shopping_cart
Drop Skylight Series Keycap Set
$29
$45

Drop Skylight Series Keycap Set

bookmark_border
$29
$45
Colorway:
15.2k Sold
·
Ready to Ship
·
Free Returns in USA
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
567
check
92%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Found 428 results
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice, but maybe overpriced for what they are.
$40 is probably on the high end of what I'd pay for keycaps like these, considering you can find suspiciously similar keycaps for $10 less elsewhere. If you look at "doubleshot backlit pbt keycaps" on [insert e-commerce website], you'll find a number of keycap sets with the exact same font, similar colors, and so on. The Skylight keycaps are also almost exactly identical to the keycaps on the $100 prebuilt gaming keyboard from [gamery gaming company] I own. I'm not a professional reviewer, so I'm not going to go and buy all these keycaps to actually compare them, but I wouldn't be surprised if they were all sourced from the same factory. So, keep that in mind, especially if you're purchasing one of the monochrome sets. The dual-color sets are probably more unique, so if you like one of those, it's a decent idea. I bought Black/Red, and it's aight. The red is kinda dull and is hard to make work with certain color LEDs. If I were gonna buy one today I would probably opt with Grey/Black. The quality of these is fine, they're certainly better than the laser-ablated ABS caps you'd find on most #gaming keyboards. They're thick, have a good texture to them, and I noticed no production issues aside from a little bubble sorta thing on my numpad Enter. The legends aren't great, and don't seem to let light through completely evenly, though I think this is fine and more or less par for the course when it comes to shine-through keycap sets. The black isn't super black, more of a charcoal, but I think that's partially just PBT as a plastic. Ultimately I'd judge that they're just barely worth purchasing at $40 or $45, perhaps more-so for a dual color set.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
galaxygnz11
14
Apr 30, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very nice keycaps, love the legends and feel
The keycaps came packaged very well. They have a great feel and sound to them and the legends look better than any other backlit set I have seen besides maybe Ducky's Seamless.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
dvprk
36
Jul 30, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Looks ok imo
I got the slate. Looks ok on my black keyboard. Using on topre-clone RGB so the light is on the top left of the switch and these keycaps still look good. I dont think any of the pictures accurately show how they look with light shining through them... they look much better in person imo. They were shipped in simple thin box. The keycap holding plastic container isnt the best but it does its job. The display pictures are so bad I was second guessing my purchase multiple times and only stuck with it bc of the cheap price. In the end, satisfied with this keycap. These are absolute crap compared to GMK but you have to make sacrifices for shine-thru caps.
search

search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
dur0005
18
Sep 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great quality but beware of black keycaps....
Excellent quality. Unfortunately the LEDs appear dimmer through the black keycaps compared to the two-tone grey that comes with the ALT. I can't explain why this is -- they are manufactured exactly the same, only the colour is different. By this logic the white keycaps would likely appear to have the brightest LED effect. If brightness is important for you I would advise against black.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
kevmacleod
70
Aug 3, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Top-quality backlit PBT keycaps, with very limited options

search

I've been looking forward to the release of these keycaps for a long time. I love everything about the keycaps that come with the Alt except the color scheme, so the opportunity to get these same keycaps without the dual-gray colors was an obvious win. I don’t particularly like most of the colors Drop went with in this series, but luckily they offered a plain black option, and I’m always a fan of that. Very few keycap sets support the Drop Alt, with it's 1.75u right shift - there are a few options from Tai-Hao, the OEM for the original Massdrop Alt keycaps, but these switches have a sandpapery surface texture that is... let's just say, a controversial feel.
search

The quality of the legends is outstanding. I've used many backlit PBT keycaps over the years, and these are among the best I've ever seen. The font is clean and modern, there are no obvious gaps or breaks in the legend backlight, and light bleed is kept to a minimum. Unfortunately, there are very few legends included. Absolutely nothing outside the bare minimum - no Mac legends, no icon-only mods, not even a generic legend or a Drop logo. It's a huge missed opportunity, and one I hope Drop addresses quickly.

search

This skimping out on all but the most basic compatibility extends to the layout. The Skylight series includes only the bare minimum keyboard compatibility. The standard 104-key layout used by most keyboards is supported, which includes support for basic TKL keyboards and 60% keyboards. In addition, 5 extra keys are included to support the Drop Alt, and other 65% keyboards with that exact layout (although the website description says the set includes 108 keys, it actually includes 109 - the standard 104 and the 5 extra for the Alt).

Unfortunately, this excludes many popular keyboard layouts, including some keyboards sold by Drop itself! The big problem is, the only modifiers included here are 1.25u size. That means any keyboard with a different bottom row is excluded from this set. Almost every non-Alt 65% keyboard is incompatible, as 4x1u is much more popular that 2x1.25u. Many gaming keyboards, which would be prime candidates for great backlit key caps, use non-standard bottom rows, and are thus incompatible. Inexplicably, the new Drop Shift is also unsupported, despite it launching just a few weeks after this drop went live.

search


This keycaps set is exactly what it looks like, and not the slightest bit more. Drop has made a great quality, but very limited, keycap series. They have great print quality, great feel, great thickness. As long as you are only using these keycaps with the tiny number of supported keyboard layouts, with these exact key legends, with the exact color schemes pictured here, you'll be very happy with these keycaps.

But Drop could have done so much more. They could have printed additional modifiers, in 1u and 1.5u sizes, which would have vastly expanded the number of supported keyboard layouts. They could have let you mix and match modifier and alpha colors between sets, to create a custom look. They could have printed Mac keycaps, or at least platform-neutral ones. Instead, they did the absolute bare minimum. It's a start - now let's see what they can do in Version 2.

search


Pros

  • Great looking legends
  • Pleasant surface texture
  • Reasonable price
  • Perfect thickness

Cons

  • Limited layout compatibility that doesn’t even support many of Drop’s own keyboards
  • Very limited color choices
  • No Mac keycap legends, or even generic legends
  • No ability to order modifier sets separate from alphas

check
Would recommend to a friend.
liteon1
70
Dec 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very Nice!
I recently purchased my first true mechanical keyboard, a Corsair K765, with Kailh box white switches. There was something about its keycaps I just didn't like, although they were better than the keycaps on my previous Razer Ornata mecha-membrane keyboard. I saw the slate grey set and thought it would be an improvement over what I had. It certainly is, although I'd prefer the light and dark keycaps be reversed (I should have gotten black, but grey is good enough). The keys are much easier to read than the old ones, as their text is now MUCH more crisp. And these caps are matte finished and don't show any glare. I find it strange how difficult they are to read when off, but it really doesn't matter because I only use the keyboard with my computer ON. ;-)
search
search
search
Corsair's implementation of their wider keys use a wire stabilizer rather than additional dummy switches, though. This makes those keys a bit more difficult to actuate, especially the space bar. I'll have to research a solution. To be fair, it's not the fault of the keycaps, so much as a non-standard implementation. This is why I'm not taking off any stars. And green backlighting with grey keys isn't as bad as my teenage son said it would be... :-P
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
roycecooker
11
Jul 7, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty Good Overall
Honestly, there's a lot of value here for the simple fact these are keycaps which offer PBT, doubleshot lettering, AND shinethrough all without costing an arm and leg at $45. On top of that, they don't use stupid, tacky "le epic gamer" fonts like I've seen some other keycaps that are similar to these do. Though unfortunately, I prefer my alpha keys to have their legends vertical as opposed to the side by side crap, but I understand why, since in Cherry keyboards that's where the LED shines the strongest. They feel nice, and they feel even better when you actually start using them on your keyboard. Put them on my new Drop CTRL with Kailh Box Jades and holy moly do these feel sublime compared to the Cooler Master TKL with Browns I was (unfortunately) using before hand. However, I do think that maybe the QC could be a bit better. There is some noticeable clouding on the legends which blocks the light. For my set, it's most noticeable on keys like "B" and "home". I didn't notice any problems with the plastic molding but honestly, don't care unless it's on the side that's actually visible, and there isn't, nor does it cause any problems when mounting to my switches. Overall, a B+ in my book. Very good and I don't think you could be disappointed in these unless you have exceedingly high standards or something.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
OoTheBlackRose
5
Jan 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Stunning... but inconsistent.
search
First off: these are absolutely stunning, but when you take a closer look at the keycaps, you start to notice some inconsistencies in terms of keycap height. I have at least four keycaps in my set that are slightly higher than the others in relation to the row they are in. I can not only see it, but I can feel the difference when it comes to typing. If you are looking for a stunning backlit set, and you are willing to ignore the subtle imperfections in this set, then this is it. But you have to ask yourself if you are willing to compromise on a set at this price point. I can't deny how gorgeous it looks on my Carina. But for me, the inconsistent heights on an already high profile is a bit much for me on a set that costs $45.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
jellycloud
6
Oct 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good value keycaps
I like the fact they allow light to pass through, however I think the keys are a bit on the thin side when compared to other PBT keycaps I own. The sound signature isn't the best, but they are a good value keycaps set.
HoyleState
7
Jan 21, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent high quality keycap set held back by the limited keycap selection.
I purchased the Horizon scheme to use for a build for a non-ALT 65% keyboard. The keycaps are all high quality and fit without issue on the standard 65% layout of my build. The legends are clear, though can be difficult to see as my board used south facing switches with the corresponding south facing backlights. The white caps regardless are backlit well, but the blue caps are poorly lit. Unfortunately, this set does not include the extra keys necessary to cover the bottom row on a standard 65% layout (Alt/Fn/Ctrl all being 1u). The set is also unusable on the SHIFT I purchased for my wife due to the missing keycaps (the numpad 0 in particular). For the moment, I'm using the numpad 1, 2, and 3 keys to cover Alt, Fn, and Ctrl respectively as they are the same row profile and I don't have a numpad anyways. Even paying an extra $10 to cover all keyboards would have been well worth it. Drop should consider updating these sets to cover these additional layouts in addition to offering the extra missing keys as an option for purchase for those of us that got one of the original sets. Would I recommend this? Yes, if you have a standard 60%/80%/100% layout board, this set will work perfectly fine. Otherwise, you will need to look for a different set or improvise. 1800/96% layouts are not covered at all by this set (that includes the Drop SHIFT).
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order