Drop + Dan Durston X-Mid 1P Tent
Drop + Dan Durston X-Mid 1P Tent
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
134 Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Designed to be the best double-wall solo shelter supported by trekking poles, the X-Mid is the brainchild of Dan Durston, an experienced thru-hiker and established member of the ultralight community. It aims to solve the common issues seen in trekking-pole-supported tents: Most are single-trekking-pole pyramids, which lack headroom, or overly complex multi-pole designs, which are tedious to pitch Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
226
check
98%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Sargeant
4
Dec 1, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love it...
I bought this online and had it shipped to Toronto. If you’re in Canada just be aware there will be extra charges. Dan explains them well below, which I appreciated him addressing in the same day. Nothing to do with Drop or the manufacturers. For reference, the Canadian Government decided they wanted an extra $90 (metric) smackers to bring it in. Perhaps this is to encourage us to build igloo’s and maintain cultural heritage?
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Sorry to hear these additional charges. These are largely the result of the Canadian government choosing to place additional costs on Canadians, as opposed to fees or something related specifically to Drop. Canada charges an 18% tariff on most tents (Chapter 63, code 63.06.22) plus there is 13% sales tax in Ontario, so there is 31% tax total. That's $62 USD or about $80 CAD, and then Canada Post charges a $10 handling fee which brings the total in Ontario to about $90 CAD. That $10 fee is the lowest possible way to do it (e.g. if they shipped it via a courier the fees would be a lot higher) so Drop is shipping these in the lowest cost possible way for Canadians and they aren't getting any of that $90, but there's no way of getting around the taxes that Canada charges (except in incidents where the border officer doesn't bother to charge it, which does happen pretty often). The 13% sales tax (aka HST/GST/PST) applies to basically all items (whether online or local) whereas the 18% tariff applies to tents specifically, except for USA made ones (exempt under NAFTA). If you buy a tent from within Canada, the shop likely paid the tariff which ups the listed price. If you buy a tent from outside Canada, the tariff is indeed a rude surprise. I sympathize because I've been charged this too and for much more expensive tent (31% tax on a $600 MSR Carbon Reflex which was about $250 CAD. I was upset for a while as I also wasn't aware of it). This tariff is extra surprising to Canadians because most items coming into Canada don't have additional tariffs beyond sales tax, yet tents oddly do so it's unexpected. If you would have bought a tent from another vendor outside of Canada (e.g. Backcountry.com) the same tariff would have applied unless it was USA made (under NAFTA). We have talked about this tariff in the discussion a few times (example) but Drop doesn't disclose this tariff for the same reason that nearly all websites don't disclose tariff information: It's not practical to keep up to date on all applicable tariffs across hundreds of different jurisdictions and for hundreds of different products. Drop operates the same as nearly all websites when they leave it to the customer to research what taxes may be applied in their home country. If you read the FAQ about shipping they write:
search

(Edited)
sonsturm
1
Oct 24, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love it!
I hit the jackpot with this tent! Price, weight, roominess, easy setup/take down, color, ... if you are undecided, just get it! I promise you will not be disappointed!
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nice photos! Great to hear you are enjoying the X-Mid.
(Edited)
costl
10
Oct 5, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
full-featured, light, stable shelter. solid value.
Short review based on three days on Ozark Trail (Taum Sauk Section): I found the X-mid 1P delightful to carry, pitch, and inhabit. First, the tent is a really light and compact carry for such a substantial, full-featured shelter. What's most distinctive is the feature/weight/price ratio. It's not just a tarp, or a single wall. It's double layer shelter, with two large vestibules, two doors, very well-breathing even with both zips shut, bugproof, and weatherproof. A real tent. But, still well under 2 lbs. At this price, I've seen nothing like it. Second, it's extremely user friendly. The key is a good true rectangular pitch. Take a few extra moments to nail this, and the rest is easy. After one practice pitch at home, I had this set up in a couple minutes out on the trail. The second night on trail took 3 minutes in tent setup. Packs up easily, too. Occupies very little pack space. Third, while the living space is compact, it was plenty comfortable to me (small/medium build size). The vestibules are fantastic for space and protection, and they make the tent feel much roomier (more like a 2p) when the fly is zipped up. With the fly doors open, the angles still allow for really good night sky viewing. Fourth, it breathed very well, with virtually no condensation down to around 35*F. Faced only light rain and breezes, but all was stable and dry (with no ground sheet, as per Durston's recommendation). Material is not as burly as past shelters I've owned (check the specs), but seems tough enough to hold up with reasonable care. Looking forward to many more travels with it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
oldlaxman
4
Oct 3, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love the flexibility of the two piece solution.
Took it into the Whites for it's first outing. After an afternoon of hiking in the rain got to a tent site that only had wooden platforms. Had to improvise and use my bear cord to tie down the corners. It took a little extra time trying to square up the corners, however I got it set up and the inside was reasonably dry. I was worried that the poles might slip on the wet planks but no problem. For the future I am going to pack the parts separately if there is any chance of rain. Also highly recommend a footprint for muddy conditions. Planning a fall hike now and will only bring the fly.
Scorcho
13
Oct 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This. Tent. Is. Perfect. Period.
I know what you're thinking, nothing is perfect especially in a field that is so highly personal. I get it, I really do. But the experience I have had with this tent in the backcountry has be beyond question the best ever. By far. Dan I just want to say, from personal experience I know you can't please everyone. However, almost every single little nit-picky thing ppl have had to say about this tent would force you to constantly be changing it and it would never make it to production. I love it, everything about it. I am 6'1", 200lb guy that had room at my head and feet to store things from my pack and my feet and head were not touching the netting. I managed to get a great pitch even on a BC Provincial Parks tent platform using rocks and the Ti Shepard hooks. Ventilation was perfect, everything stuffed easily back into the bag provided and it basically disappears in my pack. Thank you for this amazing product and I look forward to many nights in my new backcountry home.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Awesome! That is a really nice platform pitch! Is that in Garibaldi?
Scorcho
13
Oct 3, 2020
No it was at the Kicking Horse Wild Camp in Manning Park on the Heather Trail. I got a tiny bit stressed when I showed up there and saw it was platforms but with the design being so simple I quickly figured it out. Thanks for all your efforts.
cweston
1
Oct 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Buy this tent!
I love this tent. For the money, I don't see how you could do any better. There are some (very) small things I don't love: •The line used in the tensioners is tiny and slips easily. I'll replace them with slightly thicker line. Maybe just the four primary corners. •Unlike my Tarptent, where the trekking pole tip just seems to guide itself into the grommet, on this one, you do have to take care to make sure it is in there. A couple times early on, I had missed. •The long shock cord connecting the two large-end-of-vestibule corners of the nest to the corner stake seems like it's tighter than it needs to be. I may add a small loop of something at the corner to relieve the tension a little. •The stuff sack it comes with is ridiculously small. Even when dry, it's somewhat hard to get the tent in there.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
kld1958
2
Oct 6, 2020
They had 9 of the 1Ps left and I got one of them. It will be here Sunday. What size is the cord and I'll buy some.
(Edited)
Okay nice. Yeah that'll be the smaller cord.
blueklister
3
Sep 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well thought out and designed
I was impressed at how simple, yet well thought out this tent is. As long as you set it up "square," it is amazing how tight and taut you can get it. Add a second line to the tent poles and this tent is bombproof and rock solid. I'd be comfortable using this in snow as long as you have solid anchors and pitch it down low in the snow so snowdrift doesn't bury you during the night. The only downsides I see to this tent is how much room it takes to set it up, but so far I haven't run into that specific problem yet. The other minor issue is how the netting will rub on your face no matter how you set it up. I can live with this, but am exploring tying off one of the zipper pulls to a sewn on tab on the fly to keep it off your face -- but this issue isn't a deal breaker. You can't beat the price for such a well designed and built tent.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
I'm not quite sure which area you are experiencing the netting contact, but you can connect the door toggles of the inner to the door toggles of the fly to pull it out wider. Not sure if that would help what you are experiencing.
blueklister
3
Sep 29, 2020
Thanks, it is more or less what I was getting at. I'll give this a try! Great job on the tent design, it's clear you put a LOT of thought into this tent.
Ikenuma
4
Sep 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent.
Easy and quick to pitch. I like the concept of using walking poles, that saves maybe 490g - roughly the weight if memory serves, of my Komperdell carbon poles. Good room in vestibules. I used this most recently, early September above Chamonix at over 2000m altitude, and it withstood the constant wind. The reflective guy ropes most useful when returning from a call of nature in the early hours! Dislike? Can’t think of one dislike. Nothing noted. In answer to some other reviewers I was concerned about the lack of separate footprint but bought one, inexpensive & featherlight anyway, and it has it’s own separate uses, with tent and without. The X-Mid is, at €197 great value for money....I even had Hubba & Agnes users come over to take a look. I think they were impressed. Very nearly half the price of a Hubba Hubba NX - €359
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
arnavxverma
3
Sep 28, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great attention to detail, Strikes far above its price point.
This tent is incredibly well designed. From how it pitches, from all the way to its geometry and superior construction. Now, speaking practically, at 28 oz for a double wall trekking pole tent, you're pretty close to UL double wall freestanding tents which offer more versatility. So why get this? Well, the interior space is phenomenal. Unlike poled tents which have a dome construction, the interior is like a rectangle. Plenty of headroom and space to read a book. Not to mention absolutely massive vestibules and double doors. Finally, the details are really what makes this tent. The exterior zippers are waterproof, so no need to fiddle with a velcro strap. The interior zippers are very easily operated with one hand, and the ridgeline pockets are in the perfect place for easy access and ample storage. Finally, the feature I like the most are the door ties with the spring rope clip. Much easier and more secure than standard loop and T-hook. Furthermore, how the heck is Dan making money on this? $200? If this tent was $350 I would still think it's a good buy.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
shuckthatjive
12
Sep 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great experience
Picked up this tent last year but only just had the chance to take it on a hike and am even more impressed than I was with my practice run. I'm always shocked at how small and light it packs down, but I'm an even 6' and could comfortably sit up or lie down inside. The space looks narrow but the big vestibules give you plenty of room for storing gear and getting dressed. It was fairly windy and the temperature dropped to 40F but I didn't notice any fabric flapping or condensation. Only trouble I had was it was a little difficult to visualize which direction the diagonal sleeping area would go when setting it up, but I'm sure I'll get the hang of it in another couple trips.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 21 of 462