Drop + THX AAA™ 789 Linear Amplifier
Drop + THX AAA™ 789 Linear Amplifier
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
5.4k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Announced at CES 2018, the Drop + THX Achromatic Audio Amplifier (THX AAA™) 789 is a linear bipolar amplifier with feed-forward error correction. It’s designed for objectivists who appreciate an incredibly clean, transparent amp—the sought-after “wire with gain” whose amplification is wholly uncolored by a sound of its own Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
203
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
Ergomuse
19
Dec 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great value
I have this paired with the Airist R2R DAC and 6XX's and the music sounds wonderful.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 8, 2019
Buzz1
3
Dec 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Beyond basic!
Only have been using this amp for a few days, it’s absolutely blowing my mind. I’m just using my 58x jubilee’s and oh my god! Spectacular. I have a 4 pin xlr cable on order for these and can’t wait for that change up. As time goes by, I’m sure my expectations will be fully exceeded.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 7, 2019
Chevyt1963
0
Dec 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Clean and Dynamic
I am waiting until I complete my setup before I write my review, but so far the amp and sdac gear is far exceeding my expectations.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 7, 2019
DougS63
8
Dec 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice basic amp for a reasonable price !
I just received this amp the other day. I've been using a iFI Pro iCan amp previous to this one with very good results from an Astell & Kern A120II DAP. I'm aware the 120 already has a DAC, but I decided to use my iFI Pro iDSD as the main DAC before I put it into the 789 amp, so it's really being processed twice, however I wanted to take advantage of my toslink optical cable that came with my A120II. The other option would have been to go straight in with a crude Y-type 3.5 to RCA input, but that line causes noise from ANY amp for me, and I felt that the optical cable would give a better result. Also, I already had balanced cables running from the iDSD to the 789. Without going into too much boring experimentation, I noticed that the 789 seemed ( to my ears ) to have a cleaner sound, and at a much cheaper price than the iCan. I used my AKG K812s, Focal Elex ( I'm not suggesting that you need these ... just used them as a reference point ), and a pair of Senn HD 820s. The 789 has a clearer sound than most amps at this price range. I wanted to give my impression to help those standing on the fence deciding to buy this or something else. I'm not planning on returning the 789 unless something goes wrong, but do I wish this amp had come out before I bought the iCan ? ... Sure !! Also, the 789 does not have a lot of bells and whistles as compared to the iCan, but honestly the 789 is really your basic amp, so unless you're looking for a lot of options on a desktop component, then this will fill your need for an amp. The K812s are the most neutral as far as sound quality with this setup and the 789 in the connection. There's a warm somewhat colored sound to the Focals, as well as the Senn HD 820s. I'll have to work with the 789 a little longer to get a true picture of its ability, but for now I'm pleased with the performance. Z Reviews has done a video about this amp, and goes into a little more detail on YouTube. Hope this helps. PS ... I failed to state that my iDSD DAC does process Hi-Res files ( WAV, FLAC, or AIFF ), so if you need that type of processing ability you will need a DAC that can accomplish this.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Dec 5, 2019
kkamc72
18
Dec 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Its seriously serious
Its downright unreal sounding, that being said it's the most real sounding I've ever heard. I'm comparing with la Figaro 339, jds atom, dark voice 336. And a few others. This is awesome. It has many outputs and inputs. Can play out of both SE and XLR at same time. Which is nice. But this thing is magical. Just buy it. I pre ordered it and waited 7 months. All worth it. Can't find much better anywhere near price. And even when talking the 1000-2000 bracket, this thing is killing it. Own it already.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 4, 2019
KSWDDS
8
Dec 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
What a difference!! Power!!!!
I have Audioengine 5+ powered speakers and a number of high quality headphones. This amp really digs deep with the speakers. I've never heard bass like this from these speakers! My only issue is that the pass-thru is only good with SE connections and I want to run balanced from my DAC (SMSL-SU8) into the speakers. Right now, I'm using a 2.5mm to RCA cable from the front SE headphone plug into my speakers amp. It hasn't blown up yet, and the bass is so much better than before with my Aune X1S. I found the power button pretty cheap feeling, but otherwise everything feels solid and works well.Listening to all sorts of stuff on this desktop system; I have a big rig downstairs that's a completely different animal, but for a computer-based system, this rocks!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 3, 2019
Lisasonictower
493
Dec 4, 2019
bookmark_border
This amp should do absolutely zero to powered monitors. Including not controlling the volume of your speakers. There isn't a 2.5mm SE headphone socket on the front. I’m unsure if I’ve looked at the correct speakers but as far as I can see they don’t accept a balanced input signal.
Dec 4, 2019
KSWDDS
8
Dec 4, 2019
bookmark_border
Correct, the 3 sockets for headphones on the front are 2 for SE and a balanced one. The powered speakers take input from my DAC through the SE pass on the THX via RCA cables. I get signal to them even with the THX off. Headphones will work depending on the input button settings; either SE or balanced, but of course, the THX has to be powered up for headphone use.
Dec 4, 2019
canonlon
4
Nov 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
amazing value for money
The THX 789 with Sennheiser HD 6XX headphones produce soundstage, imaging, detail, musicality which I tried to achieve on a speaker system that cost thousands of dollars. I would highly recommend the THX AAA headphone amp - no brainer, just buy it. The only drawback is the case - it seems a bit chintzy but it doesn't impact on the sonics and thus it really doesn't affect my enjoyment of this product.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 12, 2019
koriolan
1
Nov 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Endgame for me
The sound, build quality is superb. It's hard to imagine the better amp. Highly recommended!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 5, 2019
JJayJJ
454
Nov 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
In terms of fully analogue headphone amps, this is it.
There's nothing that needs to be said about this device that isn't already present on the specification sheet. Honest reporting verified by third party reviews. To anyone new to the hobby considering this device. If you get this, you pretty much have all you'll ever need. Three connection types. Three gain settings, a really nice and smooth volume knob, a great finish and precisely assembled, insane amounts of power (seriously if you need more than this, you should visit a doctor and perhaps be looking to get some hearing aids). The main attraction of this thing is it's unparalleled performance that once could only be had in multi thousand dollar offerings from Benchmark. Now it faces competition, but still holds its own all things considered. If you're hearing issues from your audio, you can at least rest easy this amp isn't to blame. No nonsensical colorations or additions to the signal path as found with so many products before this released. Again to the newcomers to the hobby, please try and steer clear of people using imaginative language like "analytical" or "clinical" to describe the preservation of fidelity that this amp has as it's main goal. Stays cool, looks just as good, and at a decent price, and performance beyond the threshold of human capacity to detect. Get one and you're done.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 4, 2019
SolomonDays
0
Dec 10, 2019
bookmark_border
what 4 pin xlr cable you're using?
Dec 10, 2019
JJayJJ
454
Dec 10, 2019
bookmark_border
It was a custom made cable.
Dec 10, 2019
Alpenfohn
1
Nov 4, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Phenomenal Amp
My HD650 and HE4XX just got THAT much better.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 4, 2019
Showing 30 of 813
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
813 OF 813 POSTS
Dec 11, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest