Showing 1 of 15 reviews about:
david_abadia
35
May 9, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
the first reason because I give it 3 stars its because I need to unplug it everitime I shut off my pc, if i don´t, the windows (Win 7) wont start when I shut on... plus that, I haven´t been able to use it whit Android and the OTG cable, whit diferents celphones, and tablets. and also, I think it would be nice that when using it as an Amp alone, whit the RCA Input, it whutdown the tube, but it doesn´t, so the tube keeps burning even if you are not using the DAC section... on the good side it sound great, whit good amount of power, and the tube swapping its nice, plus the 3 gain options, so it can handle from IEMs (LZ A4 16 ohms) to Full Size headphones (HD6XX 300 ohms)
May 9, 2018
RayF
22400
Jun 21, 2018
bookmark_border
Buy a Mac--rinse, lather, repeat.
Jun 21, 2018
Operative
15
Jun 22, 2018
bookmark_border
I forgot where i read this but the tube doesn't really get burnt out like it would if this was a tube amplifier. The amp in this is pretty standard and this device would really be underutilized as just an amp. I have no problems on my win 10 desktop in shutting down, but I am hearing slight static and dim sound on right side of headphone.
Jun 22, 2018
malaprop
12
Sep 8, 2018
bookmark_border
i might be dense but why would using it as amp only (rca input, non-usb) you want to shut off the tube? the tube is for the amp, not the dac
Sep 8, 2018
david_abadia
35
Sep 10, 2018
bookmark_border
don´t worry it´s ok to ask, but you are wrong because the Tube it´s use for the DAC Section for the Buffer so If you use only the Amp with the RCA Input, you wont be using the Tube, and the fact is that I can unplugged the Tube and the Amp still working, but in that case if I plugIn the tube it´s get hot anyway.... so thats my point
Sep 10, 2018
Kedgie
41
Sep 12, 2018
bookmark_border
Tube DAC. Heard.
Sep 12, 2018
malaprop
12
Sep 14, 2018
bookmark_border
Thanks for the education, I'd never heard of a tube DAC
Sep 14, 2018
humbo
9
Jan 19, 2019
bookmark_border
The only way to turn a tube preamp off is by shutting it off. As there is no on/off switch, your only alternative would be to unplug the unit. Any tube amp will have power running through the tubes regardless of wether there is no signal or in standby mode. It's the nature of tube circuits.
Jan 19, 2019
RayF
22400
Jan 19, 2019
bookmark_border
I was commenting more on the idiosyncrasies of Windoze and it's many followers still locked into version 7 for fear of upgrading, or moving too close to the 21st century (and bursting into flames). The issue with tube amps is the price one pays for believing everything one reads on MD ;- )
(Edited)
Jan 19, 2019
humbo
9
Jun 26, 2019
bookmark_border
Ooops! Sorry about that. May have hit the reply on yours by accident. I was actually replying to someone else on this post... unfortunately I can't find them anymore.
Jun 26, 2019
See More Reviews