Showing 1 of 837 reviews about:
mamsterla
17
Sep 6, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic Headphone amp - meets the hype
I got this to be my "end game" amp for the foreseeable future. I also got a JDS Atom because it measures so well. Both are really good. I am using the balanced inputs and outputs of the THX AAA 789 coupled with an SMSL VMV D1. There is a lot of synergy between the two. The sound is super clear without being harsh. You can hear deep into the mix and the presentation on the THX is a bit wider and more layered than with the Atom. The Atom is no slouch - it's really quiet and it also has a lot of authority. A lot of people complain about the power switch on this unit, but I find it fine. The tiny LED lets my know it is on and I keep this on my desk, so the feel of the knob and solidity of the case are perfectly in line with its price point. If you are looking for a straight wire with gain, this is really the unit you want. It adds no flavor and reveals everything you put into it. It has great connectivity and I have tried the lower gain settings with my IEMs. My daily Focal Stellias love the balanced output. Compared to my Chord Mojo, the THX really grabs the bass and controls it. Music has more drive through this unit than either the Mojo or Atom (though the Atom feels much closer).
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 6, 2019
nick_t
215
Sep 17, 2019
bookmark_border
End game, you have never heard the Benchmark before. I guess your judgement of sound is not yet attainable once you heard a real end game THX amp
Sep 17, 2019
mamsterla
17
Sep 17, 2019
bookmark_border
I have heard of the Benchmark and it's measured performance is similar to the THX. I would be happy to compare, but there is no reason to make assumptions about someone's preferences. The 789 is a commendable amp. I have compared it with the IFI iDSD, JDS Atom, Chord Mojo, cEntrance mini and it holds it's own.
Sep 17, 2019
nick_t
215
Sep 17, 2019
bookmark_border
Either way, which one sounds better, THX 789 vs THX 888 Benchmark ?
Sep 17, 2019
mamsterla
17
Sep 17, 2019
bookmark_border
I have not heard the HPA4, but based on the stellar review here https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/review-and-measurements-of-benchmark-hpa4-headphone-amp-pre.8141/, it would certainly be worth auditioning. It is a very well engineered unit and if I get the chance I will try it out. Both units are already beyond the threshold of hearing, so the Benchmark one may only win on features and build quality.
Sep 17, 2019
nick_t
215
Sep 18, 2019
bookmark_border
Forget features and built. Just focus on the sound. How much better than the 789 ?
Sep 18, 2019
mamsterla
17
Sep 18, 2019
bookmark_border
Lend me one and I will let you know if I can even hear the difference. Not sure what you are trying to hammer home. Both are great headphone amps. I think the 789 is good enough to be end game. If you don't, that's cool. It's not a competition. I have heard enough amps to say this is the best one I have heard.
Sep 18, 2019
nick_t
215
Sep 18, 2019
bookmark_border
What is the point of lending it to you if I have one in my possession of personal listening, I would not need you. Its not a competition but probably they are due to THX tech. Probably their different target segment and marketing. Was wondering about price per performance though for $3000
Sep 18, 2019
See More Reviews