Drop Skylight Series Keycap Set
Drop Skylight Series Keycap Set
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
4.3k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
The same keycap set used on our Drop keyboards is back—in four new colorways. Colorize your keyboard with PBT caps featuring doubleshot, shine-through legends. It's not called the Skylight Series for nothing.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
193
check
95%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
sour_sake
6
Jul 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Beautiful, Clean, Affordable (white caps)
What more can I say? As I sit here like the rest of you waiting for my 3 GMK sets to come early 2021, I decided to toss a mere 45 bucks to grab a set of super clean, multi-form factor, shine through white caps. And they're great! Much love for the space bar being back-lit as well. (Should come stock I will say) With the white back-lit RGB setting combined with the stock gray caps that come with the Alt, I get a lovely SA Foundation-ish vibe. Plus I swapped out my Roselios (amazing switches but I was ready for some clack again) for Box Whites to give it a uniform look thanks to the low profile displaying the white switches. They shipped extremely quickly and have no apparent defects or lettering issues. Are these OEM caps the end-all be-all? Of course not. Will these come off when the other caps come? Yup. But for 45 dollars you get a beautiful little set that pairs well with both shades of the stock gray caps and gets you that sweet shine through (if that's your thing) Zero complaints..lovely addition to the Drop ALT/CTRL product Line. I am digging these low cost customization options.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
BaySik
2
Aug 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great PBT keycaps with crisp legends
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
kevmacleod
60
Aug 3, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Top-quality backlit PBT keycaps, with very limited options

search

I've been looking forward to the release of these keycaps for a long time. I love everything about the keycaps that come with the Alt except the color scheme, so the opportunity to get these same keycaps without the dual-gray colors was an obvious win. I don’t particularly like most of the colors Drop went with in this series, but luckily they offered a plain black option, and I’m always a fan of that. Very few keycap sets support the Drop Alt, with it's 1.75u right shift - there are a few options from Tai-Hao, the OEM for the original Massdrop Alt keycaps, but these switches have a sandpapery surface texture that is... let's just say, a controversial feel.
search

The quality of the legends is outstanding. I've used many backlit PBT keycaps over the years, and these are among the best I've ever seen. The font is clean and modern, there are no obvious gaps or breaks in the legend backlight, and light bleed is kept to a minimum. Unfortunately, there are very few legends included. Absolutely nothing outside the bare minimum - no Mac legends, no icon-only mods, not even a generic legend or a Drop logo. It's a huge missed opportunity, and one I hope Drop addresses quickly.

search

This skimping out on all but the most basic compatibility extends to the layout. The Skylight series includes only the bare minimum keyboard compatibility. The standard 104-key layout used by most keyboards is supported, which includes support for basic TKL keyboards and 60% keyboards. In addition, 5 extra keys are included to support the Drop Alt, and other 65% keyboards with that exact layout (although the website description says the set includes 108 keys, it actually includes 109 - the standard 104 and the 5 extra for the Alt).

Unfortunately, this excludes many popular keyboard layouts, including some keyboards sold by Drop itself! The big problem is, the only modifiers included here are 1.25u size. That means any keyboard with a different bottom row is excluded from this set. Almost every non-Alt 65% keyboard is incompatible, as 4x1u is much more popular that 2x1.25u. Many gaming keyboards, which would be prime candidates for great backlit key caps, use non-standard bottom rows, and are thus incompatible. Inexplicably, the new Drop Shift is also unsupported, despite it launching just a few weeks after this drop went live.

search


This keycaps set is exactly what it looks like, and not the slightest bit more. Drop has made a great quality, but very limited, keycap series. They have great print quality, great feel, great thickness. As long as you are only using these keycaps with the tiny number of supported keyboard layouts, with these exact key legends, with the exact color schemes pictured here, you'll be very happy with these keycaps.

But Drop could have done so much more. They could have printed additional modifiers, in 1u and 1.5u sizes, which would have vastly expanded the number of supported keyboard layouts. They could have let you mix and match modifier and alpha colors between sets, to create a custom look. They could have printed Mac keycaps, or at least platform-neutral ones. Instead, they did the absolute bare minimum. It's a start - now let's see what they can do in Version 2.

search


Pros

  • Great looking legends
  • Pleasant surface texture
  • Reasonable price
  • Perfect thickness

Cons

  • Limited layout compatibility that doesn’t even support many of Drop’s own keyboards
  • Very limited color choices
  • No Mac keycap legends, or even generic legends
  • No ability to order modifier sets separate from alphas

check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great, if you know what you're buying
Look, no $45 PBT keycap set is going to compete with GMK sets or the sort. If you know what you're buying these are actually a fantastic deal. Fits better than the keycaps that actually came with my board, so thumbs up there. Overall a great deal, therefore the 5 stars.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
leoncharles
4
Nov 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Deal
Wanted these for the shine through, PBT feels great and the sound's nice. Didn't find any blemishes on the keys, the underside isn't the prettiest in some of these along the edges. Legends are sharp, super crisp. My only gripe is the uneven shine, most noticeable with white light. Some keys have the white LED come through clearly, while on others it's a bit muddled, with a tinge of color from the keycap instead of mostly white. Some of the light also bleeds through the keys outside the legends, with it being the worst on the W, being very apparent on max brightness.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Briang305
1
Sep 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
They look great(slate color) The back-lighting is pretty nice albeit some keys on my board didnt shine some keys out the best while using through-hole bulb LED and hotswap sockets particularly the L_Shift, CapsLock, and Enter keys. Legends are very clear. Acoustics could've been better if they were a tiny bit thicker but it's no big deal. They also feel relatively smooth for PBT plastic(not as smooth and glossy feeling as ABS which I do not prefer for obvious reasons) My spacebar for whatever reason however, seems like one side of the spacebar is either warped in the molding process or the alignment of the stem holes are off, but it's definitely misaligned. I've even replaced my stabilizers(Durock Transparent Screw-in) to try and combat this issue and it only ever so slightly alleviated it. This is my biggest issue with this set, I had contacted Drop for this issue to be corrected, I'll probably update the rating accordingly. These caps were cut from a mold. It shows on multiple edges of each cap, which isn't a big problem if you don't care too much as it won't show when installed but does show it's imperfections on craftsmanship for a set worth $45 at the time of this review, It's borderline mid-grade quality and for the price, they could have included more caps for quirky layouts or slightly better craftmanship. Vortex fills more sets at a cheaper price at near the same quality. I used this set on a YMDK96 and found there was pretty limited options for me when placing a 1.5u sized Alt and Ctrl or 1.5u Fn keys and 1.0u sized numpad zero key. As i said earlier, this makes filling my quirky layout very awkward as my color scheme is driven away now because I have empty spots and will have to mix and match. It's unfortunate because this color scheme is among my favorite and very few manufacturers make this set that's also translucent, and double-shot PBT. I would definitely recommend this if you're using a standard layout and if you're not as unlucky as I was with my spacebar issue.
search

(Edited)
czhan04
0
Sep 18, 2020
Hi, did you ever got the spacebar resolved, got I just received my set and got the exact same issue! I had to use the Razer keycap set spacebar as a replacement at the moment.
Clutchkick512
2
Aug 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome! But
Great keycaps for the money super clean font and great feel. Just wish it had a few 1u keys for fn alt and ctrl
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Darkstar77
102
Jul 30, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overpriced.
UPDATE: Lacking so many keys. So many. No 1u alt, ctrl, fn, or os keys. No 1u numpad 0, which means no 1800 compatibility. No 1.25u shift key. Profiles for PGUP, HOME, END, PGDN keys not all in top row, so also makes 1800 layout keyboards a no go; like the Drop Shift keyboard. Yeah, this keycap set does not work for Drop's very own Shift keyboard. Definitely sticking to my rating of 3 stars. You get what you pay for. Generally, I agree. The problem I have, I suppose, is that I expected more from Drop. I have literally dozens of different keycaps from all over. Some from drop, some from signature plastics, etc.. My current faves are MT3 profile TTY caps from here. These caps remind me strongly of knock off PBT caps from YMDK available on Amazon for about half the price of these. Does YMDK make a set like this? Nope. They knocked off dolch and carbon, and a few others, so you can get cheap versions in OEM profile. Do YMDK caps feel bad? Not really. They just don't feel like a product from Drop. These are double shot, most caps from YMDK are laser etched or dye subbed. The legends on YMDK keys don't have staying power over the years (I have a DSA Doltch from 4 years ago, and the legends are getting hard to read). So what's my issue? They don't feel bad. Double shot means staying power for the legends. The colour ways are nice; not amazing, but nice. I went with "Valiant", which looks nice. The profile is plain ole OEM, which is fine. I personally would have liked to have seen SA, MT3, and DSA options. Maybe that's my problem. I want these, but in a nicer profile. The real problem I have is the price. In Canada, with the stupid DHL tax, these cost nearly $100 all said and done. I used a credit, so they cost me less, but if I was paying full price, I would be upset. As it stands, I'm okay with them. I can't recommend these to fellow Canadians though, because they cost too much; DHL was $17 at the door, with shipping and conversion on top of that. I think if Drop offered these in a better profile like MT3 or SA, as well as OEM, they would represent a better value. I would be much happier paying for these at their current price, or a little higher, if I could get them in SA or MT3. As an OEM cap, they're just meh. If they were $10 cheaper, it would represent better value, and be more in line with other cheaper OEM profile offerings. I'm giving them a 3, because the overall quality is not bad, it just doesn't align with the profile and the price.
(Edited)
darkjak13
2
Jul 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I love these keycaps!
I just received the Valiant color recently, they look amazing, beautiful with the RGB, and such a satisfying click on the keyboard and feel on the fingers. 10/10 would recommend
check
Would recommend to a friend.
lngrhns
2
Aug 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good qualitz caps, ligthing could be more uniform
First of all this is my first keycap set so I don't have a lot to compare to. But from the get-go I thought it felt nice. The colors are good. The white keys have a good light distribution in the legends aside from one key that seems to have some bleeding of the light around the letter. The blue keys have some issues with the light uniformness around the legends. It's really not a big deal though in my opinion. Overall I'm pretty happy with the set. Looking back the price seems fair.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 11 of 199