shopping_cart
FX Audio DAC-X6

FX Audio DAC-X6

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.1K requests
1.5k Sold
Product Description
A newly released iteration of the DAC-X6, this DAC/amp from FX Audio shines in the sub-$100 category. It uses the highly regarded CS4398 and CS8416 in its DAC chipset, along with the OPA2134 opamp, and supports files up to 16 bit/192 kHz and 24 bit/96 kHz Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.9
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
132
check
76%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Jiisuki
3
Jun 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice
Not the best, but well worth the price. Very convenient pass-through to the monitors.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
eetlotsgloo
0
May 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Purchased mainly to use as a DAC, which works great. The headphone amp doesn't seem to jive as well with my cans as a Magni but it's quite good for the price.
MrSuicidal
8
May 1, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
What's in the box?
When I first got this I wasn't that impressed, till I found out about the gain jumper positions. Now that really made them enjoyable. Knob is real handy when listening to a large variety of genres, give some a little more and turn some a little low with ease.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
JoyFired
0
Apr 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
As expected
I've had this for about two years now. It's paired with a 58x, and drives them comfortably past the point of my comfortable listening range. The only complaint I would have is that occasionally I hear a faint hum.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
jared-noh
2
Mar 16, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good but a little grainy
The product is bigger than expected and has distortion but for the price it was very good
check
Would recommend to a friend.
brobillard
37
Mar 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
search
I've had this little DAC for a little less than two years now and I'm still very happy with it. I've had no issues with it. I mainly use it hooked to my laptop on the digital end (USB) and to a vintage Sansui AU-6600 integrated amp on the analog end. It's my main DAC for my pc and it has served me very well, so much so that I just ordered a second one (in silver) for the bedroom TV (I listen to TV with headphones at night when I come back from work). I use this DAC to drive multiple pairs of headphones - Sennheiser HD-560 Ovation II (300 Ω), Sennheiser HD-58X Jubilee (150 Ω), Sony MDR-7506 (63 Ω) and Grado SR-125e (32 Ω). All of these headphones sound very good through this DAC/amp and it has no problem whatsoever driving any of these headphones. The build quality is top notch too for the price. The switches feel solid and the volume knobs has a nice overall feel. All in all, it's a great DAC for the money.
(Edited)
gb3h
7
Feb 6, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fake OPA2134 chip; beyond disappointed
If you experience distortion around windows volume 40 and above, you probably have the same issue I had, which is a fake OPA2134 chip. Bought a new chip and changed it for 7 dollars, works like a charm not without any distortion. Thread that led me to realise this: https://www.reddit.com/r/ZReviews/comments/ijxjof/anyone_with_a_fx_audio_dacx6/
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
SpennyLoaf
5
Aug 12, 2021
Thanks so much for sharing this. I have the exact same issue, opened mine up and see that I have the same defective chip. Purchased from Amazon.
Tarquinflimbim
0
Feb 2, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'm not sure why I'm not giving this 4 stars. I think I was expecting a bigger step up from the laptop (MacBook Pro) headphone jack. It is better, and does have a volume control but in the end I think I would have just kept my setup simple if I'd had the chance to A/B it.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Yunglorry
1
Jan 28, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This lives in a box in my closet and I have no use for it.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
ehoustoun
0
Jan 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good value product
It's been a bit hinky at times to have it interface properly but the sound quality is pretty good (listening with Sony MDR-7506 headphones) and the build quality feels nice and solid. For an inexpensive DAC it's a very good value.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 11 of 164
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
164 OF 164 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest