Drop Skylight Series Keycap Set

Drop Skylight Series Keycap Set

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
9.4k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
The same keycap set used on our Drop keyboards is back—in four new colorways. Colorize your keyboard with PBT caps featuring doubleshot, shine-through legends. It's not called the Skylight Series for nothing.
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
370
check
94%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
sour_sake
7
Jul 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Beautiful, Clean, Affordable (white caps)
What more can I say? As I sit here like the rest of you waiting for my 3 GMK sets to come early 2021, I decided to toss a mere 45 bucks to grab a set of super clean, multi-form factor, shine through white caps. And they're great! Much love for the space bar being back-lit as well. (Should come stock I will say) With the white back-lit RGB setting combined with the stock gray caps that come with the Alt, I get a lovely SA Foundation-ish vibe. Plus I swapped out my Roselios (amazing switches but I was ready for some clack again) for Box Whites to give it a uniform look thanks to the low profile displaying the white switches. They shipped extremely quickly and have no apparent defects or lettering issues. Are these OEM caps the end-all be-all? Of course not. Will these come off when the other caps come? Yup. But for 45 dollars you get a beautiful little set that pairs well with both shades of the stock gray caps and gets you that sweet shine through (if that's your thing) Zero complaints..lovely addition to the Drop ALT/CTRL product Line. I am digging these low cost customization options.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
BaySik
4
Aug 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great PBT keycaps with crisp legends
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
BaySik
4
Jan 1, 2021
Thanks! Its actually a kbd75v2 mkii in polycarbonate
downfalll
3
Jan 4, 2021
DANG.. Maybe I should of waited, ordered the Arctic Alt case but that KBD75v2 is too clean..!
kevmacleod
64
Aug 3, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Top-quality backlit PBT keycaps, with very limited options

search

I've been looking forward to the release of these keycaps for a long time. I love everything about the keycaps that come with the Alt except the color scheme, so the opportunity to get these same keycaps without the dual-gray colors was an obvious win. I don’t particularly like most of the colors Drop went with in this series, but luckily they offered a plain black option, and I’m always a fan of that. Very few keycap sets support the Drop Alt, with it's 1.75u right shift - there are a few options from Tai-Hao, the OEM for the original Massdrop Alt keycaps, but these switches have a sandpapery surface texture that is... let's just say, a controversial feel.
search

The quality of the legends is outstanding. I've used many backlit PBT keycaps over the years, and these are among the best I've ever seen. The font is clean and modern, there are no obvious gaps or breaks in the legend backlight, and light bleed is kept to a minimum. Unfortunately, there are very few legends included. Absolutely nothing outside the bare minimum - no Mac legends, no icon-only mods, not even a generic legend or a Drop logo. It's a huge missed opportunity, and one I hope Drop addresses quickly.

search

This skimping out on all but the most basic compatibility extends to the layout. The Skylight series includes only the bare minimum keyboard compatibility. The standard 104-key layout used by most keyboards is supported, which includes support for basic TKL keyboards and 60% keyboards. In addition, 5 extra keys are included to support the Drop Alt, and other 65% keyboards with that exact layout (although the website description says the set includes 108 keys, it actually includes 109 - the standard 104 and the 5 extra for the Alt).

Unfortunately, this excludes many popular keyboard layouts, including some keyboards sold by Drop itself! The big problem is, the only modifiers included here are 1.25u size. That means any keyboard with a different bottom row is excluded from this set. Almost every non-Alt 65% keyboard is incompatible, as 4x1u is much more popular that 2x1.25u. Many gaming keyboards, which would be prime candidates for great backlit key caps, use non-standard bottom rows, and are thus incompatible. Inexplicably, the new Drop Shift is also unsupported, despite it launching just a few weeks after this drop went live.

search


This keycaps set is exactly what it looks like, and not the slightest bit more. Drop has made a great quality, but very limited, keycap series. They have great print quality, great feel, great thickness. As long as you are only using these keycaps with the tiny number of supported keyboard layouts, with these exact key legends, with the exact color schemes pictured here, you'll be very happy with these keycaps.

But Drop could have done so much more. They could have printed additional modifiers, in 1u and 1.5u sizes, which would have vastly expanded the number of supported keyboard layouts. They could have let you mix and match modifier and alpha colors between sets, to create a custom look. They could have printed Mac keycaps, or at least platform-neutral ones. Instead, they did the absolute bare minimum. It's a start - now let's see what they can do in Version 2.

search


Pros

  • Great looking legends
  • Pleasant surface texture
  • Reasonable price
  • Perfect thickness

Cons

  • Limited layout compatibility that doesn’t even support many of Drop’s own keyboards
  • Very limited color choices
  • No Mac keycap legends, or even generic legends
  • No ability to order modifier sets separate from alphas

check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great, if you know what you're buying
Look, no $45 PBT keycap set is going to compete with GMK sets or the sort. If you know what you're buying these are actually a fantastic deal. Fits better than the keycaps that actually came with my board, so thumbs up there. Overall a great deal, therefore the 5 stars.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Naaberz
6
Jan 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Key fading after just one day.
After just less than 1 day of use, my W key has already begun to fade and let excess light through the cap as shown in the photo. I see lots of other reviews praising these, so perhaps I just got unlucky but given this issue I cannot recommend sadly. Even though they do look and feel great.
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
NOHILLTOOSTEEP
0
Feb 13, 2021
Did you ever figure out what was causing this?
Migidymike
34
Dec 12, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Beautiful caps, but they're not truly compatible with the SHIFT keyboard.
I purchased these without reading the entire deals, and put them on my new Drop SHIFT. Due to the unique layout on the SHIFT, this set doesn't include the right size on a few caps. The skylight Fn key is narrower than the Shift, and there are some caps that are the wrong size on the number pad.
m.axiomatic
1
Dec 19, 2020
Seconding this. Bought the barebones shift so i could use my own switches, but this cap set falls short on the row height for the top row home, end, pgup, pgdn and for the numpad keys in addition to the Fn key.
leoncharles
6
Nov 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Deal
Wanted these for the shine through, PBT feels great and the sound's nice. Didn't find any blemishes on the keys, the underside isn't the prettiest in some of these along the edges. Legends are sharp, super crisp. My only gripe is the uneven shine, most noticeable with white light. Some keys have the white LED come through clearly, while on others it's a bit muddled, with a tinge of color from the keycap instead of mostly white. Some of the light also bleeds through the keys outside the legends, with it being the worst on the W, being very apparent on max brightness.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
derk750
13
Oct 6, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
okay
good keycaps for the price but the space bar came warped and i sent a email to them and they didnt even respond
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Clutchkick512
3
Aug 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome! But
Great keycaps for the money super clean font and great feel. Just wish it had a few 1u keys for fn alt and ctrl
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Korin
15
Jan 16, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A quality set for the price but there are flaws
The quality of this set is pretty good for the $45 price tag, however the I don't think the QA is there when building these sets. For example the stem is crooked in my numpad 3 cap and the stems in the spacebar don't seem to be in a perfect line. As well Drop really needs to start including a 1u Alt, Fn, and Ctrl in their sets. I would be less happy with this set if I wasn't waiting on a GMK set in the mail that will be replacing them.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Showing 15 of 384
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order