Drop + Audio-Technica Carbon VTA Turntable
Drop + Audio-Technica Carbon VTA Turntable
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
526 Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
We teamed up with Audio Technica to build a turntable that delivers superb vinyl playback with premium components. Precision-crafted, upgradeable, and easy-to-use, our Carbon VTA is the turntable you want in your corner.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
37
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
bocian74
8
Sep 7, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love it!
It finally arrived today and I had a chance to test it with a couple of records from different genres - Phil Collins, Daft Punk, Metallica, Pink Floyd. I don't know if that's a placebo effect or something but the experience was absolutely fantastic. I can't compare with other turntables as my previous experience with vinyls was probably 30 years ago but I think it's a perfect match for the rest of my stereo set. It's hooked up to Yamaha A-S801 via Phono, Dali Zensor 7 speakers and REL t5i subwoofer. To make sure I'm not losing anything due to the quality of the stock interconnects I used slightly better Melodika cable but don't know if that makes any difference. They look better for sure ;) The whole experience exceeded my expectations. I've got all other avaliable media sources like CD, Bluesound with Tidal MQA, HI-RES files, compact cassette and even Minidisc, but this is something else. The sound is for sure great but there must be something more that somehow grabs your attention 100% and makes you immerse in the music. Now I totally get it why the vinyl era is back. And I really like the turntable. It was easy to assemble and feels like a quality product. The packaging was also very good and there's no way to damage it unless someone tried to do it on purpose. For sure I recommend it to anyone who wants to start the analog journey. BTW, just noticed that I must have been one of the last to order as it's out of stock now.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
msaxton0250
1
Aug 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Easy to use. Does what I want.
First time back into playing vinyl records since the early '90s. The turntable setup was easy to accomplish and the result was extremely satisfactory. Sound quality is great, choice of cartridge is gratifying to my 70 year old ears. Looking forward to many years of enjoyment.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Reedo
193
Aug 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great for a beginner
I am new to vinyl, but far from new to audio. I've been super impressed with the sound from this product, and it was quite straightforward to set up and get going. The built-in phono preamp is a great addition for the sake of flexibility and adaptability.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
golfballs32
0
Aug 12, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
sounds great
great sound and looks
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Bkido
55
Jul 24, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great entry in the world of vinyl
I'm using this turntable for a coupe of weeks now and I have to say that I'm very happy with it. Everything feels quality and I think it's a great turntable to get into vinyl or to dig out some old vinyl again. To get to the sound I'm now very happy with I switched from the integrated Phono stage to a Pro-ject tube box S2 with some Genalex Gold Lion ECC83 tubes. This was the biggest upgrade to the sound and if you have a decent sound system I highly recommend to switch to a dedicated Phono stage. The tube box in my case just made the sound more exciting, less flat, better separated, stronger low end, more detail. Just better sound all over the board. The next Upgrade was to get a AT-VMN95SH Shibata stylus which again improved the sound significantly and can be installed very easily. The mid range sounds fuller and separation and details improve a lot. Another small upgrade was a Funk Firm Achromat 3mm. I never installed the stock slipmat so I can't really tell what the changes to the sound are. In general I have to say that with just a few upgrades this turntable performs really good and will keep me happy for the years to come.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
vinylnut67
8
Jul 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Do I Love This Turntable?? Yes!! :)
I received my turntable last week and finally got around to spending this past weekend spinning some vinyl. I'm very happy with my purchase. First, it arrived very quickly and in excellent condition, no damage to the box or the contents inside. I really like both the look and feel of it, build quality is excellent and it sounds great! the 95E cartridge in my opinion performs very, very well.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
silentbirdie
25
Jul 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I really love this thing
search
listened to this through my speakers and my darkvoice 336se and i absolutely love this thing i use to have a technics sld2k and the only advantage that one has is the automatic return feature and maybe the quarts lock but that's it, this one sounds better imo and allows more flexibility than the technics. edit1: I highly recomend sorbothane dampening domes of 1 inch diameter under the feet of the turntable i got these https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B075KKRJXH/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
It looks like you are using some cardboard pieces to try and level your plinth. Keep in mind the feed are adjustable so you might not need those cardboard pieces. Glad to see you are taking the time for proper setup. That is key to getting the best sound possible.
silentbirdie
25
Jul 21, 2020
my house is really old (over over a century old) and i need over an inch i adjusted the feet to the max and it wasnt near level unless i put something underneath those 2 feet specifically
(Edited)
Vorahon
7
Jul 7, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound, well packaged!
Pros:
  • Very well packaged. Even though the outer box was beat up, everything inside was undamaged.
  • Easy set up. Only a couple steps and it's ready to go. (YMMV on how perfectly level you want it to get.)
  • Sound quality is rich and full on both speakers and headphones.
  • The price. Seriously, go look at models that give you similar features from other companies and you will find that this model punches above its weight.
  • The cuing lever is buttery smooth on the way down. No harsh landings here.
  • Speed dial. It's great to not have to manually switch the belt between 33/45.
Cons:
  • While the setup is easy, do yourself a favor and download the actual user guide. The quick setup guide is basically Ikea-style directions with very little explanation or descriptions, so it's easy to miss some minor details.
  • The RCA jacks seemed a little small, maybe? My RCA cables that fit snugly on all the other equipment I own slipped a little too easily on and off. It's a non-issue once I set it up, and depending on your cables, YMMV.
  • Dust cover hinges are a little too springy (i.e. the lid flies open if you don't hold it the whole way back). But again, a non-issue while playing.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
bfitz
590
Sep 24, 2020
I've never met an AT turntable that didn't have a catapult for a lid 🤪 Good review though, I've been looking to upgrade my old pioneer my dad gave me a long time ago, and I'm torn between this, the lpw40 or a U-turn orbit custom...
(Edited)
christian22
3
Jul 6, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Perfect All-Around Turntable
I'd like to preface this entire commentary by saying I'm no audiophile by any means; however, I will always appreciate a good looking and sounding system, something that has been accomplished by this turntable. I currently have the turntable paired with my Klipsch R-41 PMs and Klipsch R-120SW subwoofer. This turntable served as an upgrade from my entry-level Audio Technica AT-LP60 and has so far exceeded my expectations; then again, I feel as though anything other than that AT-LP60 would have exceeded my expectations. Build quality is great, the wood plinth is the perfect walnut color and the minimalistic and unobtrusive tone arm and platter contrast well against the walnut. I can't complain about the sound quality this piece reproduces either, I can hear a more "punchy" sound with this cartridge and the carbon fiber tone arm has shown to reduce much more vibration. All in all, from an "average consumer" point of view, you can't go wrong with this one! :)
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
leomlee
1
Jul 14, 2020
It certainly is a prettier piece of gear. Enjoy the music.
do you use that camera? Your rig set up looks nice. Clean aesthetic, nice vinyl stack. I rebuild/upgrade pro-ject TTs when I need to relax. Also have an upscale rebuild of a vintage Denon. May give this one a whirl some day...when I thin the TT herd I have going over here. ;) p.s. Try a little vintage jazz on your TT. I listen to a lot of Bill Evans, Stan Getz, Miles Davis, ,various and sundry collabs. Something just so nice about jazz, especially live performances, on a turntable with a nice rig as the output.
(Edited)
tcurtis6984
97
Jul 1, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love this turntable for old school reggae!
This turntable looks really nice and very easy to setup. It took a little while to figure out the wiring from my turntable to my DAC AMP and to speaker, but it was possible. I can't get much sound out yet. I still need to figure out how to make it louder. I have it hooked up to a Toppings MX3 at the moment. I also own a Toppings E30 but don't know how to connect it to the turntable. I also have a Drop THX 789 AMP coming in the mail soon, so hopefully I can get it louder.
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Double check the phono amp switch on the rear if you're not getting enough volume.
tcurtis6984
97
Jul 13, 2020
Oh my goodness! I'm such a noob! I never saw the phono switch for about a month. I just switched it and it sounds great. Thank you so much!
Showing 22 of 107
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
107 OF 107 POSTS
Sep 28, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest