shopping_cart
Drop + HIFIMAN HE-X4 Planar Magnetic Headphones
$129

Drop + HIFIMAN HE-X4 Planar Magnetic Headphones

bookmark_border
$129
Complete Setup:
add
Drop + THX AAA™ ONE Linear Amplifier
add
Dekoni Elite Earpads for HIFIMAN HE Series
check_box_outline_blank
Add Drop 3-year Warranty with Accidental Coverage (US Only) +$15
·
1.7k Sold
·
Free Returns in USA
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
142
check
95%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
earold
0
Nov 24, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not good.
Compared to the Monolith 565c or PSB M4U or Sennheiser 5XX its seems like the middle has dropped out. Also requires a lot of power to drive.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
GawainDragon
1
Nov 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Don't expect big bass.
It sounds great and i'm glad i bought it but it lacks the bass for me. Not good for all songs but great for some. It's a good first planar experience and i will probably buy more. Probably a more fun kind. I use it with the Xduoo mt-602 and it can power them from a laptop at 1\3 volume. I will soon be able to try it with the Hiby r3 pro sabre and tell if it's enough power or not. Feel free to ask anything.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
MikeyBikey
44
Nov 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sounding headphone at a great price
I own the HE400i as well as Senn HD6XX and Beyer DT880. My favourites are definitely the Hifiman phones - not as veiled as the Senn and not as overly bright as the Beyer. I picked up the X4 as more of a spare to my 400i (I figured I could use one as parts if all else fails). But now the X4 is probably my favourite of them all - solid but not overly done bass, detailed highs, good separation. I run it off both my THX and Little Dot, and shines with both.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
GingerBeard
10
Nov 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Headphones - Crystal Clear Audio
Pros I use them with My O2 Dac/AMP - they sound absolutely amazing. This is my first pair of planar magnetics and I am absolutely blown away. The soundstage is crazy huge, the instrument separation is like nothing I have heard before. For the price, they are great. Comfortable for me. Bass is responsive but the boost mod I added to my O2 give more bottom end where it is needed. The highs are crystal clear but not shrill or fatiguing. Cons They are a bit heavy and unwieldy. The cable is a bit cheap.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
ivr509
1
Nov 21, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very nice sound
I am not an audiophile and found these headphones accidentally, but they work nice, sound great and quite comfortable, even though a bit heavy.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
KilljoyHaven
3
Nov 20, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Planar magnetic for 99, yes please
If you don't own a planar magnetic headphones you should at least buy one for your collection or just buy it if they are $99. They are the best budget planar you will find and great for gaming if not one of the best.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dass216
2
Nov 25, 2021
Thanks for info 👍🏼 😀
KilljoyHaven
3
Nov 25, 2021
Before any audio purchase I make i watch "Joshua Valour" and "Bad Seed Tech" on YouTube. If you want an in depth of audiophile high low mids and someone who is an actual pro or was watch Z reviews. But for music and gaming just watch first two mention unless you want to go into the rabbit hole watch "Z reviews". Audio youtube reviewers.
lrjshabaz
10
Nov 20, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fairly outrageous for the price
I did not need these, but when they went to $99, I took the plunge - just because. I'm a fan of Hifiman Planar headphones, having had 4xx, currently owning Sundara and 5xx. I enjoy this headband style. It is comfortable to me, comfier than the Sundara-style band, less clamp. And looks better than some of their newer attempts, that Deva style thick headband for instance. It may not inspire surpeme confidence from a build perspective, but I've had zero issues with it or the 5xx. This headphone has a more solid fit than the 5xx, which I like for being so loose and featherweight. The pads here are fatter and the weight is increased — but from memory is more comfy than 4xx. The cable that it comes with is very solid, better than what you get with Sundara — or certainly some of the graver Hifiman cables. It's completely serviceable and does not need upgrading unless you'd like to splurge. And a replacement is incredibly easy because it uses friendly dual 3.5mm wiring. I did a honeycomb grille mod, because - why not? Ebay seller, because I'm lazy - but is an easy DIY. This is a very good all-arounder. I spent some time giving it direct comp with DT880-600, and had a very hard time making a clear-cut vote for my all-arounder preference. The two things have clearly different strengthss. At $99, the instrument separation and quickness of the X4 are very good. I was impressed by the extension and texture, though I'm not a basshead. It trails in stage and imaging, but those traits are solid (and better than 6xx). The accuracy of timbre is not tippy-top-notch, but at $99 it is very solid and probably only gets demerit points here when under scrutiny or comparison. I think that this headphone will more-often make people hear details or present sound in a different and exciting way. If someone is interested enough in headphones to read this, but has not had a planar — this between $99 and $129 is probably a must-buy to easily and affordably inform you. Guitar strings sound great on these, as always. Synergy with hybrid tube amplifiers is generally great. Speaking of amps - it definitely needs some power — do not buy this without amplification. Does it need massive amounts? No. It was satisfying on an xDuoo XD-05 Basic, which is only putting out 500mW at 32 ohm. Please don't mistake the low impedance for ease of driving, they're fairly insensitive. All the same, if you have a desktop that puts out 1w/ch, you're in fine shape. Was very happy from Asgard 3, and sometimes even happier from Loxjie P20 balanced. Sonically, this appears to be near-enough identical to 400SE. They aren't BADLY tuned — but they take to EQ very well, and I'd highly encourage it if you can. Adding a bass shelf and pumping up the 2k region are the key elements that need addressing. Enough words, just go for it!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
DeltronZero
7
Nov 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sounds great but uncomfortable
Bought these at the same time as the Senn HD 58X and though they’re different enough to have a spot in my collection, I can’t listen to them for long periods of time because of the uncomfortable headband. Will try some dekoni nuggets to resolve the issue. The sound is more “spacious” and instruments more separated compared to the HD 58X but some of the mids sound a little grainy. Both sound great for all around use but I can see why some would prefer these for gaming as you can (marginally) hear the important distant sounds clearer with the less pronounced (yet tighter) bass and less of the in-your-head sound, if that makes any sense lol. Finally had a reason to use the high gain setting and crank up the volume knob on my magni heresy for these, but I turn the volume knob back down when going back to my DT-770 80ohm and HD 58X. It’s got me interested in the Sundaras now.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
A44li
6
Nov 17, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sound on point
Nice intro to open back headphone at an excellent price
TheFatterRat
1
Nov 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great build quality
I know that Hifiman doesn't have the best quality control, but the headphones themselves that I got are perfectly fine. The only thing wrong that I got is that the cable had a couple kinks in it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 14 of 246
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
246 OF 246 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order