BGVP DMG IEM
BGVP DMG IEM
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
46
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
928 Sold
Product Description
Featuring four balanced armatures and two dynamic drivers per ear, the BGVP DMG IEM competes closely with the FiiO FH5 in both driver layout and looks. It’s made the rounds on Head-Fi’s discovery thread, and aims for an ergonomic design with excellent noise isolation and comfortable long-term wear ... Read More
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
46 Reviews
Here's what our community has to say
search
2manyCans
16
May 10, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have at least 30 IEMs ranging from name brands like Bose and Shure to the more obscure chi-fi brands like the the KZ-as10 and the CCA-c16. These hands down are my favorite. While they are middle of the road in price they punch well above. The fit and finish is very high quality. The cable is decent but the sound. Oh the sound. To me they have a warm feeling 2 them. I’m a bit of a bass head and these have great bass when sealed and seated correctly. Unlike the other chifi brands who are too treble forward and lead to listening fatigue I can wear these all day. I am driving them with a few different amps and I have turned them way up with no distortion that I can hear! I just bought the Audeze iSine20s the same week I got these in the mail. I thought the iSine would have been my favorite but they have taken a seat to this here work of art. If your on the fence just buy them! Even if you aren’t on the fence treat yourself and click buy.
May 10, 2019
JJDeviloper
27
May 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Extremely well built. Great sound. I do prefer the treble on the Tin T3. The ergonomics of this IEM is insane. Unlike most other IEMs including Tin T2, Tin T2 Pro, Tin T3, and more, these stay in my ears so well I could do gymnastics. And a light weight metal housing. These are now my go to IEMs for these reasons. Great job, BGVP!
(Edited)
May 9, 2019
Squee
105
Apr 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound quality, to my preference these are 5 stars. Just this side of warm, with strong bass, forward mids, and extended treble, without being fatiguing at all. This must be the syrupy warmth people talk about. I run these off my Sony NWA45b without problem, and they handle all my genres without issue. Be sure to try out the different filters! I tried the stock and bass filters, and hated it. WAY TOO BASS HEAVY FOR ME. I put in the silver filters, and things just clicked, in the best way. That said! Here's why they lost a star: I love the look, the cables, and everything, nothing wrong there. But the filter threads aren't the tightest. My silver filters keep backing out after the lightest of use (sitting at a coffee shop table, listening to music, and taking them out on the occasion to hit the bathroom or buy more coffee). I almost lost the filters twice, once when just opening up my carrying case, and once when taking the DMG's out of my ears. Now that I know, I'm pretty vigilant about retightening them. Still, a worthwhile inconvenience for the best sound I've gotten out of an IEM for under $300 so far.
Apr 14, 2019
Shoujin
16
May 11, 2019
bookmark_border
You could try a very thin coating of purple loctite or vibra-tite vc-3 on the threads of the filters to keep them from unscrewing in your pocket/bag but still allow them to be unscrewed with your hands. By thin layer I mean touch the end of the tube of thread locker with your finger and wipe a film of the liquid on the threads rather than applying a full drop of liquid to the threads. Make sure that if you use loctite that you screw in the filter before it dries but if you use vibra-tite VC-3 you must let it dry before assembly. They are two completely different types of chemicals hence the different instructions. Purple loctite: Loctite 555339 222 Purple Low Strength Thread Locker Tube, 6-Milliliter https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0002KKTT0/ Vibra-tite VC-3: Vibra-TITE 213 VC-3 Threadmate Threadlocker, -65 to 165 Degree F, 5mL Tube, Red https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0088YEGXM/
May 11, 2019
raymondehayes1
21
Apr 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Unfortunately, my experience with this product is not very good. First, the sound quality was very small, the soundstage was extremely small. I know the number of drivers really doesn't mean anything but frankly, the two drivers from Sony that I picked up 3 or 4 years ago way outperform these. To top it off the build quality is not that good the connections to the earphones was not strong and one of the buds wound up falling off three different times before I finally lost it. So for me a total loss and a waste of money I would highly recommend the Shure SE112-GR Sound Isolating Earphones with Single Dynamic MicroDriver. For about 50 Bucks it sounds way better than these did.
Apr 8, 2019
mutealpha
0
Mar 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Right after I received mine, I connected the pair to my Hiby R6. With the original cable and the neutral filters, the IEMs sounded too warm for me. Bass, a lot of bass, punchy, with good extension. Sound stage was big for a $100 pair while voice was a kind of recessed. After a little while I switched to my Linsoul 2.5mm MMCX cable and it changed the whole sound signature. The music came out of the pair became much clearer and more neutral, although still leaning to the warm side. Voice would not hid behind the bass any more, and you would better details. Overall the IEMs are well worth the number on the price tag. What you need for unleash the full potential of the IEMs are: 1. balanced cable; 2. a player with balanced output.
Mar 28, 2019
Pilboi
2
Mar 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I am a total noob but to me these are pretty awesome. Good comfort, good seal achieved by switching tips, and the sound is also adjustable by switching nozzles so if too harsh or deep you can likely fix it. I wish there was a mic for calls and one of the nozzles came off in my ear and my daughter had to get it out but that was likely my bad for not securely screwing in the nozzle when I changed them.
Mar 25, 2019
YellowMagusK
0
Mar 18, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The highs are very sharp. Not unbearable but uncomfortable. Selling it soon.
Mar 18, 2019
bonehammer
8
Feb 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I purchased these because a buddy of mine was very impressed with them. First, I am just a novice. I love music, I use these with a Pioneer XDP-30R DAP. I broke these in for 15 hours before I really sat down and used them. I did replace the cable with a TRN 8 core balanced cable. Honestly on all of my IEM's I notice a difference by replacing the stock cable. I listen to a variety of music and with these I ran through some of the following to check the performance: Garbage, Rush, Third Eye Blind, Poe, Natalie Merchant, Veela, Pink Floyd, Zack Brown, Patrick O'Hearn. This gives me a wide range of music to test he performance. I like the sound of these IEM's as the quality is suited to my taste. It is a little shy on bass, but it EQ's well enough that this is not too much of an issue.  I compared these to TFZ Galaxy T2 which I Massdropped around the same time. At first I liked the BGVP DMG better. But after swapping out cables on both pairs I prefer the TFZ Galaxy T2's just a tad more. Out of all my IEM's I rank these #2, I like my TFZ T2's better, mainly because the the bass has a little more "Umph". But don't get me wrong, these are among the best for the price point and I use them a lot. I do highly recommend them.
Feb 28, 2019
bonehammer
8
Mar 4, 2019
bookmark_border
Good info. I may give that a try. 95% of my music on my DAP is high quality uncompressed formats. I did try several tips but I struggle with these getting a a tight seal, especially my right ear. But for my DMG's they seal well. Before I received my DMG's a buddy loaned me his for 2 weeks, which had a really nice cable on it, and they sounded great. I could not tell any difference between his pair and mine. Any issues that I have I can address with a little EQ, which for me is normal because no 2 recordings were produced with all the same variables. Anyway DJ_Core, what is the brand of the cable and I will take a look at it.
Mar 4, 2019
DJ_Core
9
Mar 10, 2019
bookmark_border
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Headphone-Extension-Cable-Upgraded-6-Core-Copper-Stereo-Audio-3-5mm-Plug-MMCX-LZ/123600483350?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649. Also buy some double flange silicone tips on ebay ($6 only for S,M,L) and thank me later.They bring out way more details,bass is smooth and stage is super wide with excellent instrument placement and separation.
Mar 10, 2019
oneeyedgoose
11
Feb 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well, after reading a lot of other owners' review, the comment is the same from me. I picked it up from my mailbox last week and has been using it every day since, I must have about 30 hours of listening by now, and love the sound signature. Almost exactly what I am hoping for. With the comfort of the fitting using stock filter, cable and tips, $100 is a good deal! (Sound signature is a very personal matter, there is no right or wrong, good or bad classification. I am not a bass head but I like better bass, not Beats bass, just good bass if you know what I mean.) For more $$, I would like to see improvement in sound-stage, and a slightly longer (plus 0.25 meter) cable (well I can always buy other cables myself). DMG at $100 has convinced me to move away from my daily low cost ($20) alternative - Mi Piston 2. (Its kind of important as I have already destroyed/lost 4 pairs of Piston 2 in the past 2 years in gyms/change rooms.) That is how good DMG is and how much I am willing to risk. (Well if the cable get severed, I really only need to replace the cable, so perhaps not $100, closer to $50 for the 6N OCC Cable.)
Feb 26, 2019
antgriffiths
4
Feb 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Just got my BGVP DMG's in a word astounding. Everything and more. Build quality, accessories,the fit is like a custom IEM, even the box. Supream product. As far as the sound and the way your able to tweek it, I challenge anyone to find and show me a better sounding IEM. The trebble, mids and Sick Bass, all perfectly balanced. The sound is out of this world as an audiophile, I'm simply blown away. The deal from massdrop. Just $100 + $6 shipping to Thailand and no import duty? How massdrop dose that I don't know? Unreal. Thankyou so much Massdrop. P.S. One missinformed reviwers mentioned the casing is plastic? No! Wrong they beautifully crafted, CNC machined , anodised aluminium, indestructable. I found the Silver cones with midium blue silicon tips. Blanced everything out beautifully. Thats the extra fun bit with these IEM's you can play around with the fit and the sound. For $99 you wont find anything comes even close.
(Edited)
Feb 26, 2019
MorgothLovesCats
4
Mar 4, 2019
bookmark_border
I will edit it. But as I said, I agree that their construction is quality.
Mar 4, 2019
verifonix
484
Feb 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great value great sound. I paid $99 and no customs duties, thanks massdrop. The package is attractive and comes with many eartips and the sound filters are a nice addition. But ultimately I prefer my planamic with EQ over the DMG without EQ. If you prefer to use them as is / without processing these are a bargain though, although the tin audio T3, a new Hybrid BA-DD iem is probably gonna pose some competition versus these.
(Edited)
Feb 13, 2019
MorgothLovesCats
4
Feb 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Background: classically trained musician who has been playing and listening to music since he was 3. I primarily listen to melodeath, romantic era orchestral, some rock, jazz, and some chip tune. For headphones, I have the Elex, K712pro, and DT990 250 ohm. My preferences lean towards neutral sound profiles with strong bass (in terms of body). Fit/finish: these are very comfortable iems. I have these in while I'm at work for up to 8-10 hours a shift and almost am never fatigued. I use the foam tips they come with, but have spent a few days with other tips as well. I think the plastic shell feels durable, and the paint looks nice. The cables aren't too microphonic, but every once in a while there will be some jibberish spilt into the mix from them rubbing up against something. The good news is they don't tangle often. Edit: it is not plastic, it is a metal housing. Bass: I am using the silver tips for one reason - way too much bloated bass. People keep on describing it as amazing and the best and accurate and fast. It's not. It really overpowers the rest of the mix sometimes. Drums honestly fall flat a lot of the times because the sub bass is too busy blobbing itself from one portion to the next. Mids: good enough. They are definitely recessed (partially due to my use of the silvers), but I wouldn't say these are the worst vocal/guitar buds. Distorted guitar on tracks like Persefone's No Faced Mindless solo brings plenty of fun and crunch and detail that'll make you appreciate life for a split second. The piano and guitar separate well enough. Treble: bright. I like a strong treble presence, so this part is totally suitable for my ears. Yet again, filters will affect the sound. Cymbals sometimes sound good, sometimes are a little sharp. Soundstage/separation: these can't escape the fact they are iems. It is an incredibly intimate soundstage that has okay imaging. These are not open back headphones and especially aren't speakers. These do not sound like the music is in the room with you. It isolates from the world around you very well due to the great fit. Overall, I think for $100 these are not bad. I have moments of enjoying them and also moments of not. The bass is too much, but if you really like bass and subbass you can give these a shot.
(Edited)
Feb 5, 2019
DarkDelacroix
3
Feb 5, 2019
bookmark_border
100% on point, this is exactly what I experience with them, Silver filter with Foams and not jamming them all the way on my ears makes the bass bearable. Bloated Bass: I think the DMG falls apart on Imagine Dragons - Natural, 0:48 mark.
Feb 5, 2019
rookie007
12
Feb 8, 2019
bookmark_border
Thank you, I totally agree with you! I really don't get the hype about these. Don't get me wrong, they are not terrible especially considering the price. But that's it.
(Edited)
Feb 8, 2019
Radiocalm
2
Feb 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So I’ve been into iems for over 10 years. I have the Ray samuels hornet and the Shure e5 if that dates me a bit. I’ve watched the technology improve over the years and I’ve continued to purchase new things. I have some ridiculously expensive iems. These dmg are very, very impressive. At 100$ I don’t think you can beat them right now. It’s crazy how good they are for the money and it just shows how good the chi fi is getting. The sound is balanced, you hear everything. The tonality is pretty good, again for the money it’s great. And they do bass really well which was where the older stuff really struggled. I’m very happy with them. Oh and the build quality seems very sound as well, and to top it off they are very comfortable. Great iems for cheap. Very happy with my purchase, thanks massdrop!
Feb 4, 2019
WHO23
52
Feb 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Mainstream bassy tuning may be good for new audiophiles that are used to cheaper earbuds. It's also good for an audiophile with BA IEMs that want something different and cheap to lug around. Build quality and fit are great at this price point. As for the sound, when I first received the BGVP DMG, I hated it. The vocals are recessed due to the boomy bass and sparkly treble. When I changed to the gold filter I finally liked the BGVP DMG. The treble was reduced and vocals were brought out more.
(Edited)
Feb 4, 2019
Standardnut
9
Feb 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good sounding iem,great for the money. I do find them to be a little too slippery due to the finish, it looks good though. I put on a balance cable any listen them through my Sony gold brick and I can hear the air around the singer and instructments. More then the other items in my collection.
Feb 3, 2019
b3wannabe
37
Feb 1, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wow. Just received. Lovely sound right out of the box - even better when settling on the 'right' tips and filters for my tastes. Likes: Sound, comfort, looks, cable (with chin strap), good selection of useful tips. Cons: None really - I was concerned about treble glare, as usual, and you can get a hint of that in some configurations, but it's turned out to be a non-issue. I'm not a fan of 'L'-shaped 3.5mm plugs but no biggie. Overall: These scale well with source and seem to 'open up' even a bit more with use. Seriously fun listen.
(Edited)
Feb 1, 2019
verifonix
484
Feb 3, 2019
bookmark_border
What filter did you settle on :)?
Feb 3, 2019
b3wannabe
37
Feb 4, 2019
bookmark_border
Gold (bass enhanced). The default (balanced) set is also good. I am treble-sensitive, to be honest, and did not even try the silvers.
(Edited)
Feb 4, 2019
Spaceman555
2
Jan 29, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Truely blown away by how great these sound. Love the build quality. I've put a bit over a hundred hours on them now, and they've really opened up. These IEM's have made me excited to go back and listen to some older albums. They've given new life to the music. Thank you.
Jan 29, 2019
Magic_Toast
0
Jan 27, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great iem. Sound quality is the best that ive had for similarly priced earbuds. Definitely would recommend.
Jan 27, 2019
PastafarianLemur
74
Jan 27, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm tempted to write about the sound in great detail, but I can only reiterate what others are saying here for the most part. The bass is heavy to the point that I used the silver filters (lower bass) even though I rather like strong bass. But with the silver filters on and JVC spiral dot ear tips... I can't stop having a smile on my face listening to these. Just damn fun! Oh and they're comfortable and a great value to boot. Just buy them.
(Edited)
Jan 27, 2019
0_CHRIS_0
4
Jan 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely phenomenal performance for the price; crisp attacks, detailed sound and good bass.
Jan 21, 2019
Gil53
3
Jan 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm completely in love with these iems. They're clean, crisp, detailed and dynamic. Sound is beautiful straight out of the box, and they fit in my ears perfectly. Using tips from FH1's opened up the soundstage. Actually prefer them to the Dm6 for most of my music.
Jan 14, 2019
SalParadise
21
Jan 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wow. If you are new to In Ear Monitors, and are thinking about buying the BGVP DMG IEM, have no fear. I am not an expert on IEMs. In fact, I'm not much of an expert on the high end of music: my hearing tops out at 12 KHz (probably the result of age). But I do know something about sound, and I know that when two different instruments play the same note, your ears tell them apart by the the onset of the sound wave they produce. For the technically inclined, this part of the sound wave is called the 'attack'. And the BGVP DMG IEMs excel at reproducing that attack. Everything I've heard so far is clean and crisp, particularly percussion. Listening to music with these is like being in the studio with the musicians.  I played around with the supplied filters, and frankly didn't hear any difference. Probably due to the limitations of my ears. The ear tips that came installed were too small for me, so I replaced them with foam ones, which fit snugly and do a great job of isolating the sound. Are these the best IEM's around? I have no idea; these are my first pair. But I can say the packaging is first rate, they come with a generous number of accessories, their sound is amazing, and Massdrop delivered them at a steep discount from what I could have found elsewhere. If you are thinking about making the jump from ear buds to In Ear Monitors, I don't see how you can go wrong with the BGVP DMG IEM the next time Massdrop offers them.
Jan 13, 2019
Showing 44 of 76
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
76 OF 76 POSTS
May 23, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order