Showing 1 of 21 reviews about:
Onaha
31
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really great headphones
I experienced some serious buyers remorse after my drop ended and I waited for shipment notification. I already owned several pairs of closed-back headphones, and hadn't spent enough time with some of them. The cable wasn't removable, and shorter than I'd prefer. I already owned Fostex Ebonies, and I expected these to be similar, if not exact. But these rarely show up for sale here, and I had read so many great reviews that I pulled the trigger and then spent a few weeks questioning my decision. I'm very happy to say I have no regrets about the purchase. These are just great headphones. I will let others with more refined ears go into further detail than I can, but these have a sound signature that just works for me. I'm not opposed to EQ, but I prefer to not use it if I don't have to. Some may feel these need some tweaks, but I don't. Bass, mids, and highs are all clear, yet different from the Fostex they most resemble outwardly. While I would guess these would also be considered a "fun" sound signature like the TR-X00 Ebony, they don't overly emphasize the bass, and the highs seem a little more balanced to my ear. I don't find myself searching for bass heavy tracks in my library like I do with the Ebonies. I just hit shuffle and let it go. They seem lighter yet sturdier to me than the Fostex do, and I find the pads to be more comfortable. The wire is more what I would like for portable than desktop, but my desktop setup is fairly close, so the short length is not a major issue for me. I can see the cable being too short for others though. One of the recurring issues I saw on a previous drop was with the housing of the detachable cable, so I imagine they changed the connection to remedy those complaints. I have zero issues with the new fixed connection, and if this change will result in more durability I am all for it. While I'd love to run them balanced, they really do sound great the way they are. I went with the Teak upgrade, only because all the positive reviews specifically praised the sound the teak ear cups gave off and I couldn't find any reviews of the bamboo cups. I can't speak for how the bamboo sounds, but the teak is worth the extra money in my opinion because they just sound great. If you've considered these before, or are on the fence, I think you will like these a lot. They are not the best headphones I own (Focal Clears are my current leaders), but they may be my favorite closed back for enjoying music. I own the Fostex Ebony, Audeze LCDX-C, Beyedynamic DT770 250ohm, Meze Noirs, and Mr Speakers Ether CX, and I reach for these more than any other closed back on my shelf. For $400 w/ the upgrade to teak, they are still cheaper than most of those, and less than half the price of 2 of them. I think it's a great value for the sound they deliver, and you should buy with confidence.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sep 12, 2019
Preface
12
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
Completely agree with your review, couldn't write it better. Non detachable cable is really not a problem, do not understand why it is red light for many. As well I have them with Teak cups and ordered Rosewood for more visual and audio experience. The only thing I would wish- to have a choice between glossy or matte finish of cups.
Sep 12, 2019
Onaha
31
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
Those Rosewood cups look really nice in photos. How do they change the sound?
Sep 12, 2019
Preface
12
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
They still in transit. I will post my impressions when they come.
Sep 12, 2019
Barce
5
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
Great review! I pulled the trigger on them yesterday and have been dealing with the exact type of conflicting feelings you relate in your first paragraph (also opted for Teak for the same reason). In this very comment section mention has been made of the frequency of janky, ill-fitting detachable jacks on previous versions - I've already visualized how depressing it would be if you got a pair that rattled with microphonics during its own biocellulose bass slams, and that makes getting a hardwired pair ironically reassuring. I appreciate that you concede that your Clears are better (they damn well should be for x2.5+ the price), but mentioning that you often choose E-MU Teaks over your own LCD-XC and Ether CX is a massive vote of confidence!
(Edited)
Sep 12, 2019
Onaha
31
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
I'm sure both the Ether CX and the LCDX-C are both technically more capable headphones, but at their price range I am going to be more critical. I love the Ethers. Super comfortable, but it's more of an analytical sound than the E-MUs. They are most likely my 2nd most used closed back. The LCDX-C I kind of regret. They look beautiful, but they weigh just way too much, and I have to EQ to get them sounding the way I like them. That's why I like these so much-comfort, value, and out of the box sound are pretty impossible to beat at this price out of everything I've heard
Sep 12, 2019
Mohannad13
90
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
Do anyone compared it with the modhouse argons ? Does it deserve the additional 50 bucks for the teak or should I just go with the bamboo and save 50 bucks ?
Sep 12, 2019
Barce
5
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
I own an Argon Mk3, I want to try these even though they may have sound signature overlap because I love a fun, punchy dynamic presentation most, and I haven't owned any biocellulose cans before.
Sep 12, 2019
Onaha
31
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
My Argons are on order so I can't compare directly, but from what I know I expect the Argons to be more bass heavy with a wider sound stage. I haven't heard the bamboo, and all the reviews I had read recommended and praised the sound from the teak
Sep 12, 2019
Mohannad13
90
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
many thanks please can you just tell me the difference between the teak and the argons when you get them ?
Sep 12, 2019
Onaha
31
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
I think I still have about 2 months left before I get the Argons, but I will update if I remember to
Sep 12, 2019
Mohannad13
90
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
it would be highly appreciated
Sep 12, 2019
phosfiend
852
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
Fit question for you. I have a pair of dt770’s that fit at their largest setting - since you own both, would say these are bigger or smaller? The Meze’s for comparison were too small many thanks 🙏
Sep 12, 2019
Onaha
31
Sep 13, 2019
bookmark_border
It's tough to say speaking for someone else. I agree that the Noirs are almost on-ear. They are that way for me too. The pads with the E-Mus are D shaped and similar to the Fostex TH-X00 pads. My ears fit fine in the recession, but I have seen others mention a tight fit. The DT770 pads are circular with a large opening that I can't imagine anyone having fit issues with, but I have seen people say similar pads ruin the sound on Fostex and Denons, and I would imagine that would be the case with the E-Mus as well.
Sep 13, 2019
phosfiend
852
Sep 13, 2019
bookmark_border
Rad thanks 🙏 my issue is more with headband than cup size though. The Meze’s just wouldn’t fit on my head at the largest setting (the cups sat too high). My DT770’s ‘fit’ at the largest setting. My shure 840’s are just a pinch too small (though they do what they do well)
Sep 13, 2019
Preface
12
Sep 24, 2019
bookmark_border
Rosewood cups came. They looks really beautiful - like cupboard of my grand-grandmother :). Much more like them than Teak, visually. The sound is obviously changed, I feel that it become more V-shaped. I found some recordings had more treble than comfortable (for me). Teak is really more balanced, but I am going to keep Rosewood.
Sep 24, 2019
Onaha
31
Sep 25, 2019
bookmark_border
Thank you for the follow up reply. I knew I had read that they changed the sound, but I couldn't remember how. How easy was it to change the cups? It looks like they just pop right off, but I don't want to apply too much pressure if I'm wrong. I don't plan to make any changes now, but if it wasn't too bad I may consider it down the road. I do think the Rosewood looks best
Sep 25, 2019
Preface
12
Sep 25, 2019
bookmark_border
It is quite easy, but in different way than you thought. You need to unscrew 4 little screws that hold cups in headband yoke. After that driver and wooden cup is in your hand, then you need to unscrew another 4 screws that come directly to wood. After that wooden cup is pulled out easily. Screw in wood is my main concern not to do it very often. Even weekly change would be too dangerous for wood as I think. I considered to have as well Ebony (or Palo Santo or Zebrano), but now it seems that for safety of wood I will have to buy another pair of Teak headphones for that. It looks like stupid thing - they are not cheap, especially to buy directly from Chan, and sound will not be completely different. Another option could be to buy Fostex TR-x00 - at least they could be run balanced. So I have not decided yet.
Sep 25, 2019
Hyde
911
Oct 21, 2019
bookmark_border
You can actually e-mail Chan directly and buy ONLY the cups, I've bought all my cups this way. Teak is the only cup that you can only get it with the headphone. Rosewood sound quite nice but some tracks will sound too bassy due to uneven signature. But it does look amazing. That being said, I wrote a sorta Bamboo review for those that are interested. https://drop.com/buy/emu-wood-series-headphones/talk/2523180
Oct 21, 2019
mensrea
124
Nov 11, 2019
bookmark_border
I have the Argons. Do not have the Emus but have the Ebonys. There are significant differences between the Argons and Ebony’s, so I would be surprised if the Emus sound anything like the Argons. The Argons are unique. The closest comparison would be the AQ Nighthawks, deep, smooth low end that goes on forever, low key highs (veiled, but not unresolving, if that makes sense), headspace to outerspace, the opposite of bright. DARK. FYI, Argons require power like nothing else I know of - I have to drive it with the Emotiva A-100 with the jumpers off, that’s 50w per channel straight into the phones. I suspect the emus will have no veil, brighter (though not necessarily bright), offer a tamed, but still north of neutral signature closer to the X00 Mahogany. My suggestion is to read the reviews and impressions on the Mahogany’s and see if that’s something you might enjoy. My 2 cents. Best of luck.
(Edited)
Nov 11, 2019
Barce
5
Nov 11, 2019
bookmark_border
I got my E-MU Teaks a few days ago, and I also own Argon Mk3s. From the relatively limited A-B I've put them through so far, your hunch is surprisingly on the money. Teaks sound much more forward in mids/treble than Argons, and the treble is allowed to flex much more so that you'd never describe them as 'dark'. They're also ludicrously easy to drive, which surprised me. Is the difference between these and the X00 trio anything more than the cups and cables?
(Edited)
Nov 11, 2019
mensrea
124
Nov 11, 2019
bookmark_border
Good question. I’m not a modder so haven’t opened up any of the cans to see for myself. I know they all share aspects of fostex dna, but that’s not saying much since implementation can result in different signatures (sometimes radically so - I mean the Argons are unrecognizable except for certain superficialities). Given the incremental differences in sound between any of the x00 and the emus (well, perhaps excepting the PHs since they’re the black sheep of the family and the differences there are more significant), your guess may be mostly right? I say “mostly” because obviously other things like finish, some design elements and materials are also different. edit: I mean, there are raging debates on a number of the x00 forums on whether cups can make that much of a sound difference, so...
(Edited)
Nov 11, 2019
Barce
5
Nov 12, 2019
bookmark_border
Fair point, that's why I don't assume it's true myself. I'm loving the Teaks so far, they've dominated my listening time since arrival. The only thing I don't adore about them other than the heavy, undetachable cable (it's not as bad as I had braced myself for) are the fact that the earspace on the sheepskin pads is smaller than I'd like, so the comfort isn't absolute. Really great pads otherwise though, I can tell they're a big part of this awesome sound signature. They're supremely fun cans in a different way than Argons are. I'm very pleased.
Nov 12, 2019
Jakob
345
Mar 8, 2020
bookmark_border
Do you ever experience clipping with your Focals? My Elex clip when listening to powerful bass tracks like Hans Zimmer soundtracks or EDM at Admittedly loud volumes. I really like my Elex, they are easy the best I have but the clipping is a known issue with their driver design and a disappointing weakness in an otherwise great headphone. This is why I love my Emu, they provide thunderous bass with zero distortion.
Mar 8, 2020
See More Reviews