Dekoni Premium Earpads for AKG K7XX & More
Dekoni Premium Earpads for AKG K7XX & More
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.5k Sold
Product Description
These Dekoni premium ear pads provide a breathable, cushioned, enveloped feel for hours of fatigue-free listening—all while leaving you with enough isolation to enjoy your favorite records. They’re compatible with the Massdrop x AKG K7XX headphones, along with the K701, K702, Q701, Q702, K601, K612, and K712 Pro models Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
76
check
88%
would recommend to a friend
search
David_R
109
Feb 25, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I replaced the stock pads on my K7XX with the Elite Hybrid pads. I have three points to cover: look, feel, and sound. They look a lot cleaner than the stock pads. I will also note here that the build quality is good. They are slightly more comfortable for two reasons. First, they increase the distance from the drivers, which means my ears are no longer touching the foam. Second, they have more give than the stock pads, which is nice for wearing glasses. Finally, after swapping back and forth, I do not notice a change in sound beyond a subtle decrease in volume. (Maybe if I were to have one of each pad on while listening to a song that was playing in mono, and I were to change the output to all L or all R, then I might notice a difference...) However, the sound component of the listening experience is significantly improved due to the memory foam in the Dekoni pads. I find the K7XX to be a very creaky pair of headphones, and the rigidity of the stock pads accentuates this creakiness. By contrast, the Elite Hybrids (and presumably the other Dekoni models) eliminate these annoying sounds emanating from the headset. If you wear glasses, then I would caution against an all leather model because I find that glasses rub against the leather, which can create very loud vibrations with the slightest movement of the head. This is my experience with my ZMF phones, which have (extremely comfortable) all-leather pads.
Feb 25, 2019
jbittle
4
Apr 5, 2019
bookmark_border
Thanks, you have answered my biggest question concerning the K7XX. I too have found my pair to be very annoying to listen to due to the creakiness (left side only). So much so, that I considered selling them. Apparently, the stock pads are too stiff.
Apr 5, 2019
David_R
109
Apr 5, 2019
bookmark_border
Glad it was helpful! Yeah, there has been an improvement, but it's not a complete elimination of the creakiness.
Apr 5, 2019
Relaxin
31
Feb 7, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great fit and feel.
I seem to have a small-ish head and these pads helped pick up some slack in the fit of my K7XX. The stock pads allowed the headphones some wiggle room and would shift from their place when I turned my head quickly or looked down. Now the fit is nice and snug. The change in sound is a little less like an amorphous smear and now resembles something more like a piantbrush stroke across a canvas. To put it a different way, imagine a song as a bedsheet hanging on a clothesline blowing in the breeze. You can hear the instruments standing behind the sheet. After changing the pads it's as if the instruments took a step forward and are now pushing against the sheet. Now you can see the definite shape of the instruments as the sheet moves about in the wind. The build is excellent as always (I've purchased about 4 different pairs of Dekoni pads for various headphones now.) They hold the cups a little farther away from my face than the stock pads which is very welcome. My ears get a little irritated after extended headphone use. Hybrid pads, THX 789 Amp, Micca Origen as DAC, anxiously awaiting my D70 DAC to ship.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Feb 7, 2020
Whalos
3
Mar 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic product (got the Elite Hybrid), increases soundstage over my worn stock pads as the drivers are further from my ears. Seems to trap bass better than the stock ones too, my headphones are very well worn in but it stops me needing to boost the bass in EQ, and actually seems to make the weak output of my iPhone SE usable at 50% volume or higher, rather than needing to hook up my FiiO E17K just to hear details. I was skeptical of the other reviews saying that there was a huge difference, but from experience these have given a whole new lease of life to an excellent set of headphones. However, only 4 stars due to the cost of getting these in the UK - VAT on receiving them was more than I expected, making the cost roughly £65 overall. I don't regret my purchase, but considering that's about 1/3 of the cost of the headphones, I don't think the value is necessarily there.
Mar 12, 2019
VerusAmicus
147
Apr 20, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I got the Elite Hybrid Earpads for my AKG K7XXs. I bought my K7XXs second-hand from a friend who ended up preferring his Q701s, but ended up keeping the pads from the K7XXs. So I found these Dekoni pads to be far superior in feel to the old Q701 pads while sounding similar. Obviously I cannot confirm for sure whether they are as such an improvement over the pads that actually come on the K7XXs, but that friend I mentioned earlier also ended up getting a pair of these. So yeah.
search
Apr 20, 2018
Pyce
16
May 29, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I purchased the velour ones for my K712 Pro - very disappointing experience! They are way less comfortable than the original pads and the sound quality is horrid. At the end they disintegrated after 8 months of light use.
May 29, 2018
Dushyant
10
Oct 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Completely spoilt the Bass response and soundstage
I don’t know what the other reviewers are saying here but the fenestrated Sheep skin pads completely killed the Bass and changed that soundstage to a closed signature. Further the mids got shouty.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Oct 4, 2019
TheRabidCoder
23
May 27, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm a little torn writing this as I absolutely loved these pads... while they lasted. I got the sheepskin variant ~6 months ago, and they were bliss on the ears - 5/5 in that regard.
I take excellent care of my headset, however I use it very heavily and it can tend to get pretty hot it my room. If I'm in front of my computer I have them on. After 6 months of use the glue holding everything together has completely failed/melted away and these have all but disintegrated.
I would 100% recommend these for a headset that isn't your daily driver, otherwise they unfortunately won't last very long.
May 27, 2018
money4me247
228
Dec 23, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent product. Very comfortable. The earpads are deeper, so gives my ears a bit more space compared to the stock earpads, and I no longer get my ears rubbing against the inside of the headphones. I was meaning to do measurements of the new earpads against the stock earpads, but never got around to it. Just comfort-wise feels much improved. Highly recommended.
Dec 23, 2018
kjling
118
Jul 27, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Elite Hybrid on my AKG K7XX, good comfort even in hot weather
Jul 27, 2018
MB16
13
Jun 27, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great replacement pads!
Great replacement pads that offer a different sound stage than the stock pads. An improvement on an already great pair of headphones! AKG K712
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 27, 2019
MB16
13
Jun 30, 2019
bookmark_border
I went with the elite hybrid as I thought it would be the best for me overall. I wanted a bit more of a bass profile compared to the stock but keep the comfort and breathability. I think they hold true to that. IMO it's not a bad bass boost (this is my first time swapping pads on these, I didn't swap pads on my Q701s either). I mostly use them for gaming so its great for that. They close off the sound a bit and remove some of that "openness". I'm very happy with the purchase! Hope this helps.
Jun 30, 2019
rawrus
73
Jun 30, 2019
bookmark_border
Yeah it's funny. I go on a trip to the north island of New Zealand next week (I'm in South) and I didn't bring my original pads. I haven't had much time to listen to the perforated leather pads but I get annoyed they heat up my ears a lot (sheepskin used to always bother me on Sennheisers but I got used to it) Though there's a weird nuance with listening to the artist LiSA (japanese music) the vocals jump out at you and seems very shouty. I don't know if I will tolerate this as the leather reflects sounds compared to stock fabric. A quick note. The Beyerdynamic DT 990 has circle holes in the velour pads, so sound does truly go everywhere giving nice soundstage. My initial impressions on K712 swap was a more realistic soundstage which I did not mention. Hybrids seem like a good idea :)
Jun 30, 2019
Showing 15 of 92