Bestech BG05 "Scimitar" G-10 Series
Bestech BG05 "Scimitar" G-10 Series
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.5k Sold
Product Description
Shaped like a scimitar with its trailing point and broad tip, this Bestech folder is just as well off slicing as it is piercing. The blade is made from D2 for toughness across a wide range of tasks Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
86
search
SkittleSteve
0
Dec 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good blade, needs minor maintenance often though
Stays sharp, rusts somewhat quickly but that's nothing that cleaning and polishing the blade regularly won't fix though, and even if you fail the prevention, a CLR soak will fix it just as well. Nice and sharp, and doesn't dull quickly. I use it for when I bike down trails both for safety and to clear some overgrowing branches from taking over the trail. I will eventually be able to get a cylindrical whetstone and partially serrate it to make it better for that purpose and will update this review after I do that. The only real issue is that the clip loosens fairly often. Luckily I have a toolkit that can fix that, but I always find myself tightening that single screw every 1-3 days (a Torx T6H bit does the job for that one) Other than that one issue, I like the blade a lot. Do note that the only other blade I've owned was a cheap plastic handled $2 chinese flipper blade, but I still like this one. It fits well in my oversized hands, is legal for general carry in my state of michigan, and does any job I've asked of it so far. Overall a good blade with one design flaw that needs to be compensated for by the user as it stands, hopefully the design is improved in future models with either a better screw or more of them on that one spot.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 4, 2019
cchershey
0
Sep 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overall great blade but not a daily carry
6 month review : I really like this blade and it has held up on my abuse. I would consider it more of a gentlemen's carry or occasional carry. The blade has held up and overall performance, but I have ran into issues with the clip bending and shifting against the scale damaging it. If it were secured by two or multiple screws rather than a single I don't think this would of been an issue. I still love this blade and will use it on occasions.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 18, 2019
Machine23
0
Sep 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best EDC I've owned.
Looks great, works great. I've owned a lot of inexpensive pocket knives over the years. This one looks better for EDC, does its job flawlessly, and holds up to being carried daily and used often. It's been months and it still looks as good as when I took it out of the box, and works/feels the same too. Great value.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 17, 2019
reswright
876
Jul 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not bad
The good: flip, ergonomics, grip bevel, balance, lock up. Decent fit and finish attention that distinguish the Scimitar from, say, a new Ganzo flipper, gives you a reason to spend more and pick up a budget Bestech. The meh: the blood groove, the generic large SCIMITAR engraved on the obverse blade face, and kinda the blade recurve. All somewhat jarring, but fairly inconsequent. The mixed: D2 is good, but represents a trade off. It is considered an upgrade over common knife steel because it is hard and tough. It can corrode more readily than high chromium steel, and is hard to sharpen and even harder to do so masterfully, so it is not a great choice for slicers or kitchen knives. But it is rugged and reliable and stands up to hard use. For this blade geometry I would have opted for 14C28N or VG-10 and been overjoyed to see CTS-XHP. I think this would be a nice blade for San Mai, too. I think of D2 as more of a utility and combat knife steel than anything ground to slice like this. But it is generally well regarded steel. The handle material could could take a bit more texture than they put on it. And the logo looks like it was burned halfway into the blade. Way too deep. The edges shred microfiber when you wipe the blade if you aren't careful. Little stuff, not enough to take off a star.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jul 18, 2019
Cel.DS
20
Jun 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Affordable and nice blade style, friend will like this gift.
Jun 25, 2019
Mistman
5
May 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Found it to be pretty much as advertised, no complaints. Nice knife for what it is, I wouldn't consider it heavy duty but it appears well built. Flips very nice, feels good in the hand. Overall happy with it, plan to gift it.
May 17, 2019
johnnyjo
0
May 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice knife and nice price!
May 17, 2019
Blandman
0
May 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I really like bestech knives.
May 16, 2019
bcapezzone
3
May 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great knife. Smooth opening action. Sharp blade. Sits nice and deep in the pocket.
May 16, 2019
bwilliamson192
0
May 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great knife. Smooth action and Bestech quality.
May 16, 2019
Showing 10 of 95
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
95 OF 95 POSTS
Dec 6, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
The simple quick answer: if lubing it solves the issue, lube it. It's a $40 knife. These aren't full on bearing works with dedicated race washers and the whole get up. They're a simple ceramic cage ring with a single orbital, they run against the knife steel and the liner steel. The longer and more involved answer: the liner steel on this knife is soft enough that if you've run it with a tight pivot for a long time it is conceivable that you've worn those races so deep that you have bottomed out, or are starting to. Bearing steel is MUCH harder than either the knife steel or the liner steel, and just from some light flipping my Scimitar already has well worn bearing races in the liners. And barely visible ones in the knife steel -- just from the light use. If there's a grating sensation when you try to flip the knife, this might be your culprit. If you've got that issue, then disassemble your knife, get the liners, get a piece of wet or dry 600 grit sandpaper, wet it with water or some cleanser, and lightly but evenly sand that part of the metal. You're less filing it away and more smoothing it down. You won't sand it down to the point where the ring from the bearings is gone - nor should you - but you do want to sand it down to a point that the bearings are fully back in contact with the bottom of the raceway and there's an airgap between the frame and blade again. You don't particularly want to breathe fine steel particles, which is why you wet sanded even though it's messier at first -- make sure you wipe everything up carefully. If you put your knife back together it should be fine. Just don't tighten the pivot down as hard as you have been. For the record: most folks I know aren't afraid to put a little lube on bearings, even ceramic. Some are very sparing with it because they take their knife into very dirty environments, and having a bunch of extra lube in your works just means that you have extra cleaning to do (and increased wear and tear on the fastenings and connectors as you disassemble and reassemble, over time). Lube is one of those thing where people often think more is better, and it isn't. But you aren't going to damage your knife by lubing it unless, like, you live at the edge of the desert or someplace where a lot of dust blows in the wind. It sounds silly to say it, but dust is a much bigger problem for knives than dirt is. Think of sand getting into your swimsuit - that's dust and knives. The same principle extends to anything with small mechanical joints -- ask the US military how many billion dollars of equipment they have lost to dust fouling. If you live with a lot of dust, washer knives will wear a lot better than bearings will.