Drop 40L Backpack Designed by Dan Durston
Drop 40L Backpack Designed by Dan Durston
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.4k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Made to meet the needs of the Ultralight Community, this backpack delivers a weight of 32 ounces using a blend of fabrics to withstand decades of use. It’s been designed by thru-hiker Dan Durston for efficiency, simplicity, longevity, and comfort.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
70
check
95%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Jimberly
1
Oct 24, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love it so far!
Looking forward to putting more miles on it. The hipbelt and shoulder strap pockets are new to me, and they've saved me a lot of time. No more digging through my pack for snacks or a headlamp.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
yiyonghwan
4
Oct 17, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good! Can't beat the price.
I'd give 4 1/2 star if I could. Having pouches on shoulder straps is "Good Idea, but Poor Execution", in my opinion. There are many good options if needed than fixed pouches which aren't big enough for things I would like to carry there, i.e., phone, small camera, GPS device, bear spray, or water bottle. Just a daisy chain strap would've been better, so a user can customize.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
beakerb430
7
Oct 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great lightweight bag
Used it for a 3-day weekend trip in western NC. Very comfortable, very impressed. Only concern for others is I have about a 28" waist and if I was any skinnier, the hip belt would not tighten enough. Not sure if the S/M size has a smaller waist size.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
gar1t
6
Oct 8, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Stupidly good value
Short of getting into the $200+ gram weenie market (admittedly I'm researching options atm) this 40L backpack is a complete no-brainer. I've used it on the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore trail - a grueling 42 mile through hike across the Midwest's most treacherous terrain, jk it's just pretty - and really enjoyed this pack. Everything is well balanced for the 40L size. I removed the foam pad because I use my sleeping pad in along the back. The frame is easily removed if you want to save some weight, you know those precious grams. With the frame though 25 lbs is easily supported. When you want to go lighter it packs down and feels quite small. The front pocket is misguided. It wants to be a single stretch pocket. As it is, it's too small for much. I'm tempted to remove the entire front pocket + shock cord edifice and replace it with a simple mesh pocket. The hip belt pockets are well positioned and nicely sized. But their zipper is oddly placed, leaving a shallow pocket that makes me nervous. I would not want to accidentally leave these pockets opened with anything valuable inside for fear of the contents spilling out with a casual lean. Moving the zipper to the top would make this pocket much safer. You can see there's not much to complain about. Oh, unless you're particularly double jointed, it's not practical to access water bottles with the pack on. That's something to consider. For the price though, this is simply an amazing backpack.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
oldlaxman
5
Oct 3, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great product.
I started backpacking in the 70's where it was common to carry 40-50 pounds at the start of a weeks hike. Was using and Osprey Aether 70L (5.3 lbs by itself) for the last few years but just retired and decided to go lite with this pack and the X1 Mid tent. I took a couple long day hikes loaded with 30 pounds to get used to it which was a light load with the Osprey but a little uncomfortable with the Drop. Went up to the Whites in NH for a week, (24 lbs with 7 days food and 2 liters H2O.) Not as comfortable as the old set up but at half the weight I noticed the difference in my legs. (Going to continue on the road to enlightenment.) What I Love: The extra pockets on the shoulder straps. Perfect place to put my reading glasses. Put my water filter on the other side so I didn't have to dismount to collect water. Light weight. Plenty of space. What I don't: I really like having my camelback and being able to drink while moving. May get a smaller bladder and put it in the side pocket. This is the most porous pack I have ever used. Rain goes right through it and it stays damp for a long time. I've always used a trash bag for a liner so my gear was dry but it surprised me.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
oldlaxman
5
Oct 5, 2020
Maybe it was because every thing was wet after hiking in the rain for a few hours but it seemed damp in the pack and especially in the hip pockets. I will seal the seams before my next outing.
Sweetjond
39
Nov 11, 2020
Having taken both my Osprey Exos and the DD40 into rain, there’s no question my DD40 keeps its contents drier. Exos is pretty good, but I worry about. Don’t even think about stuff in my DD40.
McCarthy
3
Sep 17, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I was very happy with how the pack carried.
41y Male, 5 10 and if I measured correctly 19.5 torso length. I purchased the M/L for my first overnight backpacking trip. I don't have experience with other packs, but was happy with how the Dan Durston 40L Backpack carried. I was able to complete the White Mountains Pemi loop counter clockwise over 2.5 days. Pack weight was somewhere around 25-27 pounds. No bruising on shoulders or at the waist. I was concerned on how the waist belt would work, since I am on the smaller waist size. No issues with the belt slipping or how the weight transferred from shoulders. I tried carrying my Nemo short pad both inside the bag, up against the back, and on top of the pack. I preferred having it in the bag as it provided more structure and stayed out of the way. I did notice some hikers hunching over with their other brand bags, but felt I was moving normally. I lack the experience to recommend tricks to organize the bag so check out some of the other comments for great ideas. One change I will make in the future is to add loops for securing my trekking poles. I lost time trying to stick them in spots on the pack. This was just a few times I had to scramble up rocks and wanted my hands free.
search
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
TravelingDutchy
5
Sep 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
The first change that we took the bag out for a longer track in the tatras. It fits amazingly well on the back and is indeed super light. The side pockets and extra storage spaces for phone et are really handy. The only things i noticed is that the straps fit a bit wide on your back and can brush your arms while waking. Maybe its because im a woman but a bit narrower would be nice. Great value for money. Do take ik to account that shipping to the Nederlands will give a 50 eur surcharge for customs and processing!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
jhufford
12
Sep 9, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well designed, unique pack that works great
I just got back from a 3 night, 30 mile trip in the Beartooths of Montana with this pack and it worked out really well. After one trip, I really enjoyed using it, so I'm writing a long review covering all of the features (apologies for the length). My entire loaded pack, with 3 nights worth of food and a liter of water was 22.3 pounds. It carried this weight well. Frame, suspension and ride - The suspension is well designed and was the main draw of the pack for me. The frame connects directly to the hip belt. Crucially, it connects closer to the sides of your hips, instead of the belt connecting to the pack at the center of the back. It's very effective, allowing you to transfer nearly 100% of the load to your hips. The load lifters are effective and gives you a lot of adjustability with the shoulders straps. Maybe 20% of the time I didn't use the hip belt and the shoulder harness was comfortable. The shoulder straps themselves are fairly wide, distributing the weight well. The harness was just a tad wider than would be optimal for me (I'm 5'8" with narrower shoulders, pack is M/L), but it didn't cause any problems and was overall still comfortable. The sternum strap was useful to slightly adjust where the shoulder straps hit my shoulders, but I didn't need it much of the time. The hip belt is lightly padded, but works and can be comfortable. I had some rubbing issues and had to fiddle with my pants and shirt sort of often, but when things were adjusted right the hip belt did feel good. I don't fault the belt as it was really only one hip that was rubbing, the other was mostly fine. I might figure out some sort of extra padding, but overall the hip belt works. Stuff your down gear and sleeping clothes into the bottom to form a back for the pack that feels good against the small of your back. It never felt excessively hot, and much of the time the backs of my shoulders were not touching the pack allowing for some air flow. I'd guess it'd be comfortable to 25 or maybe 30 pounds and would probably have decreasing comfort past that (but for me, past 30 lbs won't feel good in any pack). Main compartment - Your normal main compartment. You can roll the extension collar down around the bag making it easier to stuff your sleeping bag into the bottom, I don't know if that's intentional, but it can be nice. I fit in a non-ultralight 15 degree sleeping bag (Pariah Products 15 degree down, warm but heavy and sorta bulky), sleep cloths, extra socks and underwear, down puffy coat, electronic stuff, wallet, cook kit, inflatable sleep pad and an ursak with 3 nights worth of food. When full of food, the ursak and sleep pad would be put in vertically and I could have fit a couple more days worth of food without much problem. It's a good size for my gear. Quick pocket - The quick pocket is fantastic. It shares the same volume as the side pocket which could potentially limit its usefulness but I found a perfect use. I put the bottom end of my X-Mid into just the top of the side pocket to hold the bottom of the tent while using the side compression cord to hold the rest of the it. This worked out extremely well, leaving most of the side pocket to be used as the volume for the quick pocket. It easily held a large map, a 2oz emergency poncho, and a pair of gloves, with some space to spare. It was easy to quickly look at the map or put the gloves on or off without taking off the pack. Very convenient. Front zippered pocket - The zippered pocket is large enough to be useful. I was able to fit my first aid kit, wet wipes, tp, trowel, and 50 ft of zing-it line. It's narrow so you have to take out items above the item you're looking for, so pack it accordingly. Shock cord front pocket - I was initially skeptical of the shock cord stretch pocket, but I'm converted, it works. The bottom could have used one more zig-zag of the shock cord, so just be careful with what you stick at the bottom. But it's not difficult to make the items secure, although I did reroute the shock cord at the bottom (pic below). It will hold a lot of stuff. I put in my ziplock non-food garbage bag, a windshirt, a rolled up piece of reflectix for a sit pad, and my water filter kit with a lot of room to spare (I could still fit a 32oz Sawyer bag full of water). I could tie my filter bag to the shock cord for extra security, although I was never worried about anything falling out, it holds items well. The shock cord gives you plenty of spots to lash stuff to, makes it easy to hold wet clothes or you could change out the shock cord entirely if you wanted. Side pockets and compression cord - The right side pocket fits two one liter smart water bottles perfectly and I was able to clip a hydration hose onto the shoulder strap with mini-biners, which worked well. I think it might be difficult to get water bottles in and out with the pack on, but I would never hike without a hydration hose so that's irrelevant to me, the right side pocket is just fine. The left side pocket is best used in conjunction with the side compression cord in coordination with the quick pocket to maximize its use. It's a clever design. The side compression cords work, are long enough to be able to use for attaching items and the line locks at the top grip the cord well and are easy to use. Shoulder strap pockets - These pockets are small, but are still useful. I put a handkerchief in one and a pair of clip-on sunglasses in the other. Everyone has their preference for shoulder strap accessories, but these ended up working pretty well for me. My nose runs often when hiking, so the handkerchief in the pocket was super convenient and was a perfect use for it. They won't work for a phone. While my phone will barely fit, it sticks out into your arm, so stick to small items. Hip belt pockets - Typical hip belt pockets. They're decent sized, but not big enough for a phone (to give an idea of the size, my Note 5 will just fit with enough effort). You can open them with one hand but need two to close them. I used the left one for the day's snacks and the right one for supplies I might need during the day (sunscreen, mini swiss army knife, leukotape etc). Very useful. Cons - There's not really anything I would call a con. Some minor nit picks might be: The way the load lifters attach to the shoulder straps is kinda funky, but probably fine. The hip belt is only lightly padded, but it's still adequate. The long term durability of the shoulder padding could possibly be a concern, I don't know how durable the foam is, but I'm not really worried about it. There's a lot to like about this pack. It has some unique features and it's clear a lot of thought went into it. While the pack is not waterproof, the material is waterproof making the pack highly water resistant. It seems to be well constructed. It offers a lot of organization and an effective suspension with a comfortable carry. Only the price is budget level, it's a high quality bit of kit. Surely the best bang for the buck on the market. The Durston Duo of the 40L and the X-Mid make a great core to a lightweight setup at an extremely attractive price. While I don't have long term experience with it, it worked very well for me this trip, I expect it to continue to do so and I look forward to using it again. (Pics are after my trip. It's all the gear, but the food is gone)
search

search
This is the same as the official product pic. But they didn't come routed that way (or not all of them anyways), most of the user photos show it routed differently. Anyways, it's an improvement to change it to the way the Drop product photo has it and is easy to do.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Thanks for taking the time to put this together! Glad you are enjoying the pack and tent.
jhufford
12
Sep 9, 2020
No, thank you! You put a ton of thought into these and ended up with two fantastic pieces of gear at an unbeatable price. I was really impressed with them. I consider the Durston Duo to be the go-to starting point for anyone looking to get into backpacking (and experienced backpackers too). They may ultimately not work for everyone, but it's a great place to start looking.
(Edited)
RoadVirus
5
Aug 28, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice piece but not a good fit for me.
Bad fit for broad shoulders. Fix the chest strap. Go mesh on the front pocket. Ditch the stretch shoulder strap pockets and add daisy chain loops. I returned mine but would give a 2nd gen a hard look if issues are addressed. My example was very well made with no workmanship flaws. I also feel that X-pac is the superior material for pack construction.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jkimboston
16
Aug 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
High Quality, great value, and I love it
Just came off the AT after an 8-day LASH. It worked great. Lightweight, enough pockets for everything. The material is stury and it repelled the rain without a rain cover. I did use a compact trash bag for a waterproof inner liner but it never go wet when it rained. I am deducting a start because I think the shoulders did not quite fit me right (I have to fiddle around with it a little) and the lack of water bottle holder in the front straps and no daisy chain hang a bottle holder off of) but we made due with the side/back pockets. the netting in the back pocket is not as tight so a jacket almost fell through. But honestly, those are really small things compared to the how well this pack functioned. Thank you to Dan Durston. Huge fan of his designs and looking for more!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 15 of 180
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
180 OF 180 POSTS
Dec 1, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest