Drop + MiTo GMK Laser Custom Keycap Set

Drop + MiTo GMK Laser Custom Keycap Set

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
26.4k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Product Description
GMK Laser is hurtling through the atmosphere once again. This time, MiTo’s cyberpunk-themed set features expanded support for more layouts, and fresh new kits to supercharge the Laser look.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
359
check
99%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Iris3
84
Sep 7, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
BLACKOUT!
search
Info: Keyboard: Massdrop K-type Keycaps: GMK Blocket and Mitowaves + Original TaiHao K Type Alpha Keycaps Deskmat: Massdrop Laser Mat
Imgur Album: https://imgur.com/a/8WNF2dm
Lecrow
43
Jul 19, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
c_r_z
808
Jul 24, 2018
I see you also replaced the stabilizers on the K-Type. :D
Lecrow
43
Jul 24, 2018
Yeah, the stock ones were terrible hah
bODO
114
Nov 11, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
great caps, only minor drawbacks imo
leta start with the pros: 1-mito put a lot of effort into getting the colors just right. he went all the way to gmk in germany to help get things perfect, and the colors came out great imo 2-mito also works with the comm extensively to get ppl the kits they want 3-the creativity of these caps was very on point, particularly the novelties. now the cons(which really have nothing to do with mito, BUT just my personal take on this set): 1-IN MY OPINION, this set only looks good on a black case. i’ve seen all the pics and really nothing works with this set BUT the black case. totally my own opinion, BUT thats how i feel 2-im a big fan of making keebs that are completely alien. what i mean is that bc im a touch typist i prefer the legends to be decorative only, and thats why i always get mitos alternate kits like with canvas i got rams and with laser i got kobe, and although mito offers mitocon mods there is really no alt kits for the number row, which really looks strange when everything but the num row is unintelligible. now, with laser i did fill the num row with novelties, BUT i still think if your gonna make alt legends then make an alt num row two. again this is totally my opinion 3-finally, i also wish there were more alt legend kits with more of the neon alt colors like the yellow and orange. the 80s were loud and had crazy colors like this and i would have preferred more color choices tbh EDIT: i do really like what mito did with this second run of gmk laser. in this run he offers the same color mods. i think thats gonna look sick with teal boards, silver boards and possibly navy boards. great work!!!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Its the TKC1800 keyboard from The Key Company.
bRockStar.916
13
Jul 1, 2020
Thanks man, appreciate the quick reply. Looks like these are referred to as 1800 layout.
mcvittal
105
Aug 20, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Perfect set, 10/10. Matches renders identically, the caps almost look like they are glowing, especially the hot pink. Only complaint is that I should have bought more than one set.
banana_bread
153
Aug 20, 2018
Agree completely.
I wish I bought more if the options kits. The colors really pop.
Raidenak
23
May 17, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
$140 for a GMK keycap set bought in-stock is a good deal by market standards. You can pay easily that much and need to wait a full year for a GMK group-buy. These live up to the hype, for the most part. GMK keycaps are Cherry profile, ABS plastic, with double-shot legends. The legends are sharp and consistent, even on the weirdest of novelty keys, colors are vivid, and the sound-profile is as good as you can get on Cherry profile. I bought the Gaijin, Novelties, and Micons kits and I think these only serve to further impress me on the quality of the product. MiTo seems to have done a fantastic job with the design of this set. The colors evoke exactly what they're supposed to - 80's neon/vaporwave aesthetic. Kinda like a keyboard you could find inside the original Tron. The Micons are cute but also weirdly functional. The novelties kit, while a bit chaotic and maybe not as coherent as it could be, still has quite a bit in it and is pretty reasonably priced for the sheer number of keys you get. I have two gripes. And I think they mostly lie at the feet of GMK:
  1. The packaging leaves something to be desired. The sets I got came in these crumbly recycled cardboard trays, sealed in thin plastic wrap. When I took a key out of the packaging, I had to brush off white bits and stuff. For transportation purposes, this is probably fine. Nothing moves around so is no real opportunity for scratching. But if you compare it to literally every other kit I've bought, including a $60 knock-off of this very set I got off Amazon, it looks pretty amateurish. Even plastic trays that don't fall apart like DROP's stuff comes in would be better. Normally I wouldn't even bring this up, but like, you can't even store these in a closet or something in their original packaging. At the end of the day it's packaging, and its job is simply to transport the product, and it does that acceptably, but it's still a mild annoyance in the experience.
  2. Literally every key has a visible bump on the back (the side that faces opposite the user) from where it was broken off of the molds, I assume. This would be particularly noticeable on a low-profile keyboard. It's barely visible at a distance, and really doesn't affect me personally as it's on a side of the keycap I basically never look at, but I think some would be bothered by this. And maybe they'd be right to do so if they had also spent $80 on 50-someodd keycaps like I did.
Overall I think these are a good purchase, at least for as long as GMK keycaps remain as expensive and unavailable as they are. My gripes are extremely minor and really, in the long run, they do not matter. It's a GMK kit, you more or less know what you can expect, and I think these deliver on that Update 6/12/2021: I went and purchased the Synthwave M170 set and it is also quite nice. Actually, had it not been sold out when I bought my first 2 kits, I probably would have bought it first because it's the more "conservative" option. There's not much to say about it that isn't true of the other sets, other than that the lack of a numpad (and a price that reflects that absence) is a pretty big plus when you compare it to Cyberdeck. $15 when you're paying $140 isn't a lot, but like, if you think about it as $15 for literally nothing, as its something I will probably never use and probably won't be able to resell, it seems like a reasonable complaint.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
GnarlsBailey
37
Apr 21, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Everything I thought it would be ... AND MORE
Such an iconic set that I'm thrilled to finally add to my collection. I'm currently rocking the Synthwave set with Turbo add ons. This is the most I've ever spent on a set of caps and probably will ever spend ... but man was it worth it. Bravo MiTo.
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Havattack
3
Apr 22, 2021
Awesome set, too bad there's a lot a rumors of Mito trying to block other sets that use the "sunset" novelty, that he stole from the retro-wave community in the 1st place. If that rumor is true, one he has refused to deny, he is a piece of garbage.
Shalakazaam
525
Apr 22, 2021
how much was it? xD
c_r_z
808
Nov 23, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Yeah, it is nice, one of the best looking GMK sets out there.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Binson
48
Jul 8, 2020
Space 65
c_r_z
808
Jul 8, 2020
Yes, like Binson mentioned, it's a Round 1 Space65. Round 2 "CyberVoyager" ended a few months ago and is making good progress. Maybe you can grab an extra after the boards are shipped.
driesderoeck
36
Jul 11, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
High quality, high happiness.
I've had the caps in a box for a while, finally got round to putting them on the board I had in mind when I bought them. Also designed and made a custom case, combination of milled HiMacs material and PLA 3d printing. Using the caps on Zealio 67g switches. Using this board as my daily driver now, and super happy with how it eventually all came out.
search
search
The only downside of this whole process remained the way drop handles international shipping for an EU produced item. Then again, I do understand it happens this way ... just still hoping for better international distribution in the years to come.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
milojjdd
22
May 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
here is the color difference between the cyberdeck and the synthwave
search

JustCallMeCrash
135
Jul 16, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
As the other reviewer said, everything is as you have come to expect from GMK. If a better cap can be produced, I haven't found it yet. I got the Kobe and ErgoDox kit (because Dvorak) and wish I'd gone ahead and picked up enough to fill out my XD75, too. Colors are excellent, but hard to photograph (I keep getting blues instead of purples) - you've already seen the renders - they are spot on. One thing I REALLY like about these is the cylindrical deepdish homing caps - I've never run across any quite like them.
BlueCrowned
5305
Aug 9, 2018
That kind of sounds like a personal opinion. I mean just look at all the photos. It pops in all of them regardless of the lighting. Sorry you're not happy.
Overall, I'm still happy with the set. There's really nothing like it out there. I just wish it had a bit more neon to it so it wasn't something that looks good here and there but lower light it's got a duller pink. Just Call was even saying it's hard to photograph them. But, I still wouldn't say it's matching the renders to the extent the alphas look too dark to me.
But I wouldn't say the varying "pop" is an opinion. It's all varying on the lighting that it's in, camera taking the photos and exposure of it. If it's being window lit vs incandescent vs flourescent. Then when you try to photograph it, that's a whole different story. The first Laser shot on /r/mk the pinks were very dull looking. So, I wouldn't say "it pops in all of them". This is a gallery of varying "pop" https://imgur.com/a/cMUJx92 from what I've seen. In some of those the pink looks orange, it's a matter of photography. Even Mito's picture (the last one) doesn't have as much of a pop that I see in person.
It's like the "Molten Orange" Fiesta ST I was looking at buying... some days it can look orange but others it looks more red and duller. Same thing with the Tai Hao Miami keycaps, Those are nice and sharp but when you look at photos the pink and teal are pretty washed out and they're a touch better looking in person. They're not GMK Miami vibrant by any means, but it's still difficult to even photograph the legends because the compression blurs them together.
I'd say it's like 95% close, but it was probably the best that could be done and it's more than acceptable. I'm sure someone's going to be upset I'm not going to name my first born "GMK Laser".
Showing 28 of 418
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order