Drop + Matt3o MT3 Susuwatari Custom Keycap Set
Drop + Matt3o MT3 Susuwatari Custom Keycap Set
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
8.2k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Sculpted in Hi-Profile, Matt3o’s groundbreaking MT3 /dev/tty custom keycap set changed the way we type. From its heavily slanted design to the scooped, contoured tops of each cap, the set recreates the feel of vintage keyboards Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
201
check
94%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
StreakInTheSky
180
Jul 11, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I wish it was smoother, maybe not quite like SA, but just a tad smoother. But it’s still one of the nicest feeling surfaces out there, smoother than GMK, MT3 PBT, or ePBT. I wish it were a bit thicker for more THOCK, but it’s the thockiest caps made today(Haven’t tried KAT, but those are PBT, so likely not thockier). Sculpt and cup shape is miles ahead of SA in terms of feel on boards with standard to higher angles, which is where SA doesn’t work as well. The colors don’t quite match the renders, but the overall aesthetic is there and is so damn close. Colors don’t look quite as rich, but that’s the deception of renders and anybody who’s been in this hobby for a while knows colors rarely completely match the renders. I put one next to SA Jukebox which is an obvious cream color, and from the top the legends look identical to the cream Jukebox. From the bottom, Susuwatari is A LOT warmer. I have a suspicion having a smoother surface and more shine would make colors pop more, though doubtful it would help them look creamier. If you look at the legend of the special novelty we all got, it looks very creamy. Colors and legends are more uniform than I’ve seen from other companies. Legends are nice and sharp all around, sharper than anything else out there. The only thing that feels nicer are the super thick old school caps, but these are brand new and are MX compatible. They make any mx keyboard a little more like the boards of the early generations. I actually think these caps might get better with age as they develop a shine/patina. The colors will get warmer and the texture will smoothen out. Though I tend to not hate shine and yellowing as much as others and sometimes even like it, especially on darker colors. I wouldn’t say these are perfect, but any nit picky negatives aren’t enough to drop stars. These are the best caps made today, period.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
WGkeon
20
Jul 14, 2020
So if i am following correctly, Mods are dark almost black grey while alphas are basically just grey unlike in the renders which is charcoal grey?
StreakInTheSky
180
Jul 14, 2020
Definitely darker than “just grey”, but lighter (edit: put cooler, but looking at it again, not really) than the renders. You can refer to my photo, tried to get the colors as close as I could to how I see them in person. Have a matte black anodized aluminum case for comparison.
(Edited)
jcabmora
12
Jul 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing caps!
Took a long time, but totally worth the wait! These keycaps feel great, and I love the color. Although, there is a slight difference between the original renderings, I prefer the color of the actual product. The base set is a gray that is slightly warmer, and I am happy that is the case. It is reminiscent of some old electric IBM typewriters I played with when I was a kid. I love the colors. The double shot letters are amazingly crisp:
search
There is only one imperfection that I noticed, which actually does not bother me at all, but letting Drop know since I am sure there are other customers that will be bothered by this detail, so they can address this in future runs. The legend on the Command key is a little thicker than other keys, as you can see in the following pics:
search
search
As I said, it is not super noticeable, but some might not like that. That does not take away the great look and feeling of the caps overall. Thanks Drop and Matt3o for this amazing set. Can't wait for another collaboration between you! P.S. I love the Special edition keycap!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jasburbak
10
Sep 3, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Like many before mentioned, the coloring is not what was shown in the rendering, but it's still quite nice. This profile is now my favorite by far, and the F-J deep dishing is wonderful. Just that alone, gets a big kudos. Absolutely a joy to type on. However- I received two identical Right Shift keycaps, and therefore am missing my Left Shift keycap. (2.25unit Shift Key). Massdrop's customer service regarding this is absolutely ABYSMAL. After notifying them that I was sent the wrong keycap, and was missing one of my main base keys; they replied with:
  1. I could return the set and be issued a full refund.
  2. I could return the set and be sent a replacement set.
  3. I can be issued a $15 partial refund.
I waited 2 years for this set. Which in itself is a ridiculous time- only to recieve a missing keycap. Which is frustrating, but hey, human error, happens. Ok. I try to be understanding. After notifying Massdrop- and sending them a photo of the two identical shift keys I received, the least I could expect was for them to ship out the single missing key so I could complete my board. Right? Common sense. $15 refund is not going to complete my board, and I would have gotten a full refund plenty of times over while waiting for this set to finally ship. I was told that they do not source individual keys and that I would have to ship out my entire set back (I live in Europe, and most people who live outside of the US knows what an issue this is)- I would have to wait a month or more for the set to ship back and arrive at Massdrop, wait who knows how long for them to process this, have them ship it out again which would take another month or more- then pay customs tax on the new set -again (I already paid $35 customs tax) just to receive a single key! which is completely the responsibility of the vendor and a vendor error. Ship back the entire set, to receive a single missing key? I mean if this was a extra key, or similiar I wouldn't even bother, but I literally have a missing spot on my board because this is a main key. Keys are overproduced for just this reason- to account for keys with manufacturing errors, shipping errors, etc.. To wait two years, receive a set with a missing key, and then instead of providing the most simplest of resolutions, make your customer jump through these hoops, additional waiting time, and additional cost- I'm speechless. Just know, this could easily happen to you. I've bought a couple keycap sets over the years from Massdrop, and guess was lucky to not have this happen before, but I'll be wary of ordering from now on.
etatauri
319
Jul 9, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great looking caps on awesome MT3 profile.
search
Slapped it on my Canvas Ctrl keyboard with Input Club's Navy Blue (yes, I will be an attention whore for the next few months in the office). I think the legends actually match pretty well with the off-white baigey background. Depending on the light, the legends sometimes look whiter, sometimes more cream, but overall I can tell they are warmer than the legends on other keycaps. While not matching the renders perfectly, I think it is overall very nice. Both the light gray and dark gray are darker than how it appears in pictures. I do wish the blue and green pops more though.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
bobeirasa
41
Aug 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing keycap set, prime product
This is my first prime keycaps. The build quality on those little things is simply amazing. The look and feel and the comfort is absolutely fantastic and the only complain I have is that the Del key doesn't align properly with my Drop ALT, but I believe this is more Drop's fault since the PCB layout is a bit different with an extra column of keys on the extreme right side. At the beginning I kinda didn't like this Esc thing and I was considering putting an artisan keycap in there, but now I am actually enjoying.
search
The caps are nice and I would definitely buy it again for another keyboard. The F and J keys have an additional curvature that simply hugs your index fingers and orientate them to the be in right spot while in rest position. It's elegant. The MT3 sculpted profile also makes typing an extra pleasure, makes it look like you are driving a smooth luxury Lincoln, or Bentley.
search
The overall look is superb. There are simply no complains about this keycap set, they pair well with the Drop ALT hi-profile. Needless to say, they are opaque, not letting LED lights pass through them.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dwkal
2
Sep 14, 2020
really like it! I feel I am similar to you in many respects (although I've probably bought a few too many cheaper keyboards/switches/parts along the way, and sold them at a massive loss :( ). Hopefully this'll be my endgame! Also, when you band-aid modded did you take the board apart?
bobeirasa
41
Sep 14, 2020
No, I did not need to take the board apart to apply the band-aids. I cut the pieces and put it on just by removing the key switch. It's better because it already indicates the right position. I saw a guy on YouTube showing how, can't find the video now. You can easily achieve with tweezers or toothpicks to help routing the tiny band-aid piece. In my case I just glued the tip of the band-aid on the tip of my finger, routed it underneath the aluminum case and used a toothpick slightly apply pressure and glue it on the PCB.
(Edited)
LatrFlex
34
Jul 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing keycap set
Absolute confort on my small board. MT3 profile reallyhugs the tip of your fingers. Colors are perfect. Well worth the wait.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
DrakeNS
7
Jul 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
If you want to go for a vintage look, you couldn't do much better
First off, please be aware that this is a pretty niche product. I wanted something old-school for my WASD Code keyboard (poorly-lit image below). For that, these caps truly provide in spades. They remind me of an IBM Selectric in general shape, although the Matt3o is more satin in texture and has sharper edges to the keys. I should note that each row above and below the home row are incrementally taller and angled inwards, so be aware to pick the proper layout for your needs, as you won't be able to swap keys between rows. The unexpected change in height between rows felt a little off at first, but I stopped noticing the difference after a day or so of use. I will also point out that while they aren't obviously indexed, the 'F', 'J', and numpad '5' are more concave, making them easily distinguishable by touch. Long story short, I am no keyboard/keycap aficionado by any stretch of the imagination, but for what I wanted (a retro-style look), I am more than satisfied. One final note - the Drop for this order was substantially delayed by just over a year from the original estimated delivery date. I am not changing my final score for the product, but I believe that it is worth noting for any prospective buyers. I would hope that issues due to setup, tooling, etc., have now been worked out and should no longer be a problem, but I also believe in making sure that any potential buyer is fully informed of the whole process.
search

search

dhoffnun
59
Jul 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Impressive Quality
TL;DR: For me, the truly excellent quality of these caps overcomes development delays and colors that don't exactly match the renders. It seems like a lot of commenters here may have been experiencing their first group-buy; welcome to the format, guys. Lots of waiting and delays are just part of it - even if this particular one might be breaking some records. For my review, the delay of this first production run does not factor into the score whatsoever; this is an entirely new double-shot ABS profile, with all the tooling having been developed from scratch - that's not a fast process and it was stated up-front there might be unpredictable delays, and refunds were offered every step of the way. Moving on. I really debated between 4 and 5 stars here, because it's true that the colors don't match the renders, with the alphas being a bit lighter and less warm of a gray, and the cream legends being lighter as well. I rated this set 5 stars because the quality is fantastic; this new profile (in ABS) blows Signature Plastics' SA right out of the water - *and* it's better for typing (in my opinion). It's also true that the only time I've seen a set match their renders really well was GMK Nines. I'm sure there are others, but they're exceptions rather than the rule - and of course this set looks very different depending on the lighting. (My set looks so much better in-person than I expected after seeing Matt3o's initial production photos!) I've seen a few people say the legends are white rather than cream - flip your caps over, guys - that's cream colored plastic. The legends just looks white in comparison to the dark gray; it's an optical illusion like that stupid dress everyone was arguing about in 2016. At the end of the day, these are some of the best keycaps I have ever seen - and I've tried just about every profile and material out there. If you like the way this set looks in photos, I can't recommend it enough. If the colors aren't your thing, check back in a month or two, as Drop is planning a few more colors for ABS MT3 this year.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
dirtywibs
17
Jul 3, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great product despite the delays
Despite the delays in manufacturing, this product is very high quality. The texture of the keycaps is very nice, and the MT3 profile feels excellent to type on. The colors are very close to the original renders, although the grey of the alpha keys is slightly lighter. Overall, if I could order this now and receive it with a normal shipping time, I would highly recommend it. Worth the wait.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Zigzell
20
Aug 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice Keycaps/QC issue /Support “Drop”ed the ball
Keyscaps look great, however my shift key arrived damaged. For $120 for the set, this is bullshit! Update: Support offered 20% back in drop credit of $20.... that’s 16.7% of $120! They can’t even get that right... fucking disappointing experience all around!!! Update 2: Drop seems to be a mess, somehow a random PCB got involved. They did address the issue of 20%... This is the last product I will buy using Drop! Support the creators directly whenever possible and cut out the greedy middleman!
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
They should offer you a complete replacement set OR the $20 credit... if not, I'll flag it to a CS Manager to look at for you. If you opt for a replacement, you will need to send the set with the defective cap back, and we'll send you a whole new set.
Zigzell
20
Sep 1, 2020
My city is a COVID-19 hotspots, not interested in going out in my town to ship the whole set back. Would you even ship a replacement it in a reasonable timeframe anyways lmao? my problem IS Y’ALL : (choose one) a. Can’t do math and are completely incompetent b. Choosing to ignore that 20% isn’t $20 c. Lying that you offer a credit of 20% and in reality are giving people less
(Edited)
Showing 21 of 244