Etymotic Research ER2SE IEM
$70
$160

Etymotic Research ER2SE IEM

bookmark_border
$70
$160
·
564 Sold
Product Description
Etymotic Research’s ER Series of IEMs is renowned for its accurate sound reproduction—and the ER2SE model takes that excellent reputation to a lower price point. A great entry to the company’s acclaimed house sound, this IEM is tuned with very tight tolerances to remain true to the experience of a live performance Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.5
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
41
check
90%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
oluv
144
May 7, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The ER2XR is the first Etymotic for real bass-lovers. The SE version has definitely the flatter overall response. Usually I prefer XR versions over SE or SR as I think that Etymotic's studio versions have too little bass when compared to the Harman target. The ER2XR on the other hand is the first Etymotic that appears even too bassheavy for me. It is not boomy by any means, but it has definitely a more fun tuning with some stronger bass emphasis. Apart from too strong bass I would say that it is one of the best and smoothest sounding Etymotic releases so far. You really just need to be sure to have the perfect fit, which is not easy to get at especially the very beginning. All reviews claiming it to sound bad probably don't wear them correctly or do not know how a real faithful IEM should sound. But also choosing the right tips is important, I like the ER2XR way more with the smaller tri-flange tips, as those give a smoother treble response, while the ER3XR and ER4XR sound better to me with the bigger triflange-tips. Highly recommended if you are after a true uncolored sound representation. If you like your bass meaty and elevated go for the ER2XR, if you like it close to studio reference take the ER2SR. I have yet to hear a better sounding IEM below 150$, although it even outperforms most IEMs up to 1000$. Biggest issue is the deep insertion which might be not comfortable to many.
(Edited)
mindlessGAP
4
Jun 6, 2020
This has me curious now... I recently purchased the Alpha & Delta KS3's because ive read good things, and heard the bass was pretty good on them. Im curious how they compare to these. Im guessing the bass on the XR is more present. But definitely curious what the difference is between the two. They come in Sunday so i havent tried them. But, if you know anything about the ks3's let me know, i have not heard or found a ton of info on them, they seem to be pretty uncommon. They cost $150 also so they are more expensive but retail they're about the same price. Great review though. What else are bass worthy IEMs in the $100-170 range? I have the 1 more triple drivers, i had the CCA16's, they got stolen though. I had the spring 1 by bqeyz which are pretty awesome, but i felt like i wanted more bass so i returned them. I had some shure 215 or whatever and they seemed to have the best bass out of what ive experienced, clearest, cleanest, punchiest. Idk where those went... >_<
farruk
0
Aug 2, 2020
Yeah , thanks a ton oluv. Lol
League544
537
May 5, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Spectacular.
Some of the most legendary imaging.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
47anLoken
49
Jul 7, 2020
Legendary image!
supertrack
7
Jan 17, 2022
Drunk?
lenticularis
17
Nov 30, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Over ten years ago I owned a pair of ER-4Ps. I loved their sound quality, relative comfort and passive noise reduction. I used them on my motorbike where all three of the above attributes proved highly useful. I lost those ER-4Ps but they remained the best IEMs for sound quality that I owned. I bought a pair of Westone UM Pro 10s recently yet their single-driver design proved far too bass-light for acceptable listening. My previous experience with Etymotics gave me the impetus to buy the ER2SEs from Drop. I chose the SEs because of the comments about them vs. the 2XRs since I prefer a balanced presentation over a bass-heavy one. I've just used my new ER2SEs today, playing Hi-Fi quality Tidal FLACs from my phone, with a Bitstream BTS-300 DAC. First impressions from the ER2SEs are that they have a very revealing character, a delicate treble and adequate midrange, with great soundstage localisation. Bass could be somewhat more forward, however unlike the Westones, the balance remains very satisfying and perfectly acceptable for mobile use. All in all, I'm very pleased with their performance. The larger accessory storage box was much higher quality with my previous ER-4Ps... Good job I've still got that!
(Edited)
ClieOS
18
Jun 11, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Classic Ety sound and build quality on an entry level price.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I got the SE. I also have the ER4PT and the ER4SR. These are definitely different to the ER4s, and not even subtly: the bass is far more prominent, while the treble is a bit softer, and the detail like string sounds on fingerboards is much less. That’s not a bad thing, but people should be aware there are significant gains to be had in moving to the top tier if you’re pursuing accuracy and detail. That said, if you find the ER4s a bit much, you can absolutely step back to these for a middle ground. They remain far flatter in sound than the majority of earphones on the market. If you can get custom moulds, I would recommend these for airplanes (when paired with an appropriate high quality volume adjuster). These are still superior to active noise cancelling when it comes to absolute sound reduction, and never need power. Without custom moulds they’ll probably get sore after two hours or so. I’m disappointed that Ety don’t include a microphone and line control, but most high end earphones don’t have them now.
(Edited)
bhuys
6
Jun 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
ER2SE - Exceptional value
Sound: Natural and balanced. Great detail retrieval (better than e.g. HD6XX imho). Non-fatiguing. Build quality: Solid. Nice anodized aluminum finish and good strain reliefs on cable. Ergonomics: As important as sound quality to me. I was skeptical about the deep insertion but find the ER2 comfortable. The narrow nozzles definitely help. I am pleased my set came shipped with extra double flange tips as they provide the best seal and comfort for me. Some microphonics with the cable and deep insertion. Value: Exceptional value for $125 after tax. Endgame IEM for me. Consideration: The ER2SE is a flat sounding IEM which is a plus for me, but I would recommend the XR version if you listen to genres like electronic/hip-hop etc. Try all tips as a proper seal is fundamental to get bass response. Shootout: Thank to Oluv for recommending the ER2SE in the comments below. Highly recommend his Youtube channel.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Cilphyo
92
Dec 18, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Forever in my Pocket
As reference before every future buy. Tonally better than everything else in the price range and even until 300
check
Would recommend to a friend.
bisbille
58
Apr 12, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I guess that it's not the best IEM but I would say that for me, sound wise, it's a much, much better value than the Sennheiser HD58X for a similar price point. Maybe it's not fair or even relevant, one being openback headphone and the other one a deep insertion IEM, but seriously, the amount of details and clarity with the ER2SE are way above the HD58X. Basses, mids and trebles are more balanced with ER2SE, with "better" soundstage, very good imaging, when the HD58X has mids more engaging, but more intimate soundstage with limited imaging and overall, not very good clarity. I was more a loudspeakers guy, purchasing different headphones recently for the sake of my neighbors and to try different sound colorations, presentations, etc and frankly, I was not really inclined to try IEMs, even less deep insertion IEM, but it was worth it to give a try to the Etymotic by curioisty and by chance. I'm glad I did, and for a cheaper price than in my country. I don't know how to explain how direct, straightforward is the mental representation of the soundstage and instruments but those aspects are much better compared to the HD58X. To get it short, I'm blown away by the ER2SE. Note that there is now a set of 2-flange eartips in 4 different sizes that are not mentioned on the original packaging. I thought that a deeper insertion would be better sound wise and tried the smaller 3-flange and then swaped very quickly for the 2 smallest 2-flange eartips (S & M) for maximum and easier insertion. Finally, the foam eartips and the bigger 3-flange are working best for me despite what I would have thought at first.
search
Very recommended, from my modest experience though. EDIT : The ER2SE that I purchased on Mar 11, 2020 came with the additional set of 2-flange eartips as said above but the ER2XR purchased later on May 10, 2020 came without, quite disappointing.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Price to performance is great with these ear tampons
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aamarok
4
Jan 2, 2022
Lol, ur funny
Rowdy2026
749
Mar 15, 2022
If your ears are bleeding I’d seek medical assistance…
dvs_14
11
Dec 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Beautiful timbre!
Sounds like a HD6XX a bit.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 23 of 63
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order