shopping_cart
Drop + Glycine Combat Sub "Soda" GMT Edition Watch

Drop + Glycine Combat Sub "Soda" GMT Edition Watch

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
146 requests
62 Sold
Product Description
We teamed up with Glycine to put our own twist on one of its best sellers, the Combat Sub. This collaboration is Glycine’s first-ever GMT, and it’s here in a style you won’t find anywhere else.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
19
check
94%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
ddsjbkim2879
5
Jan 12, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
It only arrived 405 days later. The gift of the wait was earnestness.
The clock is well made and excellent. However, the buckles on the watch strap were of lower quality than expected.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
WBLabenburg
7
Dec 28, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love the Watch and specially with the GMT feature.
Had a Glycine Combat Watch before when I was in Vietnam. Love the Watch.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Watchdork
27
Dec 31, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice watch overall. Would recommend to friends and would purchase again.
The watch appearance is quite nice. I like both the GMT and non-GMT version of the Glycine “Soda”, but my preference is the look of the GMT. The GMT has slightly smaller “circle” hour markers, and thinner markers at the 6 and 9 o’clock positions compared with the non-GMT (see image). The seconds markers
search
search
are a bit larger (longer), and more distinct. The non-GMT has a cyclops. I’m indifferent with regard to the cyclops. My eyes are so bad, I can’t see the date with or without the cyclops. Some cons, but not deal breakers (reasons for 4 stars vs. 5):
  1. There are only 2 micro-adjustments on the clasp. A 3rd micro-adjustment would’ve been nice, especially since the photos for this watch on DROP show 3 micro-adjustments. Will be swapping out the steel strap.
  2. I have a couple other GMT watches, and for those watches, the hour hand has the “GMT” movement (1 click/movement for 1 hour). On the Glycine, the GMT hand has this movement. Will take some getting used to. I don’t travel much, so won’t be using this function very much.
  3. The bezel is slightly loose, both on the GMT and non-GMT watch. Using the seconds markers as reference, I would say about 1/4 to 1/3 of a second loose. Doesn’t really bother me, but thought I’d include in the review.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
JAone
998
Jan 8, 2021
I must say that the two "sub combats" I have are fitted with different movements ; - eta 2824 which is the more accurate of the two, my bronze version has the sw200 sellita; it runs about 2-3 minutes fast per week. Do you know what the movement is in your standard cyclops edition watch? It sounds like the eta 2824.
Watchdork
27
Jan 9, 2021
Not sure on movements. But I have a couple other recent Combats that are ETA 2824, so assuming that the cyclops is also. One note/caution, the other Combats I purchased have an issue with the manual winding. I went a little overboard with manual winding these watches, and now the rotor catches when manual winding causing the watch to shake/vibrate a lot when manual winding. They both still keep accurate time. Read on some forums that this is a common issue and just needs cleaning and lubing.
Indy-Reiver
5
Jan 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
For the price its a good watch but not a great watch.
After the (well documented) wait the watch arrived around Christmas and my initial feeling was one of disappointment. The wait, combined with covid lockdown and my active imagination, meant I had built it up in my head that the watch was somehow going to be a Rolex GMT Master II. I kept it in its box until well after New Year before finally taking the plastic off, shortening the bracelet and getting it on my wrist. After a couple of days I warmed to it. I have had it on my wrist for over a week now and have come to appreciate the watch more. I love the GMT complication, I have a 70's 24h Tissot Seastar which fueled my interest in GMT hands. I find the bracelet and clasp more than "up to the job". The caseback is fantastic, I love an exposed movement. My initial reservations about the aluminium bezel and flat crystal have been eased. All together I am now very happy with the watch. Even after import duty, taking the price to about £575 GBP, I think its great value. Well done DROP!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overall Happy, Bracelet & Clasp Disappointing.
This is my 3rd Glycine that I have in my collection and I do like the look of it. A GMT is by far my favourite complication on a watch.
search
While controversial, I wish it had a cyclops like the non-GMT version because I like a cyclops, and it helps me to see the date without my glasses. While the bracelet looks nice, I am disappointed with the clasp quality. One side of the clasp lock is not returning to the original position after pressing to release, so I have to tug on the lock so that it engages. I'll have to reach out to Drop Support to see if they will send me a replacement bracelet.
search
Having difficulty finding the "sweet spot" for the size, I have the micro-adjustment pin in the inner hole but it's still just a tad too big. I believe it will be too small if I remove another link, but may give it a shot.
search

Brief comparison to a Tudor BB GMT. I really like the lower height of the Glycine better than the Tudor. Movement wise, the Tudor has an independently adjustable hour hand vs. the independently adjustable 24 hour hand of the Glycine. A more arduous task to set the date on the Tudor vs. the Glycine which has a quick-set date. For obvious reasons the Tudor crown movement (unscrewing, winding, setting time) so much smoother. I prefer the 1/2 hour bezel rotation on the Tudor better than the 1/4 hour on the Glycine.
search

JAone
998
Jan 8, 2021
I am with you regarding the cyclops addition, it is one of the reason's I bought the 2020 Seiko Alpinist, and ordered the recent Sub soda version of this watch. The Tudor is just too expensive for me; Drop did have a similar GMT watch with cyclops as well; the Revue Thommen GMT at about $599 I believe; I am waiting for it to come back,hopefully and may buy one. But the Tudor does look good.
thefitz
352
Feb 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great watch, not an exceptional value - and mind the duty
I think the Rolex "Coke" is the best aluminum-bezelled GMT Master-II Rolex has ever made: the black and red colorway makes the most sense for what it is supposed to represent, and has the perfect amount of pop. When I saw Drop release these, erm, GMT Master-II "inspired" watches, I was definitely leaning towards the "Coffee" colorway over the "Soda" - adding on the faux patina present on the "Coffee", I decided to pull the trigger. The watch is very handsome in person (much better than in mock-ups) and is quite comfortable. It's exceptionally thin considering the off-the-shelf movement and 200m water resistance, which really helps with the comfort and prevents the watch from feeling top-heavy. The bracelet is indeed quite jangly and reminiscent of those classic Rolex bracelets of the pre-2000s. Maybe I'm being overly sunny with this assessment, but when paired with the faux patina and "Coke" bezel, the watch very much has a vintage Rolex feel to it (not that you'd ever mistake one for the other or anything). The bracelet and clasp are not particularly impressive, but they're not the death sentence the Drop comment section whingers and moaners make them out to be (God, this site can be exhausting on that front sometimes). The matte dial is slightly textured and is handsomely adorned with gilt writing, plus "GMT" written in the red of the bezel. The minute markers are the perfect size, the "non-Maxi" markers are clean and legible (the "Maxi dial" on the non-GMT version looks a little silly to me... and what the hell is the point of a 2-toned hour bezel? Do we really need to know when 30m are up?). I am partial to non-cyclops date windows, and feel this matched with the lack of a "Mercedes" hour hand (while still retaining the shape) really pulls together the rugged and utilitarian look the watch is going for. The 48-click bi-directional bezel is perfectly functional - a little stiff, lines up well, with a little bit of wiggle (but not too much). The movement's not nearly pretty enough to necessitate a display back, but half the time a watch has a display back only to be able to show your friends that it doesn't use batteries - mission accomplished? I would have preferred a tastefully engraved solid caseback like on many of the other Combat Subs, but that's just me. The watch itself loses a 5-10 seconds a day - not exceptional, but not the end of the world (I'd prefer it to run fast!). There is something very strange about this movement: the GMT hand is quickset, not the hour hand. That's very strange, and contrary to most other GMT watches with a quickset function. The idea is you set the GMT hand to your home timezone, and quickset the hour to your local time, but it's backwards here. I am convinced this is a straight-up mistake, or an oversight at best. If anyone has any information to the contrary (or explaining this decision), I'd love to see it! I am in Canada, and shipping across the border sometimes has its challenges. Comment section pearl-clutchers are often shocked when they have to pay something upon delivery - and usually, they pay their local sales tax, plus a $10 fee. Sometimes items squeak through the border without any additional charges, but that only ever happens with USPS. If you're using DHL, expect sales tax + $10 (i.e. can the fake outrage - pretend you're buying it off any other damn local site that would have charged you tax and pretend the shipping charge reflects reality, which is likely over $10). Except this time. I was hit with a ~$200 COD charge upon pickup. The usual sales tax, the usual $10 fee.... plus a ~$60 charge clearly marked "duty". Oof! On the bright side, I can now conclusively prove that any fees you're hit with at the border are not actually duty. If you get hit with duty, it'll be itemized as such. Had I known about the proper duty charge, I probably would have passed on this watch. At $629 USD, the watch is not an exceptional value, but is by no means a ripoff - it's a fair price for a watch like this. Paying tax is the responsibility of a good citizen, and the $10 fee undoes a shipping subsidy that likely took place - the cost of doing business. That duty charge made me regret the purchase a little bit, but not enough to want to return it. Drop has had some great bargains on some weird and funky watches (remember the 52mm red Corum Bubble with Satan on it? How about the Swiss Legend Abyssos with a dirty crystal for $140?) - this is not a great bargain. It's the going rate for a solid, handsome GMT watch with a backwards quickset function. If I could go back in time, I may have taken a look at some of those Glycine Airman watches, that are among the best values in iconic, non-homage watches. Compared to something like a Revue Thommen GMT which could have been had at a similar (lower?) price, the Glycine shows much more personality and isn't so much a straight homage. So there.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
thefitz
352
Feb 21, 2021
I had a 48mm Combat Sub I got drop Drop - I remember it being a very well made watch with a fantastic bracelet, very heavy in a good way. Unfortunately for me, I got the black PVD version which felt like I was wearing a watch made of a chalkboard, and it drove me nuts. It's hard to go wrong for a watch like that for $319 USD - there are cheaper Glycines to be had around the $250-$275 range, but they're not Combat Subs. At the price you're looking at, I'd recommend a Combat Sub, or perhaps the Revue Thommen Planet Ocean style Diver.
T.willy
462
Feb 21, 2021
Thanks for the information. 😎
MitchE
47
Jan 2, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent price for this watch
Given the exclusivity of its colorway (coffee) along with the GMT hand, I consider this watch to be a very good value. Standard colorways without GMT regularly list for this price. However, the bracelet does leave something to be desired - pressed clasp, link pins (vice screws) and no solid end links. That said, I'm very happy with the watch and it makes a great addition to my dive watch collection.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Craingrape
30
Dec 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worth the wait
Exactly what I wanted. The micro adjustments could have used another hole though. It's just barely too loose but nothing I can't account for.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Craingrape
30
Dec 28, 2020
Looks like 48 to me. Uploading photos now.
configsys
6
Dec 28, 2020
Thanks for uploading those photos. Can you please include one that shows the clasp? It looks like it has the same inexpensive clasp from the regular Combat Sub "Soda".
Dvieira
20
Dec 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty happy
Overall, the fit and finish of the case, bezel, dial and movement are great. The bracelet and clasp on the other hand have a rather “economy” feel to them. I’ll probably lose the bracelet for a leather strap instead
check
Would recommend to a friend.
skipmontesjr
1
Jan 30, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Dissapointed... The band had a pressed clasp...
The face is hard to tell if its brown or black... I put it on a leather strap..Wish it had a cyclopse....... It is worth what I paid for since it is all Glycine but will still be getting the blackbay gmt....
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 24 of 33