Exotac titanLIGHT Waterproof Lighter

Exotac titanLIGHT Waterproof Lighter

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
622 requests
681 Sold
Product Description
Popular in the EDC and outdoor communities for its fire-starting tools, Exotac makes reliable, durable equipment that you can put to the test. The titanLIGHT is the latest in the company’s extensive collection Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
31
check
83%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Mrathwaite
2
Apr 18, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This lighter is the boss! Had it for a few months now and it has forged its position in my get home bag
Tikka7mm08
18
Nov 2, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Was very sceptical this would retain fuel for any period of time. Filled it up with Coleman fuel 6 weeks ago on receipt and periodically checked to see if it will light. It has first time, everytime. Super lightweight and pleasing to handle. V.happy.
RxLaMont
11
Jun 8, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
SOLID lighter; fills easy, DOES NOT leak, strong flame - no need to hide it in wind, strong enough to set my cigar alight if I'm not careful... And best of all: no one else has one in 3 cigar rooms I've been in, it gets a lot of attention. Has survivied 2 drops so far, nary a scratch.
Now, how about a pipe lighter for my Gandalf special...?
wibbles
114
Jul 4, 2018
What fluid are you using for lighting a cigar? Any time I've used anything other than butane or a wood taper (so, the only time I used a Zippo), cigar or pipe comes out tasting like the lighter fluid.
bbqncigars
1
Nov 7, 2018
Use the Zippo fluid in the black can and let the flame burn for a couple of seconds. Use the very tip of the flame for lighting.
tripleplayny1
6
Aug 24, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This thing is awesome. A lady asked me for a light, and when I light her up, she was shocked and started laughing at the overkill. It is great for cigars and flames on in very windy conditions.
uuuu
7
Apr 6, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The other one and two star reviews are dead on. The thing is good looking, well machined, and feels really nice in the hand. The seal is good and it has held its fluid for several weeks now. But that's where the positives end, because it's pretty much useless as an actual lighter. For starters, the flint wheel is really hard to spin. It gets stuck on the flint, and you have to use a good bit of force to get it to turn. Flame wise, you can either fill it up substantially and have lighter fluid leak all over, or you can barely fill it up and have a real anemic flame that only stays lit for a few seconds before it wobbles itself out:
search
Like the other reviews, if you fill it up enough to have a decent flame, fluid leaks all over itself, the lid, and your hands. When lit the the whole barrel heats up which appears to build up pressure inside the tank that forces lighter fluid to leak out the base of the wick, running down the threads, the o-ring, and your fingers. You can literally hear a hissing sound of fluid escaping and see it bubbling up out of the top. So then, when you light it next, the entire top half and probably your thumb all catch on fire fairly dramatically. Even after blowing it out, letting it cool off, and capping it, the next time I removed the cap it would be completely coated in fluid inside. I really wanted to love this thing but all in all, it's super disappointing. Barely usable at best, downright dangerous at worst.
jdubb1977
2
Mar 6, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Looks great, but that's about where the good stuff ends. As many have said, if you overfill this lighter it can be very dangerous. The fuel will seep into the threads and other areas and when you light it the whole thing will flame up. And, at least on mine, even if you don't overfill it the flame will drop to just a flicker after 20-30 seconds. It's basically unusable. Exotac's customer service is pretty bad as well. When I asked about these issues they pointed me to a random youtube video, but offered no usable help, no suggestions on how to solve the problems, or even the name of the customer service person who replied.
Spokes30
193
Feb 8, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I burned myself terribly when first using this lighter. Flames came out everywhere and set my hand on fire. After recovering a bit I then let some of the fluid bleed off and put a cap full of fluid into it and the flame is very lazy and within a short time the barrel is so hot you cannot touch it. I bought this to do my paracord work and it does a terrible job with the poor flame and hot barrel. As a mechanical engineer myself I think this product needs much more engineering, it is dangerous and the flame shape is poor. It should be taken off the market until these serious problems are solved.
calvinfurano
4
Aug 31, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The lighter seems well made and has a solid feel. The action to screw on the lid is smooth and oddly satisfying, and definitely makes an airtight seal.
I have a really hard time not overfilling the lighter however. I really wish they would include some sort of measuring cup to prevent overfilling (kind of like those Zippo handwarmers.)
When you do overfill it, this becomes an extremely dangerous product, because lighter fluid leaks down the sides of the windscreen. I lit my thumb on fire because of this; luckily I was able to blow it out immediately and did not get burned. The sides around the windscreen can also light on fire.
Even when it's not overfilled, it still leaks a bit down the sides. Maybe I'm doing something wrong?
Otherwise, when the excess lighter fluid is cleaned up this is a nice lighter with a big flame, good for lighting some kindling.
The lid can be a nuisance because it's not attached to the main body, so you have to put it somewhere while you're working with the lighter, so it's always a two-handed operation.
Definitely holds fuel way longer than a Zippo, though, so it's more appropriate as an emergency lighter or to bring on outdoor adventures, but it's design flaws make it too frustrating for regular use.
While not waterproof, I think I'd still rather use my Imco Triplex Super.
Pspadotto
9
Aug 24, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sadly, this was NOT a good product. The housing seems to leak fluid to the point that the side catches fire, and the lid is saturated with fluid inside. The wheel does spin reliably and is grabby, and sometimes results in showers of sparks emerging from the lighter. If i had tested this product prior to purchase, I would not buy it. It is a great idea, poorly executed. NOTE: Since this review, I have had the Exotac in my car, with the original fill of fluid. While everything above holds true still, i have to give credit where it is due. The Exotac lights faithfully to this day, and has NOT run dry. So...it's not pretty but it works as designed.
(Edited)
GasHouseGorilla
9
Jun 6, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So, I'd heard before buying mine that these had issues with fuel coming up through the top due to internal pressure, soaking the threads and basically lighting unsuspecting owners on fire. That does seem to be the case when you fill it to the max. I just didn't do that after the first time, and I've had no issues with it. It's a definite design flaw, but it's easy to work around. You ultimately give up some capacity, but it's still way more than a Zippo for example, and it's sealed so you don't lose a ton of it when it it sits idle. The flint wheel was a bit stiff at first, mine is now very easy to light and it's surprising how gingerly I can turn the wheel and still get flame. Overall I'm happy with it. Again be careful of how much fuel you put in, or how you light failing that.
Showing 12 of 33