Beyerdynamic DT990 Premium Limited-Edition Black

Beyerdynamic DT990 Premium Limited-Edition Black

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.2K requests
23 Sold
Product Description
Handcrafted in Germany, this special edition of the DT990 Premium improves upon the original with an updated headband and end pieces, plus a sleek all-black colorway and a hard-shell carrying case. The build quality is second to none, and the detail and soundstage are among the best available at this price point Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
27
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Mist_x
89
Jan 4, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
DT 990 Premium 250 ohms Review Comparisons: HD 600, (have demoed focal clear, LCDX, HD 800s, HD 820, HD 599 if needed to compare) The first thing you notice is the clamp force is so LIGHT but they won't fall of your head. By the way forgot to add this but this version does lock into place whenever I adjust the headband to how big it is. The gray version seems to have trouble locking in from what I heard but this definitely does not. These are a comfy pair of headphones, way better than HD 600 which after 3 hours the headband would give me a headache on them. To me HD 600 headband was uncomfy and the earpads were very stiff. I tried the HD 599 as well and the DT 990 comfort on these are better than all 3 of these right out of the box. Bass is definitely noticeable when you first put them on with the first hip hop song I played. They literally blew me away. I also tried the LCD-X recently and they got you basically 80% of the bass quantity, which is very good value imo since the LCDX are a lot more expensive. It's not overbearing for me as someone who isn't really a basshead. It's actually enjoyable to go to a v-shaped sound signature instead of neutral. In terms of music the first thing I noticed when comparing the HD 600 vs DT 990 is that music seems more intimate with the HD 600(closer, smaller soundstage) and DT 990 seems further away. I feel like vocals may be a bit recessed on the DT 990. I sorta understand why I need less volume on the HD 600 than my DT 990. It's probably because of the larger sound stage on the DT 990 making it feel more further away with vocals which makes videos feel less louder. That said my onboard audio was able to handle the HD 600 as well at similar volumes just slightly less than the DT 990. Feels like there is better separation on the DT 990. Switching on HD 600 and DT 990 is night and day difference. I feel like you would forget the DT 990 slightly recessed mids after running them for a few hours and won't be bothersome after a while unless you compare your more mid forward headphones with them a lot. At least to me it seems that way. In terms of treble, I did not seem to suffer as much of these ear piercing amounts and don't really agree with what people say. A lot of people disliked these pairs but I'm one of them that didn't. Sound stage and imaging just to add on. I had the HD 598, although the pads were pretty much not in good shape, the sound stage was very similar to them 598, big and spacious enough for the price range and good for gaming. The imaging as well was perfect and better than the 598 imo, I could tell where a enemy was, there voice, gunshots or footsteps were easy to tell which direction they are in and how far they are. In terms of amps, I noticed no improvement over using one(JDS Labs atom, a very capable amp that is basically end game unless you want to spend 3 times as much, very neutral too and beats magni 3 in measurements.) in comparison to my onboard audio (realtek ALC1220 and ESS sabre 9018 dac), my LG v20(about 10-15/75 on the hifi quaddac), and on the Samsung J320p(about 40%-60%). Usually on the onboard audio I go to about 10-20% at most and on the amp I use low gain at 7 o clock to 10 o clock depending on what I'm listening to(6 o clock is no volume). The only reason I would recommend an amp for this is if you did not get enough volume. If you don't get enough then an amp is something I would recommend to you to get, just try it without the amp so you can see how you feel about it and possibly save money for better headphones in the future. I feel like harder to drive headphones would benefit more, as I just tried the HD 800s and the sound stage blew me away, literally amazing, but when not driven at listenable volume levels it just isn't there as much. So you might consider an amp for later then if you decide to go the high end route of headphones. Overall, these are an enjoyable pair of headphones and the contrasts between the headphones I tried made me really want to get more into this headphone world. I wasn't really that much into headphones and didn't realize how well they sound but I'm excited to try more and these were a great starting headphone into this brand new world. The HD 600 ended up being returned because of it's intimate sound stage and bass being a little too low for me, which also didn't end up benefiting from a solidstate amp as many people say for some reason. The DT 990 seemed like a better all rounder than the other whether I'm gaming, watching casual videos, or listening to music. UPDATE 1/26/19: After playing around using the 3.5 mm I did notice that it did not lock into place on my phone, or in computer head phone jack. Sometimes if I just tilt it a little one earcup can turn off completely. This also may worry me like if I do accidentally get up and at the right angle I can possibly break the 3.5mm off my computer. It does feel a little worrysome, that said the 3.5mm on the HD 600 did not have this problem as it did lock into place. Either I would A: Use the 6.3mm, way more sturdy and locks into place in my amp. B: Get a 6.3mm to 3.5 mm that actually does lock into place with a cord attached to it for extra protection. C: Be extra careful with your headphone. You don't want to get up and walk around and accidentally trip on the cord and force your headphone jack to split off. It would annoy me a bit thankfully I do have an amp with 6.3mm so I don't need to worry about it. It happened rarely although. Also the headband isn't as easily replaceable as the DT 990 Pro where it has straps on it if you look on picture on amazon, it does have screw to unscrew the headband part only while this Massdrop DT 990 Premium doesn't. I order a strap on headband I bought off ebay for $5 that was knitted and I'm just going to clip that on to keep the headband part in good condition and for more added comfort to these(which they don't really need). Technically you can take off the WHOLE headband part where it is attached to the earcups but... There are wires attached to the top portion of which I'm not sure how I would do this. The manual didn't explain it (just warranty info) although I can slightly pull the headband cushion part out off the sliders I feel a little scared I might break it/ruin warranty. If anyone knows how to do this please say. Shipping for me also took like 3 days from the date of my purchase to get to my house in NJ, I was expecting a month but that was reasonably quick.
(Edited)
Lunarkitten
73
Jun 1, 2019
You are the absolute best!!!
AnubisT
13
Jun 5, 2019
The earcups are meant to come off with a bit of a pull and a twist so they can be replaced (won't invalidate warranty). I have a pair of 770s which I replaced the stock earcups with Dekoni hybrid pads. The entire headband should NOT be removed because of the cables attached to the speakers, though once the headband cushion is removed the wire sits in a groove in the headband. The wires connecting the speakers are not load bearing, so don't dangle them. The headband cushion can be removed on mine (without voiding warranty) to be replaced, though I'm not sure about yours. Hope this helps:).
Drrragon
29
Oct 25, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A lot of bass and treble,. At first i pair it with a O2 from JDS labs, omg that treble is so piercing to my ear. This is my first pair of BD so i was expecting it to be ear piercing but not this much, this level treble is so bad, i can even hear every breath from the voice actor or the singer. (btw i got the 600 ohm version) I had to leave it running over night but nothing can tame that treble to my liking, very fatigue when listening to in long session compare to hd650 from sennheiser. However, ever since i pair it with my little dot mk2 with cv4010 tube, which just come recently, the sound from this headphone is pure gold. The treble piercing is no longer there and the bass is much tighter compare to my o2. And with the DT990 600ohm, there is also no more hissing from my little mk2, they was flaw when they are alone but together, i am telling you this is so good. These had been my favourite couple so far in headphone and amp. Very detail with tight and punchy bass, very fast headphone - just to my liking. If you buying this headphone, pls pair it with a tube amp in the least, it would make your life much more enjoyable. if you pair it with SS amp, prepare to hear the treble and i am telling you if you are like me who fortunate enough to be able to hear very high frequency, your ear is not gonna appreciate that. That is what you can expect from this headphone. Other than that, the build quality is typical for a BD, flawless! And the earpad is the most comfortable even compare to hd650 and he4xx. Tonly complain is the undetachable cable, but it looked like it gonna last for a long time before i have to change it so it would not be a problem in the near future.
Drrragon
29
Jun 2, 2019
I dont believe so, there treble is not detail at the level of DT headphone but they are there and tbh they r very fogiving when come to amp (may be just the Hd6xx series). They r the pair i would reach for when i just want good music with every genres.
Drrragon
29
Jun 2, 2019
May be my little dot mk2 is flawed or something cuz every time i pair hifiman headphone with it the noise floor is intolerable. Maybe i need one of those mod which grounding my little dot mk2 and it should be flawless.
DBvo
5
Dec 6, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've always loved my various Beyerdynamic Cans but this DT990 isn't nearly as clean and definitive as my DT770. Frankly I was surprised and a bit disappointed to not have the clear separation that I expected. I'll save these for my travel studio but I'm going back to the DT770.
JJDeviloper
187
Jan 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
600 ohm version is one of the best headphones money can buy for things like dubstep, techno, and quick changing beats. The sound can be intense, so if you want flatter, more subdued notes, you may prefer the DT880 600 ohm. These can be powered with on board audio, but will go louder and sound better with an amp. These are one of the best commercially available headphones ever made.
AudioJet
308
Mar 29, 2019
It's a difficult choice and comes down to personal preference. I love both of them but if the price was the same I'd take the 880.
JarlS
8
Mar 29, 2019
I have both - and in my opinion the 990s are far more "fun" to listen to - makes music listening more enjoyable than on the 880. Note: Both of these require a good amp. My testing on a Meier Audio Corda Classic, after an Abrahamsen DAC.
(Edited)
PapaNoel3
28
Jul 17, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sibilant
I have a Darkvoice 336SE. I got these because I have some vintage tubes that were giving be some issues with buzz using my HD6xx, Sony MDR-1A, One More Triple Driver, and Koss Porta Pro's headphones. I love the sound of the vintage tubes but at quiet parts of songs the buzz was bothersome. I thought 600ohm headphones may eliminate the buzz. It worked, no buzz when using the 600ohm DT 990's. The problem is I hate the sound signature of the DT990's. Headphone is sibilant on my Darkvoice and my Schiit Jotunheim. Much prefer all my other headphones. If you like or love the sound signature of the HD6XX i would stay away from the DT990's
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
mindhead1
562
Apr 6, 2020
I second this opinion.
BIGEARS888
34
Nov 8, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Hand Made in Deutschland Wunderbar Anyone Who Complains About This Work of Wonder Needs To Clean Out Their Potatoes From Their Ears GOD Bless,
mindhead1
562
Dec 22, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I received the DT990 600ohm a few days ago, earlier than expected. My initial impression is, they're OK. I've also decided this is my last set of mid-fi headphones. A little background. My current headphone collection includes 6xx, 4xx, m100, SR80. I primarily drive these headphones via an Aune X1S/X7S stack on my desk or a DarkVoice 336 SE in my living room. I also have a Topping NX4 and EarStudio ES100 for portable use. I primarily use the 6xx with the DarkVoice and the 4xx with the X7S in balanced mode. So they are currently my most familiar reference point for open back headphones. My first listen to the DT990 was via the X7S. I primarily listenened to classic rock, jazz, hip-hop and R&B. I immediately recognize the boosted treble. Overall I didn’t find it terrible, but like the SR80 I can see where it could get fatiguing over a long listening session depending on the type of music you are listening to. The low end on the DT990 is present without being boomy and the mids are somewhat recessed. In short the DT990 sound signture is V-Shaped. The DT990 doesn’t sound bad via the X7S, but they don’t wow me. That said, listening to the 4xx or 6xx via the SE out on the X7S is an equally underwhelming experience. When the 4xx & 6xx are driven via the balanced out they both shine. Unfortunately this is not an option with the DT990. If you have the X7S plan on getting balanced cables for your headphones. The SE out is just OK. Today I listened to the DT990 via the DarkVoice. Same classic rock, jazz, hip-hop and R&B playlist. The tubes reduce some of the treble harshness I heard via the X7S and the low end remains satisfying with mids a little recessed. The vocal presentation I experience and love with th DV/6xx combo is just not there with the DT990. The soundstage and imaging are really good. Led Zepplin’s Whole Lotta Love is great for testing this out. Again, the DT990 don’t sound bad, they are just not has pleasing to my ear as the 6xx via the DarkVoice. On the comfort front, I like the DT990 a lot. They are light and fit my head well. I have no problem wearing them for extended periods of time. The overall build quality seems pretty good and they should last a long time if cared for properly. The case they can delivered in is very nice as well. Now that I have had a chance to listen to the DT990 I think my days of buying mid-range headphones is over. I am ready to move up th price curve and see what else is out there. I’ll keep listening to th DT990 for another week or 2 to see if my opinion changes, but as of now I spect I’ll be selling these. I think I like a more balanced sound signature and when I’m in the mood for big bass the m100 get the job done.
(Edited)
mindhead1
562
Mar 7, 2019
The DT990 have more detail and high end than the m100 for sure. I’ll give the overall low end nod to the m100. The DT990 are a solid headphone, they just do not add much to my current collection. That said, I have no problem recommending them.
SpaceViking
8
Jun 2, 2019
Thank you for the review. I'm on a fence on getting these. Would you happen to know what the measurements are for the inner part of the ear pads? I have big ears!
Hectoroid
6
Mar 3, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
As far as I'm concerned, this is the best value in open back headphones that you can get for money. I already had a pair of the regular 32 ohm DT 990, and this 600 ohm model is an improvement over even that when paired with a good amp. Plus the mounting to the headband is a bit nicer in these, without that weird looking clip. The case is pretty good too. I'm going to be holding on to these for a long time, and overall, couldn't be more satisfied with this purchase.
Anthony_Shea
22
Jan 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I own Sennheiser's, Fostex, HIFIMan HE-4XX. But these are the most amazing headphones out of the lot, hands down. If the people you live with are cool with the large amount of sound bleed that comes with open backs, I would say they are a must buy for the price!
Hi Anthony. I thought I'd come back to this thread and thank you for the rec. I've had this headphone now since March and I've loved it ever since, though I bought it through another site and it was the chrome edition. So thanks!
Vijay_Mathews
15
May 7, 2020
Which one would you prefer? These or HE4XX's?
Drivinfast247
79
Dec 24, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These headphones are a perfect match with my Feliks Audio Elise. I prefer them over my $2k McIntosh MHP1000. They are clear, crisp and detailed. My tube choice just takes the edge off the treble. The soundstage is three-dimensional and large. But not to large to sound distant. I've owned these in the past and tried them with several solid state amps. I was ALWAYS left annoyed by the screeching highs. You don't get that with a quality tube amp. I purchased the 600ohm model.
(Edited)
CADCAM
5
Mar 31, 2019
I have the Keces HA-171 amp & DA131.1 DAC and these sound amazing! I also have a LD MKIII upstairs but feel the SS Keces controls the low end better than the tube LD. Just MHO but wanted to put it out there so peeps with SS amps need not turn away completely.
(Edited)
Showing 30 of 70