Drop + THX AAA™ 789 Linear Amplifier
Drop + THX AAA™ 789 Linear Amplifier
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
5.2k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Product Description
Announced at CES 2018, the Drop + THX Achromatic Audio Amplifier (THX AAA™) 789 is a linear bipolar amplifier with feed-forward error correction. It’s designed for objectivists who appreciate an incredibly clean, transparent amp—the sought-after “wire with gain” whose amplification is wholly uncolored by a sound of its own Read More
4.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
154 Reviews
Here's what our community has to say
search
DamienR
92
Sep 14, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I held off posting this for a day. I originally didn't like the sound. Now a day later that's changed partly because i found a reason (USB cable), but also because the more I use it the better it gets. If I was to explain the sound in one word i'd probably pick "sparkle" over clean, Just because of how nicely it does the highs. The power button isn't nearly as much of an issue as people make out, but no argument it could be better. Pairs well with my HD800s. My HD800 is more picky: sometimes loves it, sometimes gives me cancer. NZ buyers just get a "Dynamix Figure 8 power plug" & you are good to go. Gaming: Footsteps are good, some gun shots do sound lighter than what i'm used to, but overall its overkill.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 14, 2019
DamienR
92
Sep 14, 2019
bookmark_border
Just in case someone is dumb enough to ask how a USB cable connects to the AMP, Its the SMSL SU-8 Dac USB cable, monitor cut into it when i moved it to put the Dac/Amp together by the PC. Also when i said " sound lighter" i meant "sound softer".
(Edited)
Sep 14, 2019
Xombul
4
Sep 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My last headphones amp.
The sound clarity is amazing especially with planar headphones for the bass register. I really advise using the balanced output for a better result. Compared to a DX3 pro, the improvement in sound quality is very subbtle though with conventional headphones, but noticeable with planar ones.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 13, 2019
iMax2000
10
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wicked sound and worth it
Finally arrived this week and well worth the wait. Worth the extra import duty :o( in the UK as the sounds makes up for it. Hopefully a good trade deal with the US (net of Brexit) will remove some of that pain in the future. The Y**** last mile delivery mechanism had me worried but it arrived and without damage #relieved. Thanks Massdrop/Drop. #deadchuffed
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 12, 2019
iMax2000
10
Sep 13, 2019
bookmark_border
Here is the breakdown I was provided..... Customs Entry £ 8.50
Import Duty £ 9.02
Import VAT £ 68.85
Total £ 86.37
Sep 13, 2019
Cholnhaym
0
Sep 13, 2019
bookmark_border
Cool! Thank you very much. Hope you enjoy your new toy. Haha!
Sep 13, 2019
GoldenLunchBox
28
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Once you go THX you never go back!
I gotta say, this is the best amp I've ever owned. This amp is simply amazing, I'm going to break my review down into three parts; 1.) Build quality 2.) Sound Quality 3.) Power (hot topic) 4.) How it compares in compare to other amps. The build quality on this is good, not amazing just a solid good. The metal casing feels solid and the buttons are mostly great, apart from the power button which has a bit too much play for my liking. Otherwise all good. The sound quality on this is the highlight, it's clean without sounding clinical. If I had to describe the sound in as few words as possible, I would say : Clean, crisp, detailed while still having plenty of power for the low end. Now onto power, this thing has got power, loads of it, do NOT be fooled by the misconceptions. Although they claim this amp doesn't have a break in period, it does, around 50 hours I would say. Once you've run it in, I would recommend using the balanced output (for max power). I used a pair of Beyerdynamic T1s (600 ohm) with a balanced cable and 96Khz + 24 bit music and with the gain on max and never had to turn the volume above %60. DO NOT be put off by the idea of turning up the gain, this thin is SO clean that it doesn't really affect the sound quality. How does this compare to other amps in it's price point like the JDS atom or the Schitt Lyr. It blows them out the water. The atom can't compete on power or sound quality, it simply couldn't power my Beyers and when pushed hard distorted like crazy. Although the Schitt Lyr could compete on power (even better in some cases), it simply wasn't a match in sound quality. Although the Lyr has power, gain increases almost exponentially as you turn up the volume magnifying all the noise and crap, it also wasn't nearly as clean or detailed as the THX. If you think that balanced cables might solve the Lyr's issue, think again, it doesn't even accept balanced, whereas the THX does (bonus)! My system Hi-Res 96 KHz + 24 bit ---> CHORD Dave balanced DAC ---> THX ---> Beyerdynamic T1s
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 12, 2019
Oxygen
47
Sep 13, 2019
bookmark_border
Sep 13, 2019
Don480
0
Sep 14, 2019
bookmark_border
I too am curious to know how the Dave’s headphone output compares to the THX? Also, did you ever own or try the Simaudio Moon 430HAD? Noticed a lot of people who owns the 430HAD upgraded to the Dave. I used to own several 430HAD, best headphone amp I’ve owned. Never tried the Dave. But am curious how the THX compares to the 430HAD?
Sep 14, 2019
nrozzyos
14
Sep 11, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent with Focal Elex
EDIT: After several days of listening the amp now pops uncontrollably. Fully balanced setup pops, SE pops, I'm extremely disappointed. When the amp is working as intended my below review is accurate. However, after less than 100 hours of use, these issues are inexcusable. This was an upgrade from the CTH. There is no comparison. The 789 produces a clean, uncolored sound that is truly revealing. Your source will be extremely important as bad recordings will have noticeable distortion and irregularities. At first the amp sounds thin, almost veiled, but a closer listen will show that it reduces the noise floor considerably allowing the listener to hear the finer details of whatever they are listening to. Running fully balanced is the way to go for me because there is a ground loop in my system. Running off the balanced output reduces the noise floor considerably compared to the SE output. I highly recommend this amp if you have the source material for it. If you have a collection of poor quality recordings, this amp is not for you.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Sep 11, 2019
Gorkhali
3
Sep 9, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Plenty of Clean Power
There is nothing I dislike about this amp. A perfect match for my HD-650. Love it!!!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 9, 2019
themarquis85
4
Sep 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent clean sound with plenty of power
I've had my THX AAA 789 for quite a while now and I couldn't be more pleased. I was initially worried that such a clean-measuring solid-state amplifier would produce an overly bright, brittle sound, but the THX is simply marvelous -- plenty of bass, rich mids, sparkly highs. It was a significant upgrade in clarity from the hybrid tube amplifier I was using previously, with a perfectly black background, crisp detail, and a wide and deep headstage with pinpoint accuracy. I started using the single-ended output, which had plenty of power for my HD650 and HD800S headphones, but I also have a pair of power-hungry ZMF Ori planar headphones that, while they did get appropriately loud, required the highest gain and still seemed to lack that last bit of oomph. I have since gotten balanced XLR cables for all of my headphones and have power to spare, even on the second gain setting. If you want clean and accurate sound and an amplifier capable of powering almost any headphone you can throw at it, the THX AAA 789 is hard to beat for value and performance.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 8, 2019
Eli38
39
Sep 8, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The best ever!
I’m in love with this preamp!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 8, 2019
Nmele1227
1
Sep 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very Good Headphone Amp
Much better than anything I’ve ever used before. Sounds great with my HD6XX
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 7, 2019
i36allah
33
Sep 7, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Cleaner and it can go deep to low frequency and great separation
cleaner sound with THX 789 paired with my NFB-11.28 as fixed DAC ( you need to open the unit and push the jumper to the right ) then the amp in my NFB-11.28. what i notice right away as i A/B NFB+THX789 vs NFB alone is the sound cleaner and bass goes deep low and Soundstage a liiiiitle bit wider BTW i test this amp as SE only because i don't have balance cable for my LCD-X i heard that THX 789 Balance is better. to change the jumper read manual in Audio-gd here : http://www.audio-gd.com/Pro/Headphoneamp/NFN1128/NFB1128EN_Use.htm #update you need to look here before buying the 789 https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/monoprice-monolith-thx-887-balance-headphone-amp-new-champ.8942/&utm_source=share&utm_medium=ios_app
(Edited)
Sep 7, 2019
prestidigitator
76
Sep 11, 2019
bookmark_border
OMG buy or make yourself a balanced cable for your Audeze! There’s a reason the LCD-4 only ships with a balanced cable.
Sep 11, 2019
Showing 20 of 650
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
650 OF 650 POSTS
Sep 17, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest