gaming and music. Much better value than the ad1000x. Needs the rubber band mod though.
tintinbpl
0
Aug 4, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great headphones!
Really lightweight, comfortable. Everything except for lacking bass sounded good.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
LamprosCH
5
Apr 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
sound stage!!!
perfect headphones for pubg!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
A.Lin
14
Jun 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound and quite comfortable, decent mids and treble, although not the most natural and the highs could get harsh before sufficient burn in. Bass is not as emphasized but not lacking for non bass heads. Comfort is great with pads and improved by the rubber band mod.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Indokiwi
1
Apr 25, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Can’t beat open air headphones for the ultimate soundstage. these go very low on bass extensions it’s impressive I do use an amplifier with it though. Overall they are a joy to listen to very comfortable too.
Exai
10
Apr 18, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
After short 5 hours of burn in the sound is fast and immensely fun. These are a tad bright, but definitely not painful. Bass is there, not much of it, but it is not lean, it's accurate and goes pretty low. Sonically these are the best headphones I've ever had pleasure to listen to, comparing to HE-4XX, HD595, CAL!, K612, K550. The soundstage is especially phenomenal. 5 stars for sound, especially considering the price. However, having a below average sized head, these are simply too big for me. Clamping force is applied mostly below my ears, to my jaw, and upper side of the pads barely touch my head. It's a shame that they don't have a different, adjustable construction, and I'll likely get rid of them for this reason alone. I cannot really rate how comfortable they are, because they barely sit on my head. EDIT (almost a month after arrival): I've fixed the issue with headphones being too big for me by leaving them for two nights with rubber bands pulling 3D wings downwards. Sound has improved some more, but not much. I'm very happy with bass extention, sound could be a bit darker, but overall I'm in love with these. Avoid if you prefer darker sound though. Plugged into Topping DX3 pro.
(Edited)
gtb75
324
Apr 8, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I only have about 18 hours of play time on my set, but I just did a few minutes of listening on my 789 and my Liquid Platinum (both driven by a SU-8). Contrary to the review below, I feel these are not worthy of a one star review. At the very least they deserve more than a single sentence. I find them very fast and accurate (think light on their feet), but I wouldn't call them "bright". The sound stage is very W I D E and the imaging is very precise. They are also very efficient and can be driven by pretty much anything, but they do respond to better amplification. My primary use for these will be gaming, so the attributes above are all beneficial. That being said, they are perfectly adequate for music. If I had to quickly summarize these it would be spacious and pretty neutral sounding. Other somewhat similarly priced headphones I own are the 6XX and T50MK3, and both of those are "warmer" and have more bass. Also, both of those require significant amplification to sound even remotely good. The AD900X can absolutely do more with less when it comes to power. Sure the 6XX is better when properly driven, but you have to include amplification in the cost of admission with them. Yes relatively inexpensive amplification like the Liquid Spark and Atom has come a long way, but it isn't a requirement for AD900X. The 6XX is also double the price of the AD900X, so that is also worth mentioning. In terms of negatives, I would agree with what others have said about bass output and extension. The bass they have is very well defined and controlled, but there isn't a lot of it compared to my other headphones. The fit is comfortable, but they don't really feel "solid" on my head - but this could be because they are super light. The biggest annoyance, as expressed by many others, is the cable. It is, in a word, terrible! No matter what you do it tries to coil itself back up and won't stay straight. It is also very long (over 9') which might be an asset depending on your use case, but it's far too long for my needs. Considering the $100 price Massdrop was selling these for, they are really good. I paid that same price for the ATH-A500 (also for gaming) nearly 15 years ago and these are significantly better. If light weight and efficiency are important factors for you then there isn't much out there that will challenge these at anywhere remotely near this price. Right now I am deducting a star for the mediocre bass and the absolutely horrible cable, but I think four stars is pretty fair considering the price. NOTE: If the bass response changes after putting some additional hours on these I will note it in the comments section below, but I don't expect much change since these have dynamic drivers. I might pick up the SHP9500 to see how they compare to these, but I expect anything they pick up in bass over the AD900X they will lack in terms of sound stage and overall refinement the A-T has.
FuckHead-Fi
441
Apr 5, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These headphones are horrifically bright, and painful to listen to.
(Edited)
WinsonWS
17
Jun 15, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A very wide sound stage
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 10 of 14
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
14 OF 14 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest