shopping_cart
Drop 40L Backpack Designed by Dan Durston

Drop 40L Backpack Designed by Dan Durston

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.1K requests
3k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Made to meet the needs of the Ultralight Community, this backpack delivers a weight of 32 ounces using a blend of fabrics to withstand decades of use. It’s been designed by thru-hiker Dan Durston for efficiency, simplicity, longevity, and comfort.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
106
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Shelle
0
Aug 30, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent pack especially for the price!
I got this pack originally for me as I was trying to go lighter and move away from my Gregory Jade 53 which is an extremely comfortable pack but has some unnecessary functions and I liked what the Durston pack had to offer and at the weight which was a bit lighter. However, once on the trail with it and moving, this pack did not sit well for me. I found the shoulder straps not comfy on me and I could not access the side pockets without help. I ended up switching with my son and took my old pack back and found I was much more comfortable. Now, this pack worked great for my son and he loved it. Functional and easy and had everything he needed. Not to mention the colors went with him perfectly! We put the bladder behind the little zipper compartment/cords which worked great and the dog water bottles on the side pocket.
search
search
search
Perhaps Dan can develop a pack more developed for the woman's body!? The depth of the pockets were great but the angle could be a bit different as well as the shoulder straps. I loved the stretchy mesh pockets on the front, the deep pockets on the side, the zipper pouch and the easy roll closure. It really is a nice pack. Change the style a tad and perhaps the color and you can develop a line for the girls!! I am happy I purchased the bag and it is well constructed and has everything you really need, including a bit of structure with the inner frame which is removable. Just waiting now for the women's line. :)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TGerry
13
Aug 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
An ultralight pack for less than the price of a conventional pack!
I've had this pack for a little while now, and while I haven't used it as much as I anticipated (stupid wildfires), it's been great for the ~10 nights I've used it. It's my first ultralight pack, and I'm coming from using Osprey packs almost exclusively. I originally started out with the Atmos 65L, then downsized to the Exos 48L, and then downsized again to the Talon 33L. I really liked how compact and light the Talon was, but 33L was a little tight for me when it came to trips longer than 3 nights. This pack fit the bill for exactly what I was looking for - a little bit bigger than my Talon 33L, and lighter too. It definitely helped that it's way cheaper than any other UL pack I've seen as well. I'm 5'10" with an 18" torso, and went with the larger size. To be honest, I feel I probably could have sized down - I have the shoulder straps and waist strap fairly short. Pros:
  • X Pac material. Supposedly this is a really big deal, but I'm not super well versed in 'boutique' pack fabrics like DCF and what not. But I have heard people say it's almost impossible to have X Pac at this price point, so I guess that's a good thing? Anyway, it's a pretty durable feeling material, and the fabric itself is waterproof (I think, but more on that later).
  • Removable frame and back pad. Technically, my kit is not ultralight. My base weight is usually between 12-15lbs, and I don't do insane things like cut my toothbrush in half, so I probably will never remove the frame or foam pad. But the option is there if you're into that kind of thing.
  • The back panel dries insanely fast. Admittedly, my back gets super sweaty wearing this pack, but the back panel dries within a minute or two - literally. There's no open cell foam on the back panel (like many other packs have), so there isn't really anything that can absorb much sweat.
  • Tons of pockets. In total, there are 6 zippered pockets. One problem I anticipated with making the jump to an UL pack was that there wouldn't be as much organization, and I'd just be dumping stuff in the main compartment. Not so on this pack! The envelope pocket and quick pocket (on one of the side pouches) also have waterproof zippers. Some people complain about the shoulder pockets being unusable, but I use one to store my buff, and one to store my Garmin InReach mini - two items that I am constantly taking out and putting back while on the move.
  • The slanted side pouch is such a genius touch. I'm a pretty inflexible person, and even I can reach my water bottle when it's in the slanted side pouch. So awesome that I don't have to take my pack off for a drink.
  • Daisy chain lash points. I only ever hang my little packtowl off my pack, but if you like lashing stuff or hanging stuff from your pack, there are tons of lash points.
  • No mesh front pocket. This one is a bit controversial, but I like it. The front pocket is held on by elastic cord, and not mesh. Mesh is easy to rip and hard to repair, but elastic cord is easy to replace, or remove entirely. The cord that comes with the pack is a little short in my opinion, so the front stash pocket is a little too tight when the pack is full.
  • Super easy to clean. Mine got really muddy the first time I ever used it, and I just gave it a rinse in the shower with some warm water and it rinsed clean. It didn't even stain!
  • I haven't actually measured the capacity, but I think 40L is with the top rolled down as far as it can go. If you just roll the top 2 or 3 times, you can get quite a bit more volume.
Cons:
  • I had this pack in a few hours of rain, and some water got inside. Not sure how, but a few things inside my pack were a little wet. I'm assuming it got in through the seams because water beads up on the X Pac material, but I don't know for sure. To be fair though, not much got in. Or at least not enough that I was concerned.
  • The attachment point for the load lifter straps on the shoulder straps is very poorly reinforced. It's attached with a thin piece of webbing sewn to the edges of the strap. The load lifter straps pull on this strip of webbing and stretch it out. I fear that it may fail entirely one day, so I may try to sew down the entire strip of webbing, instead of just the edges. It's sort of hard to explain, but if you look at photos of the pack you'll see what I mean.
  • The buckle that goes over the top seems like it may fail eventually as well. The female buckle on the front of the pack looks like it's pulling a bit when pulled tight. I'm not too worried about this, as this buckle doesn't serve a ton of purpose aside from compressing the roll top down a bit.
  • The inside edges of the straps rub my clavicles in a weird way sometimes. The inside edge of the straps where the sternum strap attaches is a bit stiff, and I think this causes the issue. Loosening the sternum strap seems to help though, and it's never been severe, just a nuisance.
Dan is killing it with his designs. I have the X Mid 2, and it's probably my favorite piece of backpacking gear right now. I hope he comes out with more designs/products!
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Humneso
0
Jul 29, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent value for a high quality, versatile pack
This pack is an excellent way to dip your toe into ultralight backpacks, as well as being a high quality pack that will work well for even a highly technical backpacker. So far, I've carried the pack with loads up to 30 lbs for a total of about 100 miles. My typical loadout with food and water for a 3-4 day trip is about 22lbs, and I will carry up to 30 for training day-hikes. The pack carries extremely well at any of those weights. I love the versatility of the design. I would prefer a water bottle pouch on the right shoulder, but I've worked through that by adding a bottle holder with a loop of shock cord to hold the bottom of the bottle. I'd like the left shoulder pocket to be able to hold my phone, but it's not a deal breaker, and it will hold my Osmo Action camera with UltraPod attached (the UltraPod does stick out the top of the zipper, but it doesn't bother me). I would like the hip belt pockets to be a little bigger, but once again, not a deal breaker. Some would prefer a mesh pocket on the front of the pack, but I really like the pocket and shock cord system - it works well for the way I carry my gear. The side pockets are quite excellent. I've already purchased a second one for my teenage daughter. This is now my go-to pack!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
apolk413
1
May 5, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overall a great backpack.
I took this backpack out on a few short hikes as well as a hinting trip all within the last month. My friends that I was with on my hunting trip all commented on how cool my backpack was. It held my gear well and did great. As far as my hikes have gone, I noticed the shoulder straps tend to pull outwards a little bit. I am 6'1" with about a 19.5" torso. It is nothing major, but just a little annoying at first. If I could give this 4.5 stars, I would. Overall a great backpack so far, and I plan on taking it on my adventures this summer, one being a thru hike. Hopefully it treats me well!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
retep49411
17
Mar 30, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
New Favorite Pack
I finally got this pack out on a section hike. We had great weather at the beginning and end of the trip. During the middle of the trip it absolutely poured on us for 48 hours straight. I didn't use a cover, but had a nyloflume liner. All of my gear stayed completely dry in the liner and there was almost no moisture that got into the main body of the pack. I was considering sealing the seems, but after this trip I don't think it is necessary. The only mod that I made was to restring the front pocket so that my hammock tarp would fit better. This took about 5 minutes. The fit was comfortable and it rode really well. This is my new favorite pack by far.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
cbrrr
4
Mar 16, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love it!
Comfy, roomy, sleek. So much to love about this pack. The should straps fitted me weirdly at first, but it wasnt uncomfortable and seemed to feel better and fit a bit snugger after a few hours use. The design, quality and performance are all top notch. Dan has done it again! Yeah, I got a sweaty back. And I'll definitely be replacing the stretchy cord with something slightly looser.
search
Only faults I can find. 
search

search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
EXCELLENT Pack, but Did Not Fit Me
While backpack shopping for the Camino de Santiago, I was looking for a something that would be good for that as well as future backpacking trips. The first contender on my list to review is the Drop 40L by Dan Durston. PROS: Inexpensive Fairly lightweight Water resistant Xpac Cool zippered side pocket storage. Innovative front "pocket" (hit or miss depending on how you use them) Integrated shoulder strap pockets. CONS: Strap Pockets too small for phone. Hip belt pockets too small for many phones. Wide should strap attachment points make fit difficult for some body types (inc. mine). Full review here: https://youtu.be/oPt6jVzvLaQ
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Bearman3006
1
Mar 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Positive
This is a well designed and well made pack. I would like two changes made to the sternum strap. I have a 44" chest and the strap is just long enough. People with a larger chest may have a problem. Consider adding to the length of the strap. I also believe the sternum strap could potentially be more comfortable is it was adjustable up and down. A relatively easy improvement.
Glad you're liking the pack. Indeed it would be good if the sternum strap were a bit longer. I plan to do that when I get a chance to make revisions. The sternum strap is adjustable up and down (it slides on the rails). Do you want more adjustability?
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Edited to add- I have now used the pack a whole heap and my review below stands. I have decided to sell the pack on, only because I have splurged the mega bucks to have a female specific strap set up (S shape) custom pack made, the DD40 is as close as it gets to perfect for me other than this aspect and certainly much better value for money than anything else out there. I am very happy with the pack. I was interested in this pack, having extensively used the XMid 1p and also purchasing a 2p. Only hesitation to purchase was sizing, given that I am 5ft 1" female and had read mixed reports about fit for that size torso length. I am a Australian Size 10 (US 6) and my body shape is 'pear', much heavier through the hips than my upper body. Initially not convinced that the pack was going to work out for me as out of the box and a random load of my gear put in it, the shoulder straps felt too wide for me and the straps seemed to dig in on the inside edges, I worried that with some arm swing, I would also chafe due to how the fit seemed. I intended to sell it on while it was still brand new. Another female purchaser encouraged me to give it a chance, so I did. Happy to report the pack is a total winner! With the XMid 1p, I waited until nearly owning it a year before reviewing as I wanted to test it in all conditions, I view a tent as a piece of equipment. For me, a pack is different as it is an item that I wear and from previous experience in buying and trying packs it is very quickly apparent whether they will work and fit well for me. For this reason I am happy to review the Drop Durston 40 now. I have taken it on a 12km rainy day walk, loaded out with 4 days worth of gear plus food and 3lt water to really put it through its paces. Heavier than I am ever likely to need it to carry. The following day I walked 32km in a day, some offtrack and needing to slide through gaps in rocks and getting thoroughly soaked from armpit-high foliage. Construction is robust, no mesh - hurrahhhh! So good for Australian conditions. I had no concerns with scratchy trees , shrubs or grazing past rocks. Interestingly, I figured the pack would be wet out, both from the rain on Day 1 and then the heavy dew from high foliage on day 2 (water was bubbling out of my trail runners with each step!) but althought the outside was wet, inside was totally dry. After getting out of the rain, the exterior also dried lightning fast. I have no doubt this pack will last me many years. Layout is outstanding. I had considered a GG Mariposa as I liked the look of how gear could be stored, however 60lt is overkill and I did not have confidence in the robustness of the pack. The Durston 40 has it just right for me. Out of the smaller pocket, I can easily extract and then put away a 1.5lt water bottle. The shoulder straps fit my 'fiddly' things in nicely. One side held chapstick,hand san, sunglasses. The other side had my head bugnet and my 'drop bear spray' aerosol. One hipbelt swallowed my tech bag with room to spare and the other was full of snacks. My Samsung A21s in bulky wallet style case was easily stowed and retrieved from the zip on the larger side pocket. The large side pocket is amazing and am pondering its best use as it really is a great size. My thoughts are my XMid 1p would fit nicely OR replace the cordage with some shock cord and slot my Nemo Switchback Short in the side, although I did try it and it was tight. I have just purchased an Exped Flexmat that I will cut in half, so I expect it will fit very nicely there in the side pocket, or even inside the pack, which would be my preference. If possible I want my CCF as minimally exposed as possible. I don't want it stored across the top of my pack in the longer term. I am sure after a few trials of different ideas I will find what works best for me, the pack certainly gives me options to customise how I carry things. Fit. Well, just try it in the wild is my recommendation. The fit feels superb for me in use. There was no conflict between my natural arm swing and the shoulder straps. My initial concerns about being too wide set were unfounded, there felt like there was no weight/pressure from the shoulder straps in the slightest, I felt so free and unrestricted with the pack on. I will trim quite a decent length off the shoulder straps as due to my short/small upper body the excess straps nearly dangle down to my knee height. That should be encouraging for larger folk as there is clearly a lot of room to adjust larger. The hipbelt fit was great for me. My concerns around that were other packs I have tried in a smaller size have then not had the right hipbelt for my curves, but it fit like a charm. The pockets sat at a good point for me and I had excellent load transfer from the loads I carried. I will also trim some excess from the straps there too. Torso length wise, I don't think you would want to be much shorter than I am, but it works very comfortably for me. All in all, extremely happy with the pack. The material, construction,fit and price point are all at a place where I am happy with them.
search
search



(Edited)
Replying to my own review to say I hVe used the pack a whole lot now, my review definitely stands, am very happy with it
Awesome! Glad to hear it.
drarmento
29
Feb 27, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great little pack!!! All you need in 32 oz.
Two pounds is much better than my 25 yo Dana Design Arc Flex (6.8 lbs). I love the small zip pockets on the down shoulder straps. They hold Gu and snack bars perfectly for easy access (pic). The zip pockets on the hip belt work very easily with one hand and almost fit my S10+ phone. I will be getting a waterproof pocket to attach to my shoulder strap to accommodate my phone for quick access in front of me. Material feels great and I would expect exceptionable reliability from Dan Durstin products. Nalgene bottles and other larger diameter gear fit VERY easily in the side pockets with elastic closure (pic). Very nice design. My 3L water bladder fit beautifully in the spacious main compartment and the hose snaked out through a designed opening and clipped onto my straps perfectly. I will be testing the pack tomorrow with a 5 mile hike in a downpour and evaluate how rain proof she is. The 4.8 pounds of weight savings in the pack alone is a Godsend. I will be using the pack on a hike through Utah (Bryce and Zion) this summer. I will have to give another update after that and a week at SeaBase Florida. Get out, and get some! 👍🇺🇸🙃
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 20 of 252
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
252 OF 252 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest