Drop + HIFIMAN HE-X4 Planar Magnetic Headphones

Drop + HIFIMAN HE-X4 Planar Magnetic Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
997 Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Product Description
We teamed up with HIFIMAN to redefine the entry point for planar magnetic headphones. Taking the best elements from our HE4XX and HE5XX models—and incorporating several all-new components—we created the Drop + HIFIMAN HE-X4 Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
78
check
91%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
ckdt1105
0
Jul 28, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sounds good with EQ applied
1. Quality (3/5) There is a slight crease in the audio wires, but I don't think there's a problem. However, the sad thing is that the feel of the headphone size adjustment slider is not consistent and it feels like it is slipping in certain areas. 2. Driving ability (1/5) The Audient id14 mk2 was able to secure enough volume. However, I think that this product cannot be driven sufficiently in most environments that do not have a headphone amplifier. ex) on board audio / low price DAC + AMP combo 3. Comfort (2/5) It feels like it's pressing on the top of the head and on both sides of the ears, and the 400g weight amplifies it. In conclusion, it feels uncomfortable compared to the 6XX/58X. A more comfortable alternative would be the he400i(2020). 4. Sound quality (4/5) If you don't apply EQ at all, the treble sounds too harsh However, after EQ is applied, the performance is not inferior to that of the HD58X, and the passive soundstage  is wider 5. Conclusion If you want to enjoy planar magnetic headphone at an affordable price, it is recommended. However, you must apply parametric EQ to avoid hurting your ears.
search
search
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Squee
163
Jul 27, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These remind me of the older HE400s (in a good way) but better in most ways
The HE400i is my go-to recommendation if someone is chasing details and hi-fi on a budget. The build quality of Hifiman is known to be a bit spotty, but the sound is addicting to me, and you can pick up so much of what's going on in the recording, it can be eye-opening for the price. The HE400i can be a bit too hot in certain areas of the upper-mid range or treble. The HE400s was the initial answer to this criticism, with a warmer tuning than the HE400i and, if I recall correctly, was even more efficient than the HE400i. However, between the two, I found the added warmth insignificant in comparison to the extra sparkle and detail of the HE400i. To me, the X4 is the spiritual successor of the HE400s. Yes, you lose some of the sparkle and detail of the HE400i, like the HE400s, but you gain more warmth, and it has some of the syrupy sound of the LCD2C without the weird mid dip. The X4's seem harder to drive, but it's a worthwhile trade off for me, as the sound just hits the happy spots of my brain. The treble is tamed down but vocals and mids are still relatively clear and present. The stage is pretty close, perhaps a tad bit wider and deeper, but it's a marginal difference. For a long time, the X4 lived on my listening desk, and it still makes regular appearances as a reference when I get new cans to try. I highly recommend these for anyone looking for a warm-of-neutral experience with planar drivers.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
nextadam13
4
Jul 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
New daily driver paired with Shiit magni 3 plus.
Pros: These are great headphones, the earpads are extremely plush and soft and have a premium feel to them. The metal build is heavy and feels solid. The headphones have punchy bass and an extremely wide soundstage. Cons: The earpads become pretty hot after long periods of time especially during the summer months. Also the headband doesn't have much padding which causes it to get uncomfortable after long periods of use.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
schenkelini
0
Jul 21, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great for Video
I am hearing challenged. I wear hearing aids at times, but not all of the time. I know people complain that there headphones are a little too much in the upper midrange. This is where I suffer the most without help. I find that I can understand everything with these cans. I am using a Garage 1217 Project Ember amp and I could not be happier. For my purposes these a little better than my Sennheiser 6XX headphones. YMMV
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jrunner4
5
Jul 21, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love them!
I’m impressed with the quality in sound and materials for the price! Great!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
As thick and rich in the middle as a Snickers bar!
These beasts really sing!! Lush midranges that put the soundstage right in the middle of your big head. Highs and lows are present but not overbearing; you just hear MUSIC. These do need a headphone amplifier to get the best sound as volume will be limited thru just a phone or tablet alone. Overall a very balanced headphone with a rich midrange and a great value to boot!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
JTiger102
2
Jul 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic sound for an entry level planar headphone set!
I hemmed and hawed over this or the HE-4XX. Most of what I had read/watched seemed to indicate that there wouldn't be a huge difference between them, especially if you don't have golden ears. I went ahead and took the plunge on the HE-4X. I couldn't be happier! They sound amazing! I'm using a Schitt Hel to power them, so they are being fed with plenty of power. The sound stage is pretty good and I didn't find anything offensive with the sound signature. They weren't overly bright. If I had a complaint, it would be that I wish they had slightly more bass. They aren't lacking for bass, I just wish they had a little more. Overall though, I can't recommend these enough! For the money, they are incredible!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
69man69
5
Jul 21, 2021
Aww man, you're gonna hate hearing this, but the he-4xx are known for having a little more bass, but that comes with the caveat of a very recessed vocal range. I'm sure you made the right choice tho, the X4 respond really well to EQ and you can literally make them shake with bass before they distort, so good choice!
Cadoon
1
Jul 18, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Sound!
Sounds even better than I expected, my JDS Atom has no problem powering these at between the 12 to 1 o'clock position at low gain. The only minor issue I noticed is the padding on the headband is not great for long sessions.
(Edited)
Yunjoo
3
Jul 17, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great choice for the price
Very satisfied Great detail for the price
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jpnitrof
0
Jul 16, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good solid sound at a fair price
No big surprise, the He-x4 lives up to the reputation of the brand. A good crisp and quite warm sound needing a lot of power. My 6as7 otl amp is pushed to its limits, but still adequate. My trusty K701 is still my top choice but the newcomer is a very worthy addition.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 11 of 159
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
159 OF 159 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order