shopping_cart
Showing 1 of 25 reviews about:
zep483
657
Sep 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing Value/Great sound!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Sep 5, 2019
Mohannad13
93
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
Is their a noticeable difference in sound between the TEAK and the BAMBOO ?
Sep 12, 2019
zep483
657
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
Idk I was too much of a cheapskate to get both, and too scared not to get the teak... my understanding is that bamboo is different according the the producer of these...
(Edited)
Sep 12, 2019
Mohannad13
93
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
so he didn't describe the difference between the two ? but in any way i prefer to go with on safer side
Sep 12, 2019
zep483
657
Sep 12, 2019
bookmark_border
There is a comment somewhere in the discussion where he talks about the differences... i don't remember what they were exactly, sorry. If i ever get a hold of the bamboo cups I'll let you know my thoughts... i was too cheap to buy them both.
Sep 12, 2019
Mohannad13
93
Sep 14, 2019
bookmark_border
Many thanks for your help
Sep 14, 2019
zep483
657
Sep 14, 2019
bookmark_border
Anytime!
Sep 14, 2019
derek77
3
Sep 23, 2019
bookmark_border
How do these compare to ZMF Aeolus/Auteur?
Sep 23, 2019
zep483
657
Sep 23, 2019
bookmark_border
They're better imho. Aeolous is more intense and intimate than these are... less relaxed... teak has better detail imo. Aelous is more aggressive and lively. Auteur is boring... people say neutral, but i didn't find it neutral... just boring. Teak has more of a noticeable mids dip though... so you have to be ok with that... it is done well though. Now, that I have Teaks I wouldn't waste my money on ZMF unless I wanted Verite.
(Edited)
Sep 23, 2019
Hyde
923
Oct 21, 2019
bookmark_border
I would say Bamboo do sound closest to Teak compare to any other wood cups, but there is still a noticeable difference. Obviously preference is at play here but I actually like Bamboo over Teak. So your mileage may vary but it's worth trying in my opinion. I wrote a sorta review here in case you're wondering: https://drop.com/buy/emu-wood-series-headphones/talk/2523180
Oct 21, 2019
zep483
657
Jul 19, 2020
bookmark_border
Yeah I finally switched mine around. The teak is definitely my preference. The bamboo is a little V and gets rid of the liquidity of the headphone the teak has a bit. I definitely think the teak is worth the upgrade, but would understand that some like the bamboo better... but will have to put up with the V, rather than the U...
(Edited)
Jul 19, 2020
Hyde
923
Jul 20, 2020
bookmark_border
Lol yeah I think bamboo is half way in the middle between the E-Mu Teak sound vs the TH-X00 sound. To my preference I like the vocal better on Bamboo where as Teak the female vocal is too recessed for my taste, but otherwise I can totally see why people would go either way depending on preference and genre of music. I also prefer it on the TH610 ear pad as oppose to the E-Mu ear pad so might not be exactly apples to apples here. But I think I'm probably the only person that I know that prefera Denon D2000 the best follow by TH-X00 Mahogany so maybe the I'm the odd ball here LOL.
Jul 20, 2020
Vonx1
11
Jul 31, 2021
bookmark_border
You aren't that odd, I'm the same boat :) The d2000's had more wow factor than stock purple hearts, and the d2000 pads are clearly a better sound than the thx00 pads imo. My combo right now is PH cups with partial Lawton driver dampening and d2000 knock off pads with custom attenuators inside of them (made out of thin dense paper cardboard from a diablo 3 disc box lol). I prefer this setup to my elear but it could potentially change with upcoming elex pads/chain swap :)
Jul 31, 2021
Hyde
923
Aug 2, 2021
bookmark_border
LOL nice that's good to know I'm not alone. I find D2000 just has better sense of representing space and air, also deepest sub bass out of any Fostex / Denon that I tried (except TH900, but it has its own other issues too). Though D2000 is a little bit thin sounding compare to the other ones. I've always been curious about PH, I've only demoed for 5 min but never really own it. But right now I'm enjoying D5200 so I might stick with this a little bit longer. It's not perfect either but separation is very good also overall frequency is a lot better balanced. I'd almost call it the more balanced E-Mu Teak. Bass doesn't hit as clean / hard / deep as D2000 but mid range is a lot richer. Though the treble / vocal feel a tiny bit veiled, just ever so slightly. I'll play around with different dac/amp and see if it helps. Will update as I listen to it more lol.
Aug 2, 2021
Vonx1
11
Sep 12, 2021
bookmark_border
PH has sort of a wider band of bass/midbass/lower mids emphasis, which I like. It's not quite as clean in bass to mids transition as d2000 but has more thickness. The d2000 knock off pads tone down the lower mids/upper bass, but add air and space like you said. Adding the attenuators back in bring back the midbass punch and lower mids back while still keeping most of the air. It's a good compromise I think :)
Sep 12, 2021
Hyde
923
Sep 12, 2021
bookmark_border
Yeah I find D2000 is one of the more cleaner sounding Fostex. I recently got D5200 while it's not as clean as D2000, but D5200 is warmer and musical. Bass ever so slightly bloated. I do think D5200 is a decent compromise. However I'm thinking to try D9200 now....... lol.
Sep 12, 2021
See More Reviews