Dekoni Premium Ear Pads for Fostex
Dekoni Premium Ear Pads for Fostex
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.9k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Product Description
Following the success of its premium ear pads for the Massdrop x Fostex TH-X00 and TR-X00, Dekoni Audio has expanded its lineup to include ear pads for the Fostex T50-RP and TH-900 headphones, too. These pads provide a breathable, cushioned, enveloped feel for hours of fatigue-free listening, while leaving you with enough isolation to enjoy your favorite records Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
78
check
89%
would recommend to a friend
search
junki
324
Apr 18, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought the TH-900 Elite Hybrids in the final leg of my pursuit of aftermarket pads for the HIFIMAN Sundara that would provide higher quality, better comfort, and preservation of the Sundara's stock sound in both tone and technicalities. There were some unfortunate events that prevented me from receiving these pads, but Dekoni finally made it right by sending me these pads free of charge.
For context for pads I've tried and what my previous favorite was: https://www.head-fi.org/threads/hifiman-sundara-he400i-upgraded-around-500.860413/page-69#post-14179198
The Dekoni TH-900 Elite Hybrids are very, very similar to Sundara's stock pads, the HIFIMAN PaliPads. They are more or less exactly the same in all dimensions, and the way the ear cavity walls are perforated are largely the same. The differences are: - The velour on the Dekoni is the typical sort of slightly fuzzy velour you'd expect on most velour pads. The PaliPad uses a sort of mechanically woven, not-fuzzy-at-all mesh. The PaliPad's mesh looks more premium, but the Dekoni velour is oh-so-soft and better feeling on the skin.
- The PaliPad has protein leather outer and perforated protein leather inner, while the Dekoni uses real lambskin both outside and along the inner ear cavity wall.
- The PaliPad uses some sort of regular foam that deforms gradually over use. The Dekoni uses memory foam that much better molds to my face, earlobe, and glasses. And that's it. With the felt-tape-modded ZMF Universe pads, the sound was very close to the stock sound, but the deeper ear cavity did make the sound a tad more closed with a tad less microdynamics than with the PaliPad. But with the Dekoni TH900 Elite Hybrids, I literally cannot hear a difference compared to the stock PaliPads. To my ears, they are sonically identical. However, due to the memory foam, the softer velour, and real lambskin, the Dekoni is more comfortable and higher quality. There you have it: the Dekoni TH-900 Elite Hybrids are my highest recommended aftermarket pads for the Sundara if you want to preserve the Sundara's stock sound while making your ears happier!
Apr 18, 2018
Camride
15
Jul 18, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Bought the Sheepskin pads for my T50RP, it's the most comfortable pad I have ever used. Basically like putting soft butter around your ears, but without the mess. I wear these almost all day at work and they don't get hot or uncomfortable and they're not even perforated. I can't recommend these highly enough.
Jul 18, 2018
HIFI778
633
Mar 31, 2019
bookmark_border
What about the sound difference from the stock pads? Does it change much and if yes how so? I have a pair of T50s mk3 and was thinking to buy the sheapskin pads but I am concerned about the sound changes...
Mar 31, 2019
Hyde
678
Apr 20, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'll copy and paste my review written the other day. I own Platinum (Protein Leather), Sheepskin and Hybrid for TH-X00. With and without attenuation ring, I actually prefer all 3 without the ring, it just makes it sound too "thick" with it on. Though Sheepskin mightttttt be ok with the ring.
Platinum (Protein Leather): Closest to stock sound, smoothed treble, mids is a tiny bit further than stock, bass a little bit boomy, biggest sound stage. Sheepskin: Clean sounding, treble a little bit shaved off, mids is similar to Platinum, mid bass is recessed (probably why it sounds clean, but loses warmth), bass is THICK, didn't notice much to sound stage. Hybrid: Treble a bit sharp, mid recessed, bass also sound THICK, didn't notice much to sound stage. Which is surprising because I was hoping hybrid would make the vocal more forward but it's the opposite.
All in all I find surprisingly I like Platinum the best (also cheapest, since it's fake leather, but it might explain why it sound closer to stock pad). After that I think Sheepskin with attenuation ring might be ok (forgot if I prefer with or without), and lastly Hybrid pad (disappointing since I had high hope for it).
BUT!!!!! (huge butt, very important) Unless stock pad really irritates you, I'd stick with it. Stock pad to me sound the best and most balanced (also free since it came with headphone). Any other pad just sound "odd" to me (though Platinum is closest, also improves sound stage at the trade off of boomier bass).
I gave 4 star because build quality and customer service is very very good. Unfortunately I had to deduct a star because in the end I didn't end up using them (stock pad sound the best). So unless comfort is really bad for you (for me it's fine) then I would just keep the stock pad.
Apr 20, 2018
purplezorz
18
Nov 27, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I got the Elite Hybrid pads for my Purplehearts. They're perfect. The seal, comfort against your face and headphone weight distribution have all been vastly improved and no more sweat! This is a mandatory upgrade. The sound changes IMO (unless you're REALLY listening) are minimal. It's certainly not as extreme as the forums would have you believe. I got maybe a tiny bit of sharpness in the treble and from what I could tell basically no changes in the lower bass region (I'm a bass head, so I'd know haha). I got the attenuation ring, though tbh it's not really necessary and can be easily gleaned from the existing pads. Haven't tried them without and don't intend to. Basically, you can't go wrong and they are well worth the expense. Pad changeover was relatively easy. ~7 minutes for the first one whilst I got used to it following along with Z reviews and ~3 minutes for the second one as I'd gotten used to it. Always make sure the pads are the right way up and are on properly. If you hear any anomalies in the sound (namely unbalanced sound between the two earcups), try again. The fat but of the pads should face you. Note that this review is only relevant to Purplehearts and the Elite Hybrid pads. I'm sure the process is the same across all cans, but the sound differences, fit etc may differ slightly between pads and cans. Happy Listening.
Nov 27, 2018
thesavage-me
10
Jul 21, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Got the Elite Sheepskin for my Massdrop TX-0 and it changed the sound signature more to my liking. Not as comfortable as the velour, but also don't gather dust as easily.
Jul 21, 2018
PatRob
0
Apr 30, 2019
bookmark_border
Cool to know it's improve for you .. Culd you say it change the sound a lot ? I really like the T-XO but I'm used to listen my music with my D2000 (pairing with an Audio GD NF15) with the fantastic kick and the clear hights ! I tried to improve the T-XO with a reasonnable budget (Not going for Argon because of the sheeping fees from France) Thank's for your answer
Apr 30, 2019
kukkurovaca
175
Apr 18, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Review for protein leather T50RP pads. (Massdrop should probably include a way to filter reviews by specific product options, or else the scores are going to be pretty useless.)
They're fine pads, well-constructed, but I would suggest going instead for angled pads and (in my case, at least) fenestrated or hybrid. The pads that came with the T-X0 (which I think are Brainwavz non-angled hybrid) sound better to me, as do Shure Alcantara pads.
Apr 18, 2018
Dubescu
3
Oct 21, 2018
bookmark_border
What changed? I have the Shure Alcantara pads on the T-X0 and I keep going between these and the original ones they came with from Massdrop. Not necessarily that either one is bad, but each has something the other doesn't.
Oct 21, 2018
dorkvader
197
Jan 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I got these for my T50RP which were about 10 years old and the stock pads were dead. They arrived in a nice box but have a number of flaws. I got the velour ones. The biggest issue is probably that they're not velour. Unlike the photos there's none of the fuzzy velour material on the outside. I can forgive a product for being bad, but it's harder to look favorably on one that's not as described. <edit> I should be more clear here. You can see the velour on the inner ring of the pad, but the part that contacts your head looks like it's the same material but inside out. Secondly they are too thick for the T50RP. There are two issues with this. One is that it stretches out the top part a bit more than other aftermarket pads making it harder to wear, but the second and more important fact is that with the drivers farther from your ears it sounds terrible. I confirmed this by squishing the pads in closer, it sounds much better then. Thirdly, they are very uncomfortable. I have added a leather strap to the T50RP which made it a bit better, but it's bad. I can wear my other headphones all day, but these are really bad after an hour or so. I think it's extra clamping force from being too thick added to the fact that there's no velour material (it's just fabric) I was hoping these would be good like the pads that came with the T-X0 but nothing could be further from the truth. As such I cannot recommend these to anyone.
(Edited)
Jan 23, 2019
KuroYariman
24
Jul 1, 2020
bookmark_border
That’s pretty cool thanks for letting me know! It’ll cost 40 bucks and have to ship from japan so I’ll have to think about it a bit but I really want them!
Jul 1, 2020
Hyde
678
Jul 2, 2020
bookmark_border
Lol true I think it's because they ship with DHL so it come in 3 days from Japan to your door, so it's a bit pricey. Maybe wait till when you need to buy more stuff to offset the cost. Sometimes some Japanese brand items are cheaper from Japan, such as Sony, Denon, Fostex, Stax, and Audio Technica. So doesn't hurt to look around lol.
(Edited)
Jul 2, 2020
Riel
26
Apr 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Got the Elite Hybrids for my TR-X00 Purplehearts and I very much love these. Most obvious change will be the comfort. Stock pads made my ears sweat in less than 5 minutes while the hybrids are much much more breathable. The hybrids open up the soundstage which in turn reduce the bass slightly. The changes are not huge and they now really align to my tastes.
Apr 23, 2019
ridhuankim
588
Apr 29, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Ordered sheepskin with attenuation ring for my ebony TH-X00. Also ordered sheepskin for T-X0.
Both makes them feel premium. But the sound signarure changes as commented by many reviews here.
It is a choice to make. For comfort and premium feel, must buy. For original sound signature.... Stay away.
Apr 29, 2018
jdeoxys
217
Apr 19, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I ordered the Sheepskin X00 pads. They're simply excellent, cool to the touch, smooth - but not too smooth as to not be grippy - soft. The earpad hole is a bit small, but this is also present on the stock pads and is necessary to leave the sound mostly stock. There is a little bit more lower treble and a little bit less upper treble. The bass is unchanged. All in all, excellent.
Apr 19, 2018
Showing 18 of 91
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order