Drop + THX AAA™ 789 Linear Amplifier
Drop + THX AAA™ 789 Linear Amplifier
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
8.8k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Announced at CES 2018, the Drop + THX Achromatic Audio Amplifier (THX AAA™) 789 is a linear bipolar amplifier with feed-forward error correction. It’s designed for objectivists who appreciate an incredibly clean, transparent amp—the sought-after “wire with gain” whose amplification is wholly uncolored by a sound of its own Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
589
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Soundaddict3
2
Oct 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazingly clear and beautifully designed
The 789 is the cleanest and clearest headphone amp I've heard. I own a Mayflower Objective 2, ES100 MKII, HA-2SE, and now the 789 paired with the Balanced SDAC. I love my O2 and HA-2 but the 789 is so clean and transparent that its been difficult to tear my ears away from it. The 789 re-ignited the flame lying within my eternal love for my OG MSR7's. It adds a bit of width that make them sing like I knew they were always capable of. It also makes my HE4XX's open up and sound even wider. Tracks like "Hostage" by Chelsea Grin sound bonkers on my HE4XX's with the 789. "MORE" by K/DA on my MSR7's sound so clean with the 789 powering them. I will say tho, for headphones that are bass light, you're gonna have to geek out on the clarity, mids, and highs. The 789 isn't the warmest sounding amplifier. My Sundara's sound a bit anemic when paired with it as they are more about slam and clarity than bass quantity and warmth. If you own a pair of bass cannons like the TH-X00 or ATH-WP900, the 789 might be the last stop in your amplifier odyssey as it will likely add clarity and ensure clean delivery of all that bass goodness. The multiple inputs is a nice boon. Makes it easy to use and adds versatility. Definitely worth the dough. If your on the fence about spending the cash, go on ahead and tip over. You'll be glad you did.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
shin1ohno
0
Oct 28, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Clear, Powerful
Just as expected
Magevonor
2
Oct 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Quality
Sounds fantastic, a marked improvement over the O2, and pairs well with my 6XX's.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
mjmather
0
Oct 24, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing amp
This does exactly what all the reviews say. If you haven't already, don't think about it, just buy one.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Gman0802
4
Oct 24, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very clear and powerful amp
A must have
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Adam99stafford
1
Oct 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wonderful!
Works great! Had been using the preamp out of my Behringer UM2 audio interface and it would always get distorted. This fixed that problem! Now I’m saving up the extra funds to buy the S.M.S.L SU-9 DAC. using the better dynamic dt770 closed backs!
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Swagman
1
Oct 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing Linear Amp
It is Amazing
check
Would recommend to a friend.
MingRose
24
Oct 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A lil beastie boi
Using with Topping DX7s + primarily Sundara. Balanced sounds beautiful to me. Satisfying tactility on the gain knob. My only small gripe is that the new volume knob is kind of ugly compared to the former version, but overall, the 789 was well worth the wait.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Z713
1
Oct 22, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great amp but stopped working after 2 weeks
It’s a great amp but it stopped working after only 2 weeks, today is the third week. Will be reaching out to customer support on what can be done. So saddening, I was loving it..
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
gusg
10
Oct 21, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
shocked just how much of a difference it made
search
I had been using a Schiit Magni Heresy and loving it but knew I would be going balanced eventually. I currently mainly use the Hifiman Sundara. Got to use an ifi Zen Dac and noticed an improved bass response on the Sundara when running balanced. That is an amazing setup, but i felt that it was too "fun" for me and would be kind of a sidegrade. The 789 was able to bring everything I loved about the Zen Dac but also is without a doubt a neutral amp. I was able to hear aspects of recordings that I never have before. I am only around 30 minutes into it and am incredibly happy with it. Also, Sundara owners: balanced is worth it. EDIT: I felt like I needed to add to this review. I also bought a cheap(ish) tube preamp (fx thube-03 with GE5654). And i think for many people this could be needed. For things like youtube videos, online meetings, and podcasts i almost always use the tube preamp to force more soundstage and a softer sound. Using this preamp, I can use the Sundara balanced for both everyday tasks that give < 1 shit about sound as well as critical listing that still gives goosebumps. And all it takes to change the sound significantly is 1 button press. peep Joshua Valor's video
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 10 of 1340
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
1,339 OF 1,340 POSTS
Oct 29, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Did you make sure to download and install the latest focusrite drivers and select the focusrite interface as the audio output? If you wanted to be able to monitor your microphone input in real time and get your desktop audio output simultaneously, you would have to run a cable from the headphone monitor output on the front to an input on this amp. I believe the cable you linked should would work when you plug the 1/4 inch TRS end to the headphone output on the interface and then plug the XLR ends into the amp. As the scarlett interface has both a DAC and an amp, please gain stage properly between the two so you send a properly leveled audio signal to your amp from the interface and actually get the benefit of using this amp. You can also use the two line outputs on the back of the interface and route those to your amp, but you wont get real time audio monitoring of your microphone input (which may be what you want if you are using speakers as well as headphones so as to not get feedback). However, I feel like pairing this interface with this amp is not a great idea if you are trying to achieve the great sound quality this amp provides. The focusrite scarlett interfaces all have DACs and amps built into them, as that is what is needed for a standalone interface. The amp on the scarlett interfaces is not very good. The DAC and ADC are both good for the price, but I can't help but feel like using a $300 amp with a ~$110 DAC/amp is not utilizing the THX 789 to its full potential. But you can use it however you want, just giving my 2 cents :)