shopping_cart
Fallkniven F1Z Survival Knife VG-10 w/ Zytel Sheath

Fallkniven F1Z Survival Knife VG-10 w/ Zytel Sheath

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.8K requests
·
547 Sold
Product Description
A premium fixed blade that comes complete with a sleek carrying case, the Fallkniven F1z Knife features enough function for survival and utility. As the official survival weapon of the Swedish Air Force, the F1 is made with extra tough laminated VG10 steel Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
16
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Taplow
4
Feb 27, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Matched my expectations
Always wanted to add the F1 to my collection, and this was offered at a great price. My knife had no blemishes and was shaving sharp out of the box. Performs as you would expect from all the reviews. No-nonscence modern looking design. Bought a leather sheath separately as I'm not a fan of Zytel sheaths.
TwoBach
12
Feb 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Refined Functionality
I picked up two of these beauties. Using one for work and the other for camping. Always up to the task. Always there with the Zytel sheath.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
jmk451
125
Jan 6, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The most versatile Fällkniven
The F1 is absolutely the most versatile and price-performant of the fixed-blades made by Fällkniven and sold here on whatever the name of this watch-knife-headset selling site is. It's not FK's top-of-the-line steel, but it's still really good. The convex grind takes a little getting used to, but it's reliable and trustworthy. The grip may be a bit small for some hands, but for me the trade off is a super-compact ultra-reliable fixed blade that goes nearly anywhere. My only gripe is that Drop has HORRIBLE support for left-handers. Fällkniven sells an F1 with left-handed Zytel sheath (F1zl), but Drop refuses to carry it. You can pay the Southpaw Tax and get the left-handed sheath separately; that's worth docking a star, in this reviewer's opinion.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Interstellar13
51
Aug 20, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
oh so nice.
this is a pretty blade. its feels very nice, you can tell you are holding something high quality and solid. love the simplicity of it and the sheath is nice for what it is, i would get an after market or make your own though.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
bsman
0
May 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Comfortable, sharp, and utilitarian
The grip is exceedingly comfortable, and the entire knife feels functional and perfectly aligned in either a pinch or traditional grip. While I haven't cut down any trees with it, I have used it for food prep and cutting down cardboard boxes, and in both applications the blade never hung up and sliced through whatever I put its way without a hiccup. The laminated steel core is hard enough that the edge was barely worn and it took only a few swipes on a leather strop to get it back to shaving-sharp.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
moretile
2
Aug 18, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice knife
Haven't used it yet but feels like a great knife. Almost to pretty to use in the bush.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
CCobban
0
Aug 16, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very nice.
I have several Fallkniven knives. The quality and design is exceptional.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
logansan
13
Jun 12, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great knife.
I have been wanting one of these for a long time and when I had the chance to buy it from Drop at a great price I had to purchase it. It is well made and extremely sharp. The sheath is also well made and is easy to wear. The blade length is perfect for most situations. I have over 1000 knives in my collection and this is one of my favorite knives of all time.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
kheltuzad
0
Mar 14, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This knife is just perfect. Perfect size, perfect weigh, perfect balance, close to perfect steel...
CroakerCroaks
7
Sep 13, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Well made, perfectly finished knife. Very comfortable in hand. This one has made me interested in Fallkniven's larger knives. Just might have to get their Forest (S1) model.
CroakerCroaks
7
May 16, 2019
After having both (F1 and S1) for a while now, my favorite of the two is the smaller F1. I do like both and the handle size on each seems identical to me, but the smaller F1 is perfectly balanced and has a wonderful "feel" in the hand. Very useful size for indoors and out. Just my preference.
MJC7
41
May 16, 2019
The size of the F1 is appealing.
Showing 13 of 19
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
19 OF 19 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Considering that we are discussing a 99 dollar knife, your options when it comes to picking a good steel are limited to the simplest alloys, or in the case of ''survival'' knives, 1095 is the one used by practically every brand (ESEE, Becker, TOPS, Schrade, even Mora uses a variation of this steel). Even when not looking at the price range, most of the steels you mentioned either require harder abrasives to maintain or a very good heat treat to be a viable option. AEB-L at 58 hrc is pretty much at the low-end of performance, practically on par with VG-10, same with CPM-154. Fun fact, the original Fallkniven knives used ATS-34 steel, which is the non-powdered version of RWL-34. Again, performance almost completely relies on geometry and heat treat, not steel. That basically means that the only chance for a person to obtain a good ''survival knife'' in stainless steel is to look at the custom market, spending 3 or 4 times the amount of the knife we are discussing right now. Now, I've used both VG-10 and CPM-3v, and in terms of impact and abrasion resistance against hard material, the results completely depend on the angle of the primary grind. The Fallkniven most likely will not fail you when you have a 45 degree inclusive edge on it, and will perform well with a more acute edge at the cost of losing toughness. If we are splitting hairs, then yes, obviously a supersteel will have the advantage over a simpler steel, if compared with the same Rockwell hardness and grind angle. But VG-10 is still a viable option just as 1095, 52100, AEB-L, O1, D2, etc, are not obsolete and are still popular picks: you have a very stain resistant knife with the ability to take a killer edge with minimal effort, moderate but acceptable toughness, wear resistance and strength, small carbides that allow a less toothy finish, with a cheap manufacturing and tooling process that allows for cheap budgets. All those factors considered, combined with a convex grind, sandwiched between two soft steels, and given a 4.5 mm thickness, you get a very low maintenance knife with an even lower maintenance rubber handle and plastic sheath, that can be sharpened back to shaving in 2 minutes with a pocket stone, that can handle all the basic tasks (game processing, food prep, wood processing and shaping, cutting through soft to medium hardness material, etc) with zero edge damage and more demanding tasks (chopping, prying, drilling, battoning, throwing, stabbing, etc) with limited edge damage, if any, and can be reground and sharpened in less than 5 minutes. Check out a destruction video of a Fallkniven A1 on YouTube, not many knives can survive that amount of damage. To conclude, for 99 dollars, emphasis on 99, as not many decent knives can achieve that low a price, you get a knife that has an excellent design, good geometry, convex grind, good sheath and handle, and a good BUDGET steel and heat treat. I would also love to see a 63 hrc CPM-3V knife out there for 99 bucks, but tis' but a pipe dream. If you are looking for a SURVIVAL knife, not a knife that can destroy car doors, split .50 BMG bullets in midair, and destroy 3 foot thick concrete slabs (in that case, grab a 52 hrc 5160 6/8 inch thick knife with a 60 degree inclusive and 0.1 inch behind the edge thickness, and I call that knife with some difficulty, because cutting anything will become quite a challenge to say the least) then look no further. I'm sure a Fallkniven F1 will suit any reasonable knife tasks given, and in a pinch can be abused without receiving too much damage. Given the option between 59 hrc VG-10 and 57 hrc 1095, I'll take VG-10 any day of the week, because it has more than enough toughness necessary, without all of the drawbacks of a soft carbon steel (not a good option for a knife, but very good as a machete or zombie-killing car hood slashing monster blade, which I admit can be fun to swing around in the backyard at times.) I hope I've reinforced the original point that I've made, which is that Fallkniven knives are a great option for an outdoor environment. If you want a tactical katana with a built-in grenade launcher, then yes, VG-10 is not tough enough for your needs. In the end, it's not a magic steel, just a nice cheap budget option that's been used in culinary knives for decades for a reason: it's good for cutting. With the added characteristics and lower hardness of a Fallkniven, it's good enough for beating on. If you think a real survival knife has to let you chop your way out of a prison cell or be used as an ice axe to climb Everest, that's probably because survival is an extremely overused word that will lead to nothing but never ending discussion among people with different concepts and assumptions of that term. In that case, everyone should form their own conclusions. I better stop typing because at this point this comment will go on forever... I seem to have a knack for wasting time on the web... peace out, my dudes
It seems as though you must not even own the Condor in mistaking its handle construction. Besides, you're getting a tad over passionate in attempting to defend your views it seems for me to worry about me wasting too much more of my time debating what are subjective opinions on the matter. It was never my intention to convey that the Terrasaur or the Terava Jaakaripuukko were better knives; just a better value for essentially the same tasks. That's why I never considered buying an F1 personally. I agree that Fallkniven as a brand are wonderful knives and as mentioned own both an A1 and an S1. I was just never interested in an F1 because I believed there to be many more choices that were a better value giving comparable performance in its size range. For that matter, an SRK at 1/3rd the price is even a worthy competitor, although I'm sure you'll disagree. I certainly never meant to compare Moras to more expensive makers' models either although in truth there are many who will laud their functionality and value over many more expensive choices. My only point was to illustrate that there are many budget friendly knives that punch way above there weight when it comes to light duty camping and bushcraft chores and the F1 is in the light duty chore class. If you love your F1 and feel that it will do things better than any other knife its size, I'm happy for you in making the right choice for yourself. We're all welcome to our views and choices. Good luck to you, stay safe, and take care.