Drop + HIFIMAN HE5XX Planar Magnetic Headphones

Drop + HIFIMAN HE5XX Planar Magnetic Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.4k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
In our sixth collaboration with famed audio brand HIFIMAN, we’re counting back down to five—5XX, that is. Introducing the Drop + HIFIMAN HE5XX planar magnetic headphones: a high-resolution exclusive with legendary lineage Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
131
check
93%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
megafloras
11
Mar 5, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good Imaging and Great Detail! Comfort though?
Bought these as a replacement planar after my HE-4XXes broke. Great sound quality and imaging is amazing, very strong dynamic range on good amplification. But my problem comes down to the headband choice from hifiman and the pads, which feel less comfortable overall on my face compared to the 4xxes and the HD-6XX. I cannot for the life of me seem to get these to seal well on my face. I suspect it will be easier to get them to seal after pads break in a bit more, but it does cause lower mids to be slightly lost to me. Overall, very good product, especially for its price range, but it's just a bit less comfortable than I'd expect from Hifiman. But definitely get them if you're looking for a good planar in this price range!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mindcontrol1
2
Mar 4, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very loose fitting.
For vocals with an amazing soundstage these would be perfect. They are pretty lacking in bass but most of all the fit was uncomfortable. They were loose at the top of the head and they didn't seem to clamp around the ears properly. I found myself trying to squeeze them closer to my ears for better enjoyment. If you can get over the fit then they sound perfect for certain genres that aren't bass heavy. I'd highly recommend the 400i over these.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
CalvinAichele
1
Mar 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing budget planars
Build: Very lightweight, but doesn't inspire much confidence about the durability of these headphones. The headband height adjustment is made of metal, but it would've been nice if Drop went the extra mile to make the driver housing metal too instead of plastic. I've seen some other reviews complaining about an odd smell on the headphones when unboxed, but I only ever noticed that with the stock cable which I don't use anyways, I run these balanced. One small note, and I'm not sure if it's due to the material the headphone grill is made of, but it suffers from microphonics when my hair brushes up against it. Comfort: I've had the Sennheiser 598s before and I'd argue that the 5XX are more comfortable. Immensely more comfortable than the HE4XX as well. These are light headphones so you barely feel them on your head, and they don't have much clamping force so they don't irritate you during long listening sessions. (I do although wish these had a bit more clamp force though to fit my preference, but I can't find any thick replacement pads for these headphones to modify that.) Sound: Coming from the HE4XX, these have a very different sound signature that I prefer over the HE4XX. Firstly, these are very open. So open that when I put them on, they don't muffle out outside noises at all. The highs are nice and airy and sound a lot more "correct" than the HE4XX. However, I did use the Oratory1990 preset for these headphones to give them a slight bass bump and to even out the treble so it doesn't get too sharp. The HE5XX respond to EQ very well. I'd say they're more detailed too. I listen to a lot of different genres; from EDM to Japanese metalcore to tape disintegration loops, and when listening to these songs, things like distortions, filters, and bad recordings become much more apparent. Getting back to the genre thing, these are some pretty versatile headphones. Especially if you are comfortable playing around with EQ presets, you can easily use these for gaming and listening to plenty of different genres of music. Conclusion: I think for most people, a pair of the HE5XX and the 6XX/58X to compliment them will be end game territory. You'll have the HE5XX for that open, detailed, and analytical sound, while the 6XX/58X will give you that more warm and intimate sound. Pair that with an E1DA DAC (In my case, a 9038S) and you're laughing. For those that are thinking of more expensive pairs like Anandas or Gold Planars, I'd try cheaper planars like these ones first before jumping onto more expensive pairs. Once you get past that 350 USD mark or so, I'd say it's less about headphones being "better" and more about fitting certain preferences.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nayman898
0
Mar 1, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very balanced, very open
I really enjoy these headphones, I have Sennheiser HD6XX headphones, and these are by far the better headphones. The one thing I noticed is that the Sennheisers, being a diaphragm, don't let as much outside audio in, so I have been noticing a lot more of what's going on around me. The fans, and cooling system in the computer are much more noticeable.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Suganami
15
Feb 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely love
As an owner and a fan of the HE-4XX, I can say this has found a place in my collection. I am impressed with the ability of these things to produce the low end with an expanded sound stage compared to its 4XX sibling. The lows don't punch quite as hard as the 4XX, but I wouldn't make any claims as insufficient low end. The balance is excellent with plenty of bass when and where it needs to be, the highs are crisp with excellent soundstage. The mids while not necessarily lacking, isn't quite as pronounced as the rest of the range. For heavy vocals and generally dialogue heavy audio tracks, I'll be sticking with my Sennheisers, but I absolutely love these for electronic, rock and metal music listening. It is lighter and more comfortable than my HE-4XX. The cups are larger and oval instead of circular like the HE-4XX so they fit my large ears more comfortably. Overall I do prefer these over my HE-4XX so for me these have definitely been an upgrade.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
freedom_il
0
Feb 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Listening to Rock and Metal again
I am really pleased with these. Had a few headphones including the HD 6XX and these are my favorites. Very good separation of detail making it good for all types of music especially complicated stuff that had I some issues in the past, like metal and classical music. HE5XX is balanced so highs are not sparkly if you are into it and lows are not blown but this is what makes these good for longer listening. Soundstage is surprisingly good for planer magnetic. Highly recommended.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
sbrice715
11
Feb 24, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great
These are my first pair of over-the-ear cans purported to be audiophile grade. They didn't want to make a sound when plugged into my work computer. But they worked right away on my home computer and phone. They sound amazing. Very light and comfortable, even given my huge head. I'm burning them in now, so we'll see how they sound in a few days. But right now, it's brilliant.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
maxim-msc
0
Feb 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great headphones
Liked this headphones more then my LCD-2 Classic. LCDs have more refined and technically better sound, but they are just dull and boring. HE5XX sounds fuller and more enjoyable, with bigger soundstage. However there is a 8khz peak that hurts in some songs.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
SoCalBlue
0
Feb 21, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
All day listening comfort.
Comfort is critically important for me. A great sounding cans are worthless if I can’t keep them on my head for longer than an hour. I’m running HE5xx of ifi hip Dac. Drives them with zero problems and I can’t say enough good things about this combo. Was hesitant to pull the trigger based on some reviews I read/watched, but glad I made this purchase. Very little clamp force, no hotspots for me - just really comfortable. I own Fiio FH5, drop 58x and assortment of Bluetooth - Apple AirPods Pro and Sony xm3s. These are by far my favorite and recommend for anybody sensitive with clamping force (large head)..
check
Would recommend to a friend.
SonnieDelight
0
Feb 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Too airy, okay
Trouble with left & right Cable indicator on headphones, couldn’t see right from left, they should engraved L/R so it could be visible, other than that they are built nicely. Had to modify with a thin layer of foam in each ear cup to give them some life with bass.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 10 of 262
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
262 OF 262 POSTS
Mar 7, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest