Drop MT3 Dasher Keycap Set

Drop MT3 Dasher Keycap Set

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.2k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
In its heyday in the late ‘70s and early ‘80s, Data General’s “Dasher” terminal was part of a computing powerhouse. As the mech keys community has been known to do with historic typing machines, the terminal has been resurrected in the form of the Dasher keycap set—a striking, two-toned blue colorway reminiscent of the Dasher’s iconic keyboard Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
69
check
96%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Runninghack
23
Mar 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Looking great on my Dasher D60
This is my first double-shot MT3 keyset. The build quality is very good. I like the Dasher colorway as well.
search



check
Would recommend to a friend.
jollyioop
13
Feb 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
ridiculously happy with colors, feel, the whole shebang!
search
search
search
search
wow, am I impressed from top to bottom with drop and this keyset. a review (with pics added): this keyset making my poor corsair k63 look like a piece of crap. let's pretend I didn’t put the H key on upside down or that either the 6.25 or 7u spacebar included in this set fits my gosh darn non-standard 6.5u spacebar. but just look at this delicious sleek MT3 profile... profile-wise I surely thought my one love was SA, but these MT3s are so fine, I'm considering polygamy. the height! the shape! the feel! the coarse but pleasurable finish of the keycaps--no shiny slickness--is really unique and satisfying, despite their being ABS over PBT. An apparent uniquely MT3 feature, I love it. from the drop end to shipping time, I got this set in 5 days, with email notification beforehand. packed in 3 slightly flimsy plastic cases inside a brown cardboard box, keycaps were arranged in order, none broken or missing. I had been desperately wishing for SA dasher to come back...now maybe I just want an MT3 dancer. aaaand a new keyboard too. thank you, zslane, and drop. so happy with this keyset!!
(Edited)
Kraicheck
8
Mar 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love it
Love the overall look and feel. Unfortunately uninverted R4 is too sharp for ortho so had to invert some keycaps resulting in some upside-down symbols :(
check
Would recommend to a friend.
ChristopherFiss
8
Mar 2, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Exceptionally well made and brilliant colour - COMPARISON!
Like many of us, we saw the retro sculpted blue keyboard that was part of the Data Dasher Terminals of the 70's and 80's and fell in love. Normally emulated by the higher profile of SA keycaps, the MT3 profile is nonetheless incredibly faithful to a more 'classic' keyboard feel - with many fans of SA either happy or finding MT3 superior to the former. Comparing it to the 1979-built D100 terminal board I have, you can see how at home my modern Spinpad Macropad looks - albeit with a slight hue shift.
search
The colours look fantastic, and while they aren't 100% accurate to the old Data Dasher terminal plastics - even assuming slight discolouration due to age, there is still a difference with the darker blue in particular. The font has also been modernized slightly with taller legends and skinnier letters.
search
However, as a stand-alone key-cap set, I have zero complaints. The colours are vivid and beautiful, the slight texture of the MT3 key feels very nice, and an absolute upgrade if you find SA too 'slippery'. My only concern is that, being doubleshot with ABS plastic, the keys may 'shine' slightly, losing a bit of that advantage with heavy use. For now, though, I am in love with the caps and hope that a new generation can enjoy the wonderful, vivid blue clacking blast-from-the-past.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
chiefmate
91
Feb 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Another nice heritage inspired MT3 set
As a fan of vintage/retro inspired designs, I am really digging the MT3 profile and the colour schemes in these heritage-inspired sets. IMHO, they go really well with tactiles and I feel they capture the essence/experience of vintage terminals. I can't wait to put this in a modern m0110 (waiting for pcb) or maybe in an upcoming Rama Thermal/Thermal+ in Soya (vintage beige). Looking forward to more MT3 sets with vintage vibes!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Chaffree
43
Feb 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Color match is spot on!
When I saw an MT3 version of dasher I knew I had to buy. SA dasher was my first 'real' keyset but it only had coverage for a TKL so couldn't use it on most of my boards(65%).
  • The color match is pretty spot on compared to SP's version.
  • This is my first abs MT3 so the rougher texture was a bit of a surprise. I think I prefer the smoothness of SA but either way not a deal breaker.
  • The caps are pretty thick so no complaints there. About on par for any higher quality keyset.
  • The packaging is great! Compared to the multiple big boxes of MT3 godspeed or zip bags of SP SA, its nice to see a full set in a nice compact clean box.
  • Bonus points, I didn't have to wait a year to get it! looking at you SA godspeed
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Flo4Power
76
Feb 12, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Superb keycaps
I'm really impressed by the quality of these. They're not as smooth as other ABS keysets, they're kinda rough actually (but not as rough as their PBT counterparts), they have this "hard-rubber"-like (not-really) texture, but still great. The colors are amazing. I just wished there was 1800 compability. Even if you don't care about the legends you're still one R0 key short.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
UISProphet
54
Feb 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
MT3 is king!
I love the Mt3 profile, so this has become a matter if the colors and legends are any good. The dasher set is beautiful. Dark colors with easy to read lettering l.
search
search
search
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
nedwards
139
Mar 5, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Dasher Good
I’m quite happy to have a full Dasher set at last.
search
search
This is my first set of MT3 keycaps in ABS. I appreciate the slightly rough top texture; I find it much more pleasant to type on than the glossy-smooth tops of SA-profile caps. The deeper cups also help. As with other tall keycaps, they can accentuate switch wobble, and I find they pair better with tactiles than linear switches, but that’s entirely a matter of taste. The colors aren’t a perfect match for SA Dasher but they’re quite close (see photo; MT3 Dasher on Nightfox on right; SA Dasher on numpad). The alpha legends aren’t as elegant as the large Gorton Modified legends of Signature Plastics’ spherical keycaps but they have their own charm. And, as I mentioned, they’re nicer to type on.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
psxndc
127
Feb 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love the caps (except the bottom row and lack of alternative layouts)
search
I've been waiting for years for Dasher/Dancer to come back. I took a leap of faith getting them in MT3 because my MT3 /dev/tty caps hadn't arrived yet, so I had no idea what they felt like. Well, once /dev/tty came in, my fears were gone. I *love* MT3. Then Dasher arrived and I excitedly built a new board for them. Imagine my dismay when I realized there was a big difference between /dev/tty and Dasher: the bottom row. See, /dev/tty has an R5 flat bottom row. Dasher doesn't, it only has a sculpted (and pointy) R4 bottom row. If I'm hitting RAISE or LOWER with my thumb (which I do all the time), I'm getting stabbed. I ended up flipping the bottom row upside down and borrowing extra RSE and LWR from my /dev/tty kit. It feels better but looks janky. I won't buy another MT3 kit unless it has an R5 option. 1 star off this one for not having it. I also wish they had a Colevrak+ kit option, but I get why it's not economical to support that, so I can't/won't deduct stars for that.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
andrelim
0
Apr 16, 2021
What board is that? It looks amazing!
psxndc
127
Apr 16, 2021
Keeb.io Nyquist with white acrylic case.
Showing 12 of 75
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order