Etymotic ER4SR & ER4XR IEMs
Etymotic ER4SR & ER4XR IEMs
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
559 Sold
Product Description
A classic IEM that’s been refined over decades, the Etymotic ER4 gets its latest update in the ER4SR and ER4XR: two models that deliver accurate, reference-quality sound with excellent noise isolation—up to 42 dB of reduction, to be exact. Each features precision-matched and custom-tuned balanced armature drivers inside sleek anodized aluminum housings, along with a detachable 5-foot-long cable that ends in a 3.5-millimeter gold-plated stereo plug Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
37
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
GiantHeadphoneSquid
537
Aug 9, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is a great update to the original IEM. Etymotic mean what they say when they describe their SR as a reference class, it very closely adheres to the measurement driven sound profile of the ER4S.
-THE HISTORY-
Etymotic are primarily a medical equipment company, making high end measurement, hearing aid and protection equipment. They did pioneering research and measurements in the early 80s into the in ear canal hearing response. As a side product of this, they were able to leverage this unique early insight to create what is arguably one of the most accurate heaphone response curves. They already had unparalleled expertise in Balance Armature design for their measurements, and their IEMs featured beautifully tuned single balanced armature drivers (no concerns regarding cross over distortion!). Similarly, they already had good tips for medical grade seals. . . the ER4's 40dB of isolation is the most of any IEM that I am aware of including all custom fits.
-THE SOUND-
When Etymotic say this is a reference headphone, they mean it. You are buying their hearing model, and the ER4 are a mechanical vessel of delivery.
I am pleased to report this new SR model variant retains the exceptional sound performance and closely adheres to the same Etymotic target curve. As an engineer, I LOVE that Etymotic includes measurements of YOUR headphones with the every ER4, so you can compare your classics with both your eyes AND ears :)
-THE NEW MODEL-
Both these new ER4SR /XR as well as the economic ER3 series come with substantial mechanical improvements vs. previous generation. The sound remains blessedly unchanged, but these headphones have been made much more convenient and practical. The cord is replaceable, but it's also much more flexible. Combined with the smaller body size, it's very practical to now wrap the cord behind the ear as with most modern IEMs.
With my ER4S, I had to use the shirt clip to minimize cord self noise (sometimes called microphonics, incorrectly), but still I found heavy bone conduction made these unpleasant for use while extended walking. With the new models, I don't bother with the clip, and the snug new cord management minimizes these effects such that they are a pleasure to take on the go. I'm still not sure I'd recommend them for walking around the city (because of the isolation).
-THE BOTTOM LINE-
If you want accurate in ear headphones, and the prospect of a deep insert doesn't frighten you, just do yourself a favor and buy either these ER4 or the ER3 as your budget allows. The ER4 are made in America and are channel matched to the reference curve to a higher standard, but honestly the ER3 (made in china) are excellent as well.
search

search
Aug 9, 2018
marmul
18
Nov 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These were exactly what I had hoped for
I owned a previous version of the Ety ER4's a little over a decade ago, I liked the sound a lot but did not care for the cable noise and the weight of the cable. Sitting perfectly still worked well for me but obviously not an ideal resolution. Eventually I had an issue with one side of the headphones and after they were returned from service (both sides replaced) the sound signature was very different and they fell out of favor (I tried burning them in). Luckily I had my Ety ER6i's (which are probably my favorite all around IEM ever) and listened to them more than any other headphone/IEM I owned. Along came the ER4XR's. Durable, lightweight, much better, lighter, quieter cable and a slight extension on the bass side makes them my new favorite IEM's. The bass extension is not fatiguing in my opinion. Ety, bring back the ER6i's!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 26, 2019
DNye
39
Feb 9, 2020
bookmark_border
I’ve still got my old ER6i earphones and they are still my go to until someone can beat them with a true wireless unit I can’t see myself changing from them. They just sound so damn good!
Feb 9, 2020
Evshrug
1792
Feb 9, 2020
bookmark_border
Also have a pair of ER•6i, my first “Hi-Fi” headphones of any kind! Purchased at 2005 MacWorld.
Feb 9, 2020
johan101
9
Nov 16, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Solid construction and very well built. The deep in-ear insertion takes some getting use to but once you get pass that, the transparency and delivery of the music is par none. Bass? It is there when it is there in the music and not when it is not. Any gripes? With the introduction of the MMCX connector for cable replacement, was hoping for the ability to change to my own personal custom cables. Unfortunately, due to the proprietary notch, it makes such options next to impossible. I only hope that Etymotic would produce some adapters or cables for wireless listening to these in the future.
Nov 16, 2018
ZhiyaoYoung
143
Aug 9, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very neutral and well sealed earphones. I believe it's the most accurate one in the world.
Aug 9, 2018
Qwervy
290
Apr 1, 2020
bookmark_border
which ones did you get?
Apr 1, 2020
QandX
44
Apr 22, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
reference sound
Accurate sound,detail is good enough. cannot believe this sound is from one BA driver. Maybe some one will feel less bass, but for me it's fine. Also, the housing is good quality.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Apr 22, 2020
carboncarousel
13
Jul 1, 2020
bookmark_border
The deep insertion of the tip helps cause the "I cannot believe it's only one BA!" effect.
Jul 1, 2020
chh7998
5
May 8, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I like ETYMOTIC
this is my first ETYMOTIC, I like it , fit my ears very well, really like its sound.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
May 8, 2020
StephaneJ
2
Apr 16, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
ER4XR - Amazing iem
Once you get used to deep insertion "system", you will discover a wonderfull product, with neutral, balanced, detailled and yet joyfull sound ! And the passive insulation really amazing ! In the price range, I will be curious to find a serious competitor ... maybe the ER4SR ?
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Apr 16, 2020
FLHY
4
Jun 17, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Crystal clear sound, but left earphone is defective.
Contacted support for a week and still has received no reply.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 17, 2020
wrthaler66
0
Jul 3, 2020
bookmark_border
Do they come with mic cable for cell phone use ? Or can you buy a cable with mic ? Or do they make one with mic cable ? Please let me know , Bill T wrthaler66@yahoo.com
Jul 3, 2020
FLHY
4
Jul 27, 2020
bookmark_border
After emailing for another week, they finally agreed to email me a prepaid label to return the product, but I had to go through all the hassle finding a place to print the label and taking the package to UPS. No exchange available. Etymotic customer service had only asked me to return the product at my own expense, then they will ship a new product. They never got back to me after I explained the whole situation and asked for a free exchange.
Jul 27, 2020
eeys
2
Jun 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
great sounding earphone
great sounding earphone, flat and natural sound, silicon tip is painful to insert, but have greater detail once sitting properly. the detail is fantastic. great sound isolation, not as good outside noise suppression compare to active noise cancelling headphone (bose qc 35 II or sony 1000xm2), but still very usable during flight. foam tip is more comfortable, but sacrifice on the detail.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jun 12, 2019
RichFree
1
Jul 21, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic IEMs
I have a fair bit of experience using more analytical IEMs, Phonak PFE112, hifiman RE400, RE00, and even the UERM. They were all really satisfying, and my obsession finally led me to the very definition of analytical IEMs, the ER4 series. I wanted something different this time and went for the ER4XR for that extra bit of low end, seeing how most reviews mention that the differences between ER4XR and ER4SR are very slight. And the ER4XR was a surprise to be sure, but truly a welcome one. In my experience, a balanced IEM at the right volume sounds complete and just... right, and this matches that experience well. But man do the voices sound so satisfying and clear. But I'm not sure if its because of my prior experience, since I have been using the RE00 very often nowadays, but the bass on these are fantastic and do make their presence known, and yet still allows for the satisfying balanced sound that I so love. I always had the fear that the king of accurate BAs would sound tinny, but I am glad I finally found these, because I am in love.
Jul 21, 2020
Showing 19 of 53