Datamancer 60% Hardwood Magnetic Keyboard Case

Datamancer 60% Hardwood Magnetic Keyboard Case

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
166 Sold
Product Description
Datamancer has built a solid reputation making wooden cases for popular keyboards like the Pok3r, Preonic, and ErgoDox. Now, the company has created one for 60-percent keyboards Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
6
check
67%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
steven_collier
12
Oct 25, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Far lower quality than expected
Case was not sanded, could cut yourself on the hard edges if not careful. Usb hole not as pictured, it is quite ugly. Looks like they took a half assed approach so they could manage it on a 3 axis cnc instead of taking the time to do it right. Feet not as pictured. Magnets are weak. Sitting on the desk it does look nice from one angle, but otherwise very disappointed.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Sorry you're unhappy with the case, if you would like, I am happy to send you out a new case, just email me at marketing@datamancer.com and I'll get you taken care of!
tranter
24
Oct 8, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really good-looking, organic. Wrist rest may not be terribly useful, but all in all a great product! Edit: fits my DZ60 like a charm.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Mr_Prosper
14
May 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A cool case, good machineing and good finish.
Well, I wanted a 60% ortholinear keyboard with SA profiles and MX Blues in a cool portable case. Do I have it in the end? Yes! But would I recommend it to a newbie ? No. Definitely no. Starting from the stands: they are designed to fit Pok3r boards ONLY. And I'm sitting in the middle of nowhere, where to get a simple MX Blue switch is a pain lower the belt. + 1-2 months of time to wait (Aliexpress). And I wanted a fancy XD75. All that ortho, cool and stuff. And it fit only 2 screws, what was a bummer. My grandma set an ending point to it, when the entire thing fell to the ground ripping off the stands with the pieces of wood it sticks in. So I went ot the garage and made a few holes which will fit XD75 with stands i had already (bought from Ali as well). Magnets and a wrist-rest looks like a cool thing, but needs a bit of time getting in to. I felt like it's too big for me at the start. And this case with wrist-rest is definitely not for small or shallow tables. Typing with SA's without a wrest is a bit exhausting (after a 5-hour marathon of wrtiting stuff and debugging other stuff you fell like your hands falling off and eyes are melting). And it's not suited for high profile keycaps as well. If the upper shell was 5mm higher internally, it would be not an issue. I'm having another piece - a leather strap holding both shells together. Looks even fancier this way. Overall, this is a good case, which serves me daily with my kbd. I say it was worth the time and money and I liked the process of tinkering with it. As for total result - i'd say its 4.5 for me. Because it's cool, comfy with SA high profiles when typing.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Seras
11
Dec 27, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not great
Read the edited review at the bottom. Honestly, this is pretty nice. Once assembled it was nice and rigid and exactly what I wanted. There were a few things that prevented me from rating this 5 stars such as:
  • Uneven finish in some places on the case.
  • A couple of marks and dents.
  • The rubber feet that came with it were cheap and left black marks on my desk.
  • The standoffs in the case were slightly off and did not match every hole in two PCBs I tried. One of the PCBs did not sit evenly height wise.
  • One of the magnets was either covered up completely or had no magnet and was filled in with something.
Overall, this is a very nice case and it feels handmade so I don't mind some of the imperfections. I am a bit bothered by not being able to fasten down the board completely, as there were two screws I could not put in. Thankfully the board was already pretty secure but others may not be so lucky. Edit: 16/01/2020 Having used for a while now and taken it apart a few times, it is honestly quite a hassle given the standoffs do not align with any PCB. I could deal with it the first time but consecutively, no. One of the rubber feet has come off and has left the entire amount of the adhesive on the case which is not great. At this point I'm not willing to recommend this anymore. If you want something similar, get the NPKC Bamboo GH60 case.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Hello, Which keyboard models were you using the case with? We'd be happy to take the case back and send you a new case if you feel like the alignment is a manufacturing issue. Please bear in mind that the case is only compatible with every 60% keyboard model and form factor. Either way, please contact us at marketing@datamancer.com and we can get it sorted out for you (including gluing the foot back on).
Seras
11
Jan 22, 2020
Hey @Datamancer thanks for reaching out. Sending it back is too much of a hassle for me given I'm outside of the US. I've made some modifications to get around the misaligned standoffs and I've replaced the rubber feet myself. Once the board is in everything is great. It's just I've been doing some pretty regular modifications to switches and boards and it's very difficult with the misaligned standoffs. I've only used an ISO 60% PCB and a dz60rgb ANSI. The issue isn't an incorrect PCB, the standoffs are off by 2-3mm and it's only two of them that are off. The rest are in the right position.
tw000
180
Nov 21, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best 60% Wood Case I've used.
I got the Walnut 60% hi-pro and it did everything I wanted and looks fantastic. Minor issues, still an easy 5 stars:
  1. There's no tilt to the case / keyboard. You have to prop or add feet. The lid becomes a wrist rest (magnetic) and the natural sculpt of SA caps makes this a non-issue for me.
  2. The port can be tight on certain PCBs. It's never been unusable, just a little tighter than I would have liked.
  3. There's no storage for the cable. I'm honestly not sure where they would have put this anyway.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Evansoft
5
Nov 20, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic
Rahbi at Datamancer was very helpful adding a small battery recess for my wireless keyboard (Anne Pro 2). It fits perfectly and looks great. I’m using 2 of the screws because the screw layout is weird on my keyboard, but it still feels solid with only 2 screws. I previously had the NPKC wooden case. It kind of worked, but the profile was higher than I liked. This case is more mid/low profile and much higher quality. It feels handmade in a really nice way. The magnetic top is icing on the case (get it?)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order