Drop 40L Backpack Designed by Dan Durston
Drop 40L Backpack Designed by Dan Durston
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Made to meet the needs of the Ultralight Community, this backpack delivers a weight of 32 ounces using a blend of fabrics to withstand decades of use. It’s been designed by thru-hiker Dan Durston for efficiency, simplicity, longevity, and comfort.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
48
check
95%
would recommend to a friend
search
larsmarona
12
Aug 4, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Still hasnt turned up
Would love to review this bag, but it still hasn't been delivered over a year since I paid for it, and just shy of two months since they said they shipped it. Customer services are doing absolutely nothing about it
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Aug 4, 2020
dandurston
3632
Dan Durston
Aug 4, 2020
bookmark_border
Sounds like the postal service lost the package. How long has it been since you contacted customer service? Sometimes it takes a week or so for them to write back, but they normally do. If it's been longer than that I'd message them again.
Aug 4, 2020
gui3gui
63
Aug 4, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great backpack with perfect fit and finish
A great bag for hiking, holydays and other activities.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 4, 2020
Kozio
3
Aug 1, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Blown away with the quality
Coming from more "tacticool" bags I was a bit concerned but this bag has exceeded all expectations and weighs half of every other bag I own if not less
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 1, 2020
BlinkThru
5
Jul 30, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic
Great all around framed backpack for those looking to keep their weight down. It checks all the boxes: Comfortable, fits everything you need, quality materials, thoughtful design, lots of versatility with pockets and straps, durable, and LIGHT. After taking it out into the Three Sisters Wilderness in Oregon, Im finding it hard to give any true criticisms of this backpack. Especially for its price, it can’t be beat. I’d gladly buy a future iteration for much more, and plan on using this one for an AT thru hike next year. Excited to see more from Mr. Durston.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jul 30, 2020
Krinkle_the_Old_Man
2
Jul 25, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So now I have had the chance to shake down the pack and fully load it up ( include the X Mid 2p) and everything fit well and stored great. I'm still getting used to the webbing / front pocket compartment - not sure if I like it better than a traditional front mesh pouch like my ULA photon has but I will say there is a lot more storage options. I am no longer concerned about the QC in the buckle however it is sewn a bit off from center so the strap is not centered over the top of the pack when cinched (does not affect the performance of the pack). Love all the hidden zippered pockets. Happy with the size of the hip belt pockets. Speaking of the hip belt, it rides nice and take the weight off. I'm a DD fan boy so I am happy with this pack and my two X mids. Keep up the innovative designs.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jul 25, 2020
dannyaquatic
7
Jul 23, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A wonderful, thoughtfully designed pack with possible durability and QC concerns
As a 6'0" bony guy who's run the gamut of packs and outdoor gear, this pack fits my needs exactly. I'm a fair-weather weekender who isn't quite ultralight and no longer has any interest in playing pack mule on said weekends. I've always straddled the boundary between medium and large size packs and the M/L fit me perfectly. I have not had the same issues with the hip and shoulder pockets like other reviewers have. They have been quite useful for a phone, snacks, chapstick, and any other small items I might find helpful during my hikes. The pack is an excellent size and forces me to be intentional with what I pack which I greatly appreciate. The good The pack holds a BV450, but it makes everything else a tight fit. I've opted to place mine with the lid away from the back and I find that pretty comfortable. The side pockets hold all items well and the zippered compartment is greatly appreciated. The back panel will hold trekking poles, but it can be a little bit of an operation. It will accommodate loads of 30lbs in it, but I wouldn't push it past that. The bungies on the back of the pack have a lot more give than they may seem. I asked a lot of them by stuffing my rain jacket, filter, and fishing supplies in it during its inaugural trip in Mokelumne wilderness. In total I carried my sleeping pad, X-mid 2P, sleeping bag, BV450, rain gear, map, compass, water, filter, headlamp, and fishing gear. I can attest to the waterproofing capabilities of the fabric and I encountered some light rain and the water rolled right off. I'm interested to see how the waterproofing holds up.
search

Quality control concerns Some of the concerns I have revolve around general quality control and long-term durability. As gentle as I try to be on my gear, I've already seen some scratches on the fabric which I wasn't anticipating. However, this comes with the territory and is perhaps more attributed to user error. Upon packing and inspecting the brand-new pack I was concerned to find some questionable stitching on the bungies that make up the external pocket. The bungies are tight and I hope that they will not pull out the daisy chain in the future.
search
When testing out packing of the bag I found what appears to be a hole in the fabric where the sole buckle attaches to the pack. This and the stitching along the whole seam does not inspire confidence as the fabric looks like it was already separating when I hadn't taken it out yet.
search

search
Regardless of what I believe are these QC shortcomings, the pack fits so well that I have no qualms attempting repairs in the future should they be needed. Ultimately, I understand that this is something that is not by design nor is it something within Dan's control. I don't expect that this is the norm. I cannot give this great pack five stars because I'm concerned about its long-term viability and I do not have the peace of mind that the stitching will hold for the years to come. That said, I would not hesitate to buy this pack again or a second iteration of it. Last thoughts Overall, this is the best fitting pack for me that I have ever owned. I'm extremely pleased with this pack. Not only does it look great, but the thought and design put into it make this a wonderful pack to explore the outdoors with. This pack is a must to consider when looking for something that you can take backpacking and hiking. I look forward to putting a lot of miles on this pack. I am so grateful for Dan's involvement in this project and I eagerly await his future contributions to this industry.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 23, 2020
dannyaquatic
7
Jul 27, 2020
bookmark_border
Thank you for taking the time to address my concerns and provide extra insight! I have a much greater peace of mind now in regards to the bartack. That was my main area of concern. As far as the hole goes I'm not sure either! The stitch hole seems to make sense to me. Luckily right now it is not a very large hole. The note on the stitch elongation is helpful and gives me more to keep an eye out for as I handle my gear more gently. Things get pretty packed with the bear canister inside so I will have to be mindful with my packing. Is some stitch elongation normal in regards to this pack? I ask so that I can better assess the situation as time goes on and to determine when my load might be too large. Thank you again!
Jul 27, 2020
dandurston
3632
Dan Durston
Jul 27, 2020
bookmark_border
Yeah some stitch elongation is normal. Pretty much all packs using fabrics in the 70D range are going to show some of that because 70D fabrics (like VX07 here) is a lighter material where the threads in the fabric will "group" or "pull together" a bit as they are pulled on by the stitch, rather than holding their position as well as a heavier material like the green 210D. Sometimes using shorter stitching helps but it's debate-able because any given stitch is holding onto less material where a focused strain could pop those easier than a longer stitch holding onto more fabric.
Jul 27, 2020
Nambro
2
Jul 22, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Have only put ~20 miles or so on the pack but it has been very comfortable and kept my gear dry after an unexpected full day of rain.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jul 22, 2020
Sehry
2
Jul 19, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Can't believe how good this is!
This weighs in 1.1kg lighter than my last pack so just on that fact alone this pack is awesome. It is waterproof, handles showers with ease. Comfortable - suprisingly so. Roomy - easy to pack, love the belt pockets. I teamed it up with a HMG Versa as I like my snacks/hat/gloves close by as it all worked so well together. Couldn't be happier with the quality/size/weight/comfort/price/speed of delivery. Saving up for the tent next.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 19, 2020
dandurston
3632
Dan Durston
Jul 20, 2020
bookmark_border
Sweet! Glad you like it!
Jul 20, 2020
ChristianA
2
Jul 15, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely love this pack!
Received my pack about two weeks before a trip! Once I got it out the box I was totally enamored with the overall look and weight!! Took it out for the first time last weekend and was not disappointed! Going from a 60l to a large one of these 43/40l I was a little nervous about getting all my gear in!! Didn’t have any problems at all!! It was super comfortable to hike with the straps and padding are all on point!! The side pockets provided ample space for snacks and small items! I would 10 of 10 recommend this pack to anyone wanting to go light weight!! Great job!!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 15, 2020
KirkandPatti
1
Jul 14, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I already have an excellent ultra-light backpack by another manufacturer with which I was totally pleased with ... until I saw this one. Both are excellent materials and construction, but Dan Durston's backpack has additional, carefully considered features that my other one does not. Quite simply, I am even more pleased with Durston's backpack than I was with my other one. I can see that a lot of very careful thought went into the design.
(Edited)
Jul 14, 2020
Showing 16 of 142
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
142 OF 142 POSTS
Aug 5, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest