Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
Drop MT3 Black-on-White Keycap Set
$99
$120

Drop MT3 Black-on-White Keycap Set

bookmark_border
$99
$120
Keycap Kit:
6k Sold
·
Ready to Ship
·
Free Returns in USA
Members who purchase earn
297
Drop Rewards
Product Highlights:
Frequently bought together:
add
Mechcables White on Black Custom Coiled Aviator USB Cable
add
Artifact Shield White-on-Black Keycap Set
add
Mechcables Black-on-White Custom Coiled Aviator Cable
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
462
check
95%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Jamjo
10
Nov 6, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wow.
I've only had experience with OEM keycaps, so this is a huge step up for me. Currently using this set and typing this review on an NK65 Blumen with lubed NK Creams, and my goodness these feel so nice. Taking into consideration from the many typing tests with various keycap profiles I've watched on YouTube, I think I can say that MT3 is a solid middle ground between Cherry profile and SA profile. It's not as clacky as the Cherry profile, but it's also not as hollow sounding as the SA profile and it just sounds like a solid thock. These keycaps are a little tall, so it may not be your thing, and will take some time to get used to. As TaehaTypes mentions on his streams, he says he likes the MT3 profile the most due to the way these keycaps hug your fingers as each keycap is concave, allowing for your fingers not to slip and prevents accidentally pressing another key. Because this MT3 set is made of ABS and not PBT, I am a bit worried about shining these keycaps as I have seen first-hand what heavy usage does to a spacebar over the course of 2+ years, so I'd recommend to try and take good care of these keycaps. I do have one gripe about the legends, however. It could just be me, but some of the keys' print looks thinner than the rest of them, like 'A' 'S' 'Z' 'X' and 'C.' However, you most likely won't notice these as it doesn't really make a difference with the typing experience. Oh yeah, one last thing. I noticed after installing the keycaps that not all of the caps sat flush with their respective rows, so you may have to push them down a bit more. TL;DR, Very good sound profile: deeper sounding than Cherry profile, less hollow sounding than SA profile. Concave curves of the keycaps hug your fingers nicely and allows for a soft but thocky typing experience. Sound Test with Keycaps: https://youtu.be/HrxVN8-Y7yc
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Rubbertoe
5
Apr 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic Keycaps!
I've only ever tried Cherry, DSA and SA but these have to be one of my favorite profiles out of those. Unlike SA keycaps, these have like a deep dish to the top of the key instead of being flat top like the SA keycaps feel. Overall fantastic for typing and gaming (imo) and it is exactly the look I was going for!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Rubbertoe
5
Apr 8, 2021
Tofu60 Acrylic
Shalakazaam
596
Apr 9, 2021
Rubbertoetry MDA and XDA. you wont regret it. then let us know how MT3 stacks up against MDA and XDA :)
Olaipai
39
Nov 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Looks and feels great!
Keyboard: Tofu V2, w/ brass plate, case foam and plate foam. Switch: C3 Kiwi 67g. Stabs: Zeal (spacebar with jank chinese wire). I have used a little bit of everything in terms of keycap profiles. And MT3 has quickly become one of my favourite profiles. The alphas has a nice "thoccy" sound thanks to the thick ABS plastic which I believe is 1.8mm thick. The spacebar sounds a little hollow, I believe this to be mostly the poor quality wire I am using, but there is some hollowness to it. There is a nice texture to it similar to a PBT switch. The keycaps feels cozy in the way that your fingers slips into a small pocket on the keycaps especially J & F-keys. And has a pleasant sound to them. It is somewhat similar to SA caps without the height. (I'm not a big fan of SA as I think they're too tall). I have used them now for 2 weeks and I also see no signs of wear (yet). I would recommend them to someone who wants something new or looking for something similar to SA without the tallness to them. I deduct 1 star due to the hollow sound of the spacebar and some height inconsistencies which you can see from the picture if you look at the numerals, this is not something I notice from day to day use at all. These small things does not detract from the fact that these are great keycaps! 4/5
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Olaipai
39
Nov 18, 2020
Thank you for your tips. I have already done this. But as I told Winged I don't dare push any harder in fear of popping out the Kailh hotswap socket. I cannot be bothered taking apart my keyboard to solder it back on. Most of the keys are on very very firmly, so firm in fact that the board lifted multiple times taking of some of the keycaps and had a couple switches pop out along with the keycap. And this board is quite hefty! There is still some variable height when glancing down at the keyboard from an angle, but not noticeable while typing. I'll leave it be as the only solution for me would be to push down even harder, which I don't want to do as said. I know there is something going on with the stem of my keycaps, might not be applicable to every keyset but it is on mine. None of my other keyset have this issue. But thank you for taking your time giving some tips! Might help other people out there :)
viet456
23
Dec 1, 2020
OlaipaiHow about you take out the switches of the effected keycaps, and put those keycaps onto those switches outside of the board? You can then put the switch/cap back in without putting too much pressure on the pcb
Razuall
5
Dec 11, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Classic BoW look while the sound and texture feel is incredible
First time trying MT3 profile keycaps and it did not disappoint. Coming from SA profile keysets, my fingers feels "focused" to stay in the center of the keycaps because of the scooped design that is much more pronounced in MT3. Wish there were other color accents offered to mix it up a bit.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
yourfriendbug
5
Aug 1, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
gorgeous keycap set but stems are fragile (RIP W key)
search
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
eosmann
6
Jan 18, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love this set.. i really want to but..
search
My first purchase ever from Drop. $110 for a keyset is expensive for me. That, plus the custom duty and the high administration fee from fedex make this purchase close to $170. But hey, it looks nice so why not? I love the set, the color, how it can fit 65% keyboard perfectly. I love how it sound. I love typing on it. One thing that i really hate is that i cant find a way to make the spacebar to work. I asked around and some say that its warped spacebar, some would say that its not warped much and maybe there are problem with the stem. Either way, its just... bad. My first try is using my everglide stab lubed with 205g0. The left side and right side of the spacebar just sounds different (somehow rattly one the left side), and if u press the spacebar just right above the left stab, it will get stuck and the right part lifted up detached from the stab. My second try i change the stab to c3 stabilizer Its just.. soo mushy, it will get stuck halfway after pressing down the spacebar. I honestly i dont know anymore if its really how the spacebar is or there is anything wrong with it. Im currently using it with c3 stab lubed, still waiting for a respond from DROP https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXsRTRxKe9E --> this is how it looks like. EDIT: so Im in contact with DROP and sadly they cant send out individual unit for replacement. They could give full refund, or replace the full set. With no guarantee that the fullset will actually come with better spacebar (or without any broken keycaps on the new set, I go with the option to keep the set and get a small refund.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
eosmann
6
Jan 27, 2021
Doesnt work on Abs
Mojo3354
111
Jan 27, 2021
eosmannOOF. I missed that this was ABS. Sorry mate :(
bit0perator
5
Dec 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Keycaps starting breaking within a week of use
I love they keycaps, but for the price I was disappointed with the quality of the keycaps. Within a week all the keys started becoming loose and then eventually the stem connector on the keycap would break in half. I'm using Kailh Box Red switches and I have never had keycaps break on them, so it's not the stem of the switches that's the problem. Very disappointed in the durability of a keycap set that costs $110. Returned the set within the week.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Box switches had an issue of having stems that were too large. Then their mold issue was addressed later. How old are you box switches?
KnuteDeunan
7
Dec 24, 2020
erickongI never mentioned I had box switches; bit0perator did. I'm using standard Gateron blue and clear switches. My switches are new, they were purchased specifically for the Drop Carina which I received on Nov 29, 2020 to go with this specific MT3 keycap set. In short: everything is new; no box switches.
KnuteDeunan
7
Dec 25, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Keycaps starting breaking within two weeks of use
I don't know if this is specific to MT3 keys; or if this is a bad batch but after 2 ~ 3 weeks of usage the stems of some of my keys started to break. I'm not even a heavy typist and the keys were being used with Gateron blue and clear switches. Broken stems:
  • 1 key
  • 2 key
  • I key
  • X key
While MT3 keys feel super comfortable and sound amazing for the price I paid I would have expected something that lasted more than 2 weeks.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Wh1teN0ise
3
May 18, 2021
KnuteDeunanThis has happened/is currently happening to me. I haven't even taken these off of the board for cleaning. Did DROP do anything to remedy the problem?
KnuteDeunan
7
May 19, 2021
Wh1teN0iseThey did! They issued an RMA for me; I got a new keycap set though I haven't used it extensively since I switched keyboards so I'm unsure if the issue still persists or if it was just a bad batch
HastenedSloth
3
Jun 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love the keycaps a bit worried about their longevity though.
The keycaps feel and look great, the nice thock they give a board is just the cherry on top. The sculpt on the caps is really comfortable though personally I think they might be just a little too tall for my liking. That being said, after less than a year of usage on my Carina, two of the caps just broke for seemingly no reason. While I was typing two keys just started wiggling around and popped off of the switches. When I went to put them back on they refused to stay on and after checking them, the keycaps were broken. Gotta say that I'm a little disappointed. Still loving the keycaps but I can't help but worry about the durability of these caps which shouldn't be an issue for a keycap set that costs over $100.
search
search
search
search

Wh1teN0ise
3
May 18, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A solid upgrade from even SA profile keycaps -- IF THEY LAST.
After experimenting with both OEM and SA profile keycaps, I fell in love with the contour and sound of these keycaps. The legends are consistent and crisp. The keycaps fit the shape of my fingers perfectly, and I couldn't be happier with the way my fingers find the "F" and "J" keys so easily. Even the corners and edges of the caps are almost dangerously sharp. If you've tried SA keycaps and are looking for a little more -- give these a shot. HOWEVER. I've had them for probably a month or two, having bought them to put on my new build of a DROP ALT low-profile, NK Creams, and these keycaps. I have had several keycaps get progressively looser on the stems. Upon further inspection, the stem on the keycap where it actually slides onto the switch has completely split in half all the way up to where the reinforced sections are. I'm extremely light-handed and make it a point to type as quietly and lightly as possible. I haven't removed the keycaps at all since installing them, as I use a handheld blower/vacuum for cleaning; and if I do, I use the DROP supplied keycap remover that came with the ALT. Overall, for $110 dollars, I couldn't be less impressed with the quality control. Too many reviews point to this exact problem and while I'm no chemist myself, these pieces of plastic have basically one job -- don't break in daily use. I'm not expecting DROP to reach out to me to remedy the problem, as it seems that isn't something they actively look to do, but I can say that when it comes time to replace these (which will be soon) I won't be looking to any of them from DROP directly. This is sad, as up until today I was looking to buy the oppositely colored white-on-black MT3 caps to do a split color design. Not looking to invest another $110 on a keycap set that so many have had break on them. Two stars for how the keycaps that have "survived" feel, but I'm anticipating having to get rid of these caps completely. Disappointed.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Wh1teN0ise
3
Jun 7, 2021
Forgive me for the delay, you'll see in background that I'm currently in the middle of a move.
search

Wh1teN0iseHey man, no worries and thanks for getting that photo. That doesn't look great, please open a ticket with our support team and I will work with them to get this taken care of for you!
Showing 30 of 515
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order