Beyerdynamic DT880 Premium Limited-Edition Black
Beyerdynamic DT880 Premium Limited-Edition Black
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
160 Sold
Product Description
While most cans make you choose between an open and closed construction, the Beyerdynamic DT880 splits the difference with a semi-open design that allows for increased airflow and a wider soundstage. As it covers the entire frequency range without difficulty, it's ideal for all types of music and most impressive with dense electronic jams Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
18
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Loquah
46
Sep 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Brilliant version of the old classic
I bought these based on fond memories of the somewhat imperfect standard DT880s and I'm so happy with the decision - these are the best possible version of the DT880 in terms of both looks and sound. I agree that a detachable cable that's not 300km long would be nice, but very hard to beat at this price!!! My full review here: https://youtu.be/pWzy3QDS7hc
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Squee
160
Jul 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Needs some love, but sound great!
It needed some aftermarket pads to make them comfortable, and definitely needs removable cables, but these are fantastic for the price!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dudy
1
Jun 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Like it
Warm & crisp
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Berry.Narvz
29
Jun 16, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good
Sound is very close with T1 at a fraction of price. Very good for jazz.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
jaydro
12
May 31, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good, Very Comfortable, But Slightly Fatiguing Treble
I knew what I was getting into when I ordered these, so I can't say that I was surprised at the sound, but, man, are they comfortable! I love my Sennheiser HD6xx's, and these sound much more v-shaped. For me they work best with older pop/rock that isn't mixed too bright. Anything that's bright to start with--as I listen I find myself turning the volume down incrementally. But I did I mention how comfortable they are? (And I don't find the 6xx's uncomfortable at all, btw.) Plus: nice carry case. Minus: non-detachable cable.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Alfredo3001
48
Aug 11, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Beautiful
The best headphone I have used in the 200$ range. They sound so natural. People who buy them really needs to used them for a few days to really enjoy and appreciated the sound signature. They first time i used them I found them flat and boring. Just give them time and your ears will adjust to them to dicover how wonderful they sound. The bass response is what i like the most, it feels weird they sound and feel like my own heartbeat which adds an immersive factor to games. Not even the dt990 and fidelio x2hr have this natural tight bass ( dt990 more quantity but booming, fidelio bloated and booming bass). I ordered the 600 ohm version. They replace my best headphone spot surpassing the Sundara. Recommended
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Cmonster
9
Apr 26, 2020
I have actually read that these headphones are famous for getting better over time cause the break in time is extensive. People leave them going around the clock sometimes when they first get to achieve better sound. https://support.beyerdynamic.com/hc/en-us/articles/201875262-Do-I-need-to-burn-in-my-headphones-
piedrafria
107
Jun 15, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Was disappointed in the beginning but...
I thought there are so many better choices for the same price. The 1 more triple driver's, the akgk7xx the sennheiser hd6xx. Those are sooooo good in different ways. The hifiman he4xx is great too and then we can discuss so many choices at this price that are good. But these.... they just.... were not. At least not out of the box. Actually. They weren't good for 2 weeks.... Heck they ferry better and better and after 6 months still not at full potential. They're weren't bad per se. I liked the build and they are comfortable but I thought, If I did not purchase these...that would be fine. But I guess that's what this hobby is about. Finding out for yourself. I have the 600ohm version BTW. Original score. 3. Now after a very very long break in. 4 stars. After a few more months maybe 5. My original description.. muddled sound, unimpressive in every way. Too much bass... no separation or depth. Just..... not good. I literally worn them once, then tried to break them in playing all night. Listened to them again and put them away. I have too many good choices to waste my time with these I thought. :/ Then I left them playing for 2 nights (24 plus hours) They finally sounded better. 3 more listening sessions. Better and better. Finally!!!! Mind you, I just wanted my money's worth and was trying to see what I could do. Im glad I did. Using a topping nx4 DAC with a Emotiva BasX 100 headphone amp stacked at relatively high volume did the trick. No longer muddled, clear mids, voices came alive. Still very comfortable. Now they get the score they deserve. Just be prepared at the beginning. BTW, with attached cords and long break in, at 200, I'd start with those other options up top. But if you have a great amp and time, I think these will continue to only get better. 600 ohms.... I knew what I was doing. Lol.
(Edited)
C.J.Liu
3
May 21, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
很棒! 我用Topping NX4DSD來推它,分離度夠。開聲就讓我個人覺得不錯,聲音好到讓我開始嫌棄MSR7。 大家都說拜耳家的耳機需要run夠3000小時才能發揮它的水準!!
phoenixsong
994
Jun 14, 2019
Translated: It's excellent! I'm driving it with the Topping NX4DSD, the degree of separation is sufficient. Personally, upon initial listening it struck me as decent; in fact, it sounds good enough that I'm starting to neglect my MSR7! People say the diaphragms of Beyer headphones require 3000 hours to reach their full potential!! O_O
(Edited)
piedrafria
107
Oct 19, 2019
They do! See my review! The longer I've left them playing alone, the better they sound!
bjvp182
185
Mar 7, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love em but my slider broke
I am actually really glad I got these. I usually rock my 6XX, and i love those as well for detail and warm clarity. These added a fun side for when I'm feeling gitty. I wasn't a fan of the beloved stock pads, but through searching I found out that Brainwavz now makes their pads with micro suede and...oh my. These cans with some XL micro suede pads it's where it's at for me. I would love a removable cable but i can just do that mod myself. And to finalize on the case. It actually is pretty nice that it even comes with a quality one that is not a monster in size like the Monolith cans come with. Highly recommend these if you are trying to upgrade from a sub-100 pair you may have been rocking for a while. EDIT: After months of use and loving the sound profile of these headphones I am sad to realize that one of the slider covers is cracked. Im going to have to see if I can get a 3D printed replacement since the plastic sold by beyer will probably be the same fragile quality.
(Edited)
PoVRAZOR
35
Mar 2, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I went a bit crazy buying headphones recently. I'm just a fan though, don't mistake me for someone who knows anything. 😅 My at the office pair is now the Beyerdynamic DT770 (closed back, 80 ohm). For me the DT880 Premiums (250 ohm) are a noticeable improvement, from the better headband (), softer pads, and a generally more relaxing sound. These wouldn't be as good for the office though, due to their open backs and higher resistance (not great on a Schiit Fulla). At home I have a Schiit Magni AMP paired with an SMSL M100 DAC, and it's an extremely pleasant listening experience. I'm going to need many more hours with these, but they definitely deserve to play ball with the other great value Massdrop headphones. Compared to other cans:
  • My previous work pair was an original AudioTechnica ATH-M50 with new pads. These I found to be too warm, and I'm liking not sweating to death in the office thanks to the DT770's. A good pair, but I'm feeling myself preferring my new cans.
  • Today got the Sennheiser 6XX's. I'm going to need more time with both to pick a preference. Both have excellent sound. Between the two, I feel like I might be able to work longer in the DT880's, due to the looser head clamping pressure, but so far I've only really noticed the clamping once I remove them. Hearing them side by side, I could go either way (it might be song dependent). Today I think I'd give a slight edge to the DT880's, but that's probably because I'm used to them, and it might not be fair once I can go balanced with the 6XX's. I like both!
  • Hifiman 4XX's were my first new pair, and are also my first planar magnetic headphone. By recommendation I swapped the pads for a Hybrid pad sold here on Massdrop, and dang, it really upped the comfort. Stock I would say the DT880's are more comfortable, but with new pads the Hifiman takes the comfort lead. There's a precision to the DT880's I think I like better, but the Hifiman are really great. I'm curious what sort of improvement balanced will make.
I wanted some good mixing/mastering headphones, and I'm honestly torn between the DT880's and the 6XX's, which is exactly where I wanted to be. I could survive just fine with only one of them. What I've learned: Good headphones are good, and PC's/phones ship with terrible DAC+AMP's.
(Edited)
Narq
664
Mar 7, 2019
Comment hidden
help
Showing 14 of 27
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
27 OF 27 POSTS
Oct 1, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest