Drop + THX AAA™ 789 Linear Amplifier
Drop + THX AAA™ 789 Linear Amplifier
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
8.8k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Announced at CES 2018, the Drop + THX Achromatic Audio Amplifier (THX AAA™) 789 is a linear bipolar amplifier with feed-forward error correction. It’s designed for objectivists who appreciate an incredibly clean, transparent amp—the sought-after “wire with gain” whose amplification is wholly uncolored by a sound of its own Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
583
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Adam99stafford
0
Oct 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wonderful!
Works great! Had been using the preamp out of my Behringer UM2 audio interface and it would always get distorted. This fixed that problem! Now I’m saving up the extra funds to buy the S.M.S.L SU-9 DAC. using the better dynamic dt770 closed backs!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Swagman
0
Oct 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing Linear Amp
It is Amazing
check
Would recommend to a friend.
MingRose
22
Oct 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A lil beastie boi
Using with Topping DX7s + primarily Sundara. Balanced sounds beautiful to me. Satisfying tactility on the gain knob. My only small gripe is that the new volume knob is kind of ugly compared to the former version, but overall, the 789 was well worth the wait.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Z713
0
Oct 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great amp but stopped working after 2 weeks
It’s a great amp but it stopped working after only 2 weeks, today is the third week. Will be reaching out to customer support on what can be done. So saddening, I was loving it..
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
gusg
9
Oct 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
shocked just how much of a difference it made
I had been using a Schiit Magni Heresy and loving it but knew I would be going balanced eventually. I currently mainly use the Hifiman Sundara. Got to use an ifi Zen Dac and noticed an improved bass response on the Sundara when running balanced. That is an amazing setup, but i felt that it was too "fun" for me and would be kind of a sidegrade. The 789 was able to bring everything I loved about the Zen Dac but also is without a doubt a neutral amp. I was able to hear aspects of recordings that I never have before. I am only around 30 minutes into it and am incredibly happy with it. Also, Sundara owners: balanced is worth it. EDIT: I felt like I needed to add to this review. I also bought a cheap(ish) tube preamp (fx thube-03 with GE5654). And i think for many people this could be needed. For things like youtube videos, online meetings, and podcasts i almost always use the tube preamp to force more soundstage and a softer sound. Using this preamp, I can use the Sundara balanced for both everyday tasks that give < 1 shit about sound as well as critical listing that still gives goosebumps. And all it takes to change the sound significantly is 1 button press. peep Joshua Valor's video
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
xtiva2000
4
Oct 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Impressive Amp
search
Gears used DAC - SMSL M400 Headphone - Sennheiser HD800 Music Genre Classical music -Baroque mostly Only tested using balanced input from M400 and Balanced out to HD800 Pros Very well built Amp Very transparent sound Tight bass and detailed highs. Virtually noise free, only hearing hiss when using Andromeda at max volume Sounds very flat, not V or U shaped sound Powerful, only using medium gain for HD800 and volume at 10 o'clock Cons Sound bleed - can still hear music at volume at 0. It happens on medium gain on HD800 and for Andromeda on Low gain and sound quiet high. It is very transparent but loses soundstage, sound direct Overall can understand why the hype was about. But miss having a remote control... This will be able to last another year to save up for next quest for upgrade, SPL Phonitor or Headamp GS-X
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
ashway83
0
Oct 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Simply the best headphone amplifier in the given price range
This is my second Drop amplifier and definitely a step up from the CTH. Decided to keep CTH for now, but THX gets far more listening time.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
BBalmung
3
Oct 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Power
Did just what i was hoping for, would like to try the balanced part of it at some point.
zabkaatlarge
7
Oct 19, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Amplifier for the Money
I believe this is one of the best balanced output amplifiers that you buy on the lower end of the spectrum. I do wish that the design was fully balanced, but that would add additional cost.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
zwefin
2
Oct 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
No Complaints
Coming from the O2 it was actually quite a big jump in... well everything. Doesn't even break a sweat powering my headphones and the double inputs in the back allows me to switch between my computer and turntable with ease.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 10 of 1334
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
1,333 OF 1,334 POSTS
Oct 24, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest