shopping_cart
Drop ALT Mechanical Keyboard
$180

Drop ALT Mechanical Keyboard

bookmark_border
$180
Case Color: Space Gray
Switch Type: Halo True (60g Tactile)
Complete Setup:
add
Drop Skylight Series Keycap Set
(save $5)
add
Custom Keycap Kit
(Save $10)
add
Drop ALT Keyboard Soft Carry Case
(save $5)
check_box_outline_blank
Add Drop 3-year Warranty with Accidental Coverage (US Only) +$35
17.9k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
1,164
check
93%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
wildcat2083
3
Aug 4, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wonderfull Product Overall
The keyboard is well built and a joy to use, the leds are quite stunning and with a little effort in qmk the options are limitless
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Memealopagus
5
Jul 18, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love this product. I got the Cherry MX Browns, and they are amazing. The keyboard is the perfect size for me and the lighting is the best I have ever seen. There is some texture on the keycaps, but are very easy to get used to.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
B3NNN
26
Jul 18, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A little pricey, but excellent quality
I'm new to mech keyboards, so I don't know a lot about them. What I do know is that it feels solid and looks great. Some others have mentioned the magnetic feet being an issue, but I haven't experienced that and I frequently use it for gaming. Never thought I'd make much use of the RGB, but I'm into it. Don't think I should have gone with the brown switches, though. They're just not clicky enough.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
GrinninBarrett
12
Jul 17, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well-built
I really love this keyboard. I mean I adore it. I love the feel of the keycaps, the look of the RGB (thought I haven't done any custom programming of it - only used the on-board controls so far), and overall build quality. Though I'm new to the keyboard scene and so far only have a few, this is easily the most solid board I've felt or typed on. The stabilizers were very loud and clacky, so I followed some tutorials and clipped and lubed those, and now they're fine. I got it with Box Whites and loved them, but temporarily needed a quiet board so swapped to Aliaz 70g (hot swappable PCB is a huge plus here, but you knew that). The Kailh switches were SO DIFFICULT to remove - just so ridiculously tight - but when I swapped the switches again later from Aliaz to Kailh Box Jades, the Aliaz came out like butter. However, I could tell when installing the Box Jades that those Kailh switches will be just as difficult to remove as the whites were, if I ever decide to remove them (love these clickys but that's a separate thing). I guess it's something about the Kailh switches being just slightly wider, not the fault of the plate, but that's something to consider if you'll be using Kailh switches. Overall, I have nothing negative to say about the board other than the extremely loud stabilizers. It is an immensely satisfying board to type on, and I suppose gamers would be happy with it too. I've had to stop myself from buying a second one several times.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
foreiignboii
0
Feb 2, 2021
are all of the key switch options RGB ? or is it only the ones that are marked “RGB” ?
GrinninBarrett
12
Mar 15, 2021
Hi, sorry for not seeing your reply sooner. The PCB is what is RGB, so it doesn't matter what switches you put in. The board itself is what lights up. You can program that lighting, too, using their guide. It's not as user-friendly as VIA, but still works.
Ukiyo
50
Jan 19, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best purchase of my life and I've adopted a kid.
(Edited)
Minor
54
Jan 13, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Typing this review on ALT now, very happy about it. So, I decide to write a little about it. I am fairly new to Mechanical keyboard. I am software developer, I am using the same Das Keyboard Professional 4 Cherry MX brown in both home and office. As the keycaps on my Das start "shining", I started looking for replace keycaps. As a result, I started ramping up my knowledge around keyboards. I was about to settle on KBD75 from KBDFans and had already ordered my solder set and flux when I found ALT. Hot swappable is so appealing to me since I have never soldered anything in my entire life. And QMK is also attractive. Being able to customize my keyboard freely sounds really cool. My working environment is MAC. But I use windows at home. So, besides two MAC version Das keyboard, I have to have another Das Cherry MX Ultimate 4 at home for my windows. With QMK, I can solve this problem by simply add a layer. RGB backlight is not big to me, but it is a nice add on. The keyboard arrived on Thursday, the slick looking caught my eyes immediately. The floating RGB light effect looked so cool. The building quality looks great. I have used it with a Windows 10 desktop and a MacBook Pro (Old version which still uses USB-A). I like the layout as well. I am not the geek type software developer who likes the cool Linux/Unix tools as VI/EMACS. I am one of these "DUMB" developers who works on GUI editors. Therefore, arrow keys are important to me. I think a 75% might work better given they have dedicated FN keys that I am using during debugging. But I think I can live with a 65% as long as I have easy access arrow keys. I am a mediocre typist with clumsy figures. I know that my feeling regarding typing experience doesn't mean anything. The chassis of ALT is a little higher than Das. I think it is probably due to the RGB under-glow. This makes me easier to hit spacebar accidentally. I wish ALT can tilt a little bit more. It feels still a little flat even with the addition footer. The typing feeling of halo true is quite different from my cherry MX brown and blue. It feels a lot heavier, but quieter. Combining all these facts together, I feel it is a bit more tiering typing on ALT than my old Das. However, it is within acceptable range. I think it just takes time for me to get use to the new board. I actually like the feeling of Halo true. The thing I like the most of ALT is QMK. Massdrop provided an online configurator to customize the layout. However, the mdloader to download new firmware is a command line tool. It is not a problem to me. The whole process is easier and smoother than I thought. As a developer, I skipped the online configurator and dived directly into QMK source code. I am a service developer who haven’t use C for more than a decade. The biggest challenge to me is to setup the environment to make the source code build. I followed the QMK instruction and installed MSYS2, ran qmk_install.sh after that. However, I still had to install some missing packages manually. After all the environment related stuff sorted out, the codebase itself is simple. There is not a lot of code. The entire pipeline of QMK is just a big loop. There are a lot of MACROs has been predefined such as change layer. One weird thing is, ALT doesn’t leverage QMK standard way dealing with LEDs. Therefore, the QMK document regarding RGB lighting is irrelevant. For some reason, ALT hooked the LED logic into TMK directly. But it is not that bad. It is still easy to control everything in rgb_matrix_init_user and led_matrix_run functions. Playing with the firmware code is interesting. It feels like a boy playing with a beautiful toy. Once the firmware is built, the flushing process is straight forward. It just took couple of seconds. I’ve done it tens of times today. Added a mac layer, configured locking in to function layer by triple click FN button, reserved the LED under FN key to show which layer the keyboard is currently on… And there are endless possibilities such as creating a shortcut layer, adding a password layer which have a mis-ordered char area, highlight the anniversary date number keys on starting up, and so on. I know I am not a typical user. However, ALT filled all my bills. The per key RGB Led light gives me a lot of things to play with, the keyboard looks really nice. I love it. Pros: Really fun to play with it. Great looking. Compact but functional. High quality. Cons: Still hope there are FN key row. Combined “ESC” and “`~” key makes Ctrl+` switching window in mac not as easy as before. As someone mentioned, I do hear the PING PING sound when hitting spacebar. I am not very sensitive to it though. The angle and the height of the chassis could be better. Not very easy to find PBT keycaps which support backlight. I wish the legend of Ctrl Meta Alt keys on Row1 could have neutral icon/label on it so that it doesn’t look strange when switching between windows and mac layout. I know it's a long one. Thanks for reading. ------------------Updated--------------------------- After two months of usage, I still love my ALT. Here are some pictures I took for your reference: Green backlight:
search
No backlight:
search
search
Alt with pomegranate backlight:
search

(Edited)
sleepynerd
7
Jan 24, 2019
A ping ping sound? That is a little worrying, I'm wondering what that would sound like in real life.
Minor
54
Jan 25, 2019
It happens infrequently. I wouldn't notice it if not someone else mentioned it. It seems only happen to spacebar. I don't think this is a problem to me.
aznafroboi
12
Aug 5, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worst. Experience. In. My. Adult. Life
This is not a product review because I never received the product. Been over a month since I ordered this keyboard; still hasn't arrived. Through this process I've contacted customer support and connected with at least 3 customer support staff members. None of them was willing to help me instead opting to provide the generic "we're sorry, its coming soon" response. What's great was the variety of different excuses they were giving me: first it was that orders are dropped once a week so my order probably was part of the next drop, then it was they are using a new shipping company so its causing delays, then it was I got to wait 14 days before they can "see what they can do" to help. I asked for refund TWICE; first time ignored, second time denied. Tracking shows it was delivered last Friday to an "agent" Not sure what that means; I did not receive the package. Worse company I've ever dealt with my entire life.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
luckybastian
0
Dec 1, 2020
i approve of this response lmao
ChillsSauce
1
Jan 11, 2021
yeah i can agree
Buckling
16
Jan 19, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I wish there was a "Del" keyboard to complete a set. 90/100 solid.
bennyl
1
Jan 30, 2019
It would be cool if they do an easter egg if you got all three hooked up and press ctrl+alt+del lol. Update: I got the ALT keyboard after all, crossing my fingers for the DEL. @Massdrop if you are reading this, find a way to make DEL keyboard so I can complete this collection!
I feel like a DEL mini macro board would be awesome
Dog-Juice
14
Nov 5, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is a beautiful, well-constructed, feature-rich keyboard. It's a shame it's let down by a couple of flaws that I don't think are acceptable for the price. The biggest is easily the USB-C compatibility issues. Since my laptop only has USB-C ports, and because that's the way wired devices are headed, I only buy USB-C devices. This keyboard is advertised as such, but it's not exactly the case. My keyboard hasn't worked with any of the USB-C cables I've tried, and I know other people have had the same problem. Sure, it'll work with an A-to-C cable, but that wasn't stated in the promotional information, it negates its future-proof-ability, it means I'm forced to use a dongle, it's counterintuitive, and frankly isn't acceptable at this price. I've used two other keyboards with keyboards with USB-C ports (one similarly-priced, one significantly cheaper) and had no problem whatsoever. Less important and more predictable, but still annoying, is the programming that's required to get this thing working how you want it to. Lots of keyboards are like that, and it just requires a bit of reading to get going, but potential buyers be aware: you won't just be able to customise your layouts and LEDs in a couple of minutes and get going like you can with some other keyboards. There are lots of things to like about this keyboard, and other reviewers have done a good job of detailing those things. For me, however, it just wasn't worth wait and the price I paid.
Dog-Juice
14
Dec 18, 2018
If I'm not mistaken, those Mac minis only have USB-A ports(?). If so, then yeah, the out-of-the-box USB-C-to-A cable should work fine.
Chappers
1
Dec 18, 2018
Cheers
lomboan58
39
Nov 3, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
I noticed Massdrop improved their QC on this ALT compare to CTRL. I just received mine flawlessly everything its just work. From LED, USB C works on both sides and used it for my wireless mouse. Everyone might not agree but i like the feel on the keycaps maybe because I'm use it for gaming too. Now I want two things: First, easy software to control LED & macro since I'm not programmer. Secondly, please make the numpad to pair this keyboard may be Massdrop DEL? Very happy with my purchase after long waiting....
PapiFlashy
0
Nov 13, 2018
What keyboard is this?
lomboan58
39
Nov 14, 2018
Hello, as you can see it's Massdrop made mechanical keyboard the ALT. Have yourself bookmark this drop in case they will reopen. Cheers!
Showing 28 of 1361
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order