Drop + HIFIMAN HE-35X Headphones
Drop + HIFIMAN HE-35X Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
43 Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
We’re always listening to your feedback and updating our products to make them the best that they can be. The Drop x HIFIMAN HE-35X delivers true audiophile performance at an entry-level price Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
18
check
90%
would recommend to a friend
search
moedawg140
20
Mar 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Massdrop x HIFIMAN HE-X Review Hi everyone, this is Maurice, also known as moedawg140 on Head-Fi. Here is my profile link if you'd like to read up a bit about me: https://www.head-fi.org/members/moedawg140.399714 . You can also find the review with video/pictures on my Instagram (moedawg140), here: . https://www.instagram.com/p/BvQ5b6LlH1V/ . I would like to thank Thomas, Christian, and the Massdrop team for the Massdrop x HIFIMAN HE-35X for my honest opinion. . Massdrop is rolling out a new pricing structure. Paraphrasing from Mr. Fernandez: "We are doing this to reward members that support products early by giving them a price break before a product goes into store. . For the HE-35X the product is available at a special launch price until April 18 or until the first 750 are sold. . We want folks to know about this new pricing plan which will apply to future Massdrop Made headphones." . Here is the link that talks a bit more about the pricing: . https://www.massdrop.com/talk/22088/new-massdrop-made-launch-pricing . With regards to my thoughts about the HE-35X, it is everything you would want, and then some. . Compared to the original HE350, the HE-35X has more palpable bass, at around +5db to my ears. The upper bass and subbass is a bit more viseral than the HE350 with modifications such as the paper towel mod and Brainwavz Angled Pads (BAP). Smoother rumbling than the mods, with comforting touches to your head as the tracks play on. . The HE-35X has a toned down midrange compared to the HE-350, and is buttery smooth. . In the HE350 review, I stated "treble may sound bright to very bright"; the HE-35X has treble that is smoothed and as a result, a joy to listen. . Soundstage isn't as expansive as the HE350, but having a bit more lower register, with a smoother midrange and treble is a good compromise to embody, in my opinion. . With regards to headphone comfort, the HE-35X feels as good on the head as the HE350 with modifications. . The total presentation is that of an upgrade of the original HE350, the result of the reviews and owners' feedback. . Is the HE-35X worth it? If you haven't owned a HE350 level headphone, I would unequivocally say the HE-35X is definitely worth the price. If you already own the HE350 or another headphone like the musically neutral K7XX, maybe. The HE-35X sounds different enough in my opinion compared to the HE350 that both are completely different headphones. The HE-35X is in my opinion a revelation of the HE350: the epitome of the original. . Enjoy a luxuriously audiophile value!
Mar 21, 2019
Neural0
6
Mar 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I wanted to post my thoughts on these:

5/5 Stars Overall, the Price/Performance Ratio of the HE-35X's simply can't be beat.

These hit all the marks of the originals while improving on every front. Highly recommended for anyone looking for an entry into audiphile goodness. Disclaimer: I use my HiFiMan 350's as my daily driver and with the $30 upgrade in pads + the bass mod = I love them, and the majority of my review of the new X's is a direct comparison between the two. Initial Reaction: The 35X's look very similar to the originals, although this one has a slight refinement to the design. The cord is the same heavy weight as the original and I appreciate the L/R designation on the terminals. I see that the 3.5mm is now standardized throughout the build, this really doesn't affect me that much since I didn't need to hook up my originals, but I'm sure it matters to someone who wants to use another cord 3.5mm. The adjustable headset has a very satisfying secure click when moving up and down, whereas my originals easily slide too far and don't feel as secure. They haven't ever slid up, just a noticeable improvement on the original.  The comfort!! The strap is welcoming, the original metal bracket was ridiculously stiff and put pressure immediately on the sides of my head. The updated unit is perfectly firm, not overbearing. I also notice the earpads are a much improvement, falling right in between the original very stiff pads and the ultra soft aftermarket Brainwavez pads that I purchased for myself. I prefer these pads, only because the aftermarkets I purchased didn't have the airflow and also mushed too softly onto my head. Goldilocks, this is just right. These are soft comfortable while also keeping their rigidity. But there still isn't the pressure like from the other clamp. The sound:  Highs are not too overpowering, I'm not cringing at the cymbals or high hats.  Mids and vocals are clean and I keep finding new parts of my songs (There's rain in the beginning of 'Bad in Common'!?), a pretty incredible feat considering I was on that track with the old HiFiMan's. Soundstage is wide and poignant, I can feel exactly where the different singers are in the track, when a louder  The one thing missing right away is the deep low-end bass which is reminiscent of the original experience with the 350's. They needed to be broken in before they produced that rich sound and I think the 35X's are doing the same thing. Overall the sound is warm and inviting throuhgout the vocals down into a baritone, but there is the missing piece of "DAT HOUSE BASS THO" on the low-end with the stock equalizer.  This is reminiscent of the originals when I first received them before I had to do a bass mod: But my god, it's a good tradeoff. I find myself enjoying the music on the new cans even while writing this review because the clarity on the full range of sound is that good.
Mar 24, 2019
lugnut
100
Mar 27, 2019
bookmark_border
Just wondering, how did you get a chance to try out a pair of these ?
Mar 27, 2019
Neural0
6
Mar 27, 2019
bookmark_border
Received them about a month ago from Massdrop specifically to review them since I had the HiFiMan HE-350's as I mentioned.
Mar 27, 2019
Xephyroth
148
Mar 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Hi all, Massdrop sent me a sample to review. Please let me know if you have any questions! In May 2016, I submitted an order for the Massdrop x HiFiMAN HE-350 and received it on September 22nd that year. By the time I received them, I had already been familiar with headphones like the HD 280, HM5, K7XX, HD 650, and TH-X00 PH—a decent price range of headphones that are often enjoyed by the community. These days, the older HE-350 doesn’t hold up to the competition, but does the newly revised HE-35X make enough change to be a compelling offering? BUILD QUALITY: When compared to the older rendition, the HE-35X doesn’t have too many structural changes. It employs a new reinforced yoke to prevent breakage that other HiFiMAN headphones have encountered, and the 2.5mm connectors have been swapped out for 3.5mm for increased durability. Aside from those changes, you’re still getting a primarily plastic build aside from the headband, which is thin and lightweight. In short, this isn’t the kind of headphone that’s meant to take too much of a beating. Rather, it opts to be lightweight and affordable. COMFORT: In terms of comfort, the HE-35X is quite comfortable when compared against the older HE-350. When I wear the older HE-350, the stiff velour pads don’t form a proper seal around my ears, while the HE-35X’s new hybrid pleather/velour pads are soft, plushy, and conform around my ears to create a very comfortable seal and improve the distribution of the clamping force. The headband padding is still thin, but  the clamping force of the ear pads should offset the need for thicker headband padding. However, this clamping force might cause stress on the jaw for some. This wasn’t a problem for me, but ought to be mentioned. One thing that hasn’t changed is the fact that this headphone may not fit well for larger size heads due to its smaller adjustment height. PORTABILITY: As far as portability is concerned, nothing has changed from the HE-350. These headphones are just not small. Their size is a strong indicator that they are really meant for use at your desk, but if you are committed to using them in a portable fashion, then they can be driven by portable devices like smartphones. Just be warned that open-back headphones may disturb those around you who are uninterested in your questionable taste in music. And thankfully, the HE-35X comes with a cable that terminates in 3.5mm but comes with a 3.5mm to ¼” adapter. SOUND: Okay, so far, it seems to be decent, but how does it sound? Well, this is going to be a more controversial headphone compared to other popular open back headphones like the HD 58X or HD 6XX. Firstly, do they sound better than the HE-350? Yes. Absolutely. Comparing the two, I can best describe the older HE-350’s treble as sounding like steel trash can lids, whereas the HE-35X has substantially better treble reproduction that can be considered bright, but artistically so. This is thanks to the decision to use a high-pass filtering circuit in each ear cup that balances the low treble. The bass extension on the HE-35X has also improved thanks to the new ear pads and proper seal. This headphone actually caters to my bass-head desires a lot more than I thought it would. These days, I listen to a variety of k-pop, instrumental, metal and more. I demoed the following songs with the HE-35X using the Massdrop x Grace Design m9XX:
  1. Listening to Dreamer by pianist Hiromi, the HE-35X delivers quality reproduction of Hiromi’s keyboard playing. The presentation maintains the dynamics of her playing, and I’m able to enjoy her melodies and rhythms without any strange sibilance or frequencies fighting for the spotlight. The keys resonate in the midrange, which is one of the cleaner aspects of the HE-35X. Anthony Jackson’s bass lines are delivered in such a way that I can hear the timbre of his fingers against the bass guitar. There is a bit of bass elevation in this headphone, but it’s presented in a tasteful way that avoids bleeding into or overwhelming the lower midrange. Lastly, Simon Phillips’ percussion is delivered with impact; the snare comes in with good attack and remains well-distinguished from the sparkly, shimmery cymbals, while the kick delivers decent representation without stealing from Jackson’s basslines.
  2. Listening to Eclipse by k-pop group LOOΠΔ, I can quickly hear the brightness of these headphones when it comes to percussion and vocals. There is definitely sibilance in the consonant “s” and “t” sounds—which have the potential to push to the front of the mix more on this headphone compared to headphones with more relaxed treble. Upper-treble cymbals can also be very forward in the mix. But with those two warnings aside, this headphone delivers an enjoyable listening experience for those looking for a V-shaped sound signature. The sound stage remains narrow, intimate, and immersive. Bass kicks are impactful while the bass synths are lightly pushed into the back of the mix while the vocals come center-stage. Compared to a more neutral headphone, the vocal range can push itself to the front more often and push bass synths to the back of the mix.
  3. When I Meet Death by metal band Time, the Valuator delivers an excellent V-shape that provides bass impact with the kick which synchronizes very well with the guitar. In this scenario, the frequency response of the HE-35X delivers an especially enjoyable listening experience for the guitars and percussion. The vocals are balanced within the mix while letting the attack of the guitar lead the song forward. While remaining narrow in its soundstage, the presentation is immersive and another great example of the type of music this headphone is great for.
  4. Story by rock band CHON is often my go-to song for showcasing soundstage on a headphone, and as mentioned before, soundstage still remains narrow, but immersive. The presentation of this song is very well done with the HE-35X. The bass guitar carries noticeable impact in this song, as notes are delivered in long durations, while the guitars maintain excellent clarity and good stereo separation. The percussion is balanced without harsh cymbal presentation, and if you close your eyes and focus on the percussion, you might be able to visualize Nathan Camarena playing the drums.
Other things to try: If you are a Windows user, you may consider going into the properties of your playback device, selecting “Enhancements”, checking “Bass Boost”, clicking the “Settings…” button and setting it to +6dB@80Hz. I found this bass boost to be quite enjoyable under certain circumstances, and the HE-35X was able to hold up surprisingly well without completely diminishing the presentation of other frequencies. CONCLUSION: So who is this headphone for? Well, I find that it’s best described as a V-shaped headphone due to its elevated bass response and brighter treble. If you’re listening to instrumental music that doesn’t carry too many sibilant frequencies, I’d say this could be right up your alley. These are also great for more energetic music genres like metal and pop, but tracks that have very hot masters and emphatic treble brightness and sibilance may end up over-represented in those frequencies. For me, I do feel as though this headphone is quite competent and has merits that the previous HE-350 just did not have. While audiophile newcomers might want to play it safe and lean towards a more neutral headphone, if you’re sure you’re looking for something V-shaped with an emphasis in the treble, the HE-35X is probably right up your alley. For those coming from warmer headphones like the HD 6XX and K7XX, this headphone is in a completely different category and should even provide some competition to the similarly priced Grado SR80e, which is also known for its brightness.
search
search
search
search
search
search
search
search


(Edited)
Mar 19, 2019
Pezonator
2
Aug 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome for the price and Soundstage!
I really wasn't expecting much from these, only being US$100 or so, but I was pleasantly surprised! Background: I mainly use my Headphones for gaming and also a good music session. The one constant in my setup is a Yamaha RXV 373 Amp which runs my 5.1 setup and Headphones for my PC. I've owned multiple sets, starting from the Beyerdynamic DT860 which I had for 4 years and had a brilliant soundstage, to the AKG 612 Pro (again, excellent but not much bass). I then recently bought the Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro's at 250ohm (retail version) and I cannot tell where footsteps or gunshots are coming from. They are horrible for fps gaming and have sat on my desk for the past month while I've used these HiFiman 35X's. The DT990 I would describe as a full sound headphone with great bass and good mids, I will use them for music. The HiFiman 35X as a direct comparison gives slightly less bass, not as clear mids but a brilliant soundstage in my opinion. By slightly, I mean only the slightest, as expected from a $100 difference in a pair of cans. I can easily pinpoint certain sounds, whether it be in games or music. The massive earpads are nice and the cans are comfortable for long periods although slightly warm as the outside of the pads are leather style. Gamers reading this review: I was very hyped with the DT990pro as it was reviewed as one of the best gaming headphones but I was sorely disappointed. The HiFiman 35X has impressed me greatly and I highly recommend them for this price. They are a great overall headphone and I can't see myself changing until they break in a few years.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 19, 2019
thesoundapprentice
52
Mar 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The HE-350 is dead; long live the HE-35X. But will the Massdrop x HIFIMAN HE-35X, debuting at a pre-order price of just $90, be crowned king of Massdrop’s entry-level audiophile headphone lineup? Nearly three years ago, Massdrop announced the HE-350, an open-back, 50mm dynamic driver headphone created in collaboration with high-end headphone manufacturer HIFIMAN. Priced at just $99 (cheap by any audiophile’s standards), and looking quite like its high-priced brethren at the time, the HE-350 seemed like an absolute steal. Having owned and enjoyed HIFIMAN’s classic HE-500 and HE-6 planar magnetic powerhouses, I jumped on the HE-350 drop expecting an excellent entry-level headphone to put into the rotation for comparison reviews and occasional personal use. I couldn’t have been more wrong. The HE-350 was utterly disappointing to my ears. I quickly sold it at a loss and swore off chasing budget audiophile products priced too good to be true. So, to say I was surprised when Massdrop reached out to me to be an early reviewer of its latest Massdrop x HIFIMAN collaboration would be an understatement. “We’ve overhauled our Massdrop x HIFIMAN HE-350. We listened to all the comments and feedback to improve sound, durability, and comfort,” Massdrop said in reaching out to me. I guess they’re confident that the new HE-35X’s improvements will have me singing a different tune this time around. Let’s find out.
Unboxing Impressions
It wouldn’t be hard to mistake the HE-35X for the HE-350. Straight out of the box, the HE-35X looks and feels a lot like its predecessor. The same sleek metallic gray and black color combination that caught my eye the first time around is back. I would’ve opted for an all matte finish like the Beyerdynamic Amiron Home or Massdrop x HIFIMAN HE4XX for some differentiation from its predecessor, but Massdrop didn’t ask me about looks. So far, the HE-35X’s glossy plastic cups are holding up better than those of my several times more expensive HE-500 and HE-6, which both showed fine surface scratches from even the slightest mishandling. Also returning for this edition is the suspension headband. I’m told this version has metal-reinforced yokes. I’ll take Massdrop’s word for it since the HE-35X feels slightly more robust than the toy-like HE-350. Of all the headphone headbands out there, this is one of the better designs for comfort and articulation. Between its light weight, Goldilocks clamping force (not too loose, not too tight — unless you have a really wide head), and thinly padded wide synthetic leather strap, the HE-35X is very comfortable for short listening sessions and better than tolerable over a full day’s use. Can you ask for more in this department? Not really. I will caution you of one thing: Once you set the strap on the indentation that fits your head, minimize readjustments — the tabs that secure the strap in place quickly wear the paint off the black metal headband, leaving a fine silver line between each indentation hole.  A welcomed HE-35X enhancement comes by way of its ear pads. The HE-35X comes equipped with HIFIMAN’s popular FocusPads. These are the same premium angled hybrid (pleather/velour) ear pads found on HIFIMAN’s HE-400i and other higher-priced headphones of similar design and are an especially nice feature when you consider that HIFIMAN sells them for $39. Based on past experiences with HIFIMAN ear pads, I can attest the FocusPads help immensely with positioning and comfort; however, they still get toasty — watch for ear sweat. These ear pads have also been said to be itchy for some users, particularly those with sensitive skin. If this is the case for you, I suggest removing the pads to hand-wash them with a mild detergent and then letting them air dry. I’ve had good results doing this myself, and if that still fails you, I have no doubt that the ear pad connoisseurs of our hobby will soon be testing the various options from Brainwavz and ZMF Headphones to see if any of them perform better than the FocusPads. As far as tactile enhancements go, the last one worth mentioning is the cable. Back in the day, HIFMAN’s removable cables terminated at the cups with the most finger-frustrating mini-coax connections. Thank the audio gods that those things are gone. The HE-350 used more convenient 2.5mm TRS connectors, but now the HE-35X uses robust 3.5mm TRS connections at the ear cups for a quick, secure hook-up. The cable itself is plain and simple: Black, 53” long (I’m assuming it’s all OFC copper), terminated with a right-angle 1/8” headphone plug (3.5mm), and a 1/4” adapter is included. While the cable’s plugs are gold plated, oddly, the jacks on the cups aren’t. I guess they had to cut costs somewhere.
Listening Impressions
While the HE-35X looks and feels much like the old HE-350, it sounds entirely different — that’s a very good thing. Massdrop tells me the HE-35X has been completely re-tuned to improve frequency response and appeal to customer requests. I’ll wholeheartedly back that claim. I tolerated the HE-350 long enough to get some listening impressions on paper. I know a lot of people went through lengths to mod their HE-350s in attempt to correct its shortcomings. Well, I actually kept listening to the HE-35X long after I had a good enough impression to write this review. In other words, the HE-35X’s frequency response sounds leagues above the HE-350. In fact, it’s a pretty fun headphone. What I mean by that is that it’s tuned to get your toes tapping with boosted bass and a tipped-up top end. The HE-35X’s treble jumps out front from the get-go. You’ll need to give your ears a few minutes to acclimate to this, but despite being crisp and forward, the HE-35X’s highs aren’t ear-piercing or overly bright or fatiguing. This is a big win for the HE-35X since many headphones around this price point struggle with sibilance and sharp highs that crumble as cymbals crash. Sure, cymbals can sound splashy sometimes, some grain comes out when things get loud, and some female voices can sound especially forward, but it’s hard to fault a budget-priced headphone for these things. Overall, the HE-35X delivers a decent level of clarity and separation between brass sections and cymbals and toppy female vocalists and their pianos — better than par for the price if you ask me. I’ll attribute this to the high-pass filtering circuit in each ear cup Massdrop says was introduced to “attenuate the treble for a better overall sound signature.” If I had to fault the HE-35X’s top end, it would be in its lack of dimension and tonal quality; there’s little air or aura despite the large dynamic drivers and open-back design. On the positive side, being tipped-up but not toppy is a major refinement over the HE-350 and a solid accomplishment overall. The HE-35X’s highs simply sound more controlled and balanced overall. Moving into the mids is where I feel the HE-35X labors some. This is somewhat predictable; when a headphone has emphasized bass and treble regions, finer midrange details will inevitably lack luster. This takes some of the euphoria out of tracks like John Butler’s “Ocean,” where the HE-35X struggles to fully reproduce the full-bodied extension and emotion of his 11-string guitar. A Deftones album, for another instance, will sound cutting but feel lean as the drive of the hearty distortion feels slightly recessed. As you crank the volume on your amp, your ears won’t be met with more machismo but instead with loudly splashing cymbals and booming bass lines. The piano, drums, and sax in “When the World Was One” by Matthew Halsall & the Gondwana Orchestra lack a bit of depth, presence, and separation as they struggle to flutter around the HE-35X’s tuning. While this isn’t to my taste, again it’s not uncommon for a headphone like this. It also doesn’t mean jazz, folk, or rock will necessarily sound bad out of the HE-35X, you just have to understand upfront that moody mids are not this headphone’s forte. While the HE-35X stumbles slightly in the mids, namely towards the upper end of that range, it finds its stride again deeper in the dynamic range. The HE-35X’s bass extension is its saving grace. I expected either anemic or flabby overemphasized bass, but this is a headphone that carries a healthy rumble right into your ears, which makes electronic, hip hop, and rap most fun to listen to through the HE-35X. Heck, queue up Moderat’s “Bad Kingdom” and decide for yourself if you’re getting good bass for the buck.  The bass hits with conviction on this budget performer, but it performs best when the tracks aren’t overly busy, which seems to be a recurring theme. “Home” by John Butler Trio illustrates my point. The opening synth bass is clean and convincing, but when the floor toms come in heavy on the chorus, the HE-35X struggles to keep up with the congestion and loses impact and timbre. But hold on; spin up Oddisee’s “Ready to Rock” and, yep, you’ll be ready to roll. This is the kind of track the HE-35X lives for.  The HE-35X also does quite well with simple songs. Take John Mayer’s latest release, “I Guess I Just Feel Like,” where the even-toned and relaxed Mayer doesn’t challenge the HE-35X to do anything remarkable or complex — it’s just a laid-back listen where there’s little emphasis on any part of the dynamic range. “What am I Here For” by Jade Bird is another song where the HE-35X exhibits its ability to hint at being holographic when the tones and volume are just right. I admit to wanting the HE-35X to be more holographic more often though. Despite being an open-back headphone, I can’t credit it with sounding especially three-dimensional, airy, or realistic. There’s no real magic about its sound stage, but it does place the music with pinpoint precision right between your ears. The HE-35X fills your head with music, which is much better than just filling your ears with noise (there was nothing musical about the HE-350). So, what does this all mean? When unchallenged by dynamic layers of instruments and vocalists, the HE-35X easily punches above its weight. Simply put, I think the HE-35X is a fine and very listenable headphone for the price. Sure, there are better options out there for more money. There are also far worse options out there for less money, equal money, and even more money. What this all means is the Massdrop x HIFIMAN HE-35X offers good value for the audiophile on a restricted budget. That said, any buyer of the HE-35X needs to accept that it will not be their endgame headphone — it will only be a gateway to the absurdity that comes with being an audiophile (Massdrop will appreciate your repeat business). Massdrop may decide to market the HE-35X as the king of their entry-level audiophile headphone line-up. I’ll crown it as the prince for the price. The real king is still the Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX.
Alternate Approaches
Here’s my prediction for potential HE-35X buyers: You’ll stick with it for a little while, maybe even mess around with some mods, and then you’ll start to wonder what the next best thing is — it’s inevitable as an audiophile. So, I have a few recommendations for you. Each of these is a reiteration of a classic hi-fi headphone, so your “upgraditis” should be stayed for quite a while longer. AKG: If you want a more neutral /balanced headphone with better detail clarity that will play well with a wider range of music (and responds well to EQing if you’re into that), the Massdrop x AKG K7XX should be a top consideration. At $200, it offers a strong feature set and attractive price:performance ratio. The original Austria-made AKG K701, was my first real “audiophile” headphone courtesy of The Spirited Uncle M (you'd need to be a follower of mine to understand this reference) and remains a solid choice for those seeking a no-frills hi-fi headphone. Massdrop offers their version in black and red. The K702, and K712 (enhanced low-end performance) are equally valid options.  Beyerdynamic: If you like a V-shaped sonic signature like the HE-35X exhibits, but want a more refined product — better clarity, timbre, and build — the $170 Beyerdynamic DT990 Premium Limited-Edition Black headphone offers a big bang for the buck. Beyerdynamic, in my opinion, has some of the more comfortable and eye-appealing designs; although, some people do complain of sibilance. Unless you have a very powerful amp, the 250-ohm version should be purchased. Sennheiser: As previously mentioned, Massdrop’s greatest achievement in the audiophile community might be bringing Sennheiser’s classic HD 650 to the masses in a far more cost-effective package, the $200 Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX. The color is different, the cable is shorter, but the sound performance is the same, which makes this one of the best bargains in the head-fi space today. The HD 6XX is a lush headphone that is very easy to listen to. You will sacrifice some sub-bass slam and twinkle in the treble, but you get a very warm, full-hearted headphone that plays well with most music genres. Of the headphones mentioned in this section, this one is easily the most universally enjoyed headphone on the market. If vocal depth and emphasis is important in your music, the HD 6XX should be a top choice. HIFIMAN: If you’re truly set on going with a HIFIMAN headphone, you need to go planar magnetic. Your best cost of entry here is the $170 Massdrop x HIFIMAN HE4XX. I haven’t personally heard this model, but I know that planar performance is going to offer you a more refined sound than the HE-35X’s dynamic driver. You’ll sacrifice some comfort and style due to the added weight and different headband, but you’ll likely gain more depth, clarity, and sound quality in return.  No matter which headphone you choose, I hope you enjoy your journey to #AudioNirvana
(Edited)
Mar 19, 2019
thesoundapprentice
52
Jul 30, 2019
bookmark_border
Thanks for reading and the kind words!
Jul 30, 2019
MartyM
22
Dec 4, 2019
bookmark_border
You got it I read everything!!! And I have ADHD! Thx for the precious infos!
(Edited)
Dec 4, 2019
Willco
17
Mar 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've been fortunate to able to try an advance release of the HE-35X and here's my review. When the Massdrop HE-350 premiered a couple years ago I bought a pair but ended up not liking their lively high end. This time around they've corrected that issue and improved them all around. Before I get to my thoughts, my daily drivers are the HE-400 with a DIY tube amp and DIY DAC. I also have owned the Grado SR-125, NAD HP50, Audio-Technica ATH-ANC7 and others. I have direct access to many other headphones including Audeze LCD 2, EL8s and various AKG models. What I'm saying is have a lot of options to compare them to.

I've been using the HE-35X for the last month exclusively and my highlights are:

• Nice build quality, good stock cable - improved the ends to use standard 1/8" pins
• Really like the hybrid pads (they are now pleather with a velour surface, like the focusPad).
• Good bass, virtually identical to my HE-400, a marked improvement from the HE-350
• V frequency curve, I venture to guess most people will enjoy this frequency response
• Lacking a bit of detail in the mids, really the only downside to the sound of the HE-35X
• Highs are still lively, but not overkill like the original HE-350, due to the improved low end frequency response
• Easy to drive
• The headband could use a bit more padding
• Electronic music with good bass/treble really shines on these cans 

The HE-35X is a solid improvement over the HE-350 and satisfies the entry level audiophile niche nicely. Buyers of the HE-35X will not be disappointed.
Mar 21, 2019
lugnut
100
Mar 27, 2019
bookmark_border
Just wondering how did you get a chance to try out a pair of these ?
Mar 27, 2019
Willco
17
Mar 28, 2019
bookmark_border
A Massdrop representative reached out due to my prior disappointment in the HE-350 and asked if I'd like to try the upgraded 35X to compare them and I took them up on it. =)
Mar 28, 2019
Mishra1390
8
Oct 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fairly average
I am not experienced with open back headphones. I was expecting a better sound stage, but found the experience bit underwhelming, found some earbuds better at that. Lacks bass to disappointing level, but otherwise is ok, with too much treble though.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Oct 9, 2019
Mishra1390
8
Jan 9, 2020
bookmark_border
I use them with a sound card on my computer. So I do have enough control over sound.
Jan 9, 2020
NEXONUS
27
Jan 11, 2020
bookmark_border
I hate to break it to you, but his review seems to be in line with other reviews. The 35x sounds closed and intimate despite being open, and they are bright. However, I disagree that they 'lack bass to a disappointing level'.
Jan 11, 2020
jgibbs
17
Sep 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good sound, small pads
Sound over all is pretty good. Some male vocals are a little recessed as others have mentioned. They can get bright IMO with music that has a lot of cymbals, snare drums, ect. The drivers have a lot of potential though. Little equing and you have solid performance. My biggest gripe are the pads....or lack there of. They are very thin and the ear holes are small. I have large ears and they are not all that comfortable on them. May try to swap them out, if it is possible to. The headband is top notch comfy. Note though it uses plastic "lock" tabs for head height adjustment, they may ware out fairly fast with routine changing? I do not have the need to change them as I am the only one who uses them, but it is worth noting for others. The driver housing is also flat and stiff. I do not know how else to describe it. Not bad per say just a lot different then I am used to. It feels like i have 2 speakers strapped to my ears versus a set of headphones. And I am not talking about sound, all actual feel only. Over all, despite some flaws, they are a solid headphone. Great for most with a little equing. If you have big ears though, you may want to look elsewhere. UPDATE 11/21/19 QA issues. Something seamed a little off while wearing them. Noticed last week the driver cups are off. The holes for mounting the headband on 1 cup is 1/2" higher then the other cup. Like they put it in the machine upside down and no one noticed. I will probably give them away as my slight ocd tendency towards symmetry makes me want to not use them =/
(Edited)
Sep 17, 2019
BigBoyLoki
82
Oct 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Open-back but sounds closed, still great sound
I was curious with the first HE-300 from massdrop but I heeded the negative reviews and kept my curiosity from being satiated. Then they announced the 35X so I went for it. And I'm not regretting my purchase. These are very comfortable headphones. They have the same design as the HE-400i's which I can wear forever. The sound is good (sorry, i cannot really express any detail on this part). Curiously, I know these are open-backed headphones, but when I listen to them in a quiet room, it feels like I'm listening to close back headphones. Maybe it's the way that I don't feel any air escaping from the pads whenever I listen to music.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 8, 2019
B1gdee05
131
Jul 30, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very light weight and comfortable head strap
I had purchased the 35X with the introduction price and I must say for 90$ I don't think no other over the ear headphone that can compete, especially when you hook them up with balance cable and powered via tube/valve amplifier... the sound is awesome however I cannot justify paying the 120$ as I believe there are better sounding headphone out there within this price range.. As stated these are very good introduction headphone especially for the novices into audiophile...  
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 30, 2019
B1gdee05
131
Aug 2, 2019
bookmark_border
Yes I did!!
Aug 2, 2019
Joeb1kenobi
50
Aug 2, 2019
bookmark_border
I agree $90 great deal! $120 not so much. Also think the HE-35X benefit from tube or SS-tube hybrid amp.
Aug 2, 2019
Showing 36 of 53