Drop + HIFIMAN HE-R7DX Closed-Back Headphones
$149

Drop + HIFIMAN HE-R7DX Closed-Back Headphones

bookmark_border
$149
Members who purchase earn
447
Drop Rewards
Ready to Ship
·
Free Returns in USA
Frequently bought together:
add
ADV. Headphone Hanger
add
Drop + HIFIMAN HE4XX Planar Magnetic Headphones
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
85
check
81%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
christensenra
0
Aug 5, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Would Buy Again
While I'm normally an open back headphone user, these were purchased specifically to drown out the noise of a coworker. The over-ear design and clean sound do just that. They feel decent in mids and highs, and maybe a little bass heavy if you normally listen to Grados.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
writh
9
Jul 30, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Balanced, neutral, supremely comfortable
So comfortable, with a very neutral, balanced sound
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Panitan
17
Jul 27, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Extremely DAP friendly
Easy to drive by getting the details of the sound in its entirety, the headband has less compression than many headphones b
search
search
search
ut it fits me, who has a big head.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
parker760
5
Jul 27, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Little heads beware
No clamping force around my head at all no mater what adjustments you try. This is a common complaint and you will fall victim of it.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
JahFor3
5
Jul 25, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Needs new headband
These headphones sound good for the price. Unfortunately you have to hold the earcups up to your head for it to sound at it's best. If you buy, do yourself and the headphones a favor and buy a new headband.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Roxsteady
43
Jul 20, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Decent for the price but a bit surprised the bass was low
This is now my 4th HiFiMans pair, and this one is similar to the HE-X4's but with closed back. To be honest I can't tell much of a difference in sound. I was a bit surprised that for a pair of closed backs, the bass was low. I get more bass out of my Sennheiser's HD 559's which cost around the same (when I bought them on sale). Those are open and have a way nicer and crisp bass. Now I get it, not everyone is a bass head, but the Senn's aren't bass heavy, just perfect in that aspect. I was hoping something similar with these. I also thought the mids would be muddier, and they are actually pretty clean. You can hear rich tones without any high pitches or pops. So I got these cheaper during the Amazon Prime Day sale that Drop had going at the same time, so I am not dissatisfied. But If I would have paid the full $150, I might have returned them. I do recommend these to folks who do like the sound of the HE-X4's but prefer to be a bit quitter at night. I feel these are catered for a small audience. I will keep them in my collection and maybe use them for a game or 2 of COD, but other than that, they will be sitting pretty on the shelve. Also, they are bigger than they look, but are supper light, so that is a plus. One other knock is that I wish the earpads were replaceable. So far, they appear like they cant be replace, and I haven't seen anything custom. I do not foresee any custom earpads coming out as this is not a popular set. That's unfortunate since perhaps adding some custom leather ones my help with the bass.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
IaninSpain
29
Jul 19, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Sound at a Great Price.
I originally bought these cans because I've become very enamoured of HiFiMan Planar Magnetic headphones. I've two pairs at present, HE-400i, and HE-X4. With my experience of these being absolutely stellar, I was intrigued by a pair of closed dynamics. Back in the old days, my budget would never have allowed me the privilege of more than one pair of headphones, in fact I went about 15 years with just one pair of Koss Porta Pro which I still use today, but with new earpads from Yaxi, (bright yellow ones). Back to the subject at hand, I don't know whether 'burning in' is a real thing or not, or if it's just my old ears (67+ years), but fine, they do sound better after about three weeks of two to three hours a day, normally late evening till maybe 2 or 3 AM. I do have my own playlist of tracks to show off or show up headphones, I inevitably start with AC/DC, 'You Shook Me (All Night Long)', or 'Back in Black'. I listen especially to the big fat kick drum and snare, plus obviously Angus's phenomenal chord work. Next up is Pat Metheny from 'Secret Story', a fantastic 76:26 of pure beauty, the mix of nylon string, gut & metal acoustics plus synth guitars and a symphony orchestra cover all the bases, no particular track, just dip in at random! The Beatles ... 'nough said! Especially Revolver, and then 'Tomorrow Never Knows', the new Giles Martin Mix/Masters have added new depth and colour to these already subconsciously stored songs! We all love 'pop music', I've found some of the best sounding songs have been pure pop, like in no set order, to test the breadth of coverage of new headphones, Paul Simon 'You Can Call Me Al', Kate Bush 'Cloudbusting' & 'Hounds of Love', Abba 'One Of Us' (fabulous song) & 'I Let The Music Speak'. There are literally dozens & dozens to choose from, each one accenting something slightly different on the listening curve. As I said, I love the Planars, but these new dynamics have a very open sound for closed back units, a lot of width, height & depth in the music, all in all well worth $99 (in Euros or Sterling, thanks Drop). Recommended with no caveats, go for them, they're great!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
IaninSpain
29
Jul 20, 2022
Unfortunately my wife didn't realise I'd done this until she looked across the room at my 'music corner' and uttered the Immortal phrase ..."what the **** have you done to my dresser unit?" ... so I've been in the doghouse over this for ages now. Incidentally, don't knock the mystical, healing qualities of ABBA, I'm sure many a storm at sea has been ameliorated by judicious use of 'Fernando' or 'Ring Ring'!
RayF
22449
Jul 20, 2022
I'm with your wife on the dresser--and positively still not sold ABBA!
MrCornfed
3
Jul 16, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Clamping force issue is very real
These had potential. In fact, if you press the cups to your head, you can hear that potential. No amount of Zeos-twisting was enough to get these things to get a decent clamp on me noggin. So despite them being a Prime Days steal at 80 bucks, there's no way I can keep them. And no, they're nothing like Sundara, even when pressed against your head.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
entreprenerd
42
Jul 14, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
All about that bass when you Bend it like Beckham!
I've said everything I wanted to say, in the title. These are awful looking headphones with the now famous (notorious?) consistently cheap feeling HiFiMan build. But you don't buy cheap HiFiMan headphones for their build, cables or box, do you? It's all about the sound. First things first. You will need to bend the metal bit that connects the yoke to the headband for these to go from terrible to great. Most people have complained about fit and they're right. Out of the box, the earcups don't clamp enough, leaving an air gap towards the back of your jaw. This destroys the sound, making it thin and lacking bass. Don't bend the headband, unlike what some reviewers have done. Just the thin metal part that goes through the slider needs to be curved in a little. Be careful while doing it, but that is all that's needed to turn these into beautiful cans with punchy bass and tinkling treble. Enough said, go buy these :-)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Gymyk
0
Aug 1, 2022
Thank you very much!
MastiffMike
76
Aug 10, 2022
OK, questions if I may ask: 1 - Did you use pliers or some sort of tool to bend the metal? If not, where do you suggest I hold when applying force? 2 - Did you remove the earcups before bending? It appears the screw could be removed and that would allow for easy access to the bend area, however the cups articulation is so limited I wonder if I need to remove the cups via their multiple side screws, and then remove the yolk (or at least having the cups off opens up more room to grab). Any advice on the screws? Thanks!
kiongwwkd00
0
Jul 9, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
got these about 5 months ago
they are some of the best close backs I have ever used. they are some comfortable and they can be driven by almost anything highly recommended
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 17 of 172
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
172 OF 172 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order