Drop + Ferrum Forge Crux S35VN Folding Knife
Drop + Ferrum Forge Crux S35VN Folding Knife
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
3.6k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
The Crux is our second collaboration with Ferrum Forge Knife Works, a two-man operation out of San Diego known for producing small batches of custom knives. For this second drop, we’re offering the handle in brand-new colors with the option to get it engraved with some clever designs Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
255
check
82%
would recommend to a friend
search
JDM_GT
190
Sep 13, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
How do I like the crux? I bought one for work, I bought one for home, and I bought one for my father who is semi retired and goes away on his yacht and he said he used it daily while at sea. I sent one to ferrum forge to get a custom "sith" finish done that cost more than the knife, so yeah I do like it.
search
search
Sep 13, 2018
GeorgeMX
110
Oct 25, 2018
bookmark_border
Beautiful. Great customization
Oct 25, 2018
RussB
225
Oct 26, 2018
bookmark_border
Dude, that sith finish looks cool
Oct 26, 2018
Thorian
18
May 2, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
As my interest in knives has grown over the past few years, my collection has followed suit. As a general rule, my knives are under $100; this assures I actually use them... Pay too much and they'd just become eye candy. This is the only knife I've paid three digits for, and it was totally worth it. Best knife in my collection, by a mile. It's gorgeous, functional, and robust; never afraid to use it despite the sticker value. Stronger than Paul Bunyan. Smoother than German chocolate. Sharper than Wisconsin cheddar. Vanishes (in the pocket) like a polar bear eating mashmallows in a snowstorm. I've considered buying another one simply to have a backup for if I ever lose this one; I like it that much.
May 2, 2018
Evshrug
1753
May 24, 2018
bookmark_border
The CRKT Pilar uses 8Cr13MoV, which is a budget steel (HRC 58-60). Better than a knife that doesn’t specify what kind of steel it is, but among knife enthusiasts it’s nothing to get excited about. As you’ve seen, it’s certainly functional, though your comment about sharpening puzzles me... are you using kitchen sharpeners or motorized thingies from a place like Harbor Freight? I put a really keen edge on a couple of Spyderco Byrd knives (also use 8Cr13MoV) using a sharpener similar to a Lansky. Also, the CRKT Pilar and Drifter use similar steels, the Drifter is in 8Cr14MoV, tiny bit more Molibendium which is probably for a touch more rust resistance in trade for being the same or 1-2 softer on the HRC scale.
May 24, 2018
Vizdrum
39
May 28, 2018
bookmark_border
Don't get me wrong: the Pilar IS sharp. Very sharp yes, crazy sharp... not really. I'm a sharpening enthusiast so I use neither: I prefer to use water stones. Usually I start on a shapton 500 grit, then move on through some stones up to 8000 grit and finish on a leather strap with and without compound. The Pilar is sharp enough that the other day when I was opening my latest massdrop package I thought I had put the knife in between the cardboard pieces, it felt so much like cutting through paper that only later did I realize I had been cutting through the cardboard all along.
May 28, 2018
bobtheaxolotl
98
Nov 29, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I would like to preface by saying I would give this knife four and a half stars, if the scale worked that way. It is a very good knife indeed. There are just a couple minor issues that stop it from getting a full five stars from me. This is a knife that is an amazingly good value. I have a variety of higher end knives with titanium frames and S35VN or M390 blade steel, most of them flippers, and most of them a good deal more expensive than this knife. This, functionally, holds up to all of them, and is a better cutting tool than most of them. The blade geometry is quite good, though it could stand to be a hair thinner at the edge. The lockup is excellent, with no blade play. The blade centers well. It's of sturdy construction. It has a steel lockbar insert that doubles as over-travel protection. This is a major plus to me, as it adds longevity to the lock of the knife, and helps prevent lock stick. The ergonomics are especially good, and the knife is comfortable in every grip I've tried, without any major hotspots. Using this knife day to day is a joy, and the edge has, so far, help up well to medium hard use. When it comes time to sharpen it, I plan on bringing that secondary bevel higher up on the blade, to get a slightly leaner edge. But, as I said, there are some issues. The first is the pocket clip it comes with. The clip isn't terribly flexible, and has one point that is incredibly thin. Others have reported that it bent or broke at this point. While I didn't have this issue, it was a big enough problem that Massdrop released a redesigned clip. The other issue I had is that the lock bar edge is a bit abrupt, and digs into my thumb a bit when unlocking the knife. While this isn't such a big deal with day to day use, you'll end up with a sore thumb in that initial period where you just want to keep playing with the knife, especially with an action this good. Also, while this doesn't speak to the quality of the blade, Massdrop has demonstrated that they are unwilling to properly support their products. While they released an improved pocket clip, they did so only as a limited time "drop", which has now ended. If you didn't get one? Tough luck. I was only able to get one in the incorrect color, as they'd run out of the popular colors. If they were actually committed to their customers, everyone who'd bought this knife with the original, poorly designed pocket clips, would have gotten the new clip for free. It wouldn't have been sold for an additional $15 in order to make a quick buck. The simple fact is, this is a great knife being sold by a shady company. Be wary, and I wouldn't expect much in the way of good customer support for your blade if something goes wrong.
Nov 29, 2018
jmunder
142
Feb 4, 2019
bookmark_border
I agree with all your gripes about the knife. I’m surprised you gave it 4 stars. It’s not a bad knife by any means, but the details really should have been sorted out before production.
Feb 4, 2019
Jms425
13
May 19, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The Crux is a straight up great knife. I read many reviews before I bought it and there are certain nitpicks that I think are largely irrelevant based on the knife I received.
Clip: the new design sits on my pocket perfectly and feels secure. There’s some spring there, too. I never would have thought about it without the early reviews.
Logo on blade: it’s really small and on the swedge, not on the grind as shown in the pics. Seems like Massdrop heard the feedback.
Detent: perfect. Flips open with not a whole lot of effort, but never feels like it’s going open on its own. The resistance is pretty satisfying if you like to flip your knife a lot.
Bead blast: feels slightly chalky for an hour, then the oils from your hand make it perfect. Some slight scuffing after use/carry, but this is a tool that’s meant to be used. Do you really expect or want it to look new all the time?
Lockup/Lock bar chamfering: settles in after after a couple days of use. My lockbar felt like it was sticking a little the first day. A week later, super smooth. Same with the sharp edge on the lockbar. At first, it’ll dig into your thumb a bit, but as the lockbar settles in, it gets much easier since less effort is required.
Like all of us in here, I love well designed things. This is a beautifully minimal design, with just enough to make it not feel generic.
I think I’ll buy another and send it to FF for one of there refinishing options.
I have no affiliation with FF, MD or WE. Just wanted to post something for the indecisive people like me who overthink every purchase.
May 19, 2018
Fatboy4
25
May 20, 2018
bookmark_border
Thanks. Good to hear, especially about the logo position
May 20, 2018
Evshrug
1753
May 23, 2018
bookmark_border
I’m still overthinking, but I appreciate your helpful review!
May 23, 2018
Camdog610
9
May 2, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I lost the Crux. Then it was found when I began our lawn spring cleanup. We had a lousy New England winter. The crux was at the bottom of our snowed in lawn for the entire winter; it came out sparkling. No rust; blade sharp; flipper smooth. I welcomed it home provided some lubrication as a reward for making it back home; put it back into it's case. This is a great knife and it deserves a better existence than it had this winter. Hope to have it for a long time. Thanks Ferrum Forge.
May 2, 2018
MJC7
37
Jul 21, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is a great knife and an incredible value. Nick Shabazz nails it in his review: https://youtu.be/_SZ7OPqyOy4 It is just a great cutting tool. Personally I only disagree with it being a little thick behind the edge. I think it is perfect. I would much rather have the strength this blade brings. I agree it has a pocket pecker and the clip is a hot spot. I think it carries much better for its weight than you would expect. It is a joy to carry. Honestly I think it is the perfect EDC, but I tend to have no problems with knives that are a little bit heavier. It is just excellent. I got the Saber and I love the additional styling. It is a great looking blade and is still completely functional.
A few notes. It does take a while to break in. Thanks to people on MD forum who said leave it open to help break it in. That works. My piviot screw came loose and I had to lock tight it. This was easy and solved the issue. Right now the action is great. It was a little stiff to deploy but breaks in perfectly. The action is now a joy. If you are left handed like me, take the screw out on the non clip side first as I had a difficulty getting the clip off intially.
Highly recommended.
Jul 21, 2018
Benjabooly
367
Jun 17, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is now my favorite mid sized knife. I am a fan of knives made around the world and like to see a bit of everything, and so far, for $125, or for any price, this is the nicest knife of this size I own. The blade is nice and slicey with a well done heat treat that lasts. It's handle has a nice, neutral shape and has a good choil, note far fingers will spill over just a tad but that is to be expected with a slimmer knife. The finish on the titanium is soft to the touch, and while it might scratch a bit, it just makes it look nicer. Now for the action, it is damn near flawless. Barely a wrist jiggle and it will drop. It has the "hydraulic" feel of the not having any extra friction at any point in closing the blade. My only gripe with the knife is that it does not have a deep carry clip. That is not a turn off just a minor preference and these milled clips are quite elegant. Overall anyone who likes knives should get one of the FFxMD knives, and this one is a runner for best.
Jun 17, 2018
DoubleR
23
Jun 6, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not much to criticize on my example. The bronze finish on the titanium scales is perfect and all edges are chamfered, rounded and excellent. The S35VN steel is an excellent choice for blade steel: rust and corrosion resistant, takes and keeps a very good edge, and is easy to sharpen. The drop point is polished nicely and is a fearless slicer. Flipping action is smooth; maybe not ZT smooth, but very nice. Lockup is solid and the bearings create an easy flawless one-hand close. The weight on this knife is close to perfect: it wouldn’t hurt my feelings if it was just a bit thinner and lighter, although that might take away from it’s sturdy structure, Massdrop along wth WE and Ferrum Forge are churning out some excellent knives, and this is certainly one. Fit and finish is superb, and yes, I do like the forward finger choil.
Jun 6, 2018
Archienj7
64
Jun 23, 2018
bookmark_border
Absolutely. I'm definitely getting another Crux and whatever other FF/WE/MD knives are coming down the pike.
Jun 23, 2018
Archienj7
64
Jun 23, 2018
bookmark_border
Yes they are. I read these as much as any knife forum since most kind of snub anything foreign unless it's really high end.
Jun 23, 2018
wofse
41
Apr 20, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Where did it go. Oh it’s lost
It went to PostNL then poof!!!! Gone product vanishes just like my money! Oh mercy it must be gone into the BLACK HOLE OF DROP
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Apr 20, 2020
wofse
41
Apr 21, 2020
bookmark_border
Let’s try this. Please look at my knife order. When can I expect to reasonably see that knife? Thanks in advance wofse
Apr 21, 2020
LukasM
898
Collaborations
Apr 21, 2020
bookmark_border
I think you could reasonably expect to see your knife by the end of May. The honest answer is no one knows, once the package has left our warehouse it is out of our hands and subject to the carrier and any potential delays they are facing. I wish we could give you a better answer, but there is no certainty right now.
Apr 21, 2020
ChuckDazzle
4
Jul 4, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The Crux is a beautifully constructed piece. The action running on the bearings is smooth and soo satisfying to engage. The length of the blade is perfect for me, I prefer a slightly smaller blades generally for EDC. I opted for the Sabre finish which is very attractive and feels good in the hand as well. My only real criticisms are: 1. flipper is a little large and awkward, (gimping adds to wear and tear in the pocket) 2. Blade is on the thick side. (Personal preference - not a hard use knife for me so would have preferred a thinner blade with better cutting profile). 3. The clip is a little uncomfortable (looks very good but is quite angular. would have preferred a lower profile deep carry clip) Only things that stopped me from giving this 5 stars, but for the price its very hard to beat.
Jul 4, 2018
Showing 34 of 365
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order