E-MU Wood Series Headphones
$400
$500

E-MU Wood Series Headphones

bookmark_border
$400
$500
Wooden Cups:
392 Sold
·
Ready to Ship
Frequently bought together:
add
ADV. Headphone Hanger
add
Audioengine A2+ Bluetooth Speakers With DAC
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.7
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
40
check
94%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These E-Mu's are a noticeable upgrade from my Audio-Technica ATH-M50x
I'm not (yet) an audiophile and lack the vocabulary to describe these in fancy terms. I'm sure, like most things, there'll be a point of diminishing returns with gear and cost. Going from < $200 headphones to these $400-500 ones is definitely an improvement. Would going from $500 to $1000 headphones be a worthwhile improvement? I don't know. After buying these headphones, I now want to make some speaker upgrades and am happy with these E-mus. Stupid, expensive hobbies.
  1. They sound noticeably better than the headphone they're replacing, Audio-Technica ath-m50x.
  2. Music is much fuller, immersive, clear. There's more stuff to hear in the audio, it seems.
  3. They're not as tight and sit more comfortable than the ath-m50x, especially around the ears.
  4. Worth it.

search


check
Would recommend to a friend.
Er1ckOh
23
Jun 5, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Curb your bass expectations
Don't get me wrong, the bass response is solid throughout. If you read the reviews they make it seem like the bass is god like. I read a ton of reviews and it left me with unobtainable expectations. For the first week or so I was extremely disappointed as I was expecting some crazy hard hitting bass. I did immediately EQ'd with the autoEQ recommended curve and the results were significantly better. I did boost the bass a little over the recommendations. I listened to them for about 2 hours per day for about a week and was underwhelmed. However, once I went back to my hd8xx's I realized that I was taking the teaks bass response for granted. They don't have an overwhelming heavy punch but they do have a very clean analytical bass. I bought them strictly for listening to bass heavy music.... IE hip hop, house, dubstep...etc. treble and detail are not exemplary but for closed back headphones I would say it's about as good as you can get with a sub $500 pair of cans. If you are thinking about buying these your first upgrade from the $150-$250 range than I would recommend going with the sundaras for an all around headphone but if you have some higher quality headphones already and are just looking for bassy headphone than I'd pick these up. Just don't expect a crazy heavy hitting bass but instead enjoy the cleanliness. These are not daily drivers. They are good at one thing. Clean, crisp, not overpowering bass.
search
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
dexxt
0
May 13, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Best sound I've ever heard
Headphones I own: Senn HD58X Jubilee, Denon AH-D5200, Beyer DT880&990(600ohm), DT770(80ohm), Fidelio X2HR, Audio-Technica M50x, Senn HD25-1-II (and a few more). Used to own the Denon AH-D2000 and Senn HD650. ...and now I own the Teaks. And they sound the best out of all the headphones I now own or used to own. A very nice "liquid" sound. Tons of bass that reaches very deep and is punchy as hell. Natural warmish mids. Smooth, slightly laid-back but still detailed treble that sounds very natural and lacks any sort of distortion or un-naturalness. Generally the sound is very dynamic and slightly on the darker side due to the high amount of bass. I like them very, very much. Excellent comfort. And they look beautiful. Love them!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Roger2
37
Apr 27, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Useless adaptor
While the headphone sounds fine with the small plug the adaptor provided doesn’t work so I couldn’t listen through 1/4 inch sockets
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Roger2
37
May 24, 2022
How would you describe yourself wasting time making insulting remarks ?
Er1ckOh
23
Jun 5, 2022
Did you call drop? I'm sure they would be happy to replace the adapter at no cost. Occasional defects are to be expected with modern mass manufacturing but I agree the review should be based on the sound quality and build of the actual headphones not the $2 adapter that could be easily replaced.
Telospathic
3
Apr 14, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Cheap. Abysmal build quality, poor tolerancing, plasticy. Very... Chinese.
First of all, the audio quality is acceptable. I gave two stars purely based on this alone. If all you're after is sound quality, I refer you to some of the more detailed reviews predating this one. I couldn't tell you any way in which these sparkle in the sound arena, but they are pretty well-balanced. Now that we have this out of the way... The real reason I despise the loss of my $450 (I got the teak cups) is because I feel like I was sent $200 headphones and paid $250 extra for shipping. The packaging is awful (my $30 air freshener had nicer packaging). They're cheap, the wires aren't removable, and I feel like $80 at a China street market would get me something very close to this. Sadly, I didn't notice that these are not covered by the Massdrop return policy, and cannot be returned. Probably the last big purchase I will make on this site, since this seems to be the trend lately. Specifics: -The frames are plastic. Painted plastic. Bose makes better feeling plastic headphones, and I didn't come here to buy Bose headphones. -The muffs don't attach well. The frames are thin plastic, and have very small detention features for the muff hooks. The plastic in the muffs is also pretty thin, causing them to seal poorly to the inner foam gasket. Cheap. -There's a nice big gap between the wood and the plastic frame. -The wires aren't removable, which is a pity since the wire is not very premium. Thick insulation hiding small wire, with a cloth braid on the outside that's already starting to fray (I've had them for about a week now). -Sharp edges on the cheap aluminum 3.5mm plug show a lack of care in the machining process and design; classic watermark for Chinese lack of attention to detail (focus on function over form). -Very thin vinyl leather for the muffs and, more importantly, the headband. I don't expect it to last long before coming apart or losing its coating. -The cable insulation makes it very reluctant to bend and twist, so it gets in my way all the time. Wish I could replace it. -I know this may seem silly, but... I began my disenchantment with the unboxing experience. Packaging matters. A $450 set of headphones should come in something better than bubble wrap (I'm not even joking here; they really came in a bubble wrap baggie). No case, no cloth bag, and the thinnest cardboard you could find for the box, with quality control and serial number stickers glaring at you on the front. I hate to swear again, but Bose does better with the $350 QC lineup. Would it really have been that difficult to find some money for a soft cloth bag somewhere in the extra $350-400 of profit margin here? Maybe a box with some sort of molded insert that the cans fit over? Anything? Bueller? Bueller? -Poor sealing between the sound chamber and the outside world. If you use your finger to lightly snap as you circle the cans, you can pick out noticeable audio leaks that aren't consistent between the right and left sides (another indication of poor build quality). I'll stop here. I have some significant buyer's remorse, and would have been much happier dropping my money on some K712 Pro's. I feel like the sound stage gets far more of the cost, and you already expect plastic cans in that case. The focus is on the driver. These E-MU just... really don't compare to the Denon's they conflated them with in the description. These smell of greed, straying so far from the legacy of quality that wood cans have, for decades, built and upheld. As most reviews focus on sound quality, I think manufacturers are realizing that the average audiophile these days cares less and less about the fit-and-finish. A millennial myself, however, I can tell you that build quality still matters (and it plays a major role in proper sound reproduction, after all).
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
sanhnguyen97
0
May 3, 2022
Really? This headphones can not be returned? I really hate the cable and want to return it asap.
(Edited)
Telospathic
3
May 7, 2022
No returns, and Drop support is very poor on this. The fine print says you have a couple of hours to cancel an order, but otherwise all sales are final. Agreed on the terrible cable quality.
turboladen
6
Apr 11, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Big shift from open-backs, but oh so nice
My main cans for 10 years now have been AKG K702s. I got those because I wanted an open-back, flat/neutral sound, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed them over the years. While I expected it, at first listen the E-MUs were still a bit surprising at how bass-heavy they were; after my first listening session, though, they all just felt right. They stopped sounding so low-end heavy, and just sounded good. I mean really good. Thoroughly happy with the sound, plus the wood aesthetic is just gorgeous.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
habitus
1
Mar 10, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Light headphones, Good Bass, altho closed headphones get a bit warm
I have the focals alongside these, these are more fun to listen to, great for those who the oomph in the bass.. doesnt disappoint. this is like a fun night own, the focals are a bit more like a prim and proper s class lol
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mrudy
19
Mar 22, 2022
Man, I thought I wrote the review and forgot! Exactly the same equipment and opinion..........we said sir.
0n0ff
1
Jan 30, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice HEADPHONES!
Great sound and fit on the head. Performance quality!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Berry.Narvz
40
Jan 19, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good pair of HP
looks good with the wood finish. sound sig is slightly V shape. Bass extension is very good but slightly lacking on mids.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Lordecu
7
Jan 18, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Clean and immersive sound - but my headphones came with damaged ear cups
sound is great, no compliance there, also the product feels really premium but the ear cups came out damaged
search
search
invertd
13
Jul 21, 2022
Looks like the ear pads not the cups. Easy fix
Showing 19 of 104
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
104 OF 104 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest