Dekoni Premium Ear Pads for Sony WH-1000XM2 & XM3
Dekoni Premium Ear Pads for Sony WH-1000XM2 & XM3
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1k Sold
Product Description
These ear pads bring the excellent reputation of Dekoni Audio pads to one of the world’s most popular wireless headphones. Using cutting-edge technology and measurement devices, Dekoni has been able to make an ear pad that not only improves the headphone’s passive isolation by about 6 dB, but also accentuates the sound Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
69
check
77%
would recommend to a friend
search
rebbi1
31
Feb 22, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
OMG, just buy these already!
The SONY WH-1000XM3 is a great headphone, but these Dekoni ear pads bring these cans to another level of comfort and luxurious feel with no detriment to the noise cancellation or sound quality. The OEM ear pads are just fine, but the feel of the "pleather" covering (for me) gets sweaty and unpleasant after awhile. Then you install these cushy, soft pads and good golly, the already comfortable fit of these cans gets so much better... as in, they actually feel SOOTHING AND RELAXING to wear, even if you're just using the ANC and not listening to music. As for installation, the original pads pop off really easily using the supplied blue plastic tool (called a "spudger" in the insular world of cell phone repairers and other geeky folks). Installing the new pads is a little fiddly and takes a bit of patience, but there's a trick. Position your thumb UNDER the new pad (between the bottom of the pad and the ear pad's fabric that covers the driver) and you'll be able to FEEL the location of the tabs on the circumference of the new pad. Press FIRMLY down and a little OUTWARD on each of those tabs and you feel them click into the slot on the phones. Here's a photo to show what I mean, and I hope this helps.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Feb 22, 2020
Ameloblast
18
Mar 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Got the suede and used it on my 1000XM3. Removal and installation somewhat delicate but managed to do it without breaking the frame. Came with a lever and good instructions. Helps to watch a video on YouTube. The opening is not bigger than stock which I was somewhat disappointed with. However it is much more comfortable than the stock especially from breathability point of view. Soundstage and imaging seems to have improved too. Bass not worse as much as you'd expect switching from a leather to suede/velour material. Will recommend.
(Edited)
Mar 19, 2019
DekoniAudio
176
May 23, 2019
bookmark_border
Thanks for the review, glad the video we filmed came in handy! (Yesss! Time well spent, ✊😁) The Suede material is actually the same as the Choice Leather, it's the other side of the fabric, so both are sealed materials (unlike Velour, which is a woven material) and actually should provide great sound pressure for bass and 6-8 dB of improved noise isolation compared to stock. We’re very happy you are happy!
May 23, 2019
DrunkSaru
9
Jan 30, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My main issue with the original pads were that I would just sweat profusely whenever I would have these headphones on, even if I was just sitting still and working. I needed something that breathed better to reduce the sweat. The second issue for me was after wearing these for over 4 hours straight, my ears would start to hurt so I was looking for some ear pads that would deepen the cup slightly, and help it breath better. I of course went for the suede pads and I have to say I am enjoying them a lot. The material is so soft, it's like sex around your ears. I usually don't like memory foam due to the lack of breath-ability (generally speaking) but these work out quite well. I do still sweat but the amount is greatly decreased so I just have to now remember to wash the pads every few months. Otherwise, these were a great investment for me and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in keeping cooler ears when listening to these headphones. I had to minus one star though because of two reasons. 1) For me, the ANC was slightly reduced and that was one of the key features for me buying these headphones. I thought it was my imagination but my friend has the same pair with stock pads on so I did a comparison and he and I both noticed the decrease in noise cancellation. 2) It was annoying to clip on. With the provided plastic rings, it would clip on but with slight flexes to the pads when you put on or take off the headphones from your head and or when you're putting it away, for me, it got loose and popped off every once in a while. So I took the rings off the original pads and used those instead. Now, no issues. Also, due to limited instructions, I was scared to death about breaking the headphones because the pads would not come off initially. I later found a trick that worked well for me which was to squeeze the ring+pads on the side and pulling the pad off from the bottom. squeezing seemed to give the top and bottom clips just enough play to where it would more easily pop off without feeling like you're going to break the clips or rip the pads. Lastly, due to the material, I do feel like I've lost a bit of low end but I am totally fine with that since I'm not much of a bass head anyway. These are my daily for travel and absolutely love them to the point that I didn't feel the need to want the M3 (which btw, i see now that they have pads available for the M3... Good lookin out Dekoni!)
Jan 30, 2019
dikuno10
2
Mar 16, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Choice Suede greatly increases the comfort - my (admittedly tiny) ears now barely graze the inner foam, and the hot sweaty feeling is complete gone. The ANC performance hasn't noticeably decreased for me, but I've never been great at spotting small differences in sound quality and it logically stands to reason that there's a tiny decrease. The installation experience was a bit difficult - even with the video provided, I didn't realise that prying wasn't necessary for the bottom-most clips and snapped the end of the tool. Nevertheless, the tool still worked even when broken and I eventually managed installation. Overall, for me the comfort is far more important than any minuscule loss of sound isolation and these have made the headphones far more wearable in warm weather.
Mar 16, 2019
Kwoodz
16
Jun 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Minor comfort upgrade for massive ANC degradation
I have had my XM2s since they were released. I have flown about 50,000 miles with them. I use them at work in the cube. I use them at the gym. The last option had finally caught up with me after about 6 months of daily gym use. The stock pads, not so fresh... Considering I have owned these for pretty much as long as possible, and have used them in several different environments, I feel like I have a very good grasp on what the ANC is capable of. I installed the Dekoni replacements in my kitchen while the washing machine was running. This is a very familiar listening environment. I would say you sacrifice 30-40% ANC. I wore them for about ten minutes. I also felt like my ears became sweaty pretty quick. I can’t speak on how they effect the sound as I didn’t listen to anything with them. I own these headphones for ANC first and foremost. For the price, there are far better headphones for pure audio quality. The silver lining: While removing the old pads I realized they could be removed from the retention ring without being destroyed. I put them in hot water with about .25 oz bleach and some laundry detergent. I squeezed them over and over for about 5 min while submerged, letting them suck in the soapy water. I filled the bowl with clean hot water and repeated. I then wrapped them in a hand towel and stood on them. They were completely dry, in perfect shape, and fresh in about an hour.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jun 28, 2019
confuzyon
16
Mar 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
WH1000XM3 leather reporting in. Not entirely sure if I'm happy. I expected the foam inside to be softer than it is. The stock pad foam disappears into almost nothing when squished. These are closer to other pads. I find that the original pads are more comfortable and offer better noise isolation. The Dekoni may soften over time but for now they add pressure on my jaw a bit. I love the look of the Dekoni (more premium) and I feel like the sound has improved a little - maybe it's that the bass is cleaner? That could simply be moving the ear further away from the driver because the Dekoni pads are a little thicker. I will be leaving them on for now but I'll end up carrying the stock pads with me on my next trip because I could easily change my mind. The headphones do still fit in the case perfectly with the new pads on but will not accommodate the stock pads as well. Edit post-trip: Left the Dekoni on there but I'm still not sure about the additional pressure on my jaw. If Dekoni used even slightly softer foam it would go from 3 to 5 stars overnight. This would improve noise isolation and make them much more comfortable. As it stands I would rate them flawed. The noise isolation was fine in the airport, plane, etc but it was a noticeable downgrade. Without a doubt they are a side-grade at best from the stock pads rather than an upgrade. Edit 6 months later being used almost every day: I feel like the foam did soften more at some point. There’s either no pressure on my jaw anymore or I grew used to it a long time ago. I switched to the stock pads again out of curiosity and am amazed at how thin the original pads are. ANC is still noticeably better with the stock pads - and still think it’s due to the difference in thickness. Comfort is about the same these days. Dekoni has bass that is very slightly clearer but slightly less impactful. Honestly could just be my imagination knowing that my ear is further from the driver. I still prefer the Dekoni overall because they feel and look more premium.
(Edited)
Mar 13, 2019
confuzyon
16
May 19, 2019
bookmark_border
It isn’t the pressure on the head - it’s the density of the foam used in the pads. XM3’s band can expand wider but hard foam is hard foam. It’s not like it’s rock hard but the shape of the pad is very noticeable on my head. The stock pads are thin and squish into nothing but it’s very soft foam. Dekoni made the pads (three?) times thicker and then used harder foam to compensate for the reduced noise isolation. I would have preferred that they use softer foam and made them slightly thinner to achieve more or less the same effect on isolation but with drastically increased comfort.
(Edited)
May 19, 2019
themuna
142
May 20, 2019
bookmark_border
Got it. Makes sense.
May 20, 2019
Rockets
15
Feb 28, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I purchased the Choice Leather XM3's. Removing the factory pads was easy enough with the included tool. Fitting the Dekoni's properly was very fiddly. The first cup took about ten minutes to fit. I paid close attention to how the factory units were fitted before attaching the Dekoni ones. In the end I found aligning the top and bottom peg's first was the most effective way to begin. I then did the left & right ones which didn't fit as easily. I ran my thumb around the inside of the plastic ring manipulating the rectangular clips into place. Getting these to fit is the key to making sure the pads are attached securely. After I had the technique down I easily fitted the other pad. I haven't noticed any change in NC but sound isolation seems a little worse. These are definitely more comfortable and give a bit extra space in the cup so they don't heat up as much. Personally I'd prefer real leather. These ones feel better than the Sony factory fitted pads but the texture isn't as nice as real leather.
Feb 28, 2019
Obsidian6
6
Apr 16, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Improved sound quality, improved comfort, reduced ANC quality.
I originally purchased the Dekoni replacement pads through Massdrop in the Choice Suede material a little over a year ago. When I first received them, there was some initial difficulty in getting them to clip in properly to the XM3 ear cups. You just have to press a bit harder than you might be comfortable but they do indeed snap right into place.  Once installed properly I was really pleased with how comfortable they were on my ears, they generate much less heat (at least to me) compared to the stock pads but where I was happiest was with the slight adjustment to the sound signature. The XM3s aren't overly "bass-heavy" headphones, but in some genres it can be a bit overpowering. I found that these replacement pads from Dekoni do actually balance out the sound signature in a way that to me was quite pleasing.  So, improved comfort, improved sound quality, win-win, right?  Unfortunately that's not the end of the story. The replacement pads also dramatically reduce the effectiveness of the Active Noise Cancellation (which is kind of the point of buying the Sony XM3s in the first place). It lets in a lot more noise, which you wouldn't notice in a reasonably quiet space, but when there are voices nearby or perhaps dogs barking, it isn't drowned out in the slightest. It appears that sounds on the higher frequency range just come right through.  It's worth noting that this is referring to the experience with just Noise Cancellation turned on, not using the Ambient Sound mode. So on one hand, these actually do improve the sound quality in a way that makes me really happy, they're also more comfortable on my ears / head for long listening sessions (such as listening to music all day while working from home); but they unfortunately cancel out the main feature and reason for buying these headphones in the first place. If having ANC doesn't matter too much to you then I actually do recommend these pads for the improved comfort and sound, but if you care about that Active Noise Cancellation, I have to say you should pass on these.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Apr 16, 2020
BigBallBag
51
May 19, 2020
bookmark_border
Obviously suede will let in sound.
May 19, 2020
Obsidian6
6
May 19, 2020
bookmark_border
I appreciate that insight but unfortunately it isn’t obvious. Even in the product description it is stated that the pads will improve noise isolation. The sound signature change was really pleasing but it renders these headphones unusable for noise cancelling purposes and at this price point there are far better options if one is purely going for sound quality.
May 19, 2020
Jimjimjimbo
6
Feb 27, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I actually noticed a significant reduction in NC, my estimate is 25% (I'm guessing my ears are more sensitive than others). However the original pads didnt breathe at all so I couldnt wear them for long periods without sweating and discomfort. I'll reluctantly accept the reduction in NC for the added comfort and breathability. From a fitment perspective, I agree theyre not a perfect. I'll mirror some of the comments on the material not being cut nicely so it doesnt fit well on the plastic rings. They require a bit lf messing about to get the clips to satisfyingly clip into place. Hopefully, the clips will hold.
(Edited)
Feb 27, 2019
madams72
2
Jun 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
+1 for comfort, -2 for NC.
Comfort may be a very small improvement, but there's definitely a degradation in the quality of the NC.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jun 22, 2019
Showing 17 of 106
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order