shopping_cart
Drop ALT Barebones Mechanical Keyboard
$140

Drop ALT Barebones Mechanical Keyboard

bookmark_border
$140
Case Color: Black
Complete Setup:
add
Switches (70 pack)
add
Drop Keycap Kit
3k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
184
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
MechKeyFan
0
Sep 12, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Arrived with Two Key Locations Defective
The Shift and Left Arrow Key were unresponsive and proved defective. Troubleshooting included swapping functioning switches into defective key locations, checking for bent switch prongs, placing extra switches into both functioning key locations and then into the defective locations to verify defects. I highly recommend SwitchHitter freeware as a means of testing your barebones board after switches are all positioned and before you go to the trouble of installing keycaps. Drop Customer Support was prompt and provided RMA to send the keyboard back for replacement. I will update as soon as I receive replacement and assemble for the second time (switches and keycaps had to be removed for shipment back to Drop. I'm giving Drop the benefit of the doubt and praise for their responsive Customer Support. Despite the troubles I continue to recommend this product with some reservations.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
PunishedCarp
1
Sep 12, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Yeah it's alright
I bought this board cuz I'm still a bit of a noob and I wanted an easy project to get my feet wet, and I guess this kinda inadvertently did just that. For the most part pretty plug and play, as in plug in the switches and cable and you're good to go. HOWEVER the stabs suck. Bad. Like holy moly quacamole these things rattle so loud they're drowning out my switches. The spacebar rocks back and forth if I look at it wrong, it's so bad it's distracting me and I just had to write this stupid review telling others to be wary. Yeah the board, it works, it's got great RGB, good layout, setup is easy peasy living breezy, but SWEET JESUS do these stabs eat ***. Kinda expected a board this price to have stabilizers that don't suck out loud but w/e I got some points so I'll just buy new ones I guess. I see what you're doing here, drop.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
continental80
0
Sep 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
badddddddd stay away
Not great Was my first beginner board. It's not a great choice tbh horrible sound bad case quality pretty ugly too tbh it's waaaaay over priced but it was my first board so it will still have a special place in my heart anyways absolutely would not recommend to anyone regardless of experience in the keyboard community 
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
TaywuhsaurusRex
1
Sep 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good size, quick build
It's a really good little board. Honestly the only knock on it for me is the no support for pcb mount stabs.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
asadpath2015
0
Sep 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great for Beginners
It’s a great keyboard for beginners although the stabilizers can be a bit iffy.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
bennett_murphy
0
Sep 7, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overall A Great Starter Kit
I honestly recommend this to anyone trying to get into keyboards, this was my first build and I loved it, great product and over all great quality
check
Would recommend to a friend.
OilSlick
1
Sep 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty solid beginner board.
Overall it is a good board, with hotswap pcb and RGB. I've had no problems with the board and I have had it for almost a year now. The only complaint is the price, as it is a bit expensive.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
defmthd
0
Aug 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not recommend
I received the barebones with non working key "1". Seems sodering was not well done. Also stabilisers was done bad, but I solved it by flipping it.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
cgkades
10
Aug 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not a fan of the keyboard. Huge regrets
If this was a $100 (total with switches and keys) maybe I would be less disappointed. But it has some pretty annoying flaws that just shouldn't be here. First are the keyboard maps for it, the one it comes with has like 5 different light patters, but if you use the one from QMK, then you get a ton more (I wan't to say somewhere near 30). But then you loose some of the other features that the base image comes with. I know programming the keyboard is part of the fun with these, but I didn't want to have to deal with figuring out how to get the QMK version to have the missing functions the base version has. Second is it only has one function key, and not the raise and lower keys most others have. I realize this is know from the pictures, but I didn't think it would be as big of an issue as it is. Overall the design and layout of this keyboard has proven frustrating, and once I get the energy to build the other one I have, this one will end up just collecting dust. EDIT: Keycaps are garbage. One just broke, and I'm not a heavy typer Second Edit: Keys keep breaking. Going to try to return the whole thing. What an absolute letdown
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Foot9Fungus
1
Aug 24, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Looks great, but some minor issues
The board felt stable, but the stabilizers were wobbly. I would recommend replacing the stabilizers, also note the board isn’t that slanted/elevated
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 10 of 215
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
215 OF 215 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order