Everglide Aqua King Mechanical Switches

Everglide Aqua King Mechanical Switches

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
580 requests
1.1k Sold
Product Description
The ocean may be deep, but it's a smooth ride all the way down. Take a dive, and chances are, you’ll see everything in front of you Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
23
check
93%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Klondeik
37
Apr 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very smooth
Probably one of the smoothest switches as is without lube, but when added lube it has a nice thocky sound!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
etmanuts
0
Apr 5, 2021
is it the random frank p ?!?! xD
Phlooke
195
Apr 9, 2021
Love your content man. Would you recommend these over Durock POMS?
BakerWRLD
50
Mar 27, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Hands down the best factory lube job.
Fresh out of the bag, these switches are just as smooth as the alpaca v2 switches that I had lubed and filmed myself. If this is the direction that JWK / Durock / Everglide will be taking for their newer lines of switches, they will be the go-to choice for lazy arses like me who absolutely hate sitting there lubing switches, but still want that smooth actuation and thocky sound signature.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
xanderdrew
7
Apr 1, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Over all nice switches but not as good as they could have been
The factory lubing is some of the best I've seen but I think the switches could have done without the factory lubing because the tolerances are too high so the introduction of lube makes the return stroke slow and inconsistent throughout all the switches so if the tolerances were lower it could have improved on the switches.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
NicoBoy
27
Mar 28, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
whoaho
These are some of the smoothest I have purchased off of drop, I haven't done anything with them yet but I plan on makeing their final home in the drop carina, fully shine through switches with POM jelly caps. my keyboard will look like rainbow road
check
Would recommend to a friend.
The_Manic_Geek
50
Apr 3, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have not gotten to test these in the GMMK Pro they are destined for, but straight out of the box these had inconsistency issues. Four of my stems in the 62 g 110 count pack I got were so tight in the top housings they wouldn't actuate correctly and felt heavier than intended; the rest are "usable" in that the stem doesn't bind, but I will need to redo the lube at some point. They would also stick in the top housing and not fully rebound back to resting position. Disassembly revealed that the stems are dip-lubed: this is evidenced by the discovery of lube on the inside of the stem legs as well as the outside, and there being a line where the lube ends at the same spot on the legs and stem of the switch. Some stems have more lube than others, and some actually have lube on the rectangular portion of the stem which can help combat stem binding if tolerances allow for it. Experimenting with different stems told me some more about the switch: the leaf is FAR too soft and light for a tactile stem, and if you do mess with the leaf be very careful handling it as I permanently warped one of my leaves during this experimentation (totally my fault, got clumsy). Swapping to a Gateron Yellow or Red stem with no lube other than what was left on the housing and leaf resulted in an extremely smooth switch with great acoustics and feel, plus an eye-catching JWK-like appearance. Moving the PC stem in to those same known-good Gateron housings resulted in the stems binding, so the issue is definitely the stems having tolerances far too tight between the top housing and the stem body. The spring lube is great for all switches so no need to fuss there. The PC housing has some of my favorite housing acoustics I've encountered yet, so it's sort of a shame that the switch couldn't be offered without the stem bc everything else there makes the perfect recipe for an amazing linear switch. When the stems DO work correctly, there is almost zero stem wobble, hence the tight tolerances there... but they need to be more consistent with the tolerances being that tight on all switches. My recommendation: if you DO choose to buy these, expect to need to work on these a bit to get the switch feeling great, up to and including swapping stems. If you aren't a tinkerer like I am, and want your 60 cent + switch to work properly out of the box as it should, then I would say this ain't it until they get the switches feeling more consistent. It's not likely you'll have a TON of switches that aren't usable if you do have issues, but that doesn't feel great at the price point.
(Edited)
The_Manic_Geek
50
Apr 6, 2021
A Cherry Red stem would work great actually. Near as I can tell any Cherry or Gateron-compatible linear stem should work, so basically pick whichever one has the best aesthetic and go to town... assuming your goal is to mod the switch. When I get the time I'll update this with tested impressions after I try them stock and re-lubed, but I'd always say test them stock first before committing time and resources to modding. Who knows, your switches may be fine!
ilian-markowitz
2
Apr 8, 2021
cherry silent red, and gateron yellow stems feel like they were made for these housings. the silent red is whisper quiet with just a thin coat of lube (really fantastic combo), and the gat yellow really shines in this housing too.
KCGAK
4
Mar 20, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great, but Inconsistent
Just got mine in today, and... it was a mixed bag. The Good: It's ridiculous how little stem wobble these switches have; virtually 0 in any direction. Some switches may have the smallest bit of wobble in either N/S or E/W, but it's barely noticeable. Incredible. The Bad: At first I thought that some switches were overlubed, but upon closer inspection and research, the problem is that the top housings are just too tight stems are too tight with the housings. As in, so tight that it prevents the stem from coming back up consistently (I have the 55g ones). This affected about 10% of the switches in my order. I'm not sure if I can somehow force the housings to be a bit looser or if I can sand them down, but expect to sideline a not insignificant amount of switches [see edit 3 below]. At ~64 cents/switch, these are competing with some heavy hitters out there, so the value proposition is up to you. The In-Between: The lube job was good, although perhaps a bit much; some lube made its way out of the switches and onto the exterior. After inspecting the switches, more lube keeps coming out everytime I press on [some of] them--probably due to such tight housings + generous lube. Expect to clean these if you ordered them. Edit 2: Changed a few details. So out of it today. Update/Edit 3: Struck through a comment above; it's not that the top housings are too tight with the stems, it's the stems that form the tight fit. I swapped out the top housings with that of a Dragonfruit, and it made the switches operational while retaining the near-zero stem wobble. The Aqua King top housings didn't provide too much of a decrease in stem wobble for the DFs, though--this is how I know it's the stems, not the housings, that are too tight. The switches are otherwise great--smooth and tight.
(Edited)
JackZYG
31
Mar 20, 2021
Just looking at the current product page I'm just so confused lol. Quote from the page, "70-pack (base price), 90-pack (+ $15), or 110-pack (+ $25)." Why the marginal price is $.75 if you go from 70 to 90?? Buy more, and get it more expensively???
KCGAK
4
Mar 21, 2021
Blame Drop.
EliSerrato
3
Mar 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very Smooth
Surprisingly smooth switches with consistent factory lube. Definitely worth the purchase.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
KnucklesFist
0
Apr 5, 2021
Which Weight did you get?
EliSerrato
3
Apr 5, 2021
I got the 62g weight. It's a popular weight for those who think 67g is a little too much. It all comes down to preference. If you press your keys hard or like more resistance, I recommend the 67g, if you like some resistance but not too much, 62g is good, and if you like very little resistance, 55g would be your choice.
Bitlife
1
Apr 12, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Am I the odd one out?
All the reviews seem to love these switches. I want to. I really do. My issue is the factory lube on mine has been inconsistent and sometimes results in a sluggish switch here or there. The other problem is I happened to get some that have too tight of upper housing so the stem seizes and doesn't come back up. I'm really hoping cleaning off the factory lube and putting my own on will make these better. But I feel like Drop needs to address the fact that a lot of these switches are near unusable because of the tight housing.
Tactical_Jesuz
0
Apr 20, 2021
I never buy pre-lubed switches from drop cause it's a gamble, but switches that don't come lubed are pretty safe to buy. If you want to get lubed switches without doing it yourself or gambling, I would recommend going to https://loobedswitches.com/ and spending an extra $10-20 to get it to hand lubed and/or filmed for you.
Oreooo
1
Apr 21, 2021
is that loobed company legit?
Dahun
8
Mar 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awesome feels
I think its stem and housing fit perfectly, so the movement of stem is totally linear. I think its the best
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Andy_Who
112
Mar 22, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
great out of box linears
I got the 67g Buttery smooth out of the box. Didn't mod any switch and put them into my keyboard with no issues. Typing is great. The switches are lubed and it's really a good job. I don't have a single switch noticeable over lubed. They have a noice sound and feel pretty good quality. I'm very happy with them.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Showing 27 of 40