shopping_cart
E-MU Wood Series Headphones

E-MU Wood Series Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
470 requests
218 Sold
Product Description
From E-MU’s Wood Series, these headphones feature full-size circumaural enclosures handcrafted from your choice of bamboo or teak. And now, they’re available with a 1.5-meter cable—something fans of the Fostex TH and Denon D Series have been wanting for a while Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
22
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Jakob
351
Jul 31, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I get the hype. Best closed back I've heard.
OK, just gonna say it, I have the 177x and prefer this easily. I just think it has better overall sound in every category outside of isolation and fit these fit very lightly clamping wise but I've a smallish dome. Mine are the cheaper bamboo and I have no interest in trying anything else for sound improvements, I'm very happy. I like bass, border line basshead(this has changed with the introduction to higher end products enlightening me to hearing everything). These have near faultless bass. It goes very low, has awesome impact and rumble without bleeding into mids or being boomy. Mids sound very good, nothing to really say here, they're maybe a bit lower in the mix as these are V shaped sounding but not horribly so imo. The highs are sparkly without ever being harsh which is important to me. I cannot handle harsh highs. Sound stage and imaging is definitely above average for closed, it's surprising. These are musical, fun headphones for enjoying music or movies not some anemic critical listening flat as a pancake accurate audiophile approved but I think even stodgy fidelity freaks would enjoy these because they do everything great while adding excitement to anything you listen to. Oh, forgot, I upgraded the pads. Stock pads are similar to German Maestro, low profile, with a smallish oval hole. I bought some leather Dekoni that are angled thickness wise. Build looks high quality being mostly metal and bamboo of course. Classic Fostex oem design. Probably not the best for on the go use considering the less than closed aspect as well as the less than robust cup pivots(this is why I still have the 177x, for outdoors use on the go.) I would highly recommend this for the money it's probably the best headphone on the market period.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
spronk
168
Mar 10, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really, really nice.
Overall I think I want to give these 4.5 stars and not 5, but on balance they're probably closer to 5 than 4. They are an excellent sounding headphone with a very easy listening sound profile. They look really nice, they feel high quality. The pros?
  • Super smooth liquid sound. Really non-fatiguing, but still has a lot of detail, and a lot of space.
  • Mids are really nice, bass is strong but not overpowering, and treble has a little sparkle, but not a lot.
  • These will play at reasonable levels straight out of a portable device (benefit from a decent amp though)
  • Stock earpads are surprisingly comfortable
  • Build quality seems very good. All the parts are well machined and well finished.
  • The teak is very beautiful, but I'm guessing most won't be quite as stunning as the pictures.
The cons?
  • The cable isn't very good. It's just a bit too thick and springy. The detachable cable option on these Foster-based cans is a bit ugly, so I might end up modding mine to accept 3.5mm or something, or Sennheiser-compatible 2-pin.
  • Headband could use more padding
  • There is a bit of clickety-clackety going on when you move the headphones around.
  • The teak is very beautiful, but I'm guessing most won't be quite as stunning as the pictures. :P
  • They are quite expensive, even for what you get, when compared to say, Sennheiser. I guess you're paying for the artwork of the wood to some extent.
I previously had a pair of Meze 99s that I bought locally second hand, as well as ATH-M50s. Both of them are now gone, and I'm using my Teaks at home as a closed back can when I need them (next to my HD650, HD600, and HE-4XX), and the E-Mu Purplehearts as my portable can.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
asamer
3
Feb 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Needs more clamp
First off I want to say the sound is superb and the look is equal to the sound. Almost weird to even mention it but the clamp on these headphones is non-existent. I get not wanting pressure, but I've already had a case where a sneeze sent these flying off my head. Just a little more clamp in my opinion would make these flawless for closebacks.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Voodue
10
Jan 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Comfy, wide soundstage, is this v shaped? relaxing.
Poor imaging, but good sound stage, and wonderful frequency response. My go to for just listening to music or enjoying shows. or movies. These are easy to drive and so far well made, though the cups don't respond well to being knocked by a metal headphone amp body.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
CCD1
40
Dec 30, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very Good Headphone at a Good Price
A little background. I have two other headphones for listening at home. The first is the Sennheiser 6XX with the iFi Zen DAC and amp (fully balanced) and the Koss ESP9X electrostatic headphones. The 6XX is by far the most dynamic headphone I own, especially with the iFi equipment which makes substantially more dynamic. It still lacks the detail and the soundstage that the Koss has. The Koss has great detail and broad soundstage, but it lacks bass range and dynamic slam. The 6XX really exposes that the lack of dynamics in the Koss. The Emu wood series is a very nice balance between the two. It is dynamic, just not as dynamic as the 6XX, but it has better detail and a broader soundstage. Is the soundstage broader than the Koss? No. Same level of detail as the Koss? Not within the Koss’ range. The Koss really excels in the mid-range IMHO. The problem is that its limitations in the bass region conspire to make its presentation unbalanced. The Emu is just more balanced than either of my other headphones and is the better overall headphone. These are musical headphones, not monitors that are going to highlight every flaw of the music. If you want a balanced musical headphone, I can highly recommend these cans. Are they my end game headphones? Probably not. My guess is that would be a Stax electrostatic as I like the airiness and detail of electrostatics. I just need an electrostatic with better bass range. But getting a decent pair of Stax headphones or a better energizer to get everything out of the Koss would cost double that of the Emu (or more). At its price point, I personally have not heard a better all around headphone.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
vken27
35
Nov 29, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great Headphone for the Bass head in all of us.
I have to had it modded with a detachable 3.5mm jack. I like to use it best with my Phatlab Phantasy 2 amp on balanced.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
beardymcbeardface
9
Oct 10, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best headphones I have ever had
They make my other headphones sound bad. They have a surprising soundstage for closed back headphones, plenty of details in the highs and bass that sounds creamy, deliciously creamy :) I think I have finally found the sound signature that I like.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
DenonFanboy
803
Oct 4, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Outstanding!
Really is the best out of all the fostex variations, love it!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Shlushii
11
Oct 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
They really add a nice contrast to my hd600's. Warm and bassy, while being closed and comfortable. I like em
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TheRequiem
209
Aug 27, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Deep heavy bass
These things HIT, if you like bass heavy sound signature - these are perfect for you.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 10 of 74
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
74 OF 74 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
In general I agree, with brands that's definitely the case. I know with this OEM model the teaks are based off of that a cable swap is actually pretty simple. It also wouldn't cost that much to send it to e-mu to do that, probably a similar cost to buying the detachable version, plus 30 dollar shipping (that's what it cost when I bought ear pads from them). The problem with this model is that the detachable cable version didn't use as reliable of connectors as the drop fostex versions. Whereas the attached cable version actually is soldered and connected in a much more secure way inside the cup. There's pictures floating around to see, basically the cable is tied in a knot above the hole it enters in. So if you accidentally yank the cable it won't put any force on the more delicate soldered end. While the detachable version doesn't have this knot, but of course it just detaches instead. So durability is definitely considered in the design, it's like that with all the fostex variants actually. My old Denon d5000, which I bought used in 2012, took 8 years of heavy cable abuse before the sheathing started to tear open and eventually caused the wire to break. But that's from constantly wrapping and unwrapping the 10ft cable almost daily, and from air travel, or car travel being stuffed into a backpack padded area. Detachable is still better, but unless you're going to be very rough with this cable, it really won't break on you. Plus the Denon version had a thinner and more flexible cable, making it more prone to break like that. The e-mu teal cable is thicker and more rigid, most likely to address that exact failure point. It would be harder to bend this one like you could the Denon one. But the detachable option of the teaks exist anyways. You just email e-mu and they'll sell you one for about 50 dollars more than the attached version, plus shipping (around 30 bucks, even though it's coming out of Singapore). So if you really love the sound and design, and want the detachable cable, it's still available as an option. With the attached cable version doing a very good job at preventing any cable damage or wear over time. If the cable breaks at all, it's a minimum of like 8-10 years of rough usage. By then I can easily justify the repair cost versus buying a whole other expensive headphone. If you don't handle the cable roughly, then there's no reason it should break, based on its design. Speaking from long term personal experience.