Showing 1 of 829 reviews about:
Kelvinwsy
25
Oct 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overall impression of the unit is favourable. SQ is neutral and clear
THX 789 best for low impedance HP and IEM's. My Senn HD800 was wholly unimpressive even at High Gain/High Vol. Good with Fitear TOGO, AT LP400, AT 1000Air, Verum 1, HE560, Abyss AB-1266. I upgraded the Power Supply to a custom 24V Linear DC PSU with 2.9 amp peak current capability. Sounds so much smoother and clearer sound without any hint of mid range dryness or high frequency thinness. The build quality is more than acceptable. Not the ultimate in HP amp though! My Krell KSA5 monoblocs is far superior!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Oct 7, 2019
postwarscars
1078
Oct 10, 2019
bookmark_border
I feel this is a little misleading. This amp should be driven from a balanced source to the balanced output for the most optimal use of its capability. You didn't specify here if that's what you did, but given the review it seems likely you ran in single-ended mode. That 6db of extra gain from balanced sources is really important, the single-ended power isn't super impressive on its own. Also as was noted below, high gain isn't really optimal. If you aren't getting the most out of it at gain 2 you're probably doing it wrong.
Oct 10, 2019
Kelvinwsy
25
Oct 11, 2019
bookmark_border
No I am using it with a SMSL VMS D2 DAC fully balanced to the Massdrop. Full DSD256 upsample from HQPlayer 3. So No short changing of the source. A full 4V plus output from the SMSL Dac I never meant that it cannot drive the HD800. Just lack lustre at 300Ohm for the HD800 (which actually sounds only great using a Pure Class A High Current HP Amp or better still a full Tube Pre-amp/Power Speaker Amp setup. For that I use my Audionote Quest Silver 300B Monoblocs!!
Oct 11, 2019
postwarscars
1078
Oct 11, 2019
bookmark_border
I suppose this is one of those subjective preference things, though the HD800s are super polarizing in this respect. Fair enough!
Oct 11, 2019
rastus
1245
Dec 22, 2019
bookmark_border
Did you rig something up to use headphones with your AN monoblocs, or a something done by AN?
Dec 22, 2019
Kelvinwsy
25
Dec 23, 2019
bookmark_border
AN 300b Quest Silver Monoblocs - using a Hifiman Resistor HP Adaptor Box. Check out https://store.hifiman.com/index.php/he-adapter.html. There is some sound quality degradation. Much more transparent is using a Lpad resistor so that there is only a resistor in Parallel and not in series with the Sound playback direct circuit. See Robinette's 10 ohm in parallel LPad idea - 2nd page or so - link is https://robrobinette.com/HeadphoneResistorNetworkCalculator.htm Somehow the AN 300b goes into speaker protection mode - so damage But also No sound. Lpad works wonderful with my Krell Clone Hp amps (I use 1 pair - 1 channel on each so true Monoblocs with individual channel volume/balance control https://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale?catId=0&initiative_id=SB_20191222163023&SearchText=krell+ksa5 Works well on my Audiopax Stereo 88 KT88 tube power amp too. http://www.soundstagenetwork.com/revequip/audiopax_stereo_88.htm
Dec 23, 2019
970EVO
11
May 19, 2020
bookmark_border
which PSU do you recommend?
May 19, 2020
Kelvinwsy
25
May 20, 2020
bookmark_border
I got it from Aliexpress... 70Watt 24V DC LPSU - peak current 2.9amp - Drives the THX789 total silence, smooth top and great sound quality. Abouit 75USD shipped .. Great value. And I am not saying this is TOTL - THX789AAA is not really the Top HP Amp Money can buy so, this PSU matches the THX Amp! Make sure that you select a vendor who let you specify the Transformer Rating Choice. The one I found allowed for 70watt or 80 watt size. 70watt gives 2.9amp peak rating. So I chose that! Picture enclosed is something similar.
search
 !
May 20, 2020
rastus
1245
May 20, 2020
bookmark_border
May 20, 2020
See More Reviews