Drop + Ferrum Forge Gent Select Pocket Knife

Drop + Ferrum Forge Gent Select Pocket Knife

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
442 requests
4.2k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Product Description
Keys, wallet, phone, Gent: Our third collaboration with Ferrum Forge Knife Works, the Gent is the classiest, most portable, and most affordable to date—and this upgraded Select version comes with your choice of high-quality rosewood or lightweight carbon fiber scales. Made to fit just as well in a pair of blue jeans as a pair of slacks, it’s also small enough that you’ll hardly notice it in your pocket Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
290
check
94%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Omniseed
1969
Nov 25, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I received my carbon fiber Gent today, and it's even better than I expected. The CF scales don't get thinned out in quite the same way as the G10 version, so the Select feels more substantial and I think it has a better ergonomic feel because of it. The stonewash is great and overall it is a superb knife.
Fhujsa
8
Jan 16, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have the rosewood scales. The original pocket clip didn't seem to match so I got a custom one from MXG. Gent Haiku Great steel and nice shapes. Very affordable, too. You will be happy.
search

(Edited)
14themoney
1390
Feb 1, 2019
I suppose that the only question is do I order it now or wait until the OEM clip becomes damaged. I think I have worn slacks several times this century. I had this in my flannel shirt pocket this evening. I was helping at an event my church participates in. It didn't sag the pocket.
zulicious65
5
Jul 12, 2019
Could you tell me which model to choose from for the Gent on the MXG website? Thanks.
Louns
21
Dec 7, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well mine came with lock rock out of the box. The pivot isn't tight and the blade rubs the liner on the non lock side. I can probably fix this but that means total disassmbly likely voiding any warranty. Honestly I'd have just returned it but apparently Massdrop won't let you return things they produce and have in stock. I get being part of a drop and all but come on... You already ordered them regardless of me joining. Less than impressed.
search

(Edited)
mike.j
297
Dec 18, 2018
Hi Louns, Sorry to hear of your experience. Feel free to reach out to our customer service by going to your transactions and clicking on 'Contact Support' We'll get you taken care of.
CaptDiabetus
2
Dec 25, 2018
Did you get a new one?
timmywitt
7
Dec 23, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Perfect Form
Pros:
  • Near-perfect form. It's subjective, but I think this is the best looking pocket knife in existence. I bought the rosewood and I wouldn't have it any other way. The only aesthetic thing I would change is to stonewash or otherwise darken the clip and screws to match the titanium better, which I very well may do myself.
  • Excellent steel. For my uses, this is the best steel on the market. Edge holding is great, but it's useless to have a rusty knife that could hold a great edge. I think S35VN is the most well-rounded steel available...fantastic edge holding, good corrosion resistance, good durability, and you can actually sharpen it yourself if you want.
  • Not scary. Stupid laws exist, and this comes in right at 3" so it gets past most of them. With the wood finish and clean lines this is a tame enough blade to hand to a coworker without thinking twice...and it's also large enough to actually use.
  • Safe. Great liner lock with plenty of holding power, 40% lockup on mine. Blade is a touch close to the back side of this thing, but I do think it's just far enough to not be a problem.
  • Action. Nice detent strength - beautiful crisp flips without any thumb studs, holes, or nail nicks. I know my favorite reviewer Shabazz wanted to see some texturing/jimping on the flipper tab, and I disagree with him here. For aesthetics I'm glad it's not there, and I have not personally had any issues flipping it reliably as-is.
  • Reversible clip. For you lefties. For the record, I wouldn't change the clip for the world. I'm so glad they stuck to their guns to keep this pen-like stealth clip on this gent.
  • Build quality. Perfect centering after 8 months of every-single-day carry with zero maintenance. Rosewood has held up through full soapy scrubbing and towel drying when I get it dirty. Finish still looks great.
Cons
  • Screws. The T6 screws are a bit small and strippy. This makes them unobtrusive, but make sure you have good bits. The two screws on the clip have loosened slightly on mine, which is very unfortunate. I'll need to Loctite these down, and hopefully reassemble so that I don't have to take the clip off ever again during maintenance.
  • Thick blade stock. 0.13" This is a knife begging for nice, slicey, svelte blade stock and it just didn't get it. It still cuts alright due to being thin enough right by the edge, but can you imagine? With a thinner stock you could pull the sides together for less center gap while cutting better. A gentleman's knife has no business being this thick.
Meh
  • The choil. My hands are small, and this is technically a finger choil for me. It will be a sharpening choil for most people. On the other hand, it's a great looking design element, and produces a graceful curve from the flipper to the blade, making a gorgeous half-moon tangent to the liner curve. Any larger and the curve would be interrupted beneath the liner. In my estimation, it may not be a finger choil...but it's a really good looking sharpening choil if that's all it can claim to be.
TLDR
  • "Purchase the knife, sir or madam."
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
akapabs
70
Jan 21, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The short review: this isn't a very good knife.. but you're not gonna listen to me.. so who cares. Basically the Massdrop x Ferrum Forge Gent gets 5 stars for looks and 2 stars for performance.. as long as you don't use knife, flip it too much or just handle it in general.. it's great. Any slight disturbance and this knife gets all out of wack, very easily gets off centered.. the screws are all ready to pop out so best have some locktite handy. A common misconception is that Gent is short for "Gentleman's knife".. when in fact with this knife it's short for "Gently Use". It's a knife of exacting tolerances which in effect doesn't make this a beginner's knife because you will have to maintenance it.. pretty much right out of the box. So hopefully you are comfortable disassembling, cleaning and lubing knives and on a lesser note just even tightening/tweaking the scales screws which doesn't seem like a real big deal.. til you find out that if you tighten the screws so they are flush with the scales it affects the pivot, action and centering. The knife in general has a smooth and sleek look.. everything is beautifully rounded off and chamfered.. so think about how ridiculous it is that the screws aren't flush with the scales.. they bump up noticeably and create hot spots. Also there is one awkward pointy corner on the back of the handle which is a bit sharp on the carbon fiber. The pocket clip is absolute garbage.. in fact I removed mine all together and am much happier carrying the knife in my fifth pocket.. it's small enough to fit there comfortably or even regular pocket if you prefer. The knife has a fairly light detent, if flips okay but is not super snappy.. works a little better with push button versus light switch method. The lock up is a bit early.. but never failed me and you can get the blade to drop shut pretty smoothly. This is obviously not meant to be a work knife.. there's no jimping for better grip.. the choil is small and if the blade came sharp there may be more of a risk of cutting your finger. The blade does cut though because it's thin behind the edge and it's geometry is very good. In fact I really like the blade shape and stock but that doesn't add up to dropping a hundred bucks for this knife.. if fact if you really must buy a Gent get the G-10 version for $80.. though basically this is a $50 knife.. save your s35vn bullshit talk for someone else.. trust me you can get it for cheaper elsewhere. In conclusion I can keep ranting on but you get the jist.. I don't recommend this knife.. I really wish I had bought a Ferrum Forge Falcon instead.. I really like these guys.. I think that they have great designs and WE knives usually executes them flawlessly. But the Gent for me is a dud.. it may be an internet darling scoring spots on various top ten lists.. but it literally was on my 3 Worst Knives I Bought In 2018 list. Rating: 2.75 rounded up to 3 stars
4fingerhand
9
Jan 27, 2019
I’m sorry to hear that. The knife isn’t meant for you. You should return for a refund.
akamass
6
Feb 6, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Arrived on a Saturday and carried it Monday and Tuesday. A handful of flips and opened one box and the pivot screw has already loosened up so much that the knife is flopping around and is way off center. The size is great, the blade is sharp, the pocket clip doesn't offend me for office carry but the QC is terrible. Just put some Loctite or something before sending them from the factory please. I don't think I should have to do surgery on a brand new knife.
SCBaldr
67
Nov 22, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Everything I've come to expect from ferrum Forge by WE knives. Best knife in the price class
mylee
19
Nov 26, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The smooth rosewood scales are a little thicker than the g10 on the select and it fills the hand better so that it feels much nicer actually. Kinda of like a mini grip. I thought the stonewashed blade looked a little boring so I switched the scales with the g10 satin finished blade to have more flash which I thought goes with the wood better for a dressier appearance. If you do this note that the screws need to go with the scales because they are different length. This also makes the original look
search
search
more rugged since the acid stone wash will really hide scratches well. Having a new gent reminds me how much the action smoothed out with use. Overall the rosewood scales are incredible. Would have preferred satin blade as their acid stone wash is much more dull and nonreflective compared to say the kizer Gemini. ** UPDATE ** It turns out that my pivot loosened like others have found and I had to Loctite it down which wasn't very difficult, but it also had a slight rattle in the bearing which probably nobody else would notice. I cleaned it, lubed it, adjusted the pivot and it was still there, so I requested a replacement, and Massdrop sent me a replacement, which is just perfect. This also happened with my g10 version except the rattle was more pronounced. So, for me personally, the We production of this particular model has had some bearing rattle at times, which doesn't occur on every one. It's not a functional problem, but as a musician, I get really bothered by noises that shouldn't be there. I'm very happy with this model. I also decided to switch back to the original scale combo because the stonewash just takes too much of the class away from the g10 version and it kinda become more like a mini-grip. Again, if they both had satin it would have been preferable.
(Edited)
al_sweatshirt
6
Feb 8, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'll be honest, this was my first drop and I have been very underwhelmed. I do own a fair few knives, all in the $30 - $150 price range, and this didn't even compare favourably to many at the cheaper end. The fit and finish seemed ok but after a week of soft use the blade is off centre and scrapes as it closes. The detent makes it uncomfortable to flip. The action is far from drop-shutty. After one week there is also lateral play. Out of the box it did come eye-wateringly sharp but having used it maybe three dozen times to open envelopes and a few Amazon boxes, the edge is significantly less menacing and actually shows signs of damage in the light. Very surprising as I was under the impression at first that the one thing which would stand up to scrutiny would be the high end steel... Overall I would thoroughly recommend spending the extra $20 to pick up one of the other MDxFF offerings. If I was in the US I would return but unfortunately it will cost me too much as I am a UK based customer.
ilockemup
58
Dec 20, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I received a useless blade. it has separated at the blade attachment end. its a paperweight! Sent pictures to Massdrop and got an email that said because I didn’t respond in a week they closed my complaint. All I wanted was a replacement.
search

(Edited)
BonesRIn
1
Jan 3, 2019
That’s gonna be a yikes for me
Showing 24 of 362